E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / Warranty > valentine 1 hardwire



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-27-2008, 08:37 AM   #1
bimmer335
New Member
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: N.Y.C.

Posts: 27
iTrader: (0)

valentine 1 hardwire

i am trying to find the DIY for v1. someone had bought a mini fuse tap holder and put it in the fusebox to avoid any splicing. they gave p/n from radio shack. can someone supply the link please. i searched all threads but could not find it.
bimmer335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2008, 08:49 AM   #2
tjnptel1
Cunning Linguist
 
tjnptel1's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Norfolk, VA

Posts: 2,219
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
honestly, did you really search?

http://www.e90post.com/forums/search...archid=5102306

??
__________________
Bottles are for babies, Real men get blown.
tjnptel1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2008, 11:21 AM   #3
raceyBMW
king of the hills
 
raceyBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO

Posts: 2,765
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
1994 530i  [4.25]
2007 335i Coupe  [4.07]
That link doesn't work, these do

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...light=hardwire (the one I used)
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...light=hardwire
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...light=hardwire (Low Mount)
raceyBMW is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2008, 06:18 PM   #4
Gig103
Major
 
Drives: 2013 Fiat 500 Abarth
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gilbert, AZ

Posts: 1,295
iTrader: (1)

I have a followup question. Does the E90 use a mini-fuse or a full fuse? I went to Pep Boys for the "Add a Circuit" and they had both. It looked like it would be the full fuse from a quick glance inside my glovebox, but before I start taking off the a-pillar cover, some reassurance would be appreciated!
__________________
Was: 2008 335xi sedan 6MT Black Sapphire Metallic
Is: 2013 Fiat 500 Abarth Nero (black metallic)
Gig103 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2008, 07:10 PM   #5
i2iSTUDIOS
Captain
 
i2iSTUDIOS's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335i Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Posts: 862
iTrader: (1)

Easist way is to tap into the power above the overhead lights, piece of cake, nice stealthy installation!
__________________
2007 E92 335i / 6MT / Monaco Blue Metallic / Gray Dakota Leather / Comfort Assist / Premium / Sport / Heated Seats / Navi / Active Steering / Active Cruise Control / Park Distance Control / Rear Sunshade / Sirius MODS PicoTray / M3 Steering Wheel / Front OEM Aero Lip / Bimmian Aluminum Pedals / CDV / Ram Air Scoops / Painted Reflectors / HID 5000k / LED Angels / M Perf. Shifter / Euro Light Switch / 8500 x50 / Center Armrest Pouch / JB4 / BT
i2iSTUDIOS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2008, 11:07 PM   #6
raceyBMW
king of the hills
 
raceyBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO

Posts: 2,765
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
1994 530i  [4.25]
2007 335i Coupe  [4.07]
It uses the Mini-Fuse Add-A-Circuit.

IMO, tapping into wires on a car that is warrantied is just asking for trouble. Plus people have had issues with the tapping option because they don't get a proper ground. The A-pillar/Fuse Box method is easy and very clean.
raceyBMW is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-28-2008, 07:52 AM   #7
EastCoast335i
Colonel
 
EastCoast335i's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i E92
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NJ

Posts: 2,069
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by raceyBMW View Post
It uses the Mini-Fuse Add-A-Circuit.

IMO, tapping into wires on a car that is warrantied is just asking for trouble. Plus people have had issues with the tapping option because they don't get a proper ground. The A-pillar/Fuse Box method is easy and very clean.
+1

Just hard-wired my radar like this last week.
Add-A-Fuse (mini-fuse), used the bolt in the fuse box as my ground, ran the wires up the a-pillar and tucked them under the roof liner.
No splicing/tapping required, completely reversable.
EastCoast335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-28-2008, 03:31 PM   #8
tjnptel1
Cunning Linguist
 
tjnptel1's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Norfolk, VA

Posts: 2,219
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by EastCoast335i View Post
+1

Just hard-wired my radar like this last week.
Add-A-Fuse (mini-fuse), used the bolt in the fuse box as my ground, ran the wires up the a-pillar and tucked them under the roof liner.
No splicing/tapping required, completely reversable.
+1 to the +1
__________________
Bottles are for babies, Real men get blown.
tjnptel1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-30-2008, 09:50 AM   #9
BlueLion
she likes the flavor......
 
Drives: A51-E92
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bradenton - FL

Posts: 1,622
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [0.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by EastCoast335i View Post
+1

Just hard-wired my radar like this last week.
Add-A-Fuse (mini-fuse), used the bolt in the fuse box as my ground, ran the wires up the a-pillar and tucked them under the roof liner.
No splicing/tapping required, completely reversable.
thats how i did hooked mine up....couldnt be easier....
__________________

E92 Montego Blue silfa718 ..::STETT CAI|ADVAN RS|WAGNER FMIC|MS DP|VANGUARD|PROCEDE|FORGE DV|BMS OCC|KWV2|MICHELIN PSS|OOS::..

BlueLion is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-30-2008, 04:07 PM   #10
Andrew@ET
Brigadier General
 
Drives: Red thing
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Earth

Posts: 4,041
iTrader: (9)

what do i need to buy ? i got my v1 used with nothing but the main cord and the radar.
Andrew@ET is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-30-2008, 05:42 PM   #11
raceyBMW
king of the hills
 
raceyBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO

Posts: 2,765
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
1994 530i  [4.25]
2007 335i Coupe  [4.07]
Hardwire kit from the V1 site or ebay and go to Autozone and get the Add-a-circuit for a minifuse.
raceyBMW is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-30-2008, 06:43 PM   #12
Andrew@ET
Brigadier General
 
Drives: Red thing
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Earth

Posts: 4,041
iTrader: (9)

i feel dumb.. but its it the 13 buck one from the site?
Andrew@ET is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-30-2008, 07:18 PM   #13
mack82097
Private First Class
 
mack82097's Avatar
 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Farmingdale, NY

Posts: 111
iTrader: (5)

I'm goong to do this install tomorrow. Anyone know which is the best fuse location to use? I've seen the Homelink fuse used, but does pulling it to add the circuit erase the garage openers I've programmed?

Thanks.
mack82097 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-30-2008, 10:37 PM   #14
raceyBMW
king of the hills
 
raceyBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO

Posts: 2,765
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
1994 530i  [4.25]
2007 335i Coupe  [4.07]
Quote:

Direct-Wire Power Adapter Kit
Item 00030

Direct-wire power adapter (Item 20305) and a Straight power cord (Item 20311) together at a reduced price.
Price: $19.00
Miamibusta, this is the one you want, unless you have an older V1 (then you need the $30 one, check your serial number). You can also get the $13 kit and use your own phone/power line if you want, but I like the black wire with the kit, and I know its long enough.

mack, I used fuse 28 (5amp Fuse) which for my 2007 E92, is the homelink/pdc fuse. And no, I don't think it loses memory, but not 100% sure.
raceyBMW is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-30-2008, 11:42 PM   #15
Andrew@ET
Brigadier General
 
Drives: Red thing
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Earth

Posts: 4,041
iTrader: (9)

ok so get that one later on if i want the concealed display will that connect to that box as well?
Andrew@ET is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-31-2008, 12:35 AM   #16
raceyBMW
king of the hills
 
raceyBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO

Posts: 2,765
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
1994 530i  [4.25]
2007 335i Coupe  [4.07]
Yes, one of the wires from the adapter you see in that diagram goes to the main unit, and one goes to the concealed display (if needed). All you would need is an extra power wire (or phone cord) which might even come with the concealed display.
raceyBMW is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST