E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Catalyst UNreadiness and o2 simms



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-01-2008, 02:47 AM   #1
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Exclamation Catalyst UNreadiness and o2 simms

Just want to say thanks to M3to355 for bringing up the issue of OBD-2 readiness when it comes to o2 simulators. You can read about it here:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=138398

Basically, o2 simulator that he was using was preventing the factory ECU from completing its catalyst readiness test. This basically means that the o2 simm wasn't convincing the ECU that it was reading from functional o2 and trustworthy o2 sensors. It wasn't throwing a visible code. But it was raising a flag as to something not being quite right.

After reading his post, I hooked up our diagnostic reader to my catless car (running v3 with built-in o2 simm). And sure enough, it had the same problem as what M3to335 had with his wire-in o2 simms. That is, it didn't throw a catalyst inefficiency code. Yet it refused to complete the test cycle and establish system readiness. Honestly, I never noticed that before because I never bothered to check it. The lack of CEL convinced me that there wasn't a problem. My bad.

So I spent the evening scoping the factory o2 sensor signal. Turns out that the ECU does a neat little trick to make sure that it's really reading off of a real o2 sensor and a simulation. And unless it passes this verification, readiness will never be achieved. So I revised the PROcede's o2 simm feature to mimick this trick to the T (easy when you are using a microcontroller for all signal processing). And sure enough, the problem is solved. Within a 10 minute drive, we achieved readiness while preventing any catalyst inefficiency/o2 sensor codes!



So yes, this new o2 sim logic will be all new maps. And those local guys currently running v3 will get a downloadable update on Monday just after Bimmerfest

Cheers,
shiv
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 02:49 AM   #2
jdink
Major
jdink's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
1,334
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (0)

Go Team.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 02:50 AM   #3
nico335
Guest
Rep
n/a
Posts

 
Drives:


god i cant wait for bimmerfest... i need that V3. my o2 simms from terry still throw codes unfortunately. i had them on since december and they just started recently acting up
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 02:55 AM   #4
Robertbog
Lieutenant
Robertbog's Avatar
19
Rep
526
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dallas

iTrader: (1)

May 11th May 11th May 11th!!@!@!@!@!!! May Mother F-ing 11th!!!
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 02:56 AM   #5
nico335
Guest
Rep
n/a
Posts

 
Drives:


Quote:
Originally Posted by Robertbog View Post
May 11th May 11th May 11th!!@!@!@!@!!! May Mother F-ing 11th!!!
chill out schenid
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 03:05 AM   #6
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nico335 View Post
god i cant wait for bimmerfest... i need that V3. my o2 simms from terry still throw codes unfortunately. i had them on since december and they just started recently acting up
Did you recently get a software update from the dealer? I got updated to the newest software version (as of 2 weeks ago) and I noticed the ECU does some interesting sensor checks. And not just to the o2 sensor Really cool to watch it do its thing.

Shiv
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 03:08 AM   #7
nico335
Guest
Rep
n/a
Posts

 
Drives:


Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Did you recently get a software update from the dealer? I got updated to the newest software version (as of 2 weeks ago) and I noticed the ECU does some interesting sensor checks. And not just to the o2 sensor Really cool to watch it do its thing.

Shiv
nope

the O2 simm feature on the procede WILL be compatible with the newer software upgrades though, right?

the codes im still throwing from terry's O2 simms are P2096, P2270, P2098, and P0041. all which come randomly or sometimes double.

hopefully the procede O2 simm feature will fix this... which im sure it will
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 03:13 AM   #8
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nico335 View Post
nope

the O2 simm feature on the procede WILL be compatible with the newer software upgrades though, right?

the codes im still throwing from terry's O2 simms are P2096, P2270, P2098, and P0041. all which come randomly or sometimes double.

hopefully the procede O2 simm feature will fix this... which im sure it will
The PROcede's o2 simm feature should be compatible with all ECU versions. Past and future. And even if we run into an unforeseen hiccup with future software, we have enough flexibility to adapt to it. I've been running full catless for the last 10k miles with no codes. This has been tested on the original software (my car was among the first 335s produced!) as well as the newest software version (as of 2 weeks ago). Without the o2 sensor sim, my catless car would throw codes (and go limp) within 10 miles of driving. So yes, problem solved

shiv
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 03:15 AM   #9
nico335
Guest
Rep
n/a
Posts

 
Drives:


Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
The PROcede's o2 simm feature should be compatible with all ECU versions. Past and future. And even if we run into an unforeseen hiccup with future software, we have enough flexibility to adapt to it. I've been running full catless for the last 10k miles with no codes. This has been tested on the original software (my car was among the first 335s produced!) as well as the newest software version (as of 2 weeks ago). Without the o2 sensor sim, my catless car would throw codes (and go limp) within 10 miles of driving. So yes, problem solved

shiv
awesome! im more excited for V3 at bimmerfest than the cars
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 05:13 AM   #10
DrewKo
Lieutenant Colonel
DrewKo's Avatar
25
Rep
1,568
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Montego Blue Saddle Brown
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Shiv, I am fairly certain my progman software was updated today when i got my 15,000 mile service and the fuel pump was replaced pursuant to the recall. Tonight, for the first time after driving close to 8,000 on CATTED downpipes, I received two catalyst inefficiency codes. I am not sure what I need to do to address this.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 05:50 AM   #11
Neema
Major General
Neema's Avatar
United_States
200
Rep
7,224
Posts

 
Drives: a few BMWs
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (12)

You've got to admire Shiv's ingenuity
__________________

LTMW Widebody+1M front bumper+Slek CF Lip|M3 Hood|StopTech BBK|M-Sport Rear Bumper+DD CF Diffuser|Custom Recaro Seats|KW V2|BavX LS3|M3 Side Skirts+Custom CF Lip|BBS CHR 19x10.5+BBS Lugs|LCI Taillights|RD Sport Anti-Sway Bars|GIAC S2|ER Intercooler+CF Shroud+Charge Pipe|Tial BOV|Injen Intake|MS downpipes|Custom Exhaust|BMS Oil Catch Can|M3 DCT wheel+TiD CF Paddles|BMW CF Trunk Spoiler|Aluminum Pedals
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 05:57 AM   #12
M3to335
Whats that smell?
M3to335's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
1,701
Posts

 
Drives: 135i, m435
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Your basement

iTrader: (5)

Shiv, thanks for looking into that so quick.

Id like to put your new O2 logic map to the test as soon as possible You've got PM.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 06:35 AM   #13
e90AW335i
Major General
United_States
81
Rep
6,608
Posts

 
Drives: e90 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ......

iTrader: (4)

Good job Shiv.
__________________
I install all tunes, intakes, o2 simms, and most cosmetic mods. PM me for a quote.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 06:42 AM   #14
Blk07335i
Captain
Blk07335i's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
919
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 Alpine White e93 Msport
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Orange County

iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to Blk07335i
Awesome job! I too have UR catted DPs and had the O2 inefficiency codes. Installed Terry's sims and no more codes but I wonder if I would have the same problem? Shiv, please don't make the wait for V3 as long as V2.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 06:48 AM   #15
XS4
slave to the dark side
XS4's Avatar
5
Rep
173
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i Sedan
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: FL

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blk07335i View Post
Awesome job! I too have UR catted DPs and had the O2 inefficiency codes. Installed Terry's sims and no more codes but I wonder if I would have the same problem? Shiv, please don't make the wait for V3 as long as V2.
Is the latest progman update the cause of it like Drewko suspects caused his?
__________________
Two Turbos to Rulez Them All...
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 08:28 AM   #16
scalbert
Major General
scalbert's Avatar
78
Rep
5,710
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrewKo View Post
Shiv, I am fairly certain my progman software was updated today when i got my 15,000 mile service and the fuel pump was replaced pursuant to the recall. Tonight, for the first time after driving close to 8,000 on CATTED downpipes, I received two catalyst inefficiency codes. I am not sure what I need to do to address this.
You come up to my place and we install the O2 sim wires and load the revised map.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 08:32 AM   #17
mwahlert
Lieutenant Colonel
mwahlert's Avatar
29
Rep
1,556
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Durham, NC

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
shiv - this "auterra dyno-scan" that you are using, does it communicate with the ECU via generic OBDII protocols or BMW specific? I come from the VW world and have been spoiled by VAG-COM that allows the "scan tool" to communicate with car modules via the proprietary protocol vs. generic. I have found that it is possible for the ECM to report no trouble codes via generic OBDII while when communicating via the correct protocol codes ARE stored (displayed).

supposedly AutoEnginuity has a similar product coming to market - which this community desperately needs for accurate troubleshooting and data logging.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 08:34 AM   #18
scalbert
Major General
scalbert's Avatar
78
Rep
5,710
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwahlert View Post
shiv - this "auterra dyno-scan" that you are using, does it communicate with the ECU via generic OBDII protocols or BMW specific?
OBDII only.

Have patience, your wish will be granted in a few months.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 08:37 AM   #19
Hunter399
Major General
Hunter399's Avatar
111
Rep
7,757
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (30)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nico335 View Post
chill out schenid
lol
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 08:56 AM   #20
5soko
Brigadier General
5soko's Avatar
75
Rep
4,220
Posts

 
Drives: M5
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Did you recently get a software update from the dealer? I got updated to the newest software version (as of 2 weeks ago) and I noticed the ECU does some interesting sensor checks. And not just to the o2 sensor Really cool to watch it do its thing.

Shiv
shiv there was a thread that was brought up the question was this, do you have any idea if the new program is v29.2 and does what some assumed?


"i heard from someone that the new software update v29.2 will throw a fault code when a tune is present. anyone hear if this true or not?"

even without having a DME v81, this software will be for the V80 old DME's.

Last edited by 5soko; 05-01-2008 at 09:56 AM.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 09:52 AM   #21
SteelTorque
Captain
18
Rep
849
Posts

 
Drives: 08 E92 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (0)

Jesus Christ...how god damn diagnostic that ECU is....
__________________
08 E92 335xi Space Gray 6AT - PROcede V2 12.8 @ 111 mph
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2008, 10:00 AM   #22
RiXst3r
RiXst3r's Avatar
153
Rep
6,509
Posts

 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Shiv,
Might want to black out your VIN number in that first pic.....
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST