E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > V1 hardwiring through fusebox



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-01-2009, 07:14 PM   #397
MWcoupe
waddup Doe
MWcoupe's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
901
Posts

 
Drives: Mineral White M4
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: BROOKLYN NY

iTrader: (0)

do not hardwire through the fusebox! its very noticeable and takes maybe double the time. hardwire it through the front dome light where you open/close the sunroof! got mine done in 10mins?
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2009, 12:45 AM   #398
cstmx_ryder
Colonel
cstmx_ryder's Avatar
United_States
36
Rep
2,764
Posts

 
Drives: A metal box with a roundel
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to cstmx_ryder Send a message via MSN to cstmx_ryder
+1, use the hardwire kit that came with the V1 and tap it through the dome light!! Fasted and easiest solution guaranteed........

Got it done in 30 min, and the hardest part was popping open and removing the dome light cluster.
__________________

'08 AW E90 335i
PROcede V5 | BMS DCI | RR DPs | ETS FMIC | FORGE DVs | Stett CP | Vanguard | PSS10
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2009, 03:05 PM   #399
raceyBMW
king of the hills
raceyBMW's Avatar
United_States
29
Rep
2,832
Posts

 
Drives: 335i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
1994 530i  [4.25]
2007 335i Coupe  [4.07]
Except you are cutting into wires, the installation through the fuse box is completely reversible with no evidence of it having been done afterwards.
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2009, 04:55 PM   #400
snareman
Leave the gun. Take the Canoli.
snareman's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
544
Posts

 
Drives: 435/Jeep Grand Cherokee
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alpine330 View Post
do not hardwire through the fusebox! its very noticeable and takes maybe double the time. hardwire it through the front dome light where you open/close the sunroof! got mine done in 10mins?
How is it visible? You can't see mine at all?
__________________
2014 435i Coupe
2009 335i Coupe
2007 335i Coupe
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2010, 04:35 AM   #401
MrSteak
Lieutenant
United_States
7
Rep
525
Posts

 
Drives: 08' 335i Coupe (6-speed)
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Thanks bilbarstow for the detailed instructions and amazing pictures on page 1.

Did it the other day... completely clean plug and play install that only cost me $8 (mini add a fuse), and about 20min.
__________________
ED & PCD = DONE & DONE! 08' AW/Coral 335i coupe 6-speed (Premium Pkg, Sports Pkg, Heated Seats) *European Delivery
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2010, 12:59 PM   #402
iTomb
Registered
iTomb's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328i Automatic Sedan
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austin, Texas

iTrader: (0)

First attempt at the fuse-tap method failed. No power to the V1 once wired and grounded. For the ground, I used the large Torx bolt (down & to the left of where you drilled the hole in the metal bracket). Is that torx bolt not a good ground?

I did 'press' the ground eyelet to the metal bracket (where you drilled for your ground), but still no-go.

Other than that, my install is virtually identical to this and can't figure out why there's no power to the V1.


2007 328i Sedan Automatic
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2010, 04:52 PM   #403
raceyBMW
king of the hills
raceyBMW's Avatar
United_States
29
Rep
2,832
Posts

 
Drives: 335i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
1994 530i  [4.25]
2007 335i Coupe  [4.07]
You sure no power? Remember that the V1 needs to be turned on, and that you need two fuses in the fuse tap. That bolt is an excellent location for the ground.
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2010, 05:28 PM   #404
wareagle900
Banned
17
Rep
413
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South East Alabama

iTrader: (0)

The Grounding bolt you used is good. That is where i grounded my electronics to.
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2010, 05:45 PM   #405
JayKay335i
Banned
Egypt
77
Rep
5,047
Posts

 
Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by raceyBMW View Post
You sure no power? Remember that the V1 needs to be turned on, and that you need two fuses in the fuse tap. That bolt is an excellent location for the ground.
+1

Try a few different minifuse locations. I needed to try a few before I found one with non-constant power.
Appreciate 0
      05-19-2010, 02:31 PM   #406
iTomb
Registered
iTomb's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328i Automatic Sedan
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austin, Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by raceyBMW View Post
You sure no power? Remember that the V1 needs to be turned on, and that you need two fuses in the fuse tap. That bolt is an excellent location for the ground.
Ok. I'm not a complete dolt. The V1 was definitely turned on.

I got it working, however, I'm not sure which of the 'changes' I made was the 'fix.'

The fuse-tap I used is a 2-10amp with the ability to piggy-back two fuses (obviously). The two things I changed was the direction that the fuse-tap was plugged in to the panel, and changed the slot where the original fuse was plugged in to the fuse-tap.

The large torx bolt is a good ground, however, before those two changes (above) were made, I had gone ahead and drilled a hole in the metal brace, and attached an eyelet to the ground wire, so I just used a self-tapping screw and grounded it there.

The install is complete and looks professionally done. Only about 3" of cord is visible and is very difficult to see from outside the vehicle.

And, I love the V1! By far the best detector I've ever had.

And I'm completely convinced that though I've only had the V1 for a couple of days, it's already paid for itself at least once.
__________________
2007 328i Sedan - Automatic - Black on Black
1st Mod: Valentine One - 'Invisiwire' - hardwired
Appreciate 0
      05-19-2010, 02:36 PM   #407
iTomb
Registered
iTomb's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 328i Automatic Sedan
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austin, Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKay335i View Post
+1

Try a few different minifuse locations. I needed to try a few before I found one with non-constant power.
As recommended in the original post, I used the 5amp HomeLink fuse (slot 28 on my panel) since it only receives power when the motor is running. It works perfectly.
__________________
2007 328i Sedan - Automatic - Black on Black
1st Mod: Valentine One - 'Invisiwire' - hardwired
Appreciate 0
      05-19-2010, 03:50 PM   #408
JayKay335i
Banned
Egypt
77
Rep
5,047
Posts

 
Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by iTomb View Post
Ok. I'm not a complete dolt. The V1 was definitely turned on.

I got it working, however, I'm not sure which of the 'changes' I made was the 'fix.'

The fuse-tap I used is a 2-10amp with the ability to piggy-back two fuses (obviously). The two things I changed was the direction that the fuse-tap was plugged in to the panel, and changed the slot where the original fuse was plugged in to the fuse-tap.

The large torx bolt is a good ground, however, before those two changes (above) were made, I had gone ahead and drilled a hole in the metal brace, and attached an eyelet to the ground wire, so I just used a self-tapping screw and grounded it there.

The install is complete and looks professionally done. Only about 3" of cord is visible and is very difficult to see from outside the vehicle.

And, I love the V1! By far the best detector I've ever had.

And I'm completely convinced that though I've only had the V1 for a couple of days, it's already paid for itself at least once.
Sounds good. Glad you got it working. I had trouble at first, didn't have the right combination of fuses.

I dropped my headliner and have about 3" in cord hanging as well, mounted to my visor.
Appreciate 0
      05-19-2010, 05:21 PM   #409
raceyBMW
king of the hills
raceyBMW's Avatar
United_States
29
Rep
2,832
Posts

 
Drives: 335i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
1994 530i  [4.25]
2007 335i Coupe  [4.07]
Quote:
Originally Posted by iTomb View Post
Ok. I'm not a complete dolt. The V1 was definitely turned on.

I got it working, however, I'm not sure which of the 'changes' I made was the 'fix.'

The fuse-tap I used is a 2-10amp with the ability to piggy-back two fuses (obviously). The two things I changed was the direction that the fuse-tap was plugged in to the panel, and changed the slot where the original fuse was plugged in to the fuse-tap.

The large torx bolt is a good ground, however, before those two changes (above) were made, I had gone ahead and drilled a hole in the metal brace, and attached an eyelet to the ground wire, so I just used a self-tapping screw and grounded it there.

The install is complete and looks professionally done. Only about 3" of cord is visible and is very difficult to see from outside the vehicle.

And, I love the V1! By far the best detector I've ever had.

And I'm completely convinced that though I've only had the V1 for a couple of days, it's already paid for itself at least once.
Glad you got it figured out, sometimes its the simplest but most frustrating thing. Love my V1, definitely has made itself worth the money over the last couple years for me.
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2010, 06:40 PM   #410
DrDurt
Lieutenant
DrDurt's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
519
Posts

 
Drives: e90 325xi
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BaskingRidge, NJ

iTrader: (2)

just did this exactly as the first write up. Works awesome. thanks!!!
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2010, 02:50 PM   #411
3002 tii
Major General
3002 tii's Avatar
United_States
140
Rep
8,593
Posts

 
Drives: flat out
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NNJ

iTrader: (50)

Garage List
^ nice, i personally did not like the mirror option as well. i'll be hardwiring my 9500xi this weekend.
__________________

Recaro | Volk | AST | Vorshlag | Quaife | Stoptech | Active Autowerke | BMW Performance

Click here for my track videos
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2010, 06:32 PM   #412
S i n i s t e r
V i c e C i t y
S i n i s t e r's Avatar
Argentina
2
Rep
195
Posts

 
Drives: 3
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Miami

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to S i n i s t e r
Good stuff "BILBARSTOW". Just finished up mines following your steps and it came out great!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2010, 10:51 PM   #413
Sherwood
Second Lieutenant
Sherwood's Avatar
2
Rep
230
Posts

 
Drives: SMG 335i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston

iTrader: (3)

Juust finished hardwiring my V1 and I love it. Thank you for everyones help. Had to figure out why it was powering up at first, but after reading josh49 continually telling people to flip the fuse tap 180 degrees, I gave that a try and viola!
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2010, 09:10 AM   #414
JTBurn
Private First Class
United_States
1
Rep
148
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328i Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (0)

Hard wired my new V1 today. Thanks to all who posted pics and provided excellent advice. Much appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2010, 03:31 PM   #415
mikracer
First Lieutenant
5
Rep
342
Posts

 
Drives: '08 335i sedan
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

When doing the fuse box install, are you guys running the V1 hardwire kit, or directly from the V1 to the fuse tap? Wouldnt running the hardwire kit from V1 be redundant since the power source from the fuse box is already fused?
Appreciate 0
      12-14-2010, 08:06 PM   #416
liliceman13300
Private First Class
liliceman13300's Avatar
7
Rep
176
Posts

 
Drives: 00 cr-v
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: raleigh, nc

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikracer View Post
When doing the fuse box install, are you guys running the V1 hardwire kit, or directly from the V1 to the fuse tap? Wouldnt running the hardwire kit from V1 be redundant since the power source from the fuse box is already fused?
You can NEVER have enough fuses. Also just a heads up to everyone who uses the Add-a-fuse techniques: there are a lot of myths that over time the add-a-fuse adapters separate the contact in the fuse box so much that it loses contact. It probably is more vehicle specific but I thought I would just throw it out there. I've been using 3 add-a-fuse's for my car for the past 2 years and no problems yet.
The absolute best method is to use a fuse block. If you do that remember to use a fuse to go to the fuse block Here's a good example of one
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BullowM3 View Post
what are u doing on these forums? you dont even drive a bmw or a respected car so i suggest you take your opinions to another forum. Thank you
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2011, 06:54 PM   #417
hsantiago335
New Member
hsantiago335's Avatar
0
Rep
8
Posts

 
Drives: 07 E90 335i 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Long Island NY

iTrader: (0)

followed this thread about the fusetap and it worked perfectly just had the rotate the fuse tap 180 degrees and it only took about 30 minutes
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2011, 11:58 AM   #418
PINOY_E90
Second Lieutenant
PINOY_E90's Avatar
Philippines
11
Rep
211
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90 335i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Peachtree City, GA

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to PINOY_E90
To all,

I am planning to hardwire my v1 using the fusetap method, what other things do i need to buy from autzone to complete my install?

Thanks
__________________
2008 E90 335i
Jet Black, Black Leatherette, Aluminum, Automatic, Paddle, Sport Package, Ipod/USB, Formula One Pinnacle Tint 35%, Depo Blackline, M3 reps front bumper, Black Gloss Grille, Matte Black M359, V1
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST