E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > PROcede v3.3 CANbus UPDATE



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-21-2009, 05:22 PM   #1
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
731
Rep
17,616
Posts

Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Talking PROcede v3.3 CANbus UPDATE

As of early this morning, we got the PROcede's code clearing feature fully functional. Currently, the PROcede code clearing feature is triggered by turning the ignition to the ON position and pressing the throttle to the floor. This triggers a series of PROcede CANbus instructions to the factory DME to erase all engine codes. Yes, including the "hidden" tuner manipulation code. No laptop necessary. This functionality of this new feature has been confirmed by using the BavTech software.

Working on more stuff right now. Will update this thread when we have more to announce

Expect a firmware update later this week

Cheers,
shiv
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 05:27 PM   #2
jpsimon
Team Zissou
jpsimon's Avatar
United_States
177
Rep
9,022
Posts

Drives: 335 (sold)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (7)

I like the trigger for this! Very cool stuff, can't wait to see what else you have in store
__________________
335xi (sold)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 05:29 PM   #3
BmwFanFL
Second Lieutenant
BmwFanFL's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
216
Posts

Drives: 2008 - 335i - Cobb stg 1
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Very Hot, Humid, Southeast

iTrader: (0)

That is a pretty cool feature. It would be interesting to have a reset adaptation signal also, but this is a great feature for a tune.

With a laptop can someone tell what was present / cleared?

The way tunes are advancing, I might just get one someday soon....
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 05:30 PM   #4
jesdan14
Captain
United_States
14
Rep
796
Posts

Drives: 335i Coupe sapphire Black
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lakeworth Florida

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2007 335I Coupe  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to jesdan14
when can we buy one?
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 05:31 PM   #5
jpsimon
Team Zissou
jpsimon's Avatar
United_States
177
Rep
9,022
Posts

Drives: 335 (sold)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (7)

you can order a rev II right now, and as Shiv said: the firmware update for this will be out later this week
__________________
335xi (sold)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 05:35 PM   #6
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
731
Rep
17,616
Posts

Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BmwFanny View Post
That is a pretty cool feature. It would be interesting to have a reset adaptation signal also, but this is a great feature for a tune.

With a laptop can someone tell what was present / cleared?

The way tunes are advancing, I might just get one someday soon....
Adaptation Reset is just around the corner. It's the same basic instruction type as the code clear. Just different CANbus command. We will also provide a way to confirm codes (or lack thereof) with the PROcede software. Now that the CANbus functionality is cracked, there is A LOT more stuff coming your way. Seriously... I kid you not.

Shiv
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 05:36 PM   #7
jesdan14
Captain
United_States
14
Rep
796
Posts

Drives: 335i Coupe sapphire Black
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lakeworth Florida

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2007 335I Coupe  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to jesdan14
I already own a REV II
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 05:36 PM   #8
jpsimon
Team Zissou
jpsimon's Avatar
United_States
177
Rep
9,022
Posts

Drives: 335 (sold)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Adaptation Reset is just around the corner. It's the same basic instruction type as the code clear. Just different CANbus command. We will also provide a way to confirm codes (or lack thereof) with the PROcede software. Now that the CANbus functionality is cracked, there is A LOT more stuff coming your way. Seriously... I kid you not.

Shiv
When are you updating this thread? or should I say, when will you tell us some more features? (later today?)
__________________
335xi (sold)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 05:47 PM   #9
Mote
Colonel
Mote's Avatar
Colombia
53
Rep
2,162
Posts

Drives: 2008 E92 - 1991 E30
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Beverly Hills, CA

iTrader: (0)

Great stuff, Shiv. Can't wait for this!
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 05:52 PM   #10
scalbert
Major General
scalbert's Avatar
84
Rep
5,733
Posts

Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

iTrader: (7)

Good to see you got it working and looking forward to the new features!
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 05:57 PM   #11
shyestsparks
Captain
10
Rep
827
Posts

Drives: 335i sedan, 02 Altima VQ35DE-T
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ca

iTrader: (5)

Nice; when ca we buy the CAN bus upgrade kit?
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 06:12 PM   #12
jpsimon
Team Zissou
jpsimon's Avatar
United_States
177
Rep
9,022
Posts

Drives: 335 (sold)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (7)

Any rev II that has been ordered in the past week will have the update right shiv?
__________________
335xi (sold)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 06:20 PM   #13
Septro
Banned
28
Rep
1,649
Posts

Drives: '08 e90 335xi
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: C-Bus, OH

iTrader: (1)

No serious problems you think with the reset all adaption values? Does it revert to essentially the day you picked it up from the dealer or is that too coarse an analogy?
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 06:21 PM   #14
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
731
Rep
17,616
Posts

Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

We will put the CANbus harness update for sale late this week. Should only take a few min to do the harness update. And another 30 sec to do the firmware update.

All harnesses shipped out in the last week already have this update. These pre-updated harness should have a label that says "PROcede CANbus" on it.

Quick Update: The PROcede now has control of some DASHBOARD goodies

Shiv
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 06:24 PM   #15
mwahlert
Lieutenant Colonel
mwahlert's Avatar
29
Rep
1,569
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Durham, NC

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
We will put the CANbus harness update for sale late this week. Should only take a few min to do the harness update. And another 30 sec to do the firmware update.

All harnesses shipped out in the last week already have this update. These pre-updated harness should have a label that says "PROcede CANbus" on it.

Quick Update: The PROcede now has control of some DASHBOARD goodies

Shiv
such as?
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 06:40 PM   #16
branabolic
Major
branabolic's Avatar
10
Rep
1,033
Posts

Drives: e92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: so. new hampshire

iTrader: (5)

in dash boost FTW????
__________________
i'm not addicted to boost, but i sure am more fun when i'm on it.
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 06:41 PM   #17
jpsimon
Team Zissou
jpsimon's Avatar
United_States
177
Rep
9,022
Posts

Drives: 335 (sold)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (7)

Gas needle used as a boost gauge perhaps?
__________________
335xi (sold)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 06:42 PM   #18
Duke
Lieutenant
Duke's Avatar
United_States
7
Rep
508
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The Hills next to CHINO

iTrader: (2)

oh this is exciting!
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 06:45 PM   #19
Slidewayz
Major
Slidewayz's Avatar
15
Rep
1,177
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oakland, CA

iTrader: (5)

Well done you!

The in-dash boost display is a great idea, IMHO.
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 06:48 PM   #20
creaminz
Major General
creaminz's Avatar
United_States
202
Rep
7,711
Posts

Drives: E90 LCI
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: So. Cal

iTrader: (33)

DASHBOARD goodies!?? PROceed FTW!! can't wait!!
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 07:01 PM   #21
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
731
Rep
17,616
Posts

Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsimon View Post
Gas needle used as a boost gauge perhaps?
I was thinking more along the lines of the oil temp gauge That is, when oil temp is between a normal range, the gauge becomes a boost gauge (measuring in absolute bar). But when it is cold or unusually hot, the reverts back to normal functionality. This feature is on the top of my list. But it will take a bit more time since it actually involves editing existing CANbus instructions (as opposed to just sending new instructions). But we are working on it.

For first release (later this week), we will have the following features/functions:

- DME code clear. The Engine Malfunction light will flash on/off after process is done to confirm the codes are clear.
- Current map selection (0/valet, 1 or 2) will be displayed by the SES light (# of flashes) upon start-up or when a map switch is activated.

After that, things will get exceptionally cool.

Shiv
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2009, 07:12 PM   #22
gian335
Major
gian335's Avatar
12
Rep
1,031
Posts

Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: uknown

iTrader: (1)

nice work, very impressive
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:08 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST