E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Copying Navigation dvd



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-02-2008, 06:23 AM   #1
nicks3
First Lieutenant
nicks3's Avatar
16
Rep
309
Posts

Drives: 335d Xdrive Msport Plus
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Midlands, United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Copying Navigation dvd

Is it possible to copy an original 2008 navigation dvd and use it in my 2006 3 series navigation?
__________________
335d Xdrive Msport Plus, ACS springs and lots of toys
Range Rover Evoque Dynamic Lux
VW Touran 1.9Tdi, 18" wheels, superchipped and lowered!
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2008, 11:42 PM   #2
ntpcrew13
Lieutenant Colonel
ntpcrew13's Avatar
Philippines
23
Rep
1,598
Posts

Drives: Arctic e90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: chicago,il (mokena)

iTrader: (29)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to ntpcrew13
yes
__________________
......support your local vendors. view my garage for a list of mods.

Appreciate 0
      09-21-2008, 11:47 PM   #3
ska///235i
***** noob
ska///235i's Avatar
United_States
350
Rep
10,251
Posts

Drives: 325xi>M235i>428GCx Mspor
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Boston

iTrader: (34)

Garage List
2006 325xi  [0.00]
i dont know about this...my 06 couldn't use 08
__________________
2006 325xi (Sold)
2014 M235I (Current)
2015 428xi Gran Coupe (STB)
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2008, 12:04 AM   #4
ntpcrew13
Lieutenant Colonel
ntpcrew13's Avatar
Philippines
23
Rep
1,598
Posts

Drives: Arctic e90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: chicago,il (mokena)

iTrader: (29)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to ntpcrew13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ska View Post
i dont know about this...my 06 couldn't use 08
did you make a proper copy of it?? i believe that if it works in my car, then it should work in the rest of the e90s. i picked up my car in may of '05, so mine was one of the very first batch of e90s released in the US.
__________________
......support your local vendors. view my garage for a list of mods.

Appreciate 0
      09-22-2008, 12:30 PM   #5
E90SLAM
Supreme Allied Commander
E90SLAM's Avatar
Hong Kong
993
Rep
61,388
Posts

Drives: A BBS WHORE
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: .

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2006 330i  [4.67]
mine is 06....and my 2008.1 DVD works fine...
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2008, 12:44 PM   #6
dreamk
Banned
Dominican Republic
104
Rep
9,947
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: south nj

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to dreamk
where can i get them from. i need one for a Toyota
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2008, 01:21 PM   #7
phatr1s
First Lieutenant
phatr1s's Avatar
United_States
7
Rep
358
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
2007 335i  [0.00]
2007 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamk View Post
where can i get them from. i need one for a Toyota
google is your best friend, you need a torent.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2008, 12:39 AM   #8
ska///235i
***** noob
ska///235i's Avatar
United_States
350
Rep
10,251
Posts

Drives: 325xi>M235i>428GCx Mspor
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Boston

iTrader: (34)

Garage List
2006 325xi  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntpcrew13 View Post
did you make a proper copy of it?? i believe that if it works in my car, then it should work in the rest of the e90s. i picked up my car in may of '05, so mine was one of the very first batch of e90s released in the US.
the dealer did something to my software...I use to be able to use copy dvds and it worked fine, but after getting a software upgrade...they did someshit and no copies could be use afterwards

I had try 2-3 times with 2008 and no luck

can someone copy a good one for me? maybe I'm doing something wrong
__________________
2006 325xi (Sold)
2014 M235I (Current)
2015 428xi Gran Coupe (STB)
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2008, 02:03 AM   #9
E90 ANdy
Banned
United_States
55
Rep
1,207
Posts

Drives: SG E90 325i sport + idrive
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ORLANDO, FL

iTrader: (23)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to E90 ANdy
hmm, i neeed the 2008 navi disk too! pm me please! ps: i have a burned 2007 disk in mines and it works flawlessly
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2008, 07:00 PM   #10
ct335i
BMW 4 LIFE
ct335i's Avatar
Canada
9
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I experinced the same issue as yourself. I had a burned 2008-1 Nav disc in my car running for past 5 months or so. Last week, took my car is for service and now my burned disc no longer works!!!. I believe I got my software upgraded.
The dealer said they did nothing but I'm pretty sure they did but won't admint it. I plan to take it to them sometime soon, for now running my orginal 2007-2.



Quote:
Originally Posted by ska325xi View Post
the dealer did something to my software...I use to be able to use copy dvds and it worked fine, but after getting a software upgrade...they did someshit and no copies could be use afterwards

I had try 2-3 times with 2008 and no luck

can someone copy a good one for me? maybe I'm doing something wrong
__________________
2007 BMW 335i |Sparkling Graphite |Sport PKG | Nav with I-Drive| Bluetooth |Comfort Access | Blackline Tail Lights | Rear trunk spolier | CF Splitters
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2008, 08:31 PM   #11
calvino
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
97
Rep
1,926
Posts

Drives: had e90, 330i mystic blue
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston,Florida

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 e90 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to calvino
PM's send

I used a Philips DVD-R disk and I burn it using toast 9 on my mac and it works perfect, I read some were that for some people it work if the try to burn it on DVD-R or DVD+R apparently some nav units have problems reading one or the other.
__________________
E90 Mytic Blue 330i 07-20-2006. 05-17-2011
Doesn't the idea of making nature against the law seem to you a bit . . . unnatural? Support NORML
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2008, 09:51 PM   #12
ska///235i
***** noob
ska///235i's Avatar
United_States
350
Rep
10,251
Posts

Drives: 325xi>M235i>428GCx Mspor
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Boston

iTrader: (34)

Garage List
2006 325xi  [0.00]
someone made me a copy of 2007.2 or maybe is 2008...anyways, it worked fine (98%) but the sticker/cover that was put on the frontside of the dvd made the disc stuck in the drive..happen a few times

so dont put anything on the disc

window users...what program did you use to burn the disc?
__________________
2006 325xi (Sold)
2014 M235I (Current)
2015 428xi Gran Coupe (STB)
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2008, 09:53 PM   #13
snipersix
Brigadier General
snipersix's Avatar
Canada
60
Rep
3,515
Posts

Drives: 2008 328i Sedan Montego Blue
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Coquitlam, bc

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via MSN to snipersix
Quote:
Originally Posted by ska325xi View Post
someone made me a copy of 2007.2 or maybe is 2008...anyways, it worked fine (98%) but the sticker/cover that was put on the frontside of the dvd made the disc stuck in the drive..happen a few times

so dont put anything on the disc

window users...what program did you use to burn the disc?
you can use Nero.
__________________

Retired: |2008 328i Sedan|Montego Blue|AT|Nav/Idrive|PDC|Xenon Headlights| Black Leatherette Seats, Silver trim| COTM April 2010
Mods:PIAA, H&R Sport, Blacklines, BBS LM-R, Eisenman Race Quad Exhaust , Koni yellows, Full Mtech, Gloss Black Vinyl Roof
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2008, 10:45 PM   #14
dreamk
Banned
Dominican Republic
104
Rep
9,947
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: south nj

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to dreamk
Quote:
Originally Posted by phatr1s View Post
google is your best friend, you need a torent.
tried it but cant find the one i want
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2008, 08:48 AM   #15
rambalu80
Major
rambalu80's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
1,079
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW 328i
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Katy TX

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by snipersix View Post
you can use Nero.
+1. I used Nero and mine works fine.
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2008, 09:24 PM   #16
warrenatc
New Member
warrenatc's Avatar
1
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW M5
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (0)

Hi all, I just got 2009.1 DVD nav disc. I tried to make a back up copy using nero but after inserting a blank disc to copy it to, it says there is not enough room? The log said the files were approx 4.5GB and the disc is 4.7GB so not sure why it won't work. I tried DVD-R and DVD+R and DVD-RW, so does anyone know why this is so?
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2008, 09:43 PM   #17
ct335i
BMW 4 LIFE
ct335i's Avatar
Canada
9
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Can you confirm you have selected a DVD Media inside of Nero not CD? By default it may be CD.
hope it helps!
__________________
2007 BMW 335i |Sparkling Graphite |Sport PKG | Nav with I-Drive| Bluetooth |Comfort Access | Blackline Tail Lights | Rear trunk spolier | CF Splitters
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2008, 10:47 PM   #18
warrenatc
New Member
warrenatc's Avatar
1
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW M5
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (0)

Yes, DVD is selected, it burned an image for 22mins, then when I put the discs in, it checked what type it was, whether DVD-R/+R/RW but still said not enough room. On the back of the case it says the disc is copyrighted, but if so, I think it would not have allowed an image to be burned as a temp file. Oh well...will risk this disc in the i-drive, luckily my last was a back up copy as it could not be pulled out since the whole ccc/i-drive is fried. Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2008, 11:38 PM   #19
ct335i
BMW 4 LIFE
ct335i's Avatar
Canada
9
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Just curious, do u have enough Hard disk space. ?? Take a look at that.
or
You may want to extract the DVD image as an iso and then try burning the iso itself instead of trying a direct copy. I did that with my 2007-2 Nav disk and it worked. good luck.


Quote:
Originally Posted by warrenatc View Post
Yes, DVD is selected, it burned an image for 22mins, then when I put the discs in, it checked what type it was, whether DVD-R/+R/RW but still said not enough room. On the back of the case it says the disc is copyrighted, but if so, I think it would not have allowed an image to be burned as a temp file. Oh well...will risk this disc in the i-drive, luckily my last was a back up copy as it could not be pulled out since the whole ccc/i-drive is fried. Thanks!
__________________
2007 BMW 335i |Sparkling Graphite |Sport PKG | Nav with I-Drive| Bluetooth |Comfort Access | Blackline Tail Lights | Rear trunk spolier | CF Splitters
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2008, 11:40 PM   #20
snipersix
Brigadier General
snipersix's Avatar
Canada
60
Rep
3,515
Posts

Drives: 2008 328i Sedan Montego Blue
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Coquitlam, bc

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 328i  [0.00]
Send a message via MSN to snipersix
and I think ur suppose to be using DVD-
__________________

Retired: |2008 328i Sedan|Montego Blue|AT|Nav/Idrive|PDC|Xenon Headlights| Black Leatherette Seats, Silver trim| COTM April 2010
Mods:PIAA, H&R Sport, Blacklines, BBS LM-R, Eisenman Race Quad Exhaust , Koni yellows, Full Mtech, Gloss Black Vinyl Roof
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2008, 11:50 PM   #21
ct335i
BMW 4 LIFE
ct335i's Avatar
Canada
9
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
In my car both DVD -R and +R works. Also DVD +RW

Quote:
Originally Posted by snipersix View Post
and I think ur suppose to be using DVD-
__________________
2007 BMW 335i |Sparkling Graphite |Sport PKG | Nav with I-Drive| Bluetooth |Comfort Access | Blackline Tail Lights | Rear trunk spolier | CF Splitters
Appreciate 0
      10-16-2008, 12:54 PM   #22
warrenatc
New Member
warrenatc's Avatar
1
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW M5
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (0)

I have over 200GB space so should not be a problem there, and used a DVD- before when I copied my 2007 version. How can i extract the .iso using Nero, or do I need another program?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:04 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST