E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > V3 Dyno



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-28-2008, 07:33 PM   #1
Sparkling G
Private
 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northern America

Posts: 71
iTrader: (0)

V3 Dyno

I had my car dyno yesterday on a mustang dyno. Numbers came out are 319whp and 353wtq...HP number seems low
Mods list:
V3 with 87% setting
UR catless DP
UR CAI
Forge DV yellow spring
catback exhaust
Gas: 93 Octane
Temp: 75
Fan: weak fan that they used
Sparkling G is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2008, 07:38 PM   #2
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparkling G View Post
I had my car dyno yesterday on a mustang dyno. Numbers came out are 319whp and 353wtq...HP number seems low
Mods list:
V3 with 87% setting
UR catless DP
UR CAI
Forge DV yellow spring
catback exhaust
Gas: 93 Octane
Temp: 75
Fan: weak fan that they used
That's pretty good for a mustang dyno. They read significantly lower than Dynojets (which is what we are used to seeing on this forum). As for the fan, I wouldn't even bother dyno testing a turbo car without a strong fan keeping the IC cool.

shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2008, 07:46 PM   #3
Soni
Major General
 
Soni's Avatar
 
Drives: Just a car
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CANADA eh!

Posts: 8,378
iTrader: (35)

Garage List
2007 335i Coupe  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
That's pretty good for a mustang dyno. They read significantly lower than Dynojets (which is what we are used to seeing on this forum). As for the fan, I wouldn't even bother dyno testing a turbo car without a strong fan keeping the IC cool.

shiv
Shiv, what will be numbers are if you convert those Mustang Dyno numbers to a Dynojets numbers?
Soni is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2008, 07:56 PM   #4
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soni View Post
Shiv, what will be numbers are if you convert those Mustang Dyno numbers to a Dynojets numbers?
It really depends on how the dynos is calibrated. Generally speaking, Dynojet's usually read 15% higher than all other load-bearing dynos (Mustang, Dyno Dynamic, etc,.) So 320whp on a Mustang can easily equate to 365-370whp on a Dynojet.

But there are so may things wrong with comparing results from different dynos that it can get messy.

To the OP: Next time you get the chance to dyno, try a Dynojet since we can compare it to the vast majority of results posted on this forum. If that isn't possible, try to do a run with the bypass plugs installed so that you can get a reasonably accurate baseline run of a stock car

Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2008, 08:05 PM   #5
Sniz
Lieutenant General
 
Sniz's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

Posts: 10,568
iTrader: (1)

any baseline for your car? if not, you really have nothing to compare to.

I could post a dyno showing 450whp on any dyno if its setup incorrectly.

any stock 335's you know that have used this mustang dyno?
__________________
Sniz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2008, 08:20 PM   #6
normtrum
Colonel
 
normtrum's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 335i, e46 330i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: PNW

Posts: 2,227
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniz View Post
any baseline for your car? if not, you really have nothing to compare to.

I could post a dyno showing 450whp on any dyno if its setup incorrectly.

any stock 335's you know that have used this mustang dyno?
+1

There's nothing wrong with using a mustang dyno, but as sniz said..... the key is getting a baseline.
__________________
07 335i sedan | Steptronic | Black saphire | Terra | ZPP | ZSP | Cold Weather | CA | PDC | Nav | OEM Alarm
normtrum is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2008, 08:20 PM   #7
imoksoami
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland OR

Posts: 204
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniz View Post
any baseline for your car? if not, you really have nothing to compare to.

I could post a dyno showing 450whp on any dyno if its setup incorrectly.

any stock 335's you know that have used this mustang dyno?
+1 I have seen Mustang dynos read high and I have seen them read low. It's more about being honest with the corrections factors.
You might get 1 good run without a strong fan but after that you will see big time diminishing returns.

Cheers
__________________
'08 335i Coupe - Sparkling Graphite Metallic/Cream Beige Dakota Leather/ Sport Pkg/ Premium Pkg/ Comfort Pkg/ Cold Weather Pkg/ JB3
imoksoami is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2008, 08:28 PM   #8
Sparkling G
Private
 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northern America

Posts: 71
iTrader: (0)

unfortunately I don't have a baseline dyno I wasn't going to do dyno but somehow I got convinced to do one...!!
Sparkling G is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2008, 09:51 PM   #9
DarrinYuan
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335I
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 202
iTrader: (2)

That's low,I have the same set up instead the v3 and aa exde,come up with 327 whp and 375 wht and also 91 gas.
DarrinYuan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2008, 09:57 PM   #10
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrinYuan View Post
That's low,I have the same set up instead the v3 and aa exde,come up with 327 whp and 375 wht and also 91 gas.
On the same Mustang dyno as the OP? Or on a dynojet?

shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2008, 11:53 PM   #11
ala012
Koala012
 
ala012's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3 Dakar Yellow
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NJ, Seoul S.Korea

Posts: 629
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via MSN to ala012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrinYuan View Post
That's low,I have the same set up instead the v3 and aa exde,come up with 327 whp and 375 wht and also 91 gas.
Probably Dynojet.

Read the post #1.

Mustang dyno is very conservative.
__________________
E92 M3 Dakar Yellow DCT | CF Trim
Akrapovic EVO Exhaust | RECARO RS-F SK2 Seat | KW Clubsports | H&R Sway Bar | DCT Cooler | iTG Air Filter | Volk TE37 SL + RS3 Tire
ala012 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-29-2008, 01:59 PM   #12
Driver72
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 335i - to new owners now.
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California

Posts: 4,485
iTrader: (0)

For comparison purposes, I was the first stock 335i to dyno at Logic Motorsports on their Mustang Dyno.

Stock it did (91 Octane)
250 rwhp

Then we installed the new (then) v2.0 PROcede (91 Octane)
Without any real adaptation time it did:
308 rwhp

So maybe 310 rwhp with a bit more adaptation.
And Logic has two large fans blowing on the front of the car (1 on the intercooler area and 1 on the kidney grill area)

You were on 93 Octane however.
But I'd bet it was the lack of proper cooling fans.
Had you had better fans, I wouldn't be surprised to see 10 rwhp more.
If that was the case 329 rwhp on a Mustang dyno would be about right for your mods and on 93 Octane.
Driver72 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-29-2008, 07:17 PM   #13
DarrinYuan
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335I
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 202
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
On the same Mustang dyno as the OP? Or on a dynojet?

shiv
Mutang dyno on Nextgen autosport at Union city,now I change to Jb3 and add code 3 fmic and get dyno tommorrow,also I have a v2 front of me,I don't know which one is making more power?
DarrinYuan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-29-2008, 07:26 PM   #14
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrinYuan View Post
Mutang dyno on Nextgen autosport at Union city,now I change to Jb3 and add code 3 fmic and get dyno tommorrow,also I have a v2 front of me,I don't know which one is making more power?
Unfortunately, you can't compare different dyno results from different dynos. Especially when the dynos in question are load bearing units. With user definable run lengths, parasitic files, atmos corrections, load settings, etc,. there are too many variables to hold equal. Dynojets are typically better in this, and only this, respect because they are just simple inertial type dynos with very little calibrate or configure (other than gear selection).

Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST