E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > PROcede v3.3 CANbus UPDATE



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-22-2009, 09:40 PM   #89
dmurray14
The Stig
dmurray14's Avatar
United_States
18
Rep
1,232
Posts

 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by psu139 View Post
that would be "bad ass"

all joking aside, how about a race mode? can you make it so that it would switch the map, turn on the boost gauge, and then turn dtc off. now that would be something. maybe even throw in launch control.

i cant wait my REVII gets here tomorrow.
Actually...it would be awesome to have something like that! Maybe use one of the programmable steering wheel controls...
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2009, 09:46 PM   #90
psu139
First Lieutenant
psu139's Avatar
5
Rep
313
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Virginia Beach

iTrader: (1)

Yeah it would be, maybe even pressing the dtc once to actuate it. I think that would be better since it would take a conscious decision to press the dtc button rather than accidentally pressing one of the steering wheel buttons.
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2009, 09:47 PM   #91
roller84
Captain
roller84's Avatar
17
Rep
714
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i & E60 550i
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NYC

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmurray14 View Post
This is awesome! Now I'm really going to be counting the days til mine arrives - too cool!

Shiv - I'm curious - will the CANbus features work on ALL e90/e92s? IIRC before march of 07 they had the k-line bus, not sure whether canbus was present too.
I would think so otherwise he would of mentioned it. His car is an early build 335. I think 10/06.
__________________
OEM SS Kit & Performance Steering Wheel| Blacklines | HO 30% Tints | Euro Xenons | Lux 5.0 | 6000k Xenons | RD Sport Quad Exhaust | Spearco Intercooler | Procede V3 | MORR VS7 | KW V3 | H&R Sways | Mtech Bodykit | Vorsteiner CF Hood, CSL Trunk & Front Lip | ACS Style Roof Spoiler | Quaife LSD | Rotora BBK | GruppeM Intake | Forge UK DV | AR Design Catted DP's
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2009, 09:49 PM   #92
dmurray14
The Stig
dmurray14's Avatar
United_States
18
Rep
1,232
Posts

 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by roller84 View Post
I would think so otherwise he would of mentioned it. His car is an early build 335. I think 10/06.
Hopefully you're right...mine's an early build too
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2009, 09:52 PM   #93
goesquik
New Member
goesquik's Avatar
0
Rep
28
Posts

 
Drives: 335i 6AT
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Detroit

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by psu139 View Post
that would be "bad ass"

all joking aside, how about a race mode? can you make it so that it would switch the map, turn on the boost gauge, and then turn dtc off. now that would be something. maybe even throw in launch control.

i cant wait my REVII gets here tomorrow.

+1 What about pressing the DTC to get MAP1 with DSC/DTC off, and holding the DTC to get MAP 2 with DSC/DTC off.
Press it again and your back to stock/valet mode.
__________________
2007 e90 335i 6AT...

Disclaimer: Anything posted above has to do with hypothetical situations only.
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2009, 10:08 PM   #94
psu139
First Lieutenant
psu139's Avatar
5
Rep
313
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Sedan
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Virginia Beach

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by goesquik View Post
+1 What about pressing the DTC to get MAP1 with DSC/DTC off, and holding the DTC to get MAP 2 with DSC/DTC off.
Press it again and your back to stock/valet mode.
i think it would be cool but i would want the boost gauge toggle to. b/c if i go back to stock/valet then i'm not really worried about what boost is doing in this configuration.

Shiv can you do this? Or make it so that we can set it up like this in the user software?
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2009, 10:10 PM   #95
samurai1200
Second Lieutenant
samurai1200's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
273
Posts

 
Drives: An 81 Honda! How dare you!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: La Habra Heights, California

iTrader: (0)

WOW, ive mostly been looking at the JB tuners, but if you guys have CAN interface on this tuner, and can also interface with the baby lcd in the cluster... the possibilities are limitless. when these features come to fruition, i'm in!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by husan786 View Post
women was video camering my car
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2009, 12:16 AM   #96
maui86
Captain
United_States
10
Rep
739
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: paradise

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to maui86 Send a message via Skype™ to maui86
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Ok... digital it is. What's cool is that we may even be able to get it to read more than just boost and mpg. We could have it display things like ignition advance, throttle angle, fuel trim, etc,. The user could set-up the display option with the PROcede user software or by some type of user input (throttle pressing, button on the dash, remote fob, etc,.)

shiv
this is wickedly sick! digital boost display will be badass. though i still might have to get the rixster one so i can get manifold pressure and not IC..:-( but it will be fun to play with nonetheless! haha.

teri
__________________
http://videos.streetfire.net/video/s...rays_37268.htm

gotta do what i gotta do to get them donuts
04 spec-v: rip dec07
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2009, 01:30 AM   #97
cocoturkey
Lieutenant
Taiwan
6
Rep
441
Posts

 
Drives: 08' e92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Taipei

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
You can log real boost (IC pipe pressure) with the PROcede software. Or by "real boost", do you mean manifold pressure/vacuum?

Shiv
By "real boost", i meant "manifold pressure/vacuum" (what engine is seeing). I was hoping that we can datalog "real pressure" by installing an extra pressure sensor and hoook it up with PROcede.... and the real boost number can also be seen on the dashboard!! I think that would be a very attractive function!! Rixter's boost gauage can also be attractive at the same time because it has its unique animation display and functions!!! so you don't have to worry about eatting rixster's market share... I'm sure a lot of people would switch over to PROcede just for this attractive function!!
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2009, 08:54 AM   #98
BlueLion
she likes the flavor......
United_States
19
Rep
1,622
Posts

 
Drives: A51-E92
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bradenton - FL

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [0.50]
the updates are sounding better and better
__________________

E92 Montego Blue silfa718 ..::STETT CAI|ADVAN RS|WAGNER FMIC|MS DP|VANGUARD|PROCEDE|FORGE DV|BMS OCC|KWV2|MICHELIN PSS|OOS::..

Appreciate 0
      03-23-2009, 09:25 AM   #99
per
Lieutenant
Sweden
15
Rep
501
Posts

 
Drives: M3 E92
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sweden Gothenburg

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by goesquik View Post
+1 What about pressing the DTC to get MAP1 with DSC/DTC off, and holding the DTC to get MAP 2 with DSC/DTC off.
Press it again and your back to stock/valet mode.
I think it would be better to use the steering wheel buttons # and Ī to change maps. But i don't know if itīs possible.
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2009, 09:31 AM   #100
jpsimon
Team Zissou
jpsimon's Avatar
United_States
164
Rep
9,017
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (6)

yeah i wouldn't want the DTC button to be changed... but of course (i'm safely assuming) that one could turn on/off any of these features from the procede software.
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

Appreciate 0
      03-23-2009, 10:14 AM   #101
ZBMW
Black Forest Bimmerphile
United_States
1
Rep
136
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Colorado

iTrader: (1)

Looks like I'm too late to vote on digital vrs. analog (the oil temp gauge) but I'll chime in anyway.
When you want to look at boost you will probably be very busy handling the car so the less distraction the better. Having to look at the center of the display and having your brain interpret numbers is a distraction. With the analog gauge you can see it without looking down, i.e. peripheral vision, thus keeping your eyes on the road. Small difference but significant.
I will concede the digital is cooler, though.
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2009, 10:18 AM   #102
jonm42
Captain
United_States
10
Rep
615
Posts

 
Drives: too fast for conditions.
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Ok... digital it is. What's cool is that we may even be able to get it to read more than just boost and mpg. We could have it display things like ignition advance, throttle angle, fuel trim, etc,. The user could set-up the display option with the PROcede user software or by some type of user input (throttle pressing, button on the dash, remote fob, etc,.)

shiv
From a usability perspective, all this digital display stuff should be off by default. Experience doesn't change until the user wants it to change.
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2009, 10:23 AM   #103
J86
Power without LSD = FAIL
J86's Avatar
Japan
55
Rep
2,146
Posts

 
Drives: E36 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: vancouver

iTrader: (6)

1 weekend not going on E90post and this is on end of page 5 alrdy ~~~~

Procede V3 RevII FTW!!!!!!

When will the CANbus harness be available? end of this week?!? I need I need
__________________
E36 M3 - BBS RC302 / CCW Classics / SSR Comp
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2009, 10:25 AM   #104
jpsimon
Team Zissou
jpsimon's Avatar
United_States
164
Rep
9,017
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZBMW View Post
Looks like I'm too late to vote on digital vrs. analog (the oil temp gauge) but I'll chime in anyway.
When you want to look at boost you will probably be very busy handling the car so the less distraction the better. Having to look at the center of the display and having your brain interpret numbers is a distraction. With the analog gauge you can see it without looking down, i.e. peripheral vision, thus keeping your eyes on the road. Small difference but significant.
I will concede the digital is cooler, though.
You'd see a needle moving around with no reference to what boost you're running in your peripheral vision. At least with the digital version you could catch a glimpse of actual numbers.
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

Appreciate 0
      03-23-2009, 10:35 AM   #105
NatesGr8
Private First Class
NatesGr8's Avatar
1
Rep
164
Posts

 
Drives: 05 Legacy GT
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Earth

iTrader: (0)

I vote for some type of analog/digital display on the iDrive system, does canbus interact with the idrive?
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsimon View Post
You'd see a needle moving around with no reference to what boost you're running in your peripheral vision. At least with the digital version you could catch a glimpse of actual numbers.
__________________
JPSIMON's personal mechanic
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2009, 11:00 AM   #106
Dr_Dirt
Major
Dr_Dirt's Avatar
United_States
19
Rep
1,475
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i 6AT
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: DFW

iTrader: (1)

i wonder how it's going to work? Would the boost info just replace something else or would it be displayed in addition to the other info like mpg and stuff.
__________________
Verizon LTE speed
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2009, 11:09 AM   #107
RBP AW
Private First Class
RBP AW's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
189
Posts

 
Drives: AW 335i MT
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newport Beach, CA

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to RBP AW
Why not just use both oil temp gauge and digital display simultaneously? Can an auxiliary temp be displayed digitally along with boost if the gauge is being used?
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2009, 11:17 AM   #108
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NatesGr8 View Post
I vote for some type of analog/digital display on the iDrive system, does canbus interact with the idrive?
The real problem with idrive is that a lot of people don't have it. Including myself
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2009, 11:35 AM   #109
SteveMD
Colonel
SteveMD's Avatar
United_States
48
Rep
2,431
Posts

 
Drives: '12 X5 50i, '11 GTI DSG
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Raventown!

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2012 X5 50i  [0.00]
Shiv, long time lurker since I have a 330. By bedtime tonight, I'll have my new 335

In all the pages and pages of threads in this forum, I read somewhere that the ECU stores a code indicating when codes were cleared. For example, if you cleared your codes on a given date and time, another code or maybe a data file is stored indicating the given date and time. This would tell the dealer that the codes have been cleared arousing suspicion.

Is this anything that you're aware of?
__________________
2006 E90 330i (retired)
2009 E90 335i (retired)
2012 E70 X5 50i M Sport, JB Stage 1, 4.6 secs 0-60.
2011 VW GTI/DSG
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2009, 12:01 PM   #110
BlueLion
she likes the flavor......
United_States
19
Rep
1,622
Posts

 
Drives: A51-E92
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bradenton - FL

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [0.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
The real problem with idrive is that a lot of people don't have it. Including myself
but it would be nice if it could be displayed there
__________________

E92 Montego Blue silfa718 ..::STETT CAI|ADVAN RS|WAGNER FMIC|MS DP|VANGUARD|PROCEDE|FORGE DV|BMS OCC|KWV2|MICHELIN PSS|OOS::..

Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST