E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > PROcede v3.3 CANbus UPDATE



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-21-2009, 09:41 PM   #45
goesquik
New Member
 
goesquik's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i 6AT
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Detroit

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
All harnesses shipped out in the last week already have this update. These pre-updated harness should have a label that says "PROcede CANbus" on it.

Shiv
I'm glad I bought at the right time, assuming my purchase from last week has the update.

Can't wait for all the extra functionality that will be available.
__________________
2007 e90 335i 6AT...

Disclaimer: Anything posted above has to do with hypothetical situations only.
goesquik is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-21-2009, 09:48 PM   #46
maui86
Captain
 
Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: paradise

Posts: 738
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to maui86 Send a message via Skype™ to maui86
Quote:
Originally Posted by stressdoc View Post
I like this idea better than the oil temp gauge.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slidewayz View Post
Yeah, when I first heard this I thought Shiv & Co. had been able to hack the digital display so we could get a numeric boost reading.
of course, not to bash on the oil temp gauge or anything as that would still be cool. i just figured i'd ask shiv :-)

teri
__________________
http://videos.streetfire.net/video/s...rays_37268.htm

gotta do what i gotta do to get them donuts
04 spec-v: rip dec07
maui86 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-21-2009, 10:11 PM   #47
Sniz
Lieutenant General
 
Sniz's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

Posts: 10,567
iTrader: (1)

very cool developements, keep it up.
__________________
Sniz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-21-2009, 10:51 PM   #48
Slidewayz
Major
 
Slidewayz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oakland, CA

Posts: 1,175
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by maui86 View Post
of course, not to bash on the oil temp gauge or anything as that would still be cool. i just figured i'd ask shiv :-)

teri
'tis semiotically sub-par to hijack the oil gauge.
Slidewayz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2009, 12:46 AM   #49
JayeJaymes
Major
 
JayeJaymes's Avatar
 
Drives: AW 2011 ZCP M3
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: So.Cal Moreno Valley

Posts: 1,133
iTrader: (7)

verry cool, can't wait to run some updates
JayeJaymes is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2009, 12:52 AM   #50
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,006
iTrader: (4)

As someone mentioned: digital boost readout where we have the live MPG updates would be the best.. Is that possible shiv?
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

jpsimon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2009, 12:55 AM   #51
MusclezMarinara
Banned
 
Drives: VALNCYA
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Jersey

Posts: 5,023
iTrader: (23)

Garage List
Will this code clearing feature work on the REV I?
MusclezMarinara is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2009, 12:57 AM   #52
hotrod182
.
 
hotrod182's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i, 06 M3
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California

Posts: 3,461
iTrader: (0)

Is there some kind of an indication to let you know if there are codes stored before you clear them, and what the codes are? Otherwise if you need to have a BT cable to read the codes, you can clear them at the same time anyways. I personally would like to know what codes are being triggered and when.
__________________
2011 Alpine 335d M-Sport 12.34 @ 110.48mph
2012 LEAF 130MPGe
2008 Black 335i Sedan. 11.11@ 129.47 mph,(8.39 sec 60-130 stock turboWR)
2008 Monaco Blue JB3 2.0 335i Coupe. 11.33 @ 132.77 mph (N54 trap speed WR)
60-130mph: 6.95 seconds stock turbo WR (.16% slope)
hotrod182 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2009, 04:21 AM   #53
tek818
Lieutenant Colonel
 
tek818's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 135i
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,835
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2012 BMW 135i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsimon View Post
As someone mentioned: digital boost readout where we have the live MPG updates would be the best.. Is that possible shiv?
+1!!! That would be f'n amazing!
tek818 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2009, 07:20 AM   #54
beepbeep
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 335i sedan E90
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Corrales,NM

Posts: 151
iTrader: (0)

This is why we keep sending Shiv money. And why the Procede is a bargain.
beepbeep is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2009, 10:52 AM   #55
kptaylor
First Lieutenant
 
kptaylor's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 335i Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: PHX, AZ

Posts: 323
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335xi-blk View Post
Will this code clearing feature work on the REV I?
No, it doesn't have the CANbus feature.
kptaylor is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2009, 11:01 AM   #56
Sniz
Lieutenant General
 
Sniz's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

Posts: 10,567
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrod182 View Post
Is there some kind of an indication to let you know if there are codes stored before you clear them, and what the codes are? Otherwise if you need to have a BT cable to read the codes, you can clear them at the same time anyways. I personally would like to know what codes are being triggered and when.
agreed 100% on that, the codes can be useful after all, they are there for a reason.
__________________
Sniz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2009, 11:22 AM   #57
cocoturkey
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 08' e92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Taipei

Posts: 441
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniz View Post
agreed 100% on that, the codes can be useful after all, they are there for a reason.
that's why shiv makes it manual... not automatic. you have your choices of clearing it or reading it before you clear it. I think that's why Shiv said PROcede CANbs isn't meant to replace BT Scan Tool.
cocoturkey is offline   Taiwan
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2009, 11:48 AM   #58
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

The PROcede will be able to display all the current and shadow codes. So you will be able to tell what you are clearing. But not in the first release. Right now, we just want to have a quick, easy (and free!) solution for those concerned with tripping the hidden tuner manipulation code and the dealership anxiety it causes. As well as a visible on-dash indication of what map # is currently active.

Just about every other suggestion posted in this thread is possible. Including displaying boost in the calculated mpg display on the dash. Personally, I've always like needle displays (which is why I suggested the dual display oil temp gauge). But if you guys are okay with a digital boost display, we can go with it

Cheers
shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2009, 11:54 AM   #59
saifsiddiqui
Captain
 
Drives: 2008 E92Xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chicago

Posts: 804
iTrader: (4)

honestly.. im still waitin to get out of med school.. last year.. and my graduation gift is a 335i.. ive been lookin into jb3 just because of the fact that its cheaper and does the exact same thing it seems.. and their v1.3 is supposed to be bad ass.. but if you can get the boost gauge where the mpg is.. i would deff switch over..
saifsiddiqui is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2009, 11:57 AM   #60
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by saifsiddiqui View Post
honestly.. im still waitin to get out of med school.. last year.. and my graduation gift is a 335i.. ive been lookin into jb3 just because of the fact that its cheaper and does the exact same thing it seems.. and their v1.3 is supposed to be bad ass.. but if you can get the boost gauge where the mpg is.. i would deff switch over..
Supposed to be bad ass?

sorry... couldn't resist

Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2009, 12:54 PM   #61
Dr_Dirt
Major
 
Dr_Dirt's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i 6AT
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: DFW

Posts: 1,475
iTrader: (1)

Do we need to buy another harness to get the dashboard goodies or does the new procede come with everything we need?
__________________
Verizon LTE speed
Dr_Dirt is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2009, 12:57 PM   #62
TMR
Colonel
 
TMR's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

Posts: 2,764
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Supposed to be bad ass?

sorry... couldn't resist

Shiv
wow!
TMR is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2009, 01:00 PM   #63
JoeyFiasco
Major
 
JoeyFiasco's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: P'boro, UK

Posts: 1,211
iTrader: (0)

i would prefer the mpg replacement. not going to argue with a free gauge but I think using the oil gauge may be a little confusing/counter intuitive/harder to read because of the measurement markings already there

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Supposed to be bad ass?

sorry... couldn't resist

Shiv
you didn't start or sponsor that post, as long as it's a independent and fair test? the JB guys didn't have an aftermarket exhaust though

Last edited by JoeyFiasco; 03-22-2009 at 01:07 PM. Reason: read more
JoeyFiasco is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2009, 01:17 PM   #64
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Dirt View Post
Do we need to buy another harness to get the dashboard goodies or does the new procede come with everything we need?
It comes with everything you need.

Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2009, 01:35 PM   #65
vase330
Colonel
 
vase330's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i ; 14 RangeRover SSC
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Arlington, Va

Posts: 2,676
iTrader: (1)

I think displaying boost in the oil gauge is really a bad idea. Bad user interface. One thing should display one thing alone, just add stuff to the digital display instead. Maybe I am the only who thinks this is a bad idea. Anyway, doesn't matter that much. I just think it would be nice to have a way to disable what you don't want and keep only what you want.

A lot of people already have boost gauges like the Rixster one that I have. It works fine. I watch my oil temp like a hawk when I really get on it, (My car over heated once and displayed the red thermostat and limped - funny other than HPFP limps this was the only limp I have ever had). Last thing I want is boost gauge taking over my oil display and the needle fluctuating.

People think its cool until they use it and realize it just confuses things. Not criticizing, just suggesting, don't provide a feature unless you also have a way to disable said feature. Congratulations with the progress. I think more power is always a welcome thing.
__________________
E92 335 | Space Gray | Saddle Brown Dakota | Dark Burl Trim | ZPP | ZSP | AT | Idrive | 6FL | FBO | Dinan CAI | Quaife LSD | STG3 PROCede.
vase330 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2009, 01:39 PM   #66
Slidewayz
Major
 
Slidewayz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oakland, CA

Posts: 1,175
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Supposed to be bad ass?

sorry... couldn't resist

Shiv
Indeed. Rumor is the JB3 has a very naughty tuchis.
Slidewayz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST