E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Where is the hard drive located?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-21-2012, 09:57 AM   #89
Johndong888
John
Johndong888's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
792
Posts

 
Drives: '12 AW/FR M3 & '14 F15 X5
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ

iTrader: (8)

Send a message via Skype™ to Johndong888
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotary Rasp View Post
I never uploaded the file. Where can I get the program you speak of?
I believe there is a program called "FSC-Tools" so far I haven't gotten it to do anything more useful other than reading the CIC vin.
__________________

Current - 2012 AW/FR E92 M3 - DCT w EDC, ZPP w Tech, Apps, Enhanced Sound, SAT.
Mods - BPMTune Stg1 + Servo, Piano Black, Euro Visors, OEM Performance CF Spoiler + Grills + Pedals, IND Gloss Blk Pkg, Umnitza V4, ModeCarbon GTS V1 Lip, 19" HRE P40
Sold - 2008 BSM/Black E92 335i - Step, Premium, Sports, Logic7, Comfort, Navi, SAT, Alum.
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2012, 10:40 AM   #90
miatawnt2b
Private
1
Rep
86
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E93 Monaco Blue
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: AZ

iTrader: (0)

Hey Rotary... Any updates?
-J
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 07:00 AM   #91
xxxjecxxx
Captain
xxxjecxxx's Avatar
66
Rep
811
Posts

 
Drives: Jet Black 06 325i LCI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (1)

I've tried to find it, no go. I don't have idrive / nav but am looking to retrofit.

When I get one, my plans are to clone the old HDD to a same size solid state drive. Maybe the temperature ratings are different from the OEM one (I live in florida) but you don't have to worry about any moving parts for reliability.
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2012, 05:14 AM   #92
Mandy Gong
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: China

iTrader: (0)

I'm interested in fiddling with the HDD, what are you guys using to browse the hdd with?
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2012, 05:30 AM   #93
Mandy Gong
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: China

iTrader: (0)

How large is the stock drive in the car? I've been told (shown) that the navigation partition is 65GB.
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2012, 09:23 AM   #94
miatawnt2b
Private
1
Rep
86
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E93 Monaco Blue
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: AZ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mandy Gong View Post
I'm interested in fiddling with the HDD, what are you guys using to browse the hdd with?
I think the newer linux kernels have support built in for QNX4 partitions, so you should ba able to read it with ubuntu or other distro. I've never worked with QNX4 partitions though, so I don't know if you can write to one, or resize.

-J
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2012, 11:29 AM   #95
phillye30fanboy
Second Lieutenant
United_States
7
Rep
245
Posts

 
Drives: 1988 BMW 325, now with 24v!
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

SSD is such a performance boost over hard drives, if you could find a suitable replacement for the HDD with an solid state drive you should probably go that route. everything is just so much fast after i switched my 500gb internal HDD with a 256gb Crucial M4 inside my late 2011 macbook pro, like 11 seconds it takes to get on the internet after being completely shut down. it boots as fast as lightning, i would imagine it would do the same for your idrive system
__________________
I'm not superstitious, but I am a little stitious.

Last edited by phillye30fanboy; 08-21-2012 at 11:35 AM.
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2012, 12:51 PM   #96
miatawnt2b
Private
1
Rep
86
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E93 Monaco Blue
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: AZ

iTrader: (0)

I would imagine it fairly trivial to DD the disk to an SD. The real sweet part would be being able to resize the partition used for music storage.

-J
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2012, 02:03 PM   #97
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
39
Rep
1,631
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by phillye30fanboy View Post
SSD is such a performance boost over hard drives, if you could find a suitable replacement for the HDD with an solid state drive you should probably go that route. everything is just so much fast after i switched my 500gb internal HDD with a 256gb Crucial M4 inside my late 2011 macbook pro, like 11 seconds it takes to get on the internet after being completely shut down. it boots as fast as lightning, i would imagine it would do the same for your idrive system
Good luck finding an PATA SSD drive...
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2012, 02:17 PM   #98
miatawnt2b
Private
1
Rep
86
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E93 Monaco Blue
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: AZ

iTrader: (0)

adapters are cheap, and I'd imageine there would be room. just have to power it which shouldn't be too tough either.
-J
Appreciate 0
      08-22-2012, 12:06 PM   #99
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
39
Rep
1,631
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by miatawnt2b View Post
adapters are cheap, and I'd imageine there would be room. just have to power it which shouldn't be too tough either.
-J

I looked into that but gave up after I saw that all the adapters need to be powered.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2012, 11:36 PM   #100
mreuterusa
New Member
0
Rep
18
Posts

 
Drives: X5
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Oakland, CA

iTrader: (0)

Did anyone ever get this to work with a PATA SSD drive. They selling them on eBay for $250
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Kingspec-256...item43b0abad72

would buy it if I know it will work
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2012, 07:47 PM   #101
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
39
Rep
1,631
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

They have a 128gb version for only $140. I'm pretty sure it would work.... I can't see why it wouldn't. (you're still only gonna be able to use 80gb though)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mreuterusa View Post
Did anyone ever get this to work with a PATA SSD drive. They selling them on eBay for $250
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Kingspec-256...item43b0abad72

would buy it if I know it will work
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2012, 11:28 PM   #102
reck
New Member
0
Rep
18
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 335i Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Scottsdale, AZ

iTrader: (0)

The question is, will it actually boost the speed of anything in iDrive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotary Rasp View Post
They have a 128gb version for only $140. I'm pretty sure it would work.... I can't see why it wouldn't. (you're still only gonna be able to use 80gb though)
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2012, 11:54 PM   #103
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
39
Rep
1,631
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

that is a good question....

Quote:
Originally Posted by reck View Post
The question is, will it actually boost the speed of anything in iDrive?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-11-2013, 04:53 PM   #104
Slaze
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: msk

iTrader: (0)

Replace CIC HDD to bigger capacity

Quote:
Originally Posted by syrinx
Thanks for all the info -- especially Chill! I installed a new HD in my car yestarday, and it's working great. I did it a bit differently, but got all the info from this thread.

I used a WD3200BEVE for the new drive, which is 320GB -- way too much, but the price wasn't much more. I put both the new and old drives in external cases, and connected to my desktop using USB. Then I cloned the original disk to the new one using CloneZilla. Then with both drives still attached, I booted into QNX using their live CD. I fdisk'd the new drive, and deleted the fourth partition, then created a new blank one using all remaining space. Then I formated it with initd -h /dev/hd10t80 (hd10 was the new drive). Then I copied all files from the old disk's fourth partition onto the new disk's fourth partition, except for the files in the root of the fourth partition starting with a dot -- I assume these are used by the OS. I found the qnx graphical tools useless, so just did everything from the command line to make sure I didn't mess up the original drive.

After reinstalling, I have 288 GB available for songs. That should be enough for 50 or 60 thousand songs!

Interestingly, I can mount the qnx4 partitions no problem in ubuntu. It supports qnx4 partition types out of the box using a live cd. The partition is mounted read only, but it's useful for poking around.
Hello!
Anybody know where I can find this guy? Someone replaced HDD to bigger capacity?
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2013, 12:09 PM   #105
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
39
Rep
1,631
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaze View Post
Hello!
Anybody know where I can find this guy? Someone replaced HDD to bigger capacity?
Where was that posted?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2013, 07:49 AM   #106
Slaze
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: msk

iTrader: (0)

It was posted here in this thread
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...8&postcount=46

Who connected HDD to computer with installed QNX OS or how is it possible to see HDD from CIC on desctop?
any solutions?

Is it possible to get a bootable CD with QNX on it without installation?

I download QNX Neutrino 6.5.0 Service Pack 1 on VMware from here http://www.qnx.com/download/feature....rogramid=23665
and after start I got this another USB drives working fine...
I have no clue why is that
OS in CIC is QNX front 6.3.2 2009/10/30-15:33:18EDT HB_SH7785 shle

Last edited by Slaze; 11-14-2013 at 08:37 AM.
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2013, 01:59 PM   #107
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
39
Rep
1,631
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

oh yes, I do remember that post.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-08-2014, 04:47 PM   #108
sterling01
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 330d SE
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Sorry to dig up an old post, but I am very interested to know if anyone made any progress with this. I have a 2011 E90 with the CIC iDrive system. I would really like to upgrade the hard disk to a larger capacity to give me more space for music.
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2014, 12:59 PM   #109
Culichor
Enlisted Member
United_States
0
Rep
33
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 X3 2.8 & 335is vert
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sterling

iTrader: (0)

Any update on this ?
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2014, 09:53 AM   #110
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
39
Rep
1,631
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

It's going to take someone who is familiar with QNX. I hate to say it but, with the ability to add any size USB hard drive in the center console, there isn't much need to increase the internal drive. I did see mild performance increase by swapping out the stock drive for a 7200 rpm one. (if you're looking for something to do, lol)
__________________
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
hard drive, partition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST