E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > DIY Guides > FULL SWS-8 sub and amp install, 34 pictures, step by step



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-27-2008, 07:10 PM   #45
wrh3
Car Guy
wrh3's Avatar
18
Rep
796
Posts

Drives: 2005 MCS, 2013 Corvette 427
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: ATL, GA

iTrader: (10)

Nice job man, Thanks
__________________

Bill- 2005 Mini Cooper S, 2013 Corvette 427
www.billswebspace.com/bmwindex BMW CCA Member # 389948
Appreciate 0
      08-27-2008, 11:34 PM   #46
cassey
Private First Class
cassey's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
181
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i Sedan
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (0)

Great write-up! I just have a question about your remote wire connection. Does your amplifier only turn on with your engine running?
__________________
2008 Monaco Blue E90 335i 6MT.
Mods: 19" ITC Euro SD's, E46 ZHP shift knob, Matte black grills, Black Lines, 12" Infinity sub.
Appreciate 0
      09-03-2008, 01:15 AM   #47
azwillnj
Second Lieutenant
30
Rep
245
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 328i xDrive
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Chester, PA

iTrader: (0)

No, well, kinda.. It turns on with a second push of the start button, so acc power on. If there was a regular turn key it would be the second click....

To put it another way.. when I turn the car off and want to have the amp on without the engine I have to try to start the car without the clutch depressed.
__________________
2013 F30 328xi - Sport - Tech - Premium - Driver Assistance - Lighting - Sport Auto
MODS: Rear Fog Mod - Custom Coding

Energy Engineering-PSU-2011
Appreciate 0
      09-03-2008, 09:41 AM   #48
d_dot
4 * General
d_dot's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
646
Posts

Drives: F12 M6,Audi R8 Lambo Gallardo
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tri-State

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to d_dot
can ne1 modify this for the e92 m3 coupe???
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2008, 09:07 AM   #49
d_dot
4 * General
d_dot's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
646
Posts

Drives: F12 M6,Audi R8 Lambo Gallardo
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tri-State

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to d_dot
Does it have to be that amp that was listed i the install or can it be any amp like the one i am currently using?????????

Last edited by d_dot; 09-11-2008 at 07:00 AM.
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2008, 03:03 AM   #50
cassey
Private First Class
cassey's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
181
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i Sedan
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by azwillnj View Post
No, well, kinda.. It turns on with a second push of the start button, so acc power on. If there was a regular turn key it would be the second click....

To put it another way.. when I turn the car off and want to have the amp on without the engine I have to try to start the car without the clutch depressed.
Thanks! I was wondering how it would work using the cigarette lighter remote wire connection. Seems like it works fine for most scenarios. I used a low voltage trigger and my amp stays on whenever the radio is on. I also noticed that the amp stays on for about a minute after I lock the car.
__________________
2008 Monaco Blue E90 335i 6MT.
Mods: 19" ITC Euro SD's, E46 ZHP shift knob, Matte black grills, Black Lines, 12" Infinity sub.
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2008, 07:00 AM   #51
d_dot
4 * General
d_dot's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
646
Posts

Drives: F12 M6,Audi R8 Lambo Gallardo
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tri-State

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to d_dot
Quote:
Originally Posted by d_dot View Post
can ne1 modify this for the e92 m3 coupe???
Quote:
Originally Posted by d_dot View Post
Does it have to be that amp that was listed i the install or can it be any amp like the one i am currently using?????????
+2
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2008, 04:20 PM   #52
Speedtrap
Lieutenant Colonel
United Kingdom
27
Rep
1,799
Posts

Drives: A very fast car :)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Thanks a heap dude
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2008, 04:34 AM   #53
aus
Major General
United_States
229
Rep
7,936
Posts

Drives: Odysse
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Seal Beach, CA

iTrader: (7)

Awesome job.
__________________
Let me get this straight... You are swapping out parts designed by some of the top engineers in the world because some guys sponsored by a company told you it's "better??" But when you ask the same guy about tracking, "oh no, I have a kid now" or "I just detailed my car." or "i just got new tires."
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2008, 08:27 AM   #54
d_dot
4 * General
d_dot's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
646
Posts

Drives: F12 M6,Audi R8 Lambo Gallardo
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tri-State

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to d_dot
Has ne 1 done this on the coupe preferably the m3 e92 coupe?
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2008, 10:16 AM   #55
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
518
Rep
12,208
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by d_dot View Post
Has ne 1 done this on the coupe preferably the m3 e92 coupe?
It is done in the E92 M3 standard sound system the same way as this DIY.
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2008, 10:35 AM   #56
d_dot
4 * General
d_dot's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
646
Posts

Drives: F12 M6,Audi R8 Lambo Gallardo
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tri-State

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to d_dot
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
It is done in the E92 M3 standard sound system the same way as this DIY.
So what is different for the coupe with premium sound
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2008, 02:13 PM   #57
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
518
Rep
12,208
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by d_dot View Post
So what is different for the coupe with premium sound
Should be nothing, as the underseat enclosure is the same regardless of the type of sound system.
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2008, 03:16 PM   #58
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
518
Rep
12,208
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

This is the enclosure and woofer of the Premium sound...



It is an approximately 7 ohm woofer:



To make sure that I'm measuring this correctly, this is a Pioneer 8" 4 ohms shallow sub for comparison:



Thus, a SWS-8 can be installed in a Premium Sound-equipped M3 underseat enclosure exactly the same as in this DIY. In theory, a pair of 4 ohms SWS-8 could be powered by the Premium Sound OEM amp with an inmediate 75% power increase just because of the reduction of the impedance, however the OEM amp not necessarily will be stable at that load.

Appreciate 0
      04-01-2009, 12:30 AM   #59
azwillnj
Second Lieutenant
30
Rep
245
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 328i xDrive
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Chester, PA

iTrader: (0)

Just wanted to let you guys know that I have kinda stopped monitoring this thread so if you have any questions the best way to get in touch with me is to PM me. I have it setup so that PM's get forwarded to my Blackberry so I can respond quickly.

Alex.
__________________
2013 F30 328xi - Sport - Tech - Premium - Driver Assistance - Lighting - Sport Auto
MODS: Rear Fog Mod - Custom Coding

Energy Engineering-PSU-2011
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2010, 11:58 AM   #60
arhim22
Lieutenant
17
Rep
534
Posts

Drives: Turbo Scion tc. e92 335i 6mt
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orlando FL/UCF

iTrader: (0)

is the new amp necessary? or could I just replace the subs?
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2010, 05:13 AM   #61
jeremynpross
Private
United_States
6
Rep
55
Posts

Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Kudos from a Legend

I just installed the Earthquakes with these spacers at Rick Reus' Orange, CA shop. Everything went really well. Rick said I can quote him:

"Tell those guys they did an amazing job making the fabricated spacers and instructions"

Means a lot coming from a legend!

Take a bow, jtsherri and azwillNJ

(BTW Earthquake themselves refer installers to azwillNJ's instructions if they call the company with questions)

I have a Reus Systems stereo in my 335 and proudly show it off at SoCal events to help Reus sales efforts. For those of you who don't know him -- the best hidden secret in car audio -- Rick Reus engineers arguably the sweetest sounding high-end systems in the world for BMWs and other high-end cars. He has an amazing reputation stretetching back to the 1970s.

PM me for more info. Check out Reus at http://www.reusaudio.com/aboutus.html
__________________
Space Grey 335i, ISTA 32.2 with retrofits for lag fix and neutral idle control (Converter lockup clutch disengagement disabled). Sport, Premium, Auto, Paddles, iPod. Nav. Manufactured June 14, 2007, delivered July 21, 2007.
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2010, 01:56 PM   #62
IancoleTX
Dillo boxers
IancoleTX's Avatar
United_States
58
Rep
3,101
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA

iTrader: (14)

This write up made my life super easy, thanks a million bro
__________________
2013 EBII 335i M-Sport 8AT MPPK
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2010, 02:25 AM   #63
oldnamer
Private
3
Rep
57
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW 328xi
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Denver, CO

iTrader: (1)

Excellent write up. Thanks for all your efforts !!!
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2010, 11:05 AM   #64
x3oiler
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: X3 3.0 Diesel
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

I crunched the PDF in acrobat . tis 3.3MByte now and can be attached to the OP if required.

Great post and detail. Much appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: pdf BMW e90 Sub and Amp Upgrade - PDF s.pdf (3.15 MB, 482 views)
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2010, 03:00 PM   #65
h2oskier
New Member
h2oskier's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
25
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pleasanton, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post



Thus, a SWS-8 can be installed in a Premium Sound-equipped M3 underseat enclosure exactly the same as in this DIY. In theory, a pair of 4 ohms SWS-8 could be powered by the Premium Sound OEM amp with an inmediate 75% power increase just because of the reduction of the impedance, however the OEM amp not necessarily will be stable at that load.

Has anyone tried this? I have a 07 335i with Logic 7. Would love to just replace the subs.
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2010, 11:37 AM   #66
azwillnj
Second Lieutenant
30
Rep
245
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 328i xDrive
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Chester, PA

iTrader: (0)

I did the install in stages, I installed the subs first then the amp a few days later. With just the subs and no amp there was a significant improvement over stock. And I didn't have any problems. But I only ran like that for like 3 days, so I'm not sure what the long term effects would be.

Alex.
__________________
2013 F30 328xi - Sport - Tech - Premium - Driver Assistance - Lighting - Sport Auto
MODS: Rear Fog Mod - Custom Coding

Energy Engineering-PSU-2011
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:16 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST