E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > PROcede CANbus wiring update directions (video)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-14-2009, 03:18 PM   #1
shiv@vishnu
 
shiv@vishnu's Avatar
 
Drives: PROcede v5
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,609
iTrader: (0)

Exclamation PROcede CANbus wiring update directions (video)

Only for those who have NO CANbus wiring on their Rev.2 harness and received their CANbus wire pack update:

(it's in HD!)

Cheers,
Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2009, 03:20 PM   #2
TMR
Colonel
 
TMR's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

Posts: 2,681
iTrader: (11)

Works perfect. THANKS!!!!!!! Shiv, get in contact with me when you have a min.
TMR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2009, 03:36 PM   #3
Vudoo4u2
Night Sh1ft
 
Vudoo4u2's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: It's bobsled time

Posts: 2,797
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 BMW E90 M3  [5.00]
Send a message via AIM to Vudoo4u2
hey man, do we have to entirely uninstall the harness when we do this? Or can I just keep it plugged in, but swap those two wires (assuming my battery is disconnected before I start, and the procede firmware has already been loaded up w/o a engine start up)
__________________
Canon 14 F2.8 L II : Canon 50 F1.2 L : Canon 24-70 F2.8 L : Canon 70-200 F2.8 IS/L : Canon 5D Mark II : B+W Filters : Photo Whore
Vudoo4u2 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2009, 03:37 PM   #4
Tobias1980
Read the manual please, just do it before asking!
 
Tobias1980's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden

Posts: 396
iTrader: (0)

Nice Shiv! Do you have an ETA on new CANbus maps?
Tobias1980 is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2009, 03:38 PM   #5
Dustin Bramell
Lieutenant
 
Drives: e90 335i, 125cc Trackmagic
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santa Monica, CA

Posts: 428
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to Dustin Bramell
You can just remove the grey sub-connector from the ECU connector. We just removed it for the sake of video clarity.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vudoo4u2 View Post
hey man, do we have to entirely uninstall the harness when we do this? Or can I just keep it plugged in, but swap those two wires (assuming my battery is disconnected before I start, and the procede firmware has already been loaded up w/o a engine start up)
Dustin Bramell is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2009, 03:38 PM   #6
inthemiddle
Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere

Posts: 467
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vudoo4u2 View Post
hey man, do we have to entirely uninstall the harness when we do this? Or can I just keep it plugged in, but swap those two wires (assuming my battery is disconnected before I start, and the procede firmware has already been loaded up w/o a engine start up)
To get the wires in the plugs, you have to pull them off the DME/ECU/whatever you want to call it....
inthemiddle is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2009, 03:40 PM   #7
Vudoo4u2
Night Sh1ft
 
Vudoo4u2's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: It's bobsled time

Posts: 2,797
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 BMW E90 M3  [5.00]
Send a message via AIM to Vudoo4u2
thank you vm..psyched, I keep checking the mail for it!
__________________
Canon 14 F2.8 L II : Canon 50 F1.2 L : Canon 24-70 F2.8 L : Canon 70-200 F2.8 IS/L : Canon 5D Mark II : B+W Filters : Photo Whore
Vudoo4u2 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2009, 04:27 PM   #8
Bluewater335i
Enlisted Member
 
Bluewater335i's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 335i Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago

Posts: 45
iTrader: (0)

Oops, I didn't see this post when posting this the first time...

Just to be clear, I haven't installed my procede rev ii, non-CANBUS harness because I was waiting on the CANBUS cables. Do I need to install the procede (non-CANBUS) in my car and upgrade the firmware BEFORE I install the CANBUS cable? -or is there a way to update the firmware without installing the procede in the car?

Thanks
Bluewater335i is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2009, 05:50 PM   #9
rustyrotors
Private
 
Drives: BMW 335
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Philadelphia

Posts: 72
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin@Vishnu View Post
You can just remove the grey sub-connector from the ECU connector. We just removed it for the sake of video clarity.
OK I'm confused. So, I remove the (procede) grey sub-connector from the (factory) ECU connector. Then, do I replace the factory grey sub-connector back into the ECU connector, and reconnect the ECU connector back into the ECU, in order to update the firmware?

Or, are you saying, that we just remove the procede grey sub-connector from the factory ECU connector and update the firmware, with essentally no grey factory subconnector connected to the ECU?
rustyrotors is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2009, 06:05 PM   #10
335lvr
Major
 
335lvr's Avatar
 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: California

Posts: 1,441
iTrader: (4)

You guys are confusing me! Sounds like that you update the firmware with the PROcede installed, then turn off wait 15 min...come back and change out wires. Is this correct?
__________________
"I'm not sure what the price difference is, but the BMW feels $15,000 better." -Edmunds, 2007
335lvr is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2009, 06:37 PM   #11
scalbert
Major General
 
scalbert's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

Posts: 5,697
iTrader: (7)

Thanks, I'm gald I did not just send an email asking before checking the forum.
scalbert is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2009, 06:38 PM   #12
Dustin Bramell
Lieutenant
 
Drives: e90 335i, 125cc Trackmagic
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santa Monica, CA

Posts: 428
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to Dustin Bramell
It's very simple guys.

1. Update the firmware and map as you normally would.
2. Remove the grey connector, install the wires, and the replace the grey connector.

If you are confused about the process, please send me a PM. I think posting here is just causing more confusion.

thanks,
DB-
Dustin Bramell is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2009, 06:51 PM   #13
Vudoo4u2
Night Sh1ft
 
Vudoo4u2's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: It's bobsled time

Posts: 2,797
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 BMW E90 M3  [5.00]
Send a message via AIM to Vudoo4u2
you plug in your key, but dont turn the engine over, just the power 1 click

update your firmware, turn off the car. unplug your battery, then do the swap of the canbus wire
__________________
Canon 14 F2.8 L II : Canon 50 F1.2 L : Canon 24-70 F2.8 L : Canon 70-200 F2.8 IS/L : Canon 5D Mark II : B+W Filters : Photo Whore
Vudoo4u2 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2009, 06:51 PM   #14
scalbert
Major General
 
scalbert's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

Posts: 5,697
iTrader: (7)

For those of use who would rather not reference the video, even though it is a cinematic masterpeice:

From wire side of PROcede connector, top right is terminal 1, release locking tabs on side

Pin 5 - Green/White, tab facing down
Pin 21 (below Pin5) - Blue/White

Grey DME Male Pin Connector

Pin 1 - Grren/White
Pin 14 - Blue/White
scalbert is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2009, 09:26 PM   #15
TMR
Colonel
 
TMR's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

Posts: 2,681
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scalbert View Post
For those of use who would rather not reference the video, even though it is a cinematic masterpeice:

From wire side of PROcede connector, top right is terminal 1, release locking tabs on side

Pin 5 - Green/White, tab facing down
Pin 21 (below Pin5) - Blue/White

Grey DME Male Pin Connector

Pin 1 - Grren/White
Pin 14 - Blue/White
Could have used that infor a week ago!!!! Thanks. Stage 1 feels really good. Not as strong as running Stage 3 on the previous map but i cant wait what the new stage 2 and stage 3 maps look like.
TMR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2009, 09:41 PM   #16
shawshank772
Captain
 
shawshank772's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago

Posts: 893
iTrader: (1)

WOW, honestly with 10 different people posting their own DIY on here its confusing. Simply follow the video step by step and you will be FINE I watched a couple people do it and it doesnt seem hard.

Last edited by shawshank772; 12-22-2009 at 08:05 PM.
shawshank772 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 08:07 AM   #17
scalbert
Major General
 
scalbert's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

Posts: 5,697
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMR View Post
Could have used that infor a week ago!!!!
I just made it up from the video.
scalbert is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 11:22 AM   #18
335lvr
Major
 
335lvr's Avatar
 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: California

Posts: 1,441
iTrader: (4)

The locking bar was a bit of a pain, slid the connectors in..are they suppose to click? Car adapting nicely..gotta get used to the Service Engine Soon light flashing for which map you are on.....that light strikes fear in my heart when illuminated in the past.
__________________
"I'm not sure what the price difference is, but the BMW feels $15,000 better." -Edmunds, 2007
335lvr is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 11:43 AM   #19
veightkiller
Brigadier General
 
veightkiller's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 335i
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Vancouver,B.C

Posts: 4,152
iTrader: (3)

Thanks for the vid!
veightkiller is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 01:09 PM   #20
joec500
Brigadier General
 
Drives: it has 4 wheels
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 3,004
iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335lvr View Post
The locking bar was a bit of a pain, slid the connectors in..are they suppose to click? Car adapting nicely..gotta get used to the Service Engine Soon light flashing for which map you are on.....that light strikes fear in my heart when illuminated in the past.
I was wondering this too, I don't think they "click" seems more like a pressure fit thing, since it's so tight. I just inserted the pins, pushed down the lock bar and gave a solid tug to the CANBUS wires to make sure they were tight.
joec500 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 01:40 PM   #21
bestsw20
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2009 135i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto

Posts: 46
iTrader: (0)

Do I have to update the firmware before I do the harness upgrade? As I have the REVII from a month ago but I haven't install it yet. If I have to do the firmware update first, that's mean I have to install it and then update the firmware, than uninstall it to add the new update.. or I can just update my wiring before I install the REVII and then update the firmware??
bestsw20 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 01:43 PM   #22
joec500
Brigadier General
 
Drives: it has 4 wheels
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 3,004
iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bestsw20 View Post
Do I have to update the firmware before I do the harness upgrade? As I have the REVII from a month ago but I haven't install it yet. If I have to do the firmware update first, that's mean I have to install it and then update the firmware, than uninstall it to add the new update.. or I can just update my wiring before I install the REVII and then update the firmware??
Unless you have an external power source for your procede, you need to install, then update the firmware.

Then you only uninstall part of the wiring harness from the ecu. You don't need to uninstall everything, in order to swap in your CANBUS wires.
joec500 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST