E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Quick Review BMS 1.2 beta!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-29-2008, 02:40 PM   #23
slubu
Never Go Full Retard
 
slubu's Avatar
 
Drives: White Lightning
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Agrestic

Posts: 1,851
iTrader: (2)

Can you comment on the difference between lagfix on and off?
__________________
2008 335i
slubu is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 02:40 PM   #24
5soko
Brigadier General
 
5soko's Avatar
 
Drives: M5
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Posts: 4,211
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SfValley335i View Post
That would suck... how are you going to explain to the guy that wants to race "hold on I need to change maps" and there you are pumping the accelerator 7 times hoping you didnt select the wrong map because you didnt press the accelerator all the way down.

Its a cool idea but if you have to turn off/on the car for the new map to be loaded just kills it IMO.
I think you can buy the gauge if you want more on the fly type tuning as suggested.
This is pretty cool to have as a free option though. I mean if your a street racer, why not just use the high boost map all the time, its not like your on 14-15psi all the time, just when your WOT. So basically you can use your foot as a map switcher. I think the map swtiching has more to do with people specific needs and wants for there car.
Most of the maps utilize a high power verison of 1.1(1.1 , lagix 1.1, 1.1 hot, race map and such) So why drive around on valet map if your gonna race+ it would have to adapt right?

P.s. Can't you just use the 3 way map switcher for on the fly map swtiching, run it inside the car? (3-modes= valet, map switch via pedal pre-set to user input, race map)
5soko is offline   Montenegro
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 02:44 PM   #25
Alex@AKMotorwerk
 
Alex@AKMotorwerk's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 AW F10 535i
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hillsborough, NJ

Posts: 9,339
iTrader: (7)

Send a message via AIM to Alex@AKMotorwerk
Quote:
Originally Posted by sflgator View Post
So there's no "on-the-fly" map switching? You would need to stop, turn the car off, and restart in order to switch maps, correct?
You can still use the manual 3 way map switch as well.... Valet/Race/whichever u chose via gas pedal
Alex@AKMotorwerk is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 03:02 PM   #26
uhcoug2011
Uhcoug2011
 
uhcoug2011's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 757
iTrader: (6)

Send a message via AIM to uhcoug2011
Regardless of "on-the-fly" map switching if you are going to race someone when you change to whatever map you want to change to you are going to have to make pulls to allow your car to adjust to that map. Whether its the V3 and its map switching or the Juicebox and its map switching.
__________________
Sparkling Graphite E90 / JUICEBOX 3 / BMS DUAL CONE FILTERS
uhcoug2011 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 03:06 PM   #27
GAaaAR
Captain
 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC

Posts: 661
iTrader: (1)

All this for $379 or $629 pnp.
GAaaAR is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 03:52 PM   #28
thr33fivei
Captain
 
thr33fivei's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LA

Posts: 772
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SfValley335i View Post
That would suck... how are you going to explain to the guy that wants to race "hold on I need to change maps" and there you are pumping the accelerator 7 times hoping you didnt select the wrong map because you didnt press the accelerator all the way down.

Its a cool idea but if you have to turn off/on the car for the new map to be loaded just kills it IMO.
I set mine on my favorite Map 6 at all times running on 91 oct so if anyone want to race me I'm set. Unless he wants to set an appointment then time to put some race gas and set it on Map 7. Once you choose the right map for you I dont think you want to change it all the time.

You enter your cheat codes as simple as up up down down L R L R B A B A select start!
thr33fivei is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 04:45 PM   #29
thr33fivei
Captain
 
thr33fivei's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LA

Posts: 772
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GAaaAR View Post
All this for $379 or $629 pnp.
Dont forget free updates!
thr33fivei is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 05:57 PM   #30
Lane
Several N54 cars, V1,3, V2.0.2, and V3.1
 
Drives: N54s
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK DE GR SW

Posts: 778
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SfValley335i View Post
how are you going to explain to the guy that wants to race "hold on I need to change maps" and there you are pumping the accelerator 7 times hoping you didnt select the wrong map because you didnt press the accelerator all the way down.
You don't have any idea of selecting maps. Do NOT select race gas map if you suddenly wanna race. You select it only after filling in race gas.
Lane is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 06:28 PM   #31
Mote
Colonel
 
Mote's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E92 - 1991 E30
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Beverly Hills, CA

Posts: 2,156
iTrader: (0)

Personally for me, I much prefer switching maps on the fly with the key fob. Quick and painless.
Mote is offline   Colombia
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 06:32 PM   #32
5soko
Brigadier General
 
5soko's Avatar
 
Drives: M5
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Posts: 4,211
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mote View Post
Personally for me, I much prefer switching maps on the fly with the key fob. Quick and painless.

I think this is where the boost gauge map switching/tuning will come in. May i ask, when exactly do you change maps on the fly? valet to race? valet to high boost?
5soko is offline   Montenegro
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 06:50 PM   #33
NumbaOne335
Banned
 
Drives: E92 335i AT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mote View Post
Personally for me, I much prefer switching maps on the fly with the key fob. Quick and painless.
Yes because switching maps while the car is shut off can cause severe pain.
NumbaOne335 is offline   Armenia
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 06:52 PM   #34
NumbaOne335
Banned
 
Drives: E92 335i AT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

Plua anyone that is going to race needs to fill it up with race gas and then do 2 or 3 pulls to let it adapt so on the fly really isnt needed. If you want on the fly you can get the Rix's gauage or the new Jb3 gauge that will be on sale soon.
NumbaOne335 is offline   Armenia
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 06:59 PM   #35
hotrod182
.
 
hotrod182's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i, 06 M3
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California

Posts: 3,461
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mote View Post
Personally for me, I much prefer switching maps on the fly with the key fob. Quick and painless.
In all my testing on street/track, I never switch maps unless I am at the track on higher octane. And at that point, I can't think of any case where I would need to do it "on the fly." I don't think I would ever use a valet mode either. And if i am going to let someone else borrow the car (which I won't), I think I can take 10 seconds to switch maps.
__________________
2011 Alpine 335d M-Sport 12.34 @ 110.48mph
2012 LEAF 130MPGe
2008 Black 335i Sedan. 11.11@ 129.47 mph,(8.39 sec 60-130 stock turboWR)
2008 Monaco Blue JB3 2.0 335i Coupe. 11.33 @ 132.77 mph (N54 trap speed WR)
60-130mph: 6.95 seconds stock turbo WR (.16% slope)
hotrod182 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 07:16 PM   #36
Mote
Colonel
 
Mote's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E92 - 1991 E30
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Beverly Hills, CA

Posts: 2,156
iTrader: (0)

Alright guys put the pitch forks away, no more lynching.
Mote is offline   Colombia
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 07:25 PM   #37
Lane
Several N54 cars, V1,3, V2.0.2, and V3.1
 
Drives: N54s
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK DE GR SW

Posts: 778
iTrader: (0)

Peace
Lane is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 07:29 PM   #38
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by thr33fivei View Post
First off I would like to thank T for letting me testing!

BMS 1.2 beta consist of 15 maps!
8 maps for User and 7 maps for Diagnostic.

Map tested today.
Map 5 - Hotter 1.1 - Higher than 93 oct or downpipes/intake suggested
Map 6 - Hotter 1.1 w/ lagfix 2.0

My mods:
Pre 29.2
Jb3 1.2 customer version
RR Dp
Britalman full catless exhaust
BMS dual intake
Code 3 Fmic
Kosei K1

Install was very easy simple as set it and forget it!

Map 5 and 6
>Testing was done on 91 oct and with no codes!!! My daily driving just made my car faster and fun to get to work! Got to love the gas pedal switch mode so easy to use. On 91 oct feels very strong rips through redline.
Big difference on the low end torque compare to 1.1v. Cant want to test it on race gas. Also cant wait to Dyno!

Out of the 8 user maps I proly use 2.
Map 6 for my daily driving
Map 7 Race - for drag nights

Map 0 Stock/Valet - when my GF borrows it

J
Glad you like it! Since you are LA, can you come to the PROcede Taste Test next weekend? The usual tuner war BS aside, it would be great to get your impression on the differences you feel on your car.

cheers,
shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 08:17 PM   #39
JB335
Banned
 
Drives: 335is
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: so cal

Posts: 1,035
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335IS  [3.80]
I always laugh when I see Valet mode. Regardless of tuner.

Like switching to VALET mode is going to limp the car and reduce the top speed to 30 mph.

Valet (or wife): "Awww man. I was going to smash on this car cause I thought it had 400whp. But it only has 300. So thats no fun."
JB335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 08:20 PM   #40
SfValley335i
Colonel
 
Drives: Current:135i Sold:335i sedan
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: City of Angels

Posts: 2,396
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to SfValley335i
Quote:
Originally Posted by JB335 View Post
I always laugh when I see Valet mode. Regardless of tuner.

Like switching to VALET mode is going to limp the car and reduce the top speed to 30 mph.

Valet (or wife): "Awww man. I was going to smash on this car cause I thought it had 400whp. But it only has 300. So thats no fun."

Some people cant drive high powered cars. Let alone one that makes 350lbs torq at 2500rpm. Whenever I have a female in my car and i hit 3k rpm they freak out... image how they would react when driving... probably wouldnt turn out to be a good scene.
SfValley335i is offline   Afghanistan
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 08:47 PM   #41
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JB335 View Post
I always laugh when I see Valet mode. Regardless of tuner.

Like switching to VALET mode is going to limp the car and reduce the top speed to 30 mph.

Valet (or wife): "Awww man. I was going to smash on this car cause I thought it had 400whp. But it only has 300. So thats no fun."
Actually, the PROcede's valet mode does limit max speed. You can set it to as low as 35mph through the user adjustable menu

And yep, that was always my problem with "valet" modes. A 300hp car with a 130-155mph top speed doesn't seem very valet friendly to me.

-shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 08:59 PM   #42
Andrew@ET
Brigadier General
 
Drives: Red thing
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Earth

Posts: 4,041
iTrader: (9)

like they said regardless if you can switch maps on the fly or have to turn off the car you will have to do a couple runs to let the computer adjust..

So if you see some one coming up and you want to race you cant just flip to race mode and go.
Andrew@ET is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 10:58 PM   #43
scalbert
Major General
 
scalbert's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

Posts: 5,710
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SfValley335i View Post
Some people cant drive high powered cars. Let alone one that makes 350lbs torq at 2500rpm. Whenever I have a female in my car and i hit 3k rpm they freak out... image how they would react when driving... probably wouldnt turn out to be a good scene.
Sorry to hear that, my wife drives my car just fine and my 5 year old twin daughters ask me to go faster.
scalbert is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-29-2008, 11:00 PM   #44
JB335
Banned
 
Drives: 335is
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: so cal

Posts: 1,035
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335IS  [3.80]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Actually, the PROcede's valet mode does limit max speed. You can set it to as low as 35mph through the user adjustable menu
-shiv

touche
JB335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST