E90Post
 


MINHS Auto Care Center
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Software updates



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-16-2009, 01:40 PM   #1
bobbba
New Member
0
Rep
22
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 320D M Sport (E90)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Question Software updates

I've got an 06 320D and given the age of the car and complexity of the electronics etc I was wondering if anybody had any experience of getting the software updates.

Does it cost much?
Noticed any improvement afterwards?
Is there a way of comparing the version on your car with whatever's current?
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2009, 02:11 PM   #2
- Paul -
Major General
- Paul -'s Avatar
England
179
Rep
7,274
Posts

 
Drives: see above.
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yorkshire, UK

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2005 320D SE  [5.00]
2005 645  [4.50]
Had the car nearly 4 years - never had an update afaik. (320D)
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2009, 02:46 PM   #3
Budgie
Major
England
14
Rep
1,326
Posts

 
Drives: Soon to be a .....
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: BEDS/CAMBS

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by - Paul - View Post
Had the car nearly 4 years - never had an update afaik. (320D)
Wow i had one in weeks after taking delivery,and im due another to do with allsorts- Efficent Dynamics bullshit.
__________________
RED SQUARE MASSIVE


Some say he is a tame racing driver...all i know is i call him Carsplosh....SHAMZIE
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2009, 02:52 PM   #4
M3-FAST
Defected to the dark side.....
M3-FAST's Avatar
England
84
Rep
5,791
Posts

 
Drives: BMW M5 LCi
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Stafford, UK

iTrader: (11)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbba View Post
I've got an 06 320D and given the age of the car and complexity of the electronics etc I was wondering if anybody had any experience of getting the software updates.

Does it cost much?
Noticed any improvement afterwards?
Is there a way of comparing the version on your car with whatever's current?
If you have Idrive I think that the newer software is a LOT better with nicer screens. If you don't have Idrive I doubt you will see much difference.
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2009, 02:56 PM   #5
Budgie
Major
England
14
Rep
1,326
Posts

 
Drives: Soon to be a .....
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: BEDS/CAMBS

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Is the idrive screen different then??
__________________
RED SQUARE MASSIVE


Some say he is a tame racing driver...all i know is i call him Carsplosh....SHAMZIE
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2009, 03:04 PM   #6
Dave_3
Colonel
Dave_3's Avatar
Scotland
48
Rep
2,816
Posts

 
Drives: F32 430D sDrive Msport
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CH / SCO

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Budgie View Post
Is the idrive screen different then??
Mainly different fonts and subtle colour/background changes. Some say a speed improvement though I haven't noticed any great change.

One improvement is the system remembers the screen you were last using, so when you start up it pops back up directly. The old one always started at the main menu page.

I also noticed that my Brakes were not so snatchy - I'm guessing a re-programming of the soft-stop braking (binding on less than before). Especially noticeable when backing up slowly while braking lightly. Now MUCH better.

The trip computer seems to have altered the way it calculates. I'm guessing it now works out something if you are just sitting idling - before it didn't seem to add that to the calculations.

D.
__________________
Escort Mk1 RS2000 (2.1 2x44IDFS, BVH, Kent FR32, 5spd, 180 BHP) : Fully Loaded F32 430D M Sport sDrive : Previously Full-Spec 335D E92 2006 : Capri MK1 full rebuild in progress

Appreciate 0
      02-16-2009, 04:37 PM   #7
- Paul -
Major General
- Paul -'s Avatar
England
179
Rep
7,274
Posts

 
Drives: see above.
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yorkshire, UK

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2005 320D SE  [5.00]
2005 645  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Budgie View Post
Wow i had one in weeks after taking delivery,and im due another to do with allsorts- Efficent Dynamics bullshit.

Mine aint ED so guess that's why?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2009, 05:17 PM   #8
Budgie
Major
England
14
Rep
1,326
Posts

 
Drives: Soon to be a .....
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: BEDS/CAMBS

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
I think having nav and crud also means more updates but im sure most is ED crud.
__________________
RED SQUARE MASSIVE


Some say he is a tame racing driver...all i know is i call him Carsplosh....SHAMZIE
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2009, 06:05 PM   #9
swanseahammer
First Lieutenant
United Kingdom
5
Rep
334
Posts

 
Drives: F30 320d ED
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Swansea

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 320d SE  [0.00]
When I got mine, the dealer got the Bluetooth software upgraded. When I test drove the car, my iPhone wouldn't work with it, after collecting car it did. He told me it should have cost 150
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST