Tirerack
Use the following links to go directly to useful tirerack winter items: Tirerack Winter Tires. Gary's Winter Tire FAQ.
Using the links directly supports E90Post with tirerack sales commision!

  E90Post
 


TireRack

   PLEASE HELP SUPPORT E90POST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wheels and Tires Forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack > Winter tire and offset question



Wheels and Tires forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack
Please help to directly support e90post by doing your tirerack shopping from the above link. For every sale made through the link, e90post gets sponsor support to keep the site alive. Disclaimer

Wheel offset calculator courtesy of BimmerPost.com. You may use this calculator to calculate what tire sizes you might need if you upgrade your tires, or what wheel sizes/offsets are compatible with your car.
    Current Wheel Width  inches             Current Wheel Offset  mm.
         New Wheel Width  inches                  New Wheel Offset  mm.
 
TIRE WIDTH
/
ASPECT RATIO
- WHEEL DIAMETER
ORIGINAL TIRES
/
NEW TIRES
/
Based on your stock wheel setup, your new wheel will have:
Original Tires Diameter (in.)
      New Tires Diameter (in.)
  Difference in diameter (in.)
           Percent Difference %
                     
Speedo @60mph will read: mph
Collapse/Expand the BimmerPost Wheel and Tire calculator
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-22-2008, 10:55 PM   #1
mithiral67
That guy
 
mithiral67's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Cayman GTS
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago Burbs

Posts: 5,715
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Winter tire and offset question

I have a set of 17" ASA winter tires I bought for my 05 330ci. Two questions.

Will the tire pressure sensors work on my 08 335icoupe?

Are the offset different from the 330 to the 335i?

Thanks!!!
mithiral67 is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-23-2008, 12:07 PM   #2
Gary@TireRack
Moderator
 
Gary@TireRack's Avatar
 
Drives: Formerly 1995 M3
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Bend, IN, Tire Rack HQ

Posts: 4,428
iTrader: (2)

ASA is a brand of wheels rather than tires. In order for me to find the answer to your question I'll need the width of the wheel and offset of the wheel.

What you say 'the tire pressure sensors', are you implying that you already have sensors that you're trying to transfer over to the ASA wheels?

The offset on the OE wheels is different between the two cars, but some wheels might be cross compatible between the two depending on width, offset, brake clearance, etc.
__________________
Gary
Tire and Wheel Forum Moderator. Tire Rack Sales Rep
Gary@Tirerack.com
http://www.tirerack.com/a.jsp?a=AH8&url=index.jsp

Please refer to 'Gary' as your previous contact when you order online.
Gary@TireRack is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-23-2008, 09:11 PM   #3
mithiral67
That guy
 
mithiral67's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Cayman GTS
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago Burbs

Posts: 5,715
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Yea, they are in my parents basement . . . so dont know the size off hand. I meant wheel not tire.

I am refering to the TPMS Sensors. Will the sensors in the 330i work on my 335i.
mithiral67 is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-23-2008, 10:06 PM   #4
CirrusSR22
Captain
 
Drives: E36 318ti, R50 MINI
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Minnesota

Posts: 930
iTrader: (0)

Maybe I'm wrong, but I didn't think the E46 had physical tire pressure sensors like the E90 series, just a rotational based system. Are you sure you had tire pressure sensors installed when you bought your E46 wheels/tires?
CirrusSR22 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-23-2008, 10:12 PM   #5
mithiral67
That guy
 
mithiral67's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Cayman GTS
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago Burbs

Posts: 5,715
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by CirrusSR22 View Post
Maybe I'm wrong, but I didn't think the E46 had physical tire pressure sensors like the E90 series, just a rotational based system. Are you sure you had tire pressure sensors installed when you bought your E46 wheels/tires?
No, i am not sure. I just knew I had to reset the car after i changed the tires out. So in theory, if I use those old wheels, i will have a warning light on all winter.

The things I would do for a stagged replica set of m3 or m5 19" wheels with a matching set of winter performance tires. Unfortunely, I havent found one seller that can hook that up.
mithiral67 is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-24-2008, 07:51 AM   #6
Gary@TireRack
Moderator
 
Gary@TireRack's Avatar
 
Drives: Formerly 1995 M3
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Bend, IN, Tire Rack HQ

Posts: 4,428
iTrader: (2)

The E46 doesn't use TPMS sensors.
__________________
Gary
Tire and Wheel Forum Moderator. Tire Rack Sales Rep
Gary@Tirerack.com
http://www.tirerack.com/a.jsp?a=AH8&url=index.jsp

Please refer to 'Gary' as your previous contact when you order online.
Gary@TireRack is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST