E90Post
 


N54Tuning.com
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing > just ordered a new computer



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-19-2008, 12:23 AM   #23
Rick
6
Stackin' Chips
 
Rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 AW M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Santa Monica, CA

Posts: 607
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blakepilot View Post
yes, and i can download gigomegs of pr0n at warp speed
i luv teh interwebz coupled wit teh fyberoptikz
__________________
Rick is offline   No_Country
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-19-2008, 12:26 AM   #24
Blake
46
Banned
 
Drives: Chevy Aveo
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Parent's Basement

Posts: 4,651
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickc View Post
i luv teh interwebz coupled wit teh fyberoptikz

if i want fios, i have to move to 5 minutes from nowhere. i like living in civilization. time warner just bumped me up to 16m down and 1.5 up. i'll take it!
Blake is offline   No_Country
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-19-2008, 12:29 AM   #25
Rick
6
Stackin' Chips
 
Rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 AW M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Santa Monica, CA

Posts: 607
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blakepilot View Post

if i want fios, i have to move to 5 minutes from nowhere. i like living in civilization. time warner just bumped me up to 16m down and 1.5 up. i'll take it!
3mb down/768 up here... no wonder i'm always re-editing my WAG posts, might as well have 1200 baud modem running a BBS
__________________
Rick is offline   No_Country
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-19-2008, 12:31 AM   #26
Blake
46
Banned
 
Drives: Chevy Aveo
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Parent's Basement

Posts: 4,651
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickc View Post
3mb down/768 up here... no wonder i'm always re-editing my WAG posts, might as well have 1200 baud modem running a BBS
dsl? dump that shiat for cable
Blake is offline   No_Country
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-19-2008, 03:31 AM   #27
Blake
46
Banned
 
Drives: Chevy Aveo
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Parent's Basement

Posts: 4,651
iTrader: (7)


rock on
Blake is offline   No_Country
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-19-2008, 11:47 AM   #28
darkphantom
59
Banned
 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The place for Bimmers

Posts: 5,949
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to darkphantom
nice rig - but I don't think you can play dos games on vista you need to get DOSbox

p.s. I get about 7-800kb/s avg downloading at home and about 100ish uploading....comcast here...they said 6mbit down, 12 with overboost (which is like for 10seconds) and 768k up
darkphantom is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-19-2008, 12:03 PM   #29
T Bone
40
Brigadier General
 
T Bone's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335xi Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: The land where we kill baby seals

Posts: 4,021
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blakepilot View Post
final specs:

antec nine hundred case
intel q9400 quad core 2.66ghz (overclock to come)
asus p5q
2 sapphire 4850HD 512mb cards crossfired
24" samsung 1920x1200 native display
4gb ddr2 1200 ram
150gb veliciraptor 10k rpm HD for OS etc
1TB raid 0 7200rpm for mass storage
blu-ray burner
dvd burner
wireless N sitting on a 16mbit connection

i'm on it right now, it's running fast and stable on windows vista. boot time is about 20 seconds.


Congrats on your new system.... a couple of suggestions:
  • Get Vista 64, you will not be able to address the full 4 Gigs of main memory with Vista 32
  • Since you are doing video / photo editing, look for graphics acceleration in the application and always look for the new drivers
__________________
"Aerodynamics are for people who cannot build engines"......Enzo Ferrari
T Bone is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      11-19-2008, 04:33 PM   #30
Blake
46
Banned
 
Drives: Chevy Aveo
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Parent's Basement

Posts: 4,651
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by T Bone View Post
Congrats on your new system.... a couple of suggestions:
  • Get Vista 64, you will not be able to address the full 4 Gigs of main memory with Vista 32
  • Since you are doing video / photo editing, look for graphics acceleration in the application and always look for the new drivers
i'm running vista ultimate 64 bit
Blake is offline   No_Country
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-02-2008, 01:35 PM   #31
san~man
26
Tired
 
san~man's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW-less
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: USA

Posts: 2,615
iTrader: (7)

How's your OC doing? I got my little Q6600 to 3.6, stable 24/7
__________________
BMW-less
san~man is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      12-02-2008, 01:58 PM   #32
Blake
46
Banned
 
Drives: Chevy Aveo
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Parent's Basement

Posts: 4,651
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by san~man View Post
How's your OC doing? I got my little Q6600 to 3.6, stable 24/7
you know, i haven't even really screwed with it too much yet. but thanks for reminding me, i will. i had my brother takeover my guest bedroom where the computer is all of last week for thanksgiving so i barely got to play with the new computer. i'll mess with it this week.
Blake is offline   No_Country
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST