E90Post

N54Tuning.com

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / Warranty > CPO question

10-03-2008, 12:49 PM   #1
kaichuan
Registered
Rep

Drives: 2007 335XI

Question CPO question

Hi,

I am a newbie here and looking for some info regarding BMW CPO clearification.

Looking to buy a 335XI, however, couldn't find it anywhere in west coast and only things available are from east coast. The concern I have is about the rust may occour on the east coast car since they use salt.

Is a CPO car suppose to check for rust? Or if the car has rust, can the car still be certificted as CPO? The BMW warranty cover "defects in materials or workmanship that may result in rust perforation of the vehicle body" but probably not anything caused by salt.

Just want to have a piece of mind before I buy. Thanks a lot for your help!!
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2008, 01:37 PM   #2
Bartman619
Captain
Rep

Drives: Bimmer

I'm pretty sure that CPO is supposed to check for rust. I looked at my CPO checklist which came with my care and there's a Body Condition: Fit & Finish list. The checklist covers the conditions of the front bumper, hood, core suuport,inner fenders, front fenders, rocker/sill panels, roof, dors, quarter panels, trunk,rear bumper, innert trunk panels, etc. The list is very thorough and the items are checked either Meets BMW Guidelines & Standards with a comment section. Luckily all the comments were empty on mine. But looking at the CPO Warranty on what is not covered.

Body and Interior