E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Amp install "Where is the remote wire?"



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-08-2009, 08:24 PM   #1
lezgettdrunk
Registered
 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: dallas

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Amp install "Where is the remote wire?"

I have a 2008 BMW 335i I am trying to install a Amp & Sub. I have everything setup except I am having major trouble finding a place to connect the remote wire.

I've searched numerous forums and trying to figure out where to hook the remote wire. I found the factory amp on the left side and found the power wire based on a wire diagram I found on this forum. If I connect it to that the Amp is always on.

The power cable in the diagram attached is red/(think its white or blue) and i'm using a test light, but there is power even when the car is off. I would think there is a remote wire to turn off the factory amp. Am I missing something? Any help or advice would be great

lezgettdrunk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-08-2009, 09:12 PM   #2
kaigoss69
Colonel
 
kaigoss69's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

Posts: 2,982
iTrader: (5)

AFAIK no remote wire in the pictured wiring harness. My amp has auto-turn on speaker level inputs so I don't need one....have seen people post about connecting remote wire to 12V outlet in middle console.
kaigoss69 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-08-2009, 10:19 PM   #3
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,988
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by lezgettdrunk View Post
I have a 2008 BMW 335i I am trying to install a Amp & Sub. I have everything setup except I am having major trouble finding a place to connect the remote wire.

I've searched numerous forums and trying to figure out where to hook the remote wire. I found the factory amp on the left side and found the power wire based on a wire diagram I found on this forum. If I connect it to that the Amp is always on.

The power cable in the diagram attached is red/(think its white or blue) and i'm using a test light, but there is power even when the car is off. I would think there is a remote wire to turn off the factory amp. Am I missing something? Any help or advice would be great

What system do you have? Logic7 or standard?

If it is Logic7, the remote wire is pin 13 in the back of your OEM HU/iDrive computer (there's no remote wire in the Logic7 amp harness). If the system is the standard, the remote wire is pin 10 (thin black wire) in the OEM amp harness.

You should use that OEM remote wire and nothing else if you want to keep full OEM functionality. Any other 12V source will not be synchronized with the way the OEM system handles the audio as well as this OEM remote.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2009, 12:24 AM   #4
lezgettdrunk
Registered
 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: dallas

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
AFAIK no remote wire in the pictured wiring harness. My amp has auto-turn on speaker level inputs so I don't need one....have seen people post about connecting remote wire to 12V outlet in middle console.
Yea I read about the 12V as well in the middle console, but I am having problems pulling it out. Seems like i'm going to break the console.
lezgettdrunk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2009, 12:26 AM   #5
lezgettdrunk
Registered
 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: dallas

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
What system do you have? Logic7 or standard?

If it is Logic7, the remote wire is pin 13 in the back of your OEM HU/iDrive computer (there's no remote wire in the Logic7 amp harness). If the system is the standard, the remote wire is pin 10 (thin black wire) in the OEM amp harness.

You should use that OEM remote wire and nothing else if you want to keep full OEM functionality. Any other 12V source will not be synchronized with the way the OEM system handles the audio as well as this OEM remote.
I have a logic7 system so there is no remote wire on the amp harness DOH!

Where and what is the OEM HU/iDrive computer?

Thanks!
lezgettdrunk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2009, 01:35 AM   #6
BmwOwnsMe
Second Lieutenant
 
BmwOwnsMe's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 325 xi
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bergenfield, NJ

Posts: 259
iTrader: (0)

Get a pac trunk loc...it has a built in low volt trigger that takes power from one of the speaker wires and converts it to a 12v remote output for your amp.
There is a diy that specifically explains how to install everything including amp and sub.
BmwOwnsMe is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2009, 08:14 AM   #7
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,988
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by lezgettdrunk View Post
I have a logic7 system so there is no remote wire on the amp harness DOH!

Where and what is the OEM HU/iDrive computer?

Thanks!
That's your headunit.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-27-2009, 01:32 AM   #8
DJ.E92
IG: Sin1134
 
DJ.E92's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW NA E92
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida

Posts: 246
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
but there is power even when the car is off. I would think there is a remote wire to turn off the factory amp.
i have my remote coming from the power wire of the factory amp. the power stays on for 5 min after the car is shut off... its because when u turn on the radio with out the key the amp comes on too therefore every time u unlock ur car the power to the amp will come on... only for 5 min or a min after the car is locked

anything else feel free to PM me!
DJ.E92 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-27-2009, 11:54 PM   #9
manuelpolaco
Private First Class
 
manuelpolaco's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i 2009
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bayamon, PR, USA

Posts: 112
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
I have the non-logic hifi system. I had to use the peripheral sven which sense the output channels from the head unit and convert it to a 12votls remote. The thin black wire remote that comes out from the head unit did not work for me as a remote.
manuelpolaco is offline   Puerto Rico
0
Reply With Quote
      05-28-2009, 07:47 AM   #10
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,988
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
The OEM remote works in turning on an aftermarket amp, however some aftermarket amps require a more powerful remote turn on than what the OEM can provide. This is true also when several aftermarket devices need to be turned on by that single OEM wire.

The solution for all these cases is to use a 12V relay with the OEM remote wire:


http://www.the12volt.com/relays/page5.asp

Using a relay protects your OEM wire and provides more than enough power to turn on multiple aftermarket devices. A 1A fuse on each aftermarket device remote port is also strongly recommended.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-03-2009, 05:51 PM   #11
fdiprete
First Lieutenant
 
fdiprete's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NH

Posts: 339
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Yahoo to fdiprete
dude. I just might do this for my bmw garmin.
the factory harness is always powered on.
fdiprete is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-14-2009, 01:15 AM   #12
manuelpolaco
Private First Class
 
manuelpolaco's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i 2009
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bayamon, PR, USA

Posts: 112
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
The OEM remote works in turning on an aftermarket amp, however some aftermarket amps require a more powerful remote turn on than what the OEM can provide. This is true also when several aftermarket devices need to be turned on by that single OEM wire.

The solution for all these cases is to use a 12V relay with the OEM remote wire:


http://www.the12volt.com/relays/page5.asp

Using a relay protects your OEM wire and provides more than enough power to turn on multiple aftermarket devices. A 1A fuse on each aftermarket device remote port is also strongly recommended.
Damned, this audio system upgrade will never end.
manuelpolaco is offline   Puerto Rico
0
Reply With Quote
      06-14-2009, 07:25 AM   #13
fdiprete
First Lieutenant
 
fdiprete's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NH

Posts: 339
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Yahoo to fdiprete
Quote:
Originally Posted by manuelpolaco View Post
Damned, this audio system upgrade will never end.
Tell me about it.

<rant>
What really bothers me is that bmw stereo systems completely suck and are extremely hard to upgrade. Every time I ride in my fiance's honda I want to give up. The stock stereo in her crv is way better. tweets on the dash, 5 1/4 in the doors.

A note to BMW - fix your friggin stereos! It's not that hard.
</rant>
fdiprete is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-14-2009, 07:33 PM   #14
manuelpolaco
Private First Class
 
manuelpolaco's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i 2009
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bayamon, PR, USA

Posts: 112
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
BMW should be ashamed that the stereo system of my wife's 4runner is much better. I was also ashamed.
manuelpolaco is offline   Puerto Rico
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2010, 12:41 AM   #15
jgsantos81
Willing is not enough, we must apply.
 
Drives: 2010 BMW 328i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
What system do you have? Logic7 or standard?

If it is Logic7, the remote wire is pin 13 in the back of your OEM HU/iDrive computer (there's no remote wire in the Logic7 amp harness). If the system is the standard, the remote wire is pin 10 (thin black wire) in the OEM amp harness.

You should use that OEM remote wire and nothing else if you want to keep full OEM functionality. Any other 12V source will not be synchronized with the way the OEM system handles the audio as well as this OEM remote.

What if it is STANDARD? I have a 2010 e90 standard radio. BMW left out the amps starting this year.

I bought a Bazooka powered sub and when attempting the install, I discovered that it had no amp. I can only find instructions and diagrams with the stock amp.

I managed to connect all the connections, except the remote wire. Where can I tap the remote wire without leaving the trunk? I have Bluetooth, iPod connection, satellite radio, non xdrive. Please help.
jgsantos81 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2010, 01:37 AM   #16
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,988
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgsantos81 View Post
What if it is STANDARD? I have a 2010 e90 standard radio. BMW left out the amps starting this year.

I bought a Bazooka powered sub and when attempting the install, I discovered that it had no amp. I can only find instructions and diagrams with the stock amp.

I managed to connect all the connections, except the remote wire. Where can I tap the remote wire without leaving the trunk? I have Bluetooth, iPod connection, satellite radio, non xdrive. Please help.
Pin 13 in the back of the OEM HU/iDrive.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2010, 03:48 AM   #17
jgsantos81
Willing is not enough, we must apply.
 
Drives: 2010 BMW 328i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Pin 13 in the back of the OEM HU/iDrive.
Can't do it in the trunk? Damn. I guess I need instructions for this. Would you happen to know what color it is?

So, it's pin 13 behind the OEM unit, regardless of standard or logic 7?

Last edited by jgsantos81; 11-14-2010 at 04:00 AM.
jgsantos81 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2010, 12:17 PM   #18
fdriller9
Banned
 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgsantos81 View Post
Can't do it in the trunk? Damn. I guess I need instructions for this. Would you happen to know what color it is?

So, it's pin 13 behind the OEM unit, regardless of standard or logic 7?
Yes. But I though there was an REM lead to the Hi-Fi amp...maybe just in earlier models.

The problem with wiring your REM lead to the cigg lighter is that the cig lighter is only on with ACC power....key fob in, foot off brake, one press.

Using the OEM REM lead powers on the amp with the user activated circuit...aka when unlocking/opening doors.

When you have it wired to the cigg lighter, amps turn off after turning off the car. Normally, the radio stays on until the door is opened. Also bluetooth will not work after shutting the car off (because the maps are off). It was quite annoying for me so I sucked it up and ran the REM lead from pin #13 in my L7 HU. What a pain for such a small wire

Technic....can I use that 12v relay to power angel eyes? I'm designing a custom set for my car and need to figure out how to wire it. I'll be using a buckpuck (driver) that can handle anywhere from 5v to 32v I beleive.
fdriller9 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2011, 07:06 PM   #19
w1cked
Registered
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328i
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Salinas, CA

Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ.E92 View Post
i have my remote coming from the power wire of the factory amp. the power stays on for 5 min after the car is shut off... its because when u turn on the radio with out the key the amp comes on too therefore every time u unlock ur car the power to the amp will come on... only for 5 min or a min after the car is locked

anything else feel free to PM me!
Hey im also having problems looking for a remote cable. So by using the power cable going to the stock amp will work as remote for the after market amp? Would that be the RED/WHITE cable?
w1cked is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2011, 07:32 PM   #20
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,428
iTrader: (4)

Technic. On your harness. What is the purpose of the boxes on the remote lead. Is this a relay. Can I power fans w it. What about ms8 rem out?
__________________
taibanl is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2011, 12:33 AM   #21
Johnny D
Major
 
Johnny D's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hot Springs, AR

Posts: 1,124
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 BMW 325i  [4.58]
Please read this for where to pull remote from. Also, try not to bump 3 year old threads

http://www.docshare.com/doc/203553/B...-Upgrade---PDF
Johnny D is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST