E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > PROcede CANbus wiring update directions (video)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-15-2009, 01:52 PM   #23
bestsw20
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2009 135i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto

Posts: 46
iTrader: (0)

Get it.
bestsw20 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 02:33 PM   #24
Sparkling G
Private
 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northern America

Posts: 71
iTrader: (0)

which map will you run??
2-19 stage 3 or CANbus stage 1
Sparkling G is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 02:48 PM   #25
cbad335
Lieutenant Colonel
 
cbad335's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, CA

Posts: 1,733
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
Trouble w/wire update

For those of you that did the CANbus wire update, which map did you load after performing the firmware update, Stage 1 CANbus nonDoomsday, or V3-2.2 2-19? I updated the firmware on the car I am working on to pro01v03beta108, then loaded the Stage 1 CANbus nonDoomsday map, then performed the wire update. The car threw multiple inconsistent warnings on repeated startups, including Drive-off assistant failure, suspension control system failure, cruise control system failure, and the service engine soon warning. After checking the connections, I reloaded the firmware (and map) to make sure I didn't just get a failed update, but then repeatedly and consistently got the service engine soon light and a slightly rough, weak idle on every start up. Next, I loaded the V3-2.2 2-19 map and didn't get any warnings. I am going to take it for a drive now, but wanted to know what map others are using with the new firmware. The car is an E90, AT, Dec. '06 build (w/o spy software update), with a DCI, catless exhaust, and stock DPs. Thank you for your assistance.
__________________

| 6MT | ZSP | ZPP |
cbad335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 02:52 PM   #26
cbad335
Lieutenant Colonel
 
cbad335's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, CA

Posts: 1,733
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
^ Also, is there an instructional post on how to perform the CANbus code clearing function?
__________________

| 6MT | ZSP | ZPP |
cbad335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 03:13 PM   #27
joec500
Brigadier General
 
Drives: it has 4 wheels
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 3,004
iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbad335 View Post
For those of you that did the CANbus wire update, which map did you load after performing the firmware update, Stage 1 CANbus nonDoomsday, or V3-2.2 2-19? I updated the firmware on the car I am working on to pro01v03beta108, then loaded the Stage 1 CANbus nonDoomsday map, then performed the wire update. The car threw multiple inconsistent warnings on repeated startups, including Drive-off assistant failure, suspension control system failure, cruise control system failure, and the service engine soon warning. After checking the connections, I reloaded the firmware (and map) to make sure I didn't just get a failed update, but then repeatedly and consistently got the service engine soon light and a slightly rough, weak idle on every start up. Next, I loaded the V3-2.2 2-19 map and didn't get any warnings. I am going to take it for a drive now, but wanted to know what map others are using with the new firmware. The car is an E90, AT, Dec. '06 build (w/o spy software update), with a DCI, catless exhaust, and stock DPs. Thank you for your assistance.
I am running that exact same map, and everything works great...I would re-load the firmware and the Beta Map again..If it still does the same thing, double check your wire install to make sure it's not backwards....Finally Ping Dustin at Vishnu to help you if you still get errors.

GL!
joec500 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 03:24 PM   #28
cbad335
Lieutenant Colonel
 
cbad335's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, CA

Posts: 1,733
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by joec500 View Post
I am running that exact same map, and everything works great...I would re-load the firmware and the Beta Map again..If it still does the same thing, double check your wire install to make sure it's not backwards....Finally Ping Dustin at Vishnu to help you if you still get errors.

GL!
Thank you. I tried Vishnu before posting, but was told Dustin and Shiv are out today. I'm sure they'll get back to me as soon as they can. I've already checked the connections, which all look correct. I just went for a drive using the V3-2.2 2-19 map, and the car ran strongly, with no warning lights. It appears I just can't run the Stage 1 CANbus nonDoomsday map without the troubles I mentioned above. Possibly it's my early software version?
__________________

| 6MT | ZSP | ZPP |
cbad335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 03:28 PM   #29
joec500
Brigadier General
 
Drives: it has 4 wheels
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 3,004
iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbad335 View Post
Possibly it's my early software version?
Hmmm doubt it...But then again I am not an expert....I would try to reload the firmware and the MAP just once more to see if something was corrupted the first go round...

If double checked all the wiring, my guess is that perhaps you loaded the wrong firmware, double check you loaded the right file. "pro01v03beta108.bin"

Perhaps you loaded the old firmware by accident, especially if you keep all your PROcede files in one folder.

I am sure it's something minor... Good Luck and report back if you get it resolved.
joec500 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 03:42 PM   #30
scottp999
Brigadier General
 
scottp999's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 4,639
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbad335 View Post
Possibly it's my early software version?
Doubt that. I'm on the software that was loaded in 4/2007 and the car runs great on the latest canbus stage 1 map.
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.
scottp999 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 03:46 PM   #31
cbad335
Lieutenant Colonel
 
cbad335's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, CA

Posts: 1,733
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by joec500 View Post
Hmmm doubt it...But then again I am not an expert....I would try to reload the firmware and the MAP just once more to see if something was corrupted the first go round...

If double checked all the wiring, my guess is that perhaps you loaded the wrong firmware, double check you loaded the right file. "pro01v03beta108.bin"

Perhaps you loaded the old firmware by accident, especially if you keep all your PROcede files in one folder.

I am sure it's something minor... Good Luck and report back if you get it resolved.
Thanks again for your help. As stated in my OP, I have already reloaded the firmware and map, but will try a third time (third time's a charm, right?). I'm sure that's the file I loaded. My main point is that with the new firmware (beta108), the car runs well on the V3-2.2 2-19 map, but poorly on the Stage 1 CANbus nonDoomsday map. Also, my thinking is that if it were a faulty wire/install, the car wouldn't run well on either of the maps.
__________________

| 6MT | ZSP | ZPP |
cbad335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 03:47 PM   #32
cbad335
Lieutenant Colonel
 
cbad335's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, CA

Posts: 1,733
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottp999 View Post
Doubt that. I'm on the software that was loaded in 4/2007 and the car runs great on the latest canbus stage 1 map.
Good to know, thank you.
__________________

| 6MT | ZSP | ZPP |
cbad335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 03:52 PM   #33
cbad335
Lieutenant Colonel
 
cbad335's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, CA

Posts: 1,733
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottp999 View Post
Doubt that. I'm on the software that was loaded in 4/2007 and the car runs great on the latest canbus stage 1 map.
Did you do the wire update, or purchase a CANbus ready Rev. II?
__________________

| 6MT | ZSP | ZPP |
cbad335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 07:09 PM   #34
Kelvin1000
Major
 
Drives: 2008 E92 335i Space Gray
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Miami, FL

Posts: 1,190
iTrader: (4)

Quick update:

I have been running Stage 1 CANbus in hot and unmercifully humid Miami weather with no problems at all.

Even after a couple of weeks, the tune still feels "NEW". By this I mean that you tend to get used to the extra power pretty quickly but because there is so much torque down low just screaming to get out, you are reminded often that the power is there without having to rev to the redline.

Still waiting on Stage 2 so I can dyno but Shiv sure is taking his sweet time...

I think he must be either very busy or I have a theory that he is locked in his basement or in a dyno shop somewhere winding up for something bigger... come on Shiv, what are you up to???
Kelvin1000 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 07:11 PM   #35
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1000 View Post
Quick update:

I have been running Stage 1 CANbus in hot and unmercifully humid Miami weather with no problems at all.

Even after a couple of weeks, the tune still feels "NEW". By this I mean that you tend to get used to the extra power pretty quickly but because there is so much torque down low just screaming to get out, you are reminded often that the power is there without having to rev to the redline.

Still waiting on Stage 2 so I can dyno but Shiv sure is taking his sweet time...

I think he must be either very busy or I have a theory that he is locked in his basement or in a dyno shop somewhere winding up for something bigger... come on Shiv, what are you up to???

If I told you, I'd have to kill you. jk... working on some stuff which I can't really talk about. It's kept me in the fabrication shop all last week. And it will probably keep my busy for the next 7-10 days. It is n54 related though

Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 07:16 PM   #36
creaminz
Major General
 
creaminz's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 LCI
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: So. Cal

Posts: 7,702
iTrader: (33)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
If I told you, I'd have to kill you. jk... working on some stuff which I can't really talk about. It's kept me in the fabrication shop all last week. And it will probably keep my busy for the next 7-10 days. It is n54 related though

Shiv
Let this man take his time
creaminz is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 08:37 PM   #37
Kelvin1000
Major
 
Drives: 2008 E92 335i Space Gray
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Miami, FL

Posts: 1,190
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
If I told you, I'd have to kill you. jk... working on some stuff which I can't really talk about. It's kept me in the fabrication shop all last week. And it will probably keep my busy for the next 7-10 days. It is n54 related though

Shiv
I knew it!!!

So its safe to say that some new hardware might be on deck. Still... I want my stage 2 CANbus!!!
Kelvin1000 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 09:48 PM   #38
Choolgooz
Lieutenant
 
Choolgooz's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 335i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area

Posts: 450
iTrader: (3)

I think its prolly the CF housing/cover to keep warm air away from the intakes.
__________________
Choolgooz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2009, 09:55 PM   #39
Bluewater335i
Enlisted Member
 
Bluewater335i's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 335i Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago

Posts: 45
iTrader: (0)

+1
Bluewater335i is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2009, 07:58 AM   #40
scottp999
Brigadier General
 
scottp999's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 4,639
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbad335 View Post
Did you do the wire update, or purchase a CANbus ready Rev. II?
Purchased with Canbus activated already.
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.
scottp999 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2009, 10:02 AM   #41
335lvr
Major
 
335lvr's Avatar
 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: California

Posts: 1,441
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbad335 View Post
Thanks again for your help. As stated in my OP, I have already reloaded the firmware and map, but will try a third time (third time's a charm, right?). I'm sure that's the file I loaded. My main point is that with the new firmware (beta108), the car runs well on the V3-2.2 2-19 map, but poorly on the Stage 1 CANbus nonDoomsday map. Also, my thinking is that if it were a faulty wire/install, the car wouldn't run well on either of the maps.
Did you figure it out? I'd try to download the file again from the Vishnu website, maybe it's corrupted.
__________________
"I'm not sure what the price difference is, but the BMW feels $15,000 better." -Edmunds, 2007
335lvr is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2009, 11:26 AM   #42
Kelvin1000
Major
 
Drives: 2008 E92 335i Space Gray
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Miami, FL

Posts: 1,190
iTrader: (4)

Are you running Windows Vista???
Kelvin1000 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2009, 10:26 PM   #43
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,278
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
For those of you who did the wire upgrade...I was kind of puzzled on the procede connector part where you have to press the tabs on the side to release the wires...Does that lid actually come off, or it just get raised alittle and then you insert the wires?? The video wasn't too clear on the fact if that cover is suppose to come off and expose the wiring pins..For the life of me I could not get that cover completely off but just raised alittle...I also didn't hear the usual clicking noise of the wire locking into place...I have the CANbus working right, but not sure if the wire is securely fitting into the PROCEDE plug side..
cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2009, 10:29 PM   #44
cbad335
Lieutenant Colonel
 
cbad335's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, CA

Posts: 1,733
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by 335lvr View Post
Did you figure it out? I'd try to download the file again from the Vishnu website, maybe it's corrupted.
I thought of that, too, and tried several freshly downloaded firmware and map files to no avail.

Update: Dustin got back to me today by telephone, and we went through several troubleshooting steps. The PROcede and wire upgrade were installed correctly. This morning, the 2-19 map wasn't even working with the new CANbus firmware, and neither map (Stage 1 CANbus or 2-19) would allow me to clear codes. So, Dustin now thinks the CANbus electronic part (chip?) of the PROcede may be faulty. I removed it, boxed it up, and sent it back to Vishnu so they can test it and send me a new one. BTW, Dustin was extremely professional, and very clear and helpful. He spent a lot of time with me today, treating my difficulties as a priority.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1000 View Post
Are you running Windows Vista???
No, thankfully. I actually run XP via VMware Fusion on a Mac.
__________________

| 6MT | ZSP | ZPP |
cbad335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST