E90Post
 


E92 Lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Adding an Amp/Sub to 335i ???



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-20-2007, 04:42 PM   #1
masediggity
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 Black Sapphire 335i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA

Posts: 35
iTrader: (0)

Adding an Amp/Sub to 335i ???

I just received my 335i with the Premium Package, that means I have the Logic System.

While the Mids/Highs sound great it needs a little more bass.

I have a 12 sub and an amp with RCA inputs.

How do I hook up the amp, can I use a RCA converter? How do I get a signal from the system?

Would it be easier to get a new sub that has an amp built in that also has speaker level inputs?

Please help!!!
masediggity is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-20-2007, 05:42 PM   #2
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!
Major
 
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!'s Avatar
 
Drives: 06 E90 330, '11 F10 535 xdrive
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NASSAU NY

Posts: 1,210
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 330i SPORT  [5.00]
definitely would be easier to have an all in one unit. but if u dont go w it, a couple of components is just as good. u have to get a convertor to pull the low signal off the amp no matter what setup u have. this is by far the easiest system to install on a car. literally took me ten minutes to install. sounds great and really adds to the logic7.

everything u need is in the trunk. the stock amp & battery are there. but the only real good way to get a remote is to pop off the bottom of the rear seat and run it to the rear cig lighter. if you've done the rear dual cig lighter mod, this step is easy.
__________________



LIVE FAST..DRIVE FASTER!!

Last edited by SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!; 02-20-2007 at 06:30 PM.
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!! is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-20-2007, 06:18 PM   #3
masediggity
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 Black Sapphire 335i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA

Posts: 35
iTrader: (0)

What wires do I need to connect to RCA adapter?

Can I connect the adapter to the sub wires off the Logic amp? Are there 2 sub channels off amp?

Do you know the wire numbers/color?

Any adapter that anyone can recommend?

Thanks!!!
masediggity is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-20-2007, 06:29 PM   #4
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!
Major
 
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!'s Avatar
 
Drives: 06 E90 330, '11 F10 535 xdrive
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NASSAU NY

Posts: 1,210
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 330i SPORT  [5.00]
Stinger makes any type u could want and they're reasonably cheap too. I have always got my from either bestbuy or cardomain.com. They run anywhere between 25 - 75 dollars for one.

U can connect the amp to the convertor w rca wires. Then u connect the convertor to logic7. Your gonna wanna connect it to the thickest wires on the harness of the stock amp in the trunk. They re brown for one side and red for the opposite, w respective stripes. I dont remember the exact number but they re only five thick wires on the harness. One i believe is a ground and will be useless. You will know this wire right away.

edit: this is the one im using on my car right now.

http://www.cardomain.com/item/STISLOCII
Attached Images
 
__________________



LIVE FAST..DRIVE FASTER!!

Last edited by SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!; 02-20-2007 at 07:53 PM.
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!! is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-06-2007, 07:28 PM   #5
masediggity
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 Black Sapphire 335i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA

Posts: 35
iTrader: (0)

So I have found out the correct way to get the signal to the high-to-low level adapter.

Open the driver door. Pop off the plastic piece on the running board. Pull back the carpet a few inches and you will see the brown and red wires going to the sub under the seat. You will splice the wires here....Run the second set of speaker wires back to your trunk to the RCA adapter.

remote turn on wire can come rfom cigarette lighter.

You are good to go, ground and battery are in trunk. This can be an hour install.
masediggity is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-06-2007, 07:34 PM   #6
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!
Major
 
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!'s Avatar
 
Drives: 06 E90 330, '11 F10 535 xdrive
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NASSAU NY

Posts: 1,210
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 330i SPORT  [5.00]
ur bugging dude. way to much work. all u had to do was open the trunk and get the signal from the amp. everything except remote is in the trunk. this has been beat to death!

my install to me 15 mins, not including the 20 mins to remove the bottom of the rear seat, to run a remote to rear cig lighter.

but to each his own:rocks:
__________________



LIVE FAST..DRIVE FASTER!!
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!! is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-07-2007, 02:29 AM   #7
M335i
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: 626

Posts: 169
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!! View Post
U can connect the amp to the convertor w rca wires. Then u connect the convertor to logic7. Your gonna wanna connect it to the thickest wires on the harness of the stock amp in the trunk. They re brown for one side and red for the opposite, w respective stripes. I dont remember the exact number but they re only five thick wires on the harness. One i believe is a ground and will be useless. You will know this wire right away.http://www.cardomain.com/item/STISLOCII
Im trying to connect an amp as well but when I took everything apart today I actually saw 6 thick wires instead of 5. Theres 3 Browns (Brown, Brown/Yellow, Brown/White) and 3 Reds (Red/Grey, Red/White, Red/Blue). Do you happen to remember which ones are left sub +/- and right sub +/- or is there anyway I can test them to find out? Much appreciated.
Attached Images
 
M335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-07-2007, 09:30 AM   #8
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!
Major
 
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!'s Avatar
 
Drives: 06 E90 330, '11 F10 535 xdrive
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NASSAU NY

Posts: 1,210
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 330i SPORT  [5.00]
i have :

red/white and red/blue one channel


brown/white and brown/yellow second channel


solid brown = ground

red/grey = i believe is a power lead that has power all the time so it was useless fo rmy trunk loc. kept makin the subs pound when the radio went in to sleep mode.



hope it helped! not sure of left or right designation, but thats easily determined!
__________________



LIVE FAST..DRIVE FASTER!!

Last edited by SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!; 03-07-2007 at 10:20 AM.
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!! is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-07-2007, 05:28 PM   #9
M335i
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: 626

Posts: 169
iTrader: (5)

Thanks! I got em, Ill post exact ones when I get home. But fucced up thing is my battery died today! I didnt even install the amp yet, just the power wire to fuse holder with the other side taped off so it doesnt come in contact with any metal. I connected it like how this guy did
This morning car wouldnt start so I took off the cable and returned to stock and worked fine. Went somewhere for about 30mins and battery was dead. Had to call Roadside Assistance to get it jumped. Car is at dealer right now so hopefully they wont give me crap and make me pay for something.
M335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-07-2007, 06:45 PM   #10
masediggity
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 Black Sapphire 335i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA

Posts: 35
iTrader: (0)

335i has a different set up than the 330i....

The wiring diagrams are different than what your pictures show. The amp in the trunk has different wires.

Some crap about fiber optics and it splits somewhere other than at the amp. Only place to grab signal is at the door sill.

Custom place has done a few 650s and 335s....guess they should know best.
masediggity is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-07-2007, 06:51 PM   #11
Meet
New Member
 
Meet's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Space Grey 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Surrey,BC

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

i set up a 12 with a mono block in a custom amp rack

they just tapped into the amp in the trunk if you pull the floor out of the trunk with the black handle youll see the amp sitting near the rear seats

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=47492
Meet is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-11-2013, 11:49 AM   #12
GSR187T
New Member
 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335XI
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: CT

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

good info, thanks
GSR187T is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST