E90Post
 


jb4store
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > BT Scan:2D5A Control motor torque limitation?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-21-2009, 12:32 PM   #1
E92White
**N54 Power Baby**
United_States
9

 
E92White's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 135i SGM
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brownsville,TX


Posts: 681
iTrader: (3)

BT Scan:2D5A Control motor torque limitation?

Hey guys..had a weird code pop up..I turned my car on and as soon as it turned on,I had a limp/Engine Malfun. Here's where it starts to get weird..the car started sputtering kinda crazy..rpms jumping up and down,as if it had a rough idle cam like a muscle car..as I threw it into reverse I had to really hold the brake down tight as it felt like it was gonna launch in reverse ! anyway I've never had that happen to me..does anyone have any idea what the hell this could be ?
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 01:44 PM   #2
lauer87
Lieutenant
5

 
lauer87's Avatar
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: USA


Posts: 585
iTrader: (0)

What tune are you running?
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 01:58 PM   #3
E92White
**N54 Power Baby**
United_States
9

 
E92White's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 135i SGM
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brownsville,TX


Posts: 681
iTrader: (3)

no tune as of right now..was running JB3 but took it off to install and let a friend try it out on his e90..I got the BT Tool recently to scan for codes,etc. and the only codes I've gotten has been some accelerator pedal module code..but this one is new..very weird..ofcourse my car does have 32k on it..so they may have something to do with it too..
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 02:45 PM   #4
dmurray14
The Stig
United_States
18

 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US


Posts: 1,232
iTrader: (1)

Thats bizarre. If you scan and theres no manipulation code, I'd take it to the dealer and have them do a run-through...
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 03:15 PM   #5
E92White
**N54 Power Baby**
United_States
9

 
E92White's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 135i SGM
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brownsville,TX


Posts: 681
iTrader: (3)

no manipulation codes here..i'm msd80 pre 29.2..My SA seems to think its a software issue..hopefully they wont upgrade me to the latest progman..
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2009, 01:20 AM   #6
hotrod182
.
81

 
hotrod182's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i, 06 M3
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California


Posts: 3,461
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92White View Post
no manipulation codes here..i'm msd80 pre 29.2..My SA seems to think its a software issue..hopefully they wont upgrade me to the latest progman..

If they think its a software issue, they will upgrade it to the newest progman.
__________________
2011 Alpine 335d M-Sport 12.34 @ 110.48mph
2012 LEAF 130MPGe
2008 Black 335i Sedan. 11.11@ 129.47 mph,(8.39 sec 60-130 stock turboWR)
2008 Monaco Blue JB3 2.0 335i Coupe. 11.33 @ 132.77 mph (N54 trap speed WR)
60-130mph: 6.95 seconds stock turbo WR (.16% slope)
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2009, 03:48 PM   #7
newbieman78
Second Lieutenant
10

 
newbieman78's Avatar
 
Drives: bmw 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Las Vegas


Posts: 274
iTrader: (0)

that happened to me once when i was installing the sprint booster on my accelerator pedal.
The problem was that i didnt have the wires pushed in all the way into their connectors and the gas pedal wasnt making a complete connection with the ECU. my car started shaking violently while at idle and still parked. if you are getting an accelerator pedal code malfunction, i would double check the gas pedal wires to make sure they are properly connected. could have become loose and disconnected temporarily.
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2009, 04:20 PM   #8
E92White
**N54 Power Baby**
United_States
9

 
E92White's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 135i SGM
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brownsville,TX


Posts: 681
iTrader: (3)

thanks newbie..I'm starting to think they are somehow related..
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2009, 04:22 PM   #9
E92White
**N54 Power Baby**
United_States
9

 
E92White's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 135i SGM
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brownsville,TX


Posts: 681
iTrader: (3)

check this out..now where's socaltech so he can chime in on this..
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2009, 05:01 PM   #10
rismo
Captain
14

 
Drives: BMW E92 335
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Europe


Posts: 841
iTrader: (0)

I have had the same after I not completly correct installed my procede.
It also gave a drivetrain error code.
After fixing the cables and a BT reset, things were fine again.

Maybe this helps you a bit.
__________________
BMW 335 E92 08 - Full options - RIP
BMW 335 E92 09 - Full options - DKG - Procede Rev 3 - Vishnu Meth and Chargepipe - Forge Diverter Valves - Vishnu Flex Fuel Kit- AR Catless DP - Afe Intake - Helix IC - Ar Oil Cooler - PPK Water Cooler - M3 Suspension - JRZ RS1 Shocks - Eibach Pro Springs - Drexler LSD - BMW IS Exhaust - EBC Yellow Brake Pads - Stainless Steel Brake Lines - M101 Wheels - Michelin PSS - M-Tech Body - M-Strutbar
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2009, 06:23 PM   #11
Tobias1980
Read the manual please, just do it before asking!
Sweden
4

 
Tobias1980's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden


Posts: 396
iTrader: (0)

I had the same thing happening with my car after installing a bad flash tune.

It was a very scary experience due to the engine revs that was jumping 1000 rpms up and down and I had problem to get into neutral on my AT beacuse of the engine was not idling... I was considering disconnecting my battery just to stop the engine!
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2009, 06:30 PM   #12
E92White
**N54 Power Baby**
United_States
9

 
E92White's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 135i SGM
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brownsville,TX


Posts: 681
iTrader: (3)

wow..but u know what doesnt make sense is how this happened with the tune basically being off..
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2009, 11:05 AM   #13
rismo
Captain
14

 
Drives: BMW E92 335
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Europe


Posts: 841
iTrader: (0)

Cables correct connected?

Power cables all correct?
__________________
BMW 335 E92 08 - Full options - RIP
BMW 335 E92 09 - Full options - DKG - Procede Rev 3 - Vishnu Meth and Chargepipe - Forge Diverter Valves - Vishnu Flex Fuel Kit- AR Catless DP - Afe Intake - Helix IC - Ar Oil Cooler - PPK Water Cooler - M3 Suspension - JRZ RS1 Shocks - Eibach Pro Springs - Drexler LSD - BMW IS Exhaust - EBC Yellow Brake Pads - Stainless Steel Brake Lines - M101 Wheels - Michelin PSS - M-Tech Body - M-Strutbar
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2009, 06:59 PM   #14
E92White
**N54 Power Baby**
United_States
9

 
E92White's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 135i SGM
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brownsville,TX


Posts: 681
iTrader: (3)

yep..quick update guys..my SA didnt find any issue,but thinks its a software issue..so they want to install the latest progman but I told them I read a bulletin that the newest software causes lag,and they were like ''well all we can do is clear the faults then'' ''the software upgrade is the best way to take care of the problem..'' what do you all think ?
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2009, 07:07 PM   #15
Crisp
Lieutenant Colonel
Albania
41

 
Crisp's Avatar
 
Drives: E60 M5 6 Speed
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC


Posts: 1,567
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92White View Post
yep..quick update guys..my SA didnt find any issue,but thinks its a software issue..so they want to install the latest progman but I told them I read a bulletin that the newest software causes lag,and they were like ''well all we can do is clear the faults then'' ''the software upgrade is the best way to take care of the problem..'' what do you all think ?


Have you tried out a car with the updated software?

I don't notice any lag in my 2009...

Can you live with lag that is almost invisible or can you live with this problem?

You choice.
I would update.
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2009, 07:27 PM   #16
E92White
**N54 Power Baby**
United_States
9

 
E92White's Avatar
 
Drives: E82 135i SGM
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brownsville,TX


Posts: 681
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crisp View Post
Have you tried out a car with the updated software?

I don't notice any lag in my 2009...

Can you live with lag that is almost invisible or can you live with this problem?

You choice.
I would update.
well from my understanding,the newer ecu's with the updated software dont really have lag issues..its the guys that have the old MSD80 ecu AKA pre 29.2 guys that get updated to the new software that experience the lag.
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2009, 07:45 PM   #17
Crisp
Lieutenant Colonel
Albania
41

 
Crisp's Avatar
 
Drives: E60 M5 6 Speed
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC


Posts: 1,567
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92White View Post
well from my understanding,the newer ecu's with the updated software dont really have lag issues..its the guys that have the old MSD80 ecu AKA pre 29.2 guys that get updated to the new software that experience the lag.
Hm, I want to test one out and see how the lag feels then.


But like I said, your car is sputtering and BMW's fix is an update.
So you have to decide if you want to live with this problem, or live with lag.
This is their "fix" to the problem which is why they came out with the update...too bad it has its negatives also.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST