Tirerack
Use the following links to go directly to useful tirerack winter items: Tirerack Winter Tires. Gary's Winter Tire FAQ.
Using the links directly supports E90Post with tirerack sales commision!

  E90Post
 


TireRack

   PLEASE HELP SUPPORT E90POST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wheels and Tires Forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack > TPMS question



Wheels and Tires forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack
Please help to directly support e90post by doing your tirerack shopping from the above link. For every sale made through the link, e90post gets sponsor support to keep the site alive. Disclaimer

Wheel offset calculator courtesy of BimmerPost.com. You may use this calculator to calculate what tire sizes you might need if you upgrade your tires, or what wheel sizes/offsets are compatible with your car.
    Current Wheel Width  inches             Current Wheel Offset  mm.
         New Wheel Width  inches                  New Wheel Offset  mm.
 
TIRE WIDTH
/
ASPECT RATIO
- WHEEL DIAMETER
ORIGINAL TIRES
/
NEW TIRES
/
Based on your stock wheel setup, your new wheel will have:
Original Tires Diameter (in.)
      New Tires Diameter (in.)
  Difference in diameter (in.)
           Percent Difference %
                     
Speedo @60mph will read: mph
Collapse/Expand the BimmerPost Wheel and Tire calculator
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-01-2009, 04:26 PM   #1
CebernalE90
Private First Class
 
CebernalE90's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 SG,E90, 07 4dr jp Wrangler
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SWAt TExAs

Posts: 144
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
TPMS question

hey guys im finally getting some rims for my e90, do i have to to buy new tire pressure monitors or can i take them off my old wheels? please explain thanks in advance for yalls help!
CebernalE90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2009, 04:33 PM   #2
Brick0516
Enlisted Member
 
Brick0516's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i Sedan Alpine White
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Bay CA

Posts: 45
iTrader: (0)

You can have your oem tpms installed on your new wheels. They charge you for transferring them but can sometimes get away with it, $10 per wheel.
Hope this helps.
Brick0516 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2009, 04:40 PM   #3
CebernalE90
Private First Class
 
CebernalE90's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 SG,E90, 07 4dr jp Wrangler
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SWAt TExAs

Posts: 144
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
thanks man! helps alot, so the tire shop should know what to do then? Thats what i was worried about because honestly i have no idea about the TPM system.
CebernalE90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2009, 05:11 PM   #4
Jbe90
Private First Class
 
Drives: 09 335i E90
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southern California

Posts: 123
iTrader: (1)

It's going to cost more than $10 per wheel. They have to take off original tires, take out tpms, put on original tires, take off new tires, put on tpms, put on new tires. It should be a little under $100 depending on the shop.

The sensors also may not work on your new wheels. It's usually compatible, but I know that certain wheels with lips have had issues with where to place the sensors.
Jbe90 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2009, 05:17 PM   #5
Orient330iNYC
Major
 
Drives: 2013 335i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wall St

Posts: 1,337
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CebernalE90 View Post
thanks man! helps alot, so the tire shop should know what to do then? Thats what i was worried about because honestly i have no idea about the TPM system.
if you have an 06, you have FTM, and no sensors to transfer. just reinit the system and you're good to go.
__________________
Past: 2001 Orientblue E46 330i
Past: 2004 S60R 6MT
Past: 2007 E90 335i 6MT
Past: 2010 335xi ZMP, BMW Performance Kit, BMW Performance Exhaust
Present: 2013 335i 6MT ZMM/ZDH/ZTP/3AG/494/508
Orient330iNYC is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2009, 05:27 PM   #6
level 1
member
 
level 1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 328i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: new jersey

Posts: 49
iTrader: (0)

You can take your old one and put it on the new wheels. But the valves would be different. I took mine to the dealership. They put the correct valves and charge me $30 per valve and $100 dollars for balancing and installation. Yeah, it's going to hurt.....
level 1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2009, 05:32 PM   #7
CebernalE90
Private First Class
 
CebernalE90's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 SG,E90, 07 4dr jp Wrangler
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SWAt TExAs

Posts: 144
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orient330iNYC View Post
if you have an 06, you have FTM, and no sensors to transfer. just reinit the system and you're good to go.


yea my car is an 06.....i guess ill just ask the guy at the shop! Is there anyway i can check what my car has?

Thanks!
CebernalE90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2009, 11:45 PM   #8
jopa489
BMW/Detailing Addict
 
jopa489's Avatar
 
Drives: Estoril F30 335i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New England

Posts: 6,561
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CebernalE90 View Post
yea my car is an 06.....i guess ill just ask the guy at the shop! Is there anyway i can check what my car has?
As Orient330iNYC said, the 06s don't have a TPMS. It uses the ABS and DTC to detect abnormal pressures.
__________________

jopa489 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2009, 01:29 AM   #9
MSPORTWORLD
Major
 
MSPORTWORLD's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 M3 MW/FR - '12 M3 FO/SC
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: California

Posts: 1,182
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by jopa489 View Post
As Orient330iNYC said, the 06s don't have a TPMS. It uses the ABS and DTC to detect abnormal pressures.
+1 Anything '06 build and older, '07 builds became a govt mandated std to have TPMS in the wheels.
__________________
MSPORTWORLD is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2009, 01:34 AM   #10
Mazen
First Lieutenant
 
Mazen's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 330i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort Lee, NJ

Posts: 380
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by CebernalE90 View Post
yea my car is an 06.....i guess ill just ask the guy at the shop! Is there anyway i can check what my car has?

Thanks!
You don't need to ask your tire shop he might BS. TPMS is on 07+ e9Xs, 06 e90s have a different system that monitors the tire rotation through ABS and DTC, unlike the TPMS that has a sensor to monitor pressure on every tire.
Mazen is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2009, 06:25 AM   #11
gotturbo
Private
 
Drives: TiAg E90 335I
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lake Mary, Fl.

Posts: 95
iTrader: (1)

My car is an 07 and has no sensors.
gotturbo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2009, 09:18 AM   #12
donleycott
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2014 328i
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Mebane NC

Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)

TPMS

I just put new tires and wheels on my 2007 E90 at 50k miles, Discount tire
changed the wheels and moved my old TPMS to the new wheels - no charge
donleycott is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST