E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Custom sub install not working! Signal interruption...?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-18-2016, 02:09 PM   #1
NoSole
Bearquin by nature
NoSole's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
269
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (3)

Custom sub install not working! Signal interruption...?

I've had an aftermarket sub in my car for years, and it hasn't worked for the last couple but I haven't had time to troubleshoot. I'm trying to figure it out, but logic fails me as I've checked and tried alternatives to the usual suspects.

The problem: My sub used to work, and work well! But ain't workin now, and I'm all but certain that it's an issue with the signal not making it to the amp. Hopefully I'm missing something obvious.

The details: I have an '08 335xi with Logic7. The aftermarket part consists of an RD Audio 12" sub and mono amp, with power running through a 1 farad capacitor, housed in the trunk. The original LOC was a PAC SOEM-T, but in trouble shooting, I've replaced it with a PAC LP7-2, but that didn't fix the problem. The amp is getting power and I've checked the connections, which all seem to be secure. The LOC is tapped into the Left/Right sub outs from the Logic7 amp and I've checked that they are spliced to correct wires, which they are.

I've included a few photos for reference. If I'm missing something here, or you need more info/photos, please let me know. Would reeeeaaalllly like to get this sorted out!

Thanks!


Pics:
Whole Setup
Sub
Amp/Cap
LOC
Amp power
LOC wiring 1
LOC wiring 2

Last edited by NoSole; 11-18-2016 at 02:14 PM.
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2016, 08:27 PM   #2
Makeuwunder
Private First Class
Makeuwunder's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
199
Posts

Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Savannah, Ga

iTrader: (0)

Heres good info. http://www.bcae1.com/audiots.htm#demo
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2016, 10:43 PM   #3
Slo2g
New Member
Slo2g's Avatar
1
Rep
17
Posts

Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: South Carolina

iTrader: (0)

Best advice, take a mulitmeter and see if your getting AC voltage to the input of the LOC. If not then the channel on the amp(factory) may be bad. If you are getting AC voltage that increases with volume then its something after that, so either the LOC, the interconnects(RCA's), Amp, or subwoofer.
__________________

Last edited by Slo2g; 11-18-2016 at 11:04 PM.
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2016, 01:48 AM   #4
NoSole
Bearquin by nature
NoSole's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
269
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slo2g View Post
Best advice, take a mulitmeter and see if your getting AC voltage to the input of the LOC. If not then the channel on the amp(factory) may be bad. If you are getting AC voltage that increases with volume then its something after that, so either the LOC, the interconnects(RCA's), Amp, or subwoofer.
Hmm, well, the factory subs are still connected and work fine. I didn't clip those outs, just spliced the LOC inputs to 'em. The last two photos show this. I didn't take a multimeter to the LOC inputs because if the stock subs are still getting a signal. Why wouldn't the LOC... right? Or is my logic wrong?

The interconnects crossed my mind, so I'll try another set to see if those are the problem.

Will take read thru that link when I get home

thanks fellas
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2016, 02:14 AM   #5
Slo2g
New Member
Slo2g's Avatar
1
Rep
17
Posts

Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: South Carolina

iTrader: (0)

You can measure the interconnects the same way as speaker leads, the center pin is the positive and the outer shield is the negative. If that test good then test the output of the amplifier, same way. If that is good then you can check the resistance of the subwoofer. If the sub has a really high or "OL" then its either a blown subwoofer or a wire has come lose inside the box.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2016, 09:56 PM   #6
NoSole
Bearquin by nature
NoSole's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
269
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (3)

Tested everything and Good news, Bad news....

Good... I know what the problem is.

Bad... the sub is blown

The sub has two sets of terminals that were bridged, and one set had zero resistance (as in OL).

Last edited by NoSole; 11-19-2016 at 10:01 PM.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:20 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST