E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > AVIN 8.8inch - who has this?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-21-2017, 01:55 PM   #1
dublin14
Second Lieutenant
43
Rep
240
Posts

Drives: A4 S-line -330 next
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Toronto-Canada

iTrader: (0)

AVIN 8.8inch - who has this?

https://avinusa.com/8-8-bmw-3-series...on-system.html

Just curious who has this in their car? And any feedback using it with the logic 7?
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2017, 09:44 PM   #2
ctuna
Major General
596
Rep
7,579
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Probably to new to find much input .
There is a idrive only subforum here maybe you should try
there.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=122
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2017, 02:39 PM   #3
dublin14
Second Lieutenant
43
Rep
240
Posts

Drives: A4 S-line -330 next
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Toronto-Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
Probably to new to find much input .
There is a idrive only subforum here maybe you should try
there.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=122
Thx buddy. It looks promising? But we all like some feedback before we buy.
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2017, 04:46 PM   #4
dreyo27
Second Lieutenant
76
Rep
289
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i e92
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sacramento CA

iTrader: (3)

Mine should be here today, but I already see a lot of issues with the system.
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2017, 04:53 PM   #5
dreyo27
Second Lieutenant
76
Rep
289
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i e92
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sacramento CA

iTrader: (3)

started the instillation, but there are a few issues I have to figure out with Avin. But i got it to power on. resolution looks amazing compared to OEM CCC.
Appreciate 0
      09-27-2017, 08:56 PM   #6
dublin14
Second Lieutenant
43
Rep
240
Posts

Drives: A4 S-line -330 next
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Toronto-Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreyo27 View Post
started the instillation, but there are a few issues I have to figure out with Avin. But i got it to power on. resolution looks amazing compared to OEM CCC.
Keep it coming. Im sure many will be very interested to see how this works out including myself. Give all the details good and bad.
Appreciate 0
      09-27-2017, 08:58 PM   #7
dublin14
Second Lieutenant
43
Rep
240
Posts

Drives: A4 S-line -330 next
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Toronto-Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreyo27 View Post
Mine should be here today, but I already see a lot of issues with the system.
What are your concerns? Do you know if it will work with Logic pro 7?
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2017, 10:15 AM   #8
Torqu3
Major
223
Rep
1,042
Posts

Drives: 2010 E90 335D
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Centralish Texas

iTrader: (0)

I have one and love it. Well worth the money. Resolution is great. Doesn't lag. Works with idrive controller perfectly. So much possibility outside of how it comes from the factory. I haven't dug into it too much. Certainly well worth the money just for google maps/waze use. I got mine with a reverse camera as well and that is flawless.
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2017, 02:43 PM   #9
dublin14
Second Lieutenant
43
Rep
240
Posts

Drives: A4 S-line -330 next
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Toronto-Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torqu3 View Post
I have one and love it. Well worth the money. Resolution is great. Doesn't lag. Works with idrive controller perfectly. So much possibility outside of how it comes from the factory. I haven't dug into it too much. Certainly well worth the money just for google maps/waze use. I got mine with a reverse camera as well and that is flawless.
Nice. Do you have the L7 stereo? If it does I think im going to get one.
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2017, 02:55 PM   #10
Torqu3
Major
223
Rep
1,042
Posts

Drives: 2010 E90 335D
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Centralish Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dublin14 View Post
Nice. Do you have the L7 stereo? If it does I think im going to get one.
I don't. I have friends that do and they love their Avin unit
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2017, 07:14 PM   #11
dreyo27
Second Lieutenant
76
Rep
289
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i e92
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sacramento CA

iTrader: (3)

works OK, install is a 6/10. You will need to dremmel to cut a few things out.

IT IS NOT "PLUG AND PLAY"

but yes I have Logic 7 and it works, it sends the sound in via AUX setting and picks up steering wheel controls via CAN Bus.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2017, 08:16 AM   #12
madbim
Private First Class
United_States
11
Rep
118
Posts

Drives: 08' E90 335xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Madison, WI

iTrader: (0)

this looks promising, would be interested in a more in depth review.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2017, 10:11 PM   #13
lab_rat
First Lieutenant
lab_rat's Avatar
United_States
102
Rep
371
Posts

Drives: E90 330i ZSP/ZPP/ZMT
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: San Antonio, TX

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Sub'd
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2017, 05:54 AM   #14
maddmatth
Lieutenant
96
Rep
458
Posts

Drives: E92 335i MSport DCT
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

iTrader: (0)

This looks really cool and interesting. Don't see much talk about it though. Those of you with it, any further impressions?

I have CIC with no Bluetooth, this looks like a great way to get that and more. Android navigation apps are far better than the built in BMW navigation, would be nice to have that on the screen rather than mounting my phone separately.
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2017, 07:37 PM   #15
Hotversion
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreyo27 View Post
works OK, install is a 6/10. You will need to dremmel to cut a few things out.

IT IS NOT "PLUG AND PLAY"

but yes I have Logic 7 and it works, it sends the sound in via AUX setting and picks up steering wheel controls via CAN Bus.

How did you connect your AUX, was there a connector in the harness or the back of the unit? I think I'm missing something. I have everything hooked up and everything but the AUX works. Right now I basically have a really upgraded CCC display.
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2017, 12:58 PM   #16
lnxguy
Captain
119
Rep
754
Posts

Drives: 2009 335D
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Barrie

iTrader: (1)

A few guys over in the 335d forum did a groupbuy, might wanna check with them.
__________________
'09 335D
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2017, 04:46 PM   #17
Faredo
First Lieutenant
Faredo's Avatar
207
Rep
324
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Arkansas

iTrader: (0)

Has anyone tried displaying MHD gauges with this? Currently trying to figure out how to get a Android Box to display to the OEM CIC.
__________________
Mods related to trouble shooting posts: Stock Turbos, MHD OTS V7 stage 2+ 93 oct, VRSF Downpipes, VRSF Relocated inlets, CTS Turbo 7" Intercooler, Tial BOV with upgraded line 5.56mm, index 12 injectors, A/T OEM Flash.

Last edited by Faredo; 11-02-2017 at 04:53 PM.
Appreciate 1
      11-08-2017, 05:47 PM   #18
aclearersky
Enlisted Member
3
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (2)

I'm looking to get the 10.25 inch unit for non I drive with the harmon kardan system but I can't figure out if I need the most unit as well. it's non returnable so I don't want to waste money buying it if I don't need it. I can find any install info anywhere
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2017, 01:02 PM   #19
SpeeDemoN
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
222
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aclearersky View Post
I'm looking to get the 10.25 inch unit for non I drive with the harmon kardan system but I can't figure out if I need the most unit as well. it's non returnable so I don't want to waste money buying it if I don't need it. I can find any install info anywhere
https://avinusa.com/10-25-bmw-3-seri...on-system.html

That one?

Wow looks interesting, never saw an option like that before. No going back from an install like that unless you're going to source a spare dashboard...
Appreciate 1
      11-09-2017, 01:39 PM   #20
ctuna
Major General
596
Rep
7,579
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Looks interesting but what does it actually do?
Reading the specs there is no audio or FM , usb music input mentioned,
or audio specs. So is it suppose to augment the current system
you have or replace it in the case of a Pro Radio.
Do you have to go in through the existing aux connection on your
radio or does it go into the most bus for music or audio input.
What happens if you have a Mulf/TCU to which the aux is currently
routed?
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2017, 01:47 PM   #21
aclearersky
Enlisted Member
3
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeeDemoN View Post
https://avinusa.com/10-25-bmw-3-seri...on-system.html

That one?

Wow looks interesting, never saw an option like that before. No going back from an install like that unless you're going to source a spare dashboard...
Yeah I was worried about that but all the non idrive 3 series have the same dash so it won't be hard to find another one if necessary. I spoke with Terry from avin yesterday and went ahead and ordered it. I'm likely going to do a install video and review video. Way cheaper and easier then the 2500 retrofit to I drive and I didn't like the dyavins looks very much. Plus other then chopping up the dashboard the install looks super easy.
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2017, 01:52 PM   #22
aclearersky
Enlisted Member
3
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
Looks interesting but what does it actually do?
Reading the specs there is no audio or FM , usb music input mentioned,
or audio specs. So is it suppose to augment the current system
you have or replace it in the case of a Pro Radio.
Do you have to go in through the existing aux connection on your
radio or does it go into the most bus for music or audio input.
What happens if you have a Mulf/TCU to which the aux is currently
routed?
It has an SD or micro SD card slot on the back. I believe you can just use the stock radio still as this to me sees like more of a piggyback if you will and not a stand alone. They sell a splitter on their site when ordering for the aux cable. And sorry I'm not familiar with the last thing youre talking about
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:45 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST