E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > NA Engine (non-turbo) / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > ECU swapping possible?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-23-2009, 12:50 PM   #1
mike-y
just another bmw douche bag
 
Drives: 1.9L of fury
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Posts: 3,398
iTrader: (4)

ECU swapping possible?

Just wondering if its possible to swap another ECU into your car, or if each ECU is programmed to only work on the car it original came in. Some newer Hondas and Acuras are like this, and you have to get them chipped to use them in a different car.

I wanted to buy a spare ecu for testing purposes, but wasn't sure if it would work in my car.
mike-y is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2009, 01:43 PM   #2
UdubBadger
Banned
 
Drives: '04 330i ZHP
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago Burbs

Posts: 24,716
iTrader: (22)

Garage List
2004 BMW 330i ZHP  [4.75]
2011 135i  [3.73]
2008 328xi  [4.38]
possible yes, probable that it will work... I hope you are a computer science genius

GL
UdubBadger is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2009, 05:13 PM   #3
mike-y
just another bmw douche bag
 
Drives: 1.9L of fury
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Posts: 3,398
iTrader: (4)

Just found the info that the ecu's are mapped to their respective VIN, so of course plug-n-play is out of the question. I know someone that deals with all kinds of ecu tuning software and equipment, so I was looking for something I could just leave with him to play with.
mike-y is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2009, 05:20 PM   #4
UdubBadger
Banned
 
Drives: '04 330i ZHP
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago Burbs

Posts: 24,716
iTrader: (22)

Garage List
2004 BMW 330i ZHP  [4.75]
2011 135i  [3.73]
2008 328xi  [4.38]
i see what you mean. you could always buy a new ecu and let them FIGURE OUT how to remap it and then just do the same to yours (i see the point of you wanted them to figure it out first and on incapacitate your car for the time) but it looks like for them to actually try you'll need to give them the whole car not just the ecu
UdubBadger is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2009, 09:48 PM   #5
NinetyEight740
Murderin' OC One Car @ A Time
 
Drives: 98 E38, 06 E90
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: HB, CA

Posts: 5,243
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
'06 E90  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to NinetyEight740
U cannot swap the DME unless u also swap the CAS which is part of the EWS system... What are you attempting??? 325 to 330?
NinetyEight740 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2009, 08:50 AM   #6
Omni
Second Lieutenant
 
Omni's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Posts: 240
iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinetyEight740 View Post
What are you attempting??? 325 to 330?
Why, I believe he is.
Omni is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST