E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Alpine Hifi upgrade



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-14-2012, 04:23 AM   #815
mob17
Brigadier General
 
mob17's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Middle Land, UK

Posts: 3,729
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
I have heard L7 system on E92 and I can say, 'excellent sound system' compared to
-Alpine upgrade
-hi-fi
-after market sound system.

Basically it is louder and crystal clear. Hi-fi and Alpine upgrade are not as loud as L7. moreover on L7 setup, subs are brilliant so bass is pretty good. I would not compare L7 bass to SWS-8s as SWS-8s are way better, however overall L7 system is louder and clear.

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Excellent does not mean that it is better mate.
Well it would be very easy for someone reading "Excellent compared to" to assume that you're saying its better than.

Anyways at least that's cleared up now.
__________________
2008 E92 335D SE
2010 E90 320D SE
1994 E36 318I SE
1996 E36 316I SE
mob17 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      09-14-2012, 04:26 AM   #816
vblanche
Second Lieutenant
 
vblanche's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E91 alpina D3
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: bristol

Posts: 236
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
They are just dust covers, try them first, probably fine.

If using a different head unit use a different (much better) amp.
so, you recommend me to sell my unused kit and get something else?
__________________
2007 E91 Alpina D3
vblanche is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-14-2012, 05:25 AM   #817
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,087
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mob17 View Post
Well it would be very easy for someone reading "Excellent compared to" to assume that you're saying its better than.

Anyways at least that's cleared up now.
My mistake.

I should have used term 'Better than' there (not really).
__________________

Last edited by makkan00; 09-14-2012 at 02:21 PM.
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      09-14-2012, 11:53 AM   #818
Hope
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 320D M Sport
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 332
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
My mistake.

I should have used term 'Better than' term there (not really).

You should know better than misusing the word excellent (not really) Lol
Hope is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-14-2012, 03:43 PM   #819
Hope
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 320D M Sport
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 332
iTrader: (2)

Bit of confusion regarding coding here. Any help will be appreciated please guys

I ordered my kit today. My car is an LCI E90 but it is built a few weeks before 3/09.

I have CIC and have read here to ignore labels and to connect up based on lead colour. Some BMW Manuals say to code in the retrofit and some say not to.

BMW today told me I need no coding but I see a few here have coded regardless. Based on the above, do I need to have any coding done to make the most of the retrofit and also not have issues with my PDC 'bong'.

Any advice greatly appreciated before start getting this fitted!

Regards
Hope is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-14-2012, 03:46 PM   #820
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,131
iTrader: (2)

It will pretty obvious if it needs coding by listening to it when installed.
It can sound like it is distorting slightly, not a problem just keep the volume down a bit and set treble to -6 while waiting to get it coded.
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-14-2012, 03:53 PM   #821
Hope
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 320D M Sport
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 332
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
It will pretty obvious if it needs coding by listening to it when installed.
It can sound like it is distorting slightly, not a problem just keep the volume down a bit and set treble to -6 while waiting to get it coded.
Thanks for the quick reply gIzzE. I take it it is a bit hit and miss as to whether or not it needs coding then! Hopefully it wont!

I was just going off the following from the BMW manual for vehicles after 3/09, which technically mine isn't but I think it is classed as one:

- Go to ISTA/P vehicle programming
- Select "HiFi System Alpine" via the Conversion path and work through action plan
Hope is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-14-2012, 04:08 PM   #822
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,131
iTrader: (2)

I have no idea why they starting saying it doesn't need coding, unless they changed the amp input sensitivity or something.
They said mine did not need coding on the X1, but it was clipping and far too bright, after coding it sounded pretty good.
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-14-2012, 04:22 PM   #823
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,087
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
I have no idea why they starting saying it doesn't need coding, unless they changed the amp input sensitivity or something.
They said mine did not need coding on the X1, but it was clipping and far too bright, after coding it sounded pretty good.

+1
No matter, what year and what car is it, coding always help. It takes out equiliser settings.

History behind 'no coding required' is that
1- Many complaints were raised re: decreased gongs, however they were still audible. BMW did not want to waste time on it, so those who complained, their cars were coded back to base HU settings.
2- BMW technicians had some issues initially with coding HU on LCI cars. These were mostly those cars which came with BT built into HU.

Simple solution: Don't code. Why do you give your customer a facility/ an option if you can have some issues while coding.

Things are changed so on and now you can code all headunits with special equipments, unless HU is faulty.

HTH.
__________________

Last edited by makkan00; 09-14-2012 at 04:42 PM.
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      09-14-2012, 04:28 PM   #824
Hope
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 320D M Sport
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 332
iTrader: (2)

Ahaa! Thanks for the info gents!

I would definitely describe myself as an audiophile (but not the annoying type who spends his weekends listening to different speaker cables trying to work out which is best ) so i should definitely know if something is wrong with the sound but you just don't expect it at this price!
Hope is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-18-2012, 11:38 AM   #825
Hope
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 320D M Sport
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 332
iTrader: (2)

Picked up the parts from BMW today.

BMW assured me today that there is no foam triangles included with the door trims I collected and said the necessary foam is already present behind the current door trim.

Please can anyone confirm that this is the case? I was under the impression that this seal will be included with the replacement door trims

Thanks
Hope is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-18-2012, 11:46 AM   #826
Per Hansson
Private
 
Drives: BMW 325 E90 '06
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sweden

Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

Hope; The foam with cutouts for the tweeters are already installed in your car...

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...m#post10567082
Per Hansson is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      09-18-2012, 11:48 AM   #827
Hope
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 320D M Sport
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 332
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson View Post
Hope; The foam with cutouts for the tweeters are already installed in your car...

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...m#post10567082
Aah brilliant

I did know there was a foam insert in there but everywhere I looked I just kept seeing references to needing to 'cut it' to accommodate the tweeter. Fingers crossed mine will be the same as yours was.

Thanks for the quick response.
Hope is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-21-2012, 08:37 AM   #828
Hope
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 320D M Sport
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 332
iTrader: (2)

Now

The kit I ordered seems to require cutting and crimping however the one pictured in one of the 2 manuals seems to have terminated ends that just plug in. There is also another manual that has the cut and crimp type loom.

Any idea why there is two different looms?

Part number, Plug n Play - 65 41 2 163 268 (Cars built after 3/09)
Part number, Cut n Crimp - 65 41 0 445 684

Ideally I want to fit the Plug n Play one. My car is an LCI registered in 02/09.

EDIT: It looks like the differentiating feature is this X256 connector located in the door that is shown in the later manual (Plug n Play)

EDIT 2: Cut n Crimp involves X9385 and X9386

Last edited by Hope; 09-21-2012 at 09:32 AM.
Hope is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-21-2012, 09:27 AM   #829
Per Hansson
Private
 
Drives: BMW 325 E90 '06
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sweden

Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

With a car registered Feb 09 logic would dictate that you need the cut & crimp version since the manual states that the Plug & Play is for cars built after March 09
However I would look at the subwoofer under the drivers or passenger seat to see if it has the plug or not, since it would be nice to not have to do the crimping (or preferably soldering IMHO)
Per Hansson is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      09-21-2012, 09:29 AM   #830
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,087
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hope View Post
Now

Part number, Cut n Crimp - 65 41 0 445 684

Ideally I want to fit the Plug n Play one. My car is an LCI registered in 02/09.

You will need that Hope.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      09-21-2012, 09:36 AM   #831
Hope
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 320D M Sport
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 332
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson View Post
With a car registered Feb 09 logic would dictate that you need the cut & crimp version since the manual states that the Plug & Play is for cars built after March 09
However I would look at the subwoofer under the drivers or passenger seat to see if it has the plug or not, since it would be nice to not have to do the crimping (or preferably soldering IMHO)
I am confused as to what plug you mean? Both seem to detail X10373 plug on the subs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
You will need that Hope.
I was 'hope'ing I wouldn't just wanted to make sure before I go to town on it.


Regards
Hope is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-21-2012, 03:12 PM   #832
Per Hansson
Private
 
Drives: BMW 325 E90 '06
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sweden

Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

I did some searching for you Hope, hope it helps

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=220
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=227
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=803
Per Hansson is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      09-21-2012, 06:24 PM   #833
Hope
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 320D M Sport
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 332
iTrader: (2)

Thanks so much!

So basically if my sub has 4 wires I can use the PnP if it is 2 wires I will need to use my current kit

Very helpful diagrams
Hope is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-22-2012, 02:45 PM   #834
Hope
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 320D M Sport
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 332
iTrader: (2)

Went ahead with this today!

Have now discovered that I plugged the tweeter into the wrong part of the crossover . Plugged it into SA662 for Professional HiFi when I have Professional Nav and should have plugged it in for SA609. Not sure what effect it will have. Also don't know how to unplug the plugs, is there a latch on them??

Thanks
Hope is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-22-2012, 04:11 PM   #835
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,087
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hope View Post
Went ahead with this today!

Have now discovered that I plugged the tweeter into the wrong part of the crossover . Plugged it into SA662 for Professional HiFi when I have Professional Nav and should have plugged it in for SA609. Not sure what effect it will have. Also don't know how to unplug the plugs, is there a latch on them??

Thanks


Sorry, got you now.
There are only two plug. IF you plugged into wrong one, plug it to other one. (which I assume is SA609).

Adrain, can you help?
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      09-22-2012, 04:13 PM   #836
Hope
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 320D M Sport
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 332
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Sorry, got you now.
There are only two plug. IF you plugged into wrong one, plug it to other one. (which I assume is SA609).

Adrain, can you help?
Thanks Makkan,

The yellow cables don't seem to want to disconnect from each other though :S
Hope is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
alpine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST