E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Next GEN I-DRIVE Retrofit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-15-2009, 07:19 AM   #133
Bandarof
Impossible is Nothing
 
Bandarof's Avatar
 
Drives: 08' white/red 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saudi Arabia

Posts: 86
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 e92 335i  [0.00]
I wasn't originally thinking about replacing my CCC with a CIC until I read your post.

But here is the thing, my car is from North America, and I read somewhere that these cars have the same TCU as Canadian cars, Canadian cars already have this function of google maps and so fourth. And I read somewhere also that the NA TCU's are all capable of connecting because they contain an AT&T sim chip which does the calling to BMW Assist when you press the SOS button, the TCU's with AT&T Sim chip isn't programmed to connect to the internet, possibly because the contract between BMW and AT&T doesn't include internet connectivity.

On the other hand...Out here in the UAE they already have the service, but as far as I can tell, the TCU in the car connects to the internet through the bluetooth connection to your mobile phone, and your internet usage in the car will appear on your mobile phone bill, I'm still double checking that to make sure.

Originally I was thinking about just changing the sim chip in my TCU, or replacing my TCU with a local one from UAE, and loading iDrive version 4.0 on my existing CCC.

Are you with me??
__________________

08' 335i WHT/RED MT6
01' 323Ci TPZ BLU/GRY MT6
88' 750iL BLU/GRY
85' 745i Carbonite/Buffalo Turbo Injectors
Bandarof is offline   Saudi Arabia
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2009, 08:14 AM   #134
Bandarof
Impossible is Nothing
 
Bandarof's Avatar
 
Drives: 08' white/red 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saudi Arabia

Posts: 86
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 e92 335i  [0.00]
TCU


http://www.flickr.com/photos/39434482@N05/3628181487/


http://www.flickr.com/photos/39434482@N05/3628181487/


http://www.flickr.com/photos/39434482@N05/3628181063/

And then there are two more devices inside the panels on the left side of the trunk.


http://www.flickr.com/photos/3943448...99490/#preview

It has been confirmed, the internet connectivity and google maps function was introduced on the CCC before it was featured in the CIC. More and more it seems to me there is no need to replace the CCC.

Now can anybody tell me how to attain the latest iDrive version before 4.0 and how I can get it loaded without going to the dealer??

If you guys think the dealer in the US is a ripp off you should come soo what they do to us here....

Can anyone tell em why these images aren't showing??
__________________

08' 335i WHT/RED MT6
01' 323Ci TPZ BLU/GRY MT6
88' 750iL BLU/GRY
85' 745i Carbonite/Buffalo Turbo Injectors

Last edited by Bandarof; 06-15-2009 at 08:19 AM. Reason: Aded links to pictures
Bandarof is offline   Saudi Arabia
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2009, 08:43 AM   #135
Bandarof
Impossible is Nothing
 
Bandarof's Avatar
 
Drives: 08' white/red 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saudi Arabia

Posts: 86
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 e92 335i  [0.00]
Check this out:

javascript:download('/me/en/_teaserpool/download/insights/pdf/connecteddrive.pdf')

http://www.bmw-me.com/me/en/insights.../assist_1.html
__________________

08' 335i WHT/RED MT6
01' 323Ci TPZ BLU/GRY MT6
88' 750iL BLU/GRY
85' 745i Carbonite/Buffalo Turbo Injectors
Bandarof is offline   Saudi Arabia
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2009, 03:20 PM   #136
MartinS
Diesel power! 354hp/684nm
 
MartinS's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335d & E93 M3 & F10 535d
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denmark

Posts: 390
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Send a message via MSN to MartinS
I just bought the new knob on eBay.

All the bottons works and up/down & left/right is working on the joystick but when I'm turning it nothing happens. Why??
__________________
http://www.niiice.dk/signatur_2010.jpg
335d Coupe | Wetterauer remap: 354hp/684nm | KW V3 | 8.5 & 10x20" iForged Fabulous (summer) - 8.5 & 9.5x19 (winter) | Shadowline | M-tech | M3 mirrors/seats/spoiler | 45% tint | Black grill
M3 Convertible | 20" BBS LM dbk | ALL options (German)
MartinS is offline   Denmark
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2009, 03:52 PM   #137
Bandarof
Impossible is Nothing
 
Bandarof's Avatar
 
Drives: 08' white/red 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saudi Arabia

Posts: 86
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 e92 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MartinS View Post
I just bought the new knob on eBay.

All the bottons works and up/down & left/right is working on the joystick but when I'm turning it nothing happens. Why??
I need iDrive software Version 4.0 for your CCC to read the controller correctly...

I suppose...

But the new software most likely won't work on your CCC, hence you will need to replace the CCC with a CIC to use the new knob.

Either that or your knob is malfunctioning...
__________________

08' 335i WHT/RED MT6
01' 323Ci TPZ BLU/GRY MT6
88' 750iL BLU/GRY
85' 745i Carbonite/Buffalo Turbo Injectors
Bandarof is offline   Saudi Arabia
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2009, 04:08 PM   #138
Bandarof
Impossible is Nothing
 
Bandarof's Avatar
 
Drives: 08' white/red 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saudi Arabia

Posts: 86
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 e92 335i  [0.00]
Booster...I Just checked Autologic...It says it can ccess the on-board computer.

Around how much do these things run for??

Maybe we can download later version software from one car and load it into another, please say yes!!

I will look into purchasing the part from UAE...
__________________

08' 335i WHT/RED MT6
01' 323Ci TPZ BLU/GRY MT6
88' 750iL BLU/GRY
85' 745i Carbonite/Buffalo Turbo Injectors
Bandarof is offline   Saudi Arabia
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2009, 06:29 PM   #139
dmurray14
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (1)

Guys,

What additional functions does the myinfo provide in Canada? I'll enable it on mine, but I want to know what it does first...
__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2009, 03:55 AM   #140
MartinS
Diesel power! 354hp/684nm
 
MartinS's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335d & E93 M3 & F10 535d
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denmark

Posts: 390
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Send a message via MSN to MartinS
I think it's because there is a HIGH and LOW version of the idrive knob.

HIGH = knows when you get to the end of a menu and makes resistance. When power is off there's no resistance at all.

LOW = always small intervals on the know when you turn it. Even when you hit the end of a menu or when power is off.

Anyone wanna buy my idrive knob?
__________________
http://www.niiice.dk/signatur_2010.jpg
335d Coupe | Wetterauer remap: 354hp/684nm | KW V3 | 8.5 & 10x20" iForged Fabulous (summer) - 8.5 & 9.5x19 (winter) | Shadowline | M-tech | M3 mirrors/seats/spoiler | 45% tint | Black grill
M3 Convertible | 20" BBS LM dbk | ALL options (German)
MartinS is offline   Denmark
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2009, 10:37 AM   #141
Bandarof
Impossible is Nothing
 
Bandarof's Avatar
 
Drives: 08' white/red 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saudi Arabia

Posts: 86
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 e92 335i  [0.00]
Alright guys here it is...

I opened up my TCU images below:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/39434482@N05/3632099487/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/39434482@N05/3632099495/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/39434482@N05/3632099497/

I opebned all these little compartments on the wireless cpu unit and didn't find any GSM AT&T Sim chip...

Any thoughts??
__________________

08' 335i WHT/RED MT6
01' 323Ci TPZ BLU/GRY MT6
88' 750iL BLU/GRY
85' 745i Carbonite/Buffalo Turbo Injectors
Bandarof is offline   Saudi Arabia
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2009, 03:26 PM   #142
Tony B
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, MW, ZCP, 6MT
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 238
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandarof View Post
I dunno why I got this strong hunch that the CIC will recognize all the other units.

TCU is one of them, I guess we can look at a 2009 TCU and see if it's different.

What do u mean by programming the CIC to the car?? What is Autologic?? Do u think the newer iDrive software could actually work on the older iDrive?? Maybe??

That's what I thought at the beginning, but I read somewhere that the CCC itself doesn't have internet connectivity functionality, that is the only technical difference I can see besides the higher resolution screen...

Am I making a valid argument here or am I just confusing everybody??
I have the CCC in my car and I do have internet connectivity. I think it is a market specific thing (I am in the UK).

I would definitely like to have the CIC and high res screen. Having played with a current 7 series the UI is so much better.
Tony B is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2009, 06:32 PM   #143
Bandarof
Impossible is Nothing
 
Bandarof's Avatar
 
Drives: 08' white/red 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saudi Arabia

Posts: 86
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 e92 335i  [0.00]
Alright I did some more research...

My TCU you is not a GSM version it's cdma, later versions in the US came out with GSM TCU's.

So now I'm trying to figure out if replacing the wireless cpu unit on the same TCU would do the job, or if I need a new TCU.

Does anyone know how I can get a European TCU?
__________________

08' 335i WHT/RED MT6
01' 323Ci TPZ BLU/GRY MT6
88' 750iL BLU/GRY
85' 745i Carbonite/Buffalo Turbo Injectors
Bandarof is offline   Saudi Arabia
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2009, 11:26 PM   #144
dmurray14
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (1)

FYI, I added in the BMW Online feature to my CCC today, it worked up to the point where I could get to the web browser but then got the "No GSM service available" message. Tried enabling a GSM SIM option but no dice. Perhaps you're right Bandarof, maybe it's a different TCU. Are the US ones CDMA?
__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2009, 04:25 AM   #145
Bandarof
Impossible is Nothing
 
Bandarof's Avatar
 
Drives: 08' white/red 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saudi Arabia

Posts: 86
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 e92 335i  [0.00]
BMW online

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmurray14 View Post
FYI, I added in the BMW Online feature to my CCC today, it worked up to the point where I could get to the web browser but then got the "No GSM service available" message. Tried enabling a GSM SIM option but no dice. Perhaps you're right Bandarof, maybe it's a different TCU. Are the US ones CDMA?
Yes they are, I took out my TCU and opened it up and looked at the components inside, the wireless cpu inside is cdma, and I don't believe it is capable of tethering data.

I'm trying to figure out if I can replace that part right now, there are exchangable parts available on the market, but they are sold in wholesale to companies. Will let you know if I find anything.
__________________

08' 335i WHT/RED MT6
01' 323Ci TPZ BLU/GRY MT6
88' 750iL BLU/GRY
85' 745i Carbonite/Buffalo Turbo Injectors
Bandarof is offline   Saudi Arabia
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2009, 01:04 PM   #146
Bandarof
Impossible is Nothing
 
Bandarof's Avatar
 
Drives: 08' white/red 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saudi Arabia

Posts: 86
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 e92 335i  [0.00]
I guess what you're saying means the system would accept replacing the wireless cpu without any programming, great news for me thank...
__________________

08' 335i WHT/RED MT6
01' 323Ci TPZ BLU/GRY MT6
88' 750iL BLU/GRY
85' 745i Carbonite/Buffalo Turbo Injectors
Bandarof is offline   Saudi Arabia
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2009, 02:25 PM   #147
dmurray14
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandarof View Post
I guess what you're saying means the system would accept replacing the wireless cpu without any programming, great news for me thank...
I can't tell you that for sure. I can tell you that I had to recode some options in the CCC to make it believe I had a GSM-capable TCU as well as enable the BMW Online menu. So no, you couldn't just switch the new TCU in and have it work, you'd have to have it coded....
__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-23-2009, 01:48 AM   #148
youyou
Colonel
 
youyou's Avatar
 
Drives: Porsche 997 C4S
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montreal

Posts: 2,446
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmurray14 View Post
FYI, I added in the BMW Online feature to my CCC today, it worked up to the point where I could get to the web browser but then got the "No GSM service available" message. Tried enabling a GSM SIM option but no dice. Perhaps you're right Bandarof, maybe it's a different TCU. Are the US ones CDMA?
Can you elaborate on the "Bmw Online Feature" ...
Are you simply talking about sending a google map destination from your computer to your nav?
Or anything else that i should know about for my 08' E93 M3.
__________________
Retired-1996 Porsche C4S Polar Silver
Retired-2006 Porsche 911 Carrera 4S Cab Basalt Black
Retired - 2010 S5 Cabriolet Ibis White
Retired - 2008 M3 E93 Alpine White
Retired - 2007 335 E92 Alpine White
youyou is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      06-23-2009, 12:11 PM   #149
dmurray14
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by youyou View Post
Can you elaborate on the "Bmw Online Feature" ...
Are you simply talking about sending a google map destination from your computer to your nav?
Or anything else that i should know about for my 08' E93 M3.
No, I'm talking about an option called "BMW Online" in the communication sub menu. It appears to be a mini web browser.
__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-23-2009, 11:08 PM   #150
youyou
Colonel
 
youyou's Avatar
 
Drives: Porsche 997 C4S
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montreal

Posts: 2,446
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmurray14 View Post
No, I'm talking about an option called "BMW Online" in the communication sub menu. It appears to be a mini web browser.
I see...
I'm guessing this is a USA only feature.
__________________
Retired-1996 Porsche C4S Polar Silver
Retired-2006 Porsche 911 Carrera 4S Cab Basalt Black
Retired - 2010 S5 Cabriolet Ibis White
Retired - 2008 M3 E93 Alpine White
Retired - 2007 335 E92 Alpine White
youyou is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      06-24-2009, 02:22 AM   #151
dmurray14
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by youyou View Post
I see...
I'm guessing this is a USA only feature.
Haha no, it's actually a UK only feature I believe. I "changed some things" on my CCC and got it to show up on mine. But it doesn't really matter since I have a CDMA TCU.
__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-24-2009, 04:00 PM   #152
apw2607
Major
 
Drives: 2009 X5 35d
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Seattle, WA, USA

Posts: 1,421
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmurray14 View Post
Haha no, it's actually a UK only feature I believe. I "changed some things" on my CCC and got it to show up on mine. But it doesn't really matter since I have a CDMA TCU.
Interesting dialog. How did you enable it?

The on-line feature essentially reads RSS feeds you set up with a special on-line web page at BMW UK.

I'm based in the USA, and have the CCC with google MYINFO. My TCU is GSM. Its in my X5. X5's for MY 2009 still have the old CCC based i-drive, although introduced the google my_info to keep them inline with the X6. The first vehicle to have it.
apw2607 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-24-2009, 07:05 PM   #153
dmurray14
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
Interesting dialog. How did you enable it?

The on-line feature essentially reads RSS feeds you set up with a special on-line web page at BMW UK.

I'm based in the USA, and have the CCC with google MYINFO. My TCU is GSM. Its in my X5. X5's for MY 2009 still have the old CCC based i-drive, although introduced the google my_info to keep them inline with the X6. The first vehicle to have it.
Hmm, interesting. So maybe if I got the GSM TCU I could get it to work. Problem is, I bet you can't just replace that thing - I doubt they'd let you put in a GSM TCU and associate it to your account.
__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-25-2009, 12:01 AM   #154
apw2607
Major
 
Drives: 2009 X5 35d
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Seattle, WA, USA

Posts: 1,421
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmurray14 View Post
Hmm, interesting. So maybe if I got the GSM TCU I could get it to work. Problem is, I bet you can't just replace that thing - I doubt they'd let you put in a GSM TCU and associate it to your account.
You could try .... you never know.

How did you enable the feature on your car ?
apw2607 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST