E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > shiv, what is the speed (tach) signal ECU pin?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-16-2009, 12:31 PM   #1
marconi118
Captain
 
Drives: 06/07 e93 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: europe

Posts: 934
iTrader: (0)

shiv, what is the speed (tach) signal ECU pin?

what is the ECU pin that receives the tach signal?

Maybe by removing this signal the ECU will not limit car speed to 250KM/h ?
marconi118 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2009, 03:29 PM   #2
munters
Captain
 
munters's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 335XI AT Dakota Black M
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Switzerland

Posts: 675
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by marconi118 View Post
what is the ECU pin that receives the tach signal?

Maybe by removing this signal the ECU will not limit car speed to 250KM/h ?
It's not just that. you need to feed a sig^nal.
I think Shiv will not help you. last time he did it it endet with brain sucking.
With the search button in Procede version 2 treads (1 year old) and green wire you can learn a bit.
__________________
59 Corvette, 72 240Z, 73 Espada, ZXR
munters is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2009, 07:13 PM   #3
335iheLLraiseR
اوليسيس
 
335iheLLraiseR's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: sfl

Posts: 4,660
iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2007 e92 335  [5.00]
what is it with people starting a thread addressed solely to Shiv like its an email?



you need to intercept that signal, you cant just unplug it. its not a civic.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawdude View Post
Anyone who can transition seamlessly from defending one vendor and bashing another vendor to bashing the one he formally defended and defending the one he formally bashed has a instant credibility problem.
<---Sign up Now for Bonus Storage! Up to 10gb!
335iheLLraiseR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2009, 07:25 PM   #4
thegeneral101
Colonel
 
Drives: '13 M3 LRE,'13 750Li
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami/Michigan

Posts: 2,301
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335iheLLraiseR View Post
what is it with people starting a thread addressed solely to Shiv like its an email?



you need to intercept that signal, you cant just unplug it. its not a civic.

jeez I know....

and hes right must be intercepted not unplugged
__________________
thegeneral101 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2009, 07:27 PM   #5
marconi118
Captain
 
Drives: 06/07 e93 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: europe

Posts: 934
iTrader: (0)

I could simply inset a divider by 2 on this wire so that the ECU receives 1/2 of the impulsion and believe that the car is going 1/2 of the ral speed. this could be rather simple and cheap...
marconi118 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2009, 07:37 PM   #6
335iheLLraiseR
اوليسيس
 
335iheLLraiseR's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: sfl

Posts: 4,660
iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2007 e92 335  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by marconi118 View Post
I could simply inset a divider by 2 on this wire so that the ECU receives 1/2 of the impulsion and believe that the car is going 1/2 of the ral speed. this could be rather simple and cheap...
yes, but have you taken into account the possible ramifications on, oh i dunno, say the ABS, or your traction control?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawdude View Post
Anyone who can transition seamlessly from defending one vendor and bashing another vendor to bashing the one he formally defended and defending the one he formally bashed has a instant credibility problem.
<---Sign up Now for Bonus Storage! Up to 10gb!
335iheLLraiseR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2009, 09:27 PM   #7
dmurray14
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (1)

It is beyond me why people try to ghetto rig 50k+ cars....
__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2009, 08:39 AM   #8
marconi118
Captain
 
Drives: 06/07 e93 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: europe

Posts: 934
iTrader: (0)

traction control and ABS use the 4 wheel sensor, then there is a signal coming from the ABS + DSC unit and going to the MSD80 to tell the speed. It is this signal that I vould manipulate.
Procede is doing the same thing

But I whould only pass the speed limit without a tune, so I don't need procede, only to manipulate this signal...

I I only knew the wire pin...
marconi118 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2009, 09:24 AM   #9
bolty
/r/trees
 
bolty's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 e92 335xi
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada

Posts: 865
iTrader: (3)

why the tach pin??

why not the boost pin? Instead of a divider, you can use a multiplier and get 2 times the boostage.

And youre right about the 4 wheel sensor, so put a few multipliers on there too. You will stop faster and get better traction.
bolty is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2009, 09:58 AM   #10
marconi118
Captain
 
Drives: 06/07 e93 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: europe

Posts: 934
iTrader: (0)

I don't need a tune, only to pass the 250Km/h

So the only pin I need is the one where the ECU receives the speed pulses from the ABS DSC unit
marconi118 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2009, 12:22 PM   #11
335iheLLraiseR
اوليسيس
 
335iheLLraiseR's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: sfl

Posts: 4,660
iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2007 e92 335  [5.00]
so you are planning on telling the ECU one speed and the ABS and DSC another?


why not just get the speed delimiter from AA?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawdude View Post
Anyone who can transition seamlessly from defending one vendor and bashing another vendor to bashing the one he formally defended and defending the one he formally bashed has a instant credibility problem.
<---Sign up Now for Bonus Storage! Up to 10gb!
335iheLLraiseR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2009, 01:01 PM   #12
marconi118
Captain
 
Drives: 06/07 e93 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: europe

Posts: 934
iTrader: (0)

the AA speed delimiter is doing exactly this. tell the ECU a different speed than the real one that is measured by the ABS module.

If I only knew the pins the AA delimiter uses.
If someone has an AA please could you tell me the pins?

There should be only 3 wires going from AA to the ECU: +5v GND and the tach signal

Please do the E90post comunity a favour, I will post all the detail how I achieve this if it works for me.
marconi118 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2009, 01:09 PM   #13
matt
Captain
 
Drives: munichs finest
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Stuttgart

Posts: 610
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to matt
just get a box, its only like 200euro.

only deactivates the limiter, no added hp.
__________________
f*ckin' love my car <3
matt is online now   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2009, 02:50 PM   #14
marconi118
Captain
 
Drives: 06/07 e93 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: europe

Posts: 934
iTrader: (0)

why buy AA delimiter for 200euro if I could try to do it myself?
It is interesting to learn and experiment

The same you are doing with the X6 or 740I intercooler.... you could buy one in the US for 1000$ ....

really HOPE that someone that has the AA SDL could give me the info about the pins of ECU
marconi118 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2009, 02:55 PM   #15
Mike@N54Tuning.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: 07335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Earth

Posts: 14,326
iTrader: (86)

The VSS is a 12 volt digital signal. Pin 17 on the gray subconnector. Vehicle speed is used for many aspects of the tuning so you can't just disconnect or clamp it. You need to alter it as you approach the speed limit.

Mike
Mike@N54Tuning.com is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2009, 03:01 PM   #16
matt
Captain
 
Drives: munichs finest
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Stuttgart

Posts: 610
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to matt
I remeber its a yellow cable...had a delimiter..
__________________
f*ckin' love my car <3
matt is online now   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2009, 03:06 PM   #17
smdandb2
this space left intentionally blank
 
smdandb2's Avatar
 
Drives: Blue One
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: BYU

Posts: 293
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmurray14 View Post
It is beyond me why people try to ghetto rig 50k+ cars....
No shit.
smdandb2 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2009, 03:52 PM   #18
lawdude
Colonel
 
lawdude's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i ZPP ZSP TiAg MT
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Georgia

Posts: 2,259
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smdandb2 View Post
No shit.
__________________
What do I know? I'm insane.
lawdude is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2009, 06:13 PM   #19
ar design
 
ar design's Avatar
 
Drives: '86 325ES+S50, '01 TT QC
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denver, CO

Posts: 4,408
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to ar design Send a message via MSN to ar design Send a message via Yahoo to ar design
Quote:
Originally Posted by 335iheLLraiseR View Post

you need to intercept that signal, you cant just unplug it. its not a civic.
ar design is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2009, 06:19 PM   #20
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
shiv@vishnu's Avatar
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,611
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by marconi118 View Post
I could simply inset a divider by 2 on this wire so that the ECU receives 1/2 of the impulsion and believe that the car is going 1/2 of the ral speed. this could be rather simple and cheap...
It's a frequency signal. So using a voltage divider to reduce the voltage readings wont do anything other than trigger a code. Or did I misunderstand?
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-19-2009, 10:49 AM   #21
chiefsotos
Second Lieutenant
 
chiefsotos's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335 E93
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Greece

Posts: 240
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by marconi118 View Post
I could simply inset a divider by 2 on this wire so that the ECU receives 1/2 of the impulsion and believe that the car is going 1/2 of the ral speed. this could be rather simple and cheap...
Are you serious man? You can't just unplug wires or playing with the volts of them hoping you achieve more speed than 250km. Did you wonder if playing around this burn the control unit? That is a lot more money than a single delimeter box... And why do you want to make experiments with the speed wire coming from abs, and dtc sensons in order to achieve very high speeds??? You don't even know how these sensors will react after changing this signal.
Please RESPECT your live and other people lives!!!
chiefsotos is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2009, 05:07 AM   #22
marconi118
Captain
 
Drives: 06/07 e93 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: europe

Posts: 934
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
It's a frequency signal. So using a voltage divider to reduce the voltage readings wont do anything other than trigger a code. Or did I misunderstand?
Hi Shiv, yes of course I know that these are pulses proportional to the car speed.

By a divider by 2 I mean a digital divider like a flipflop, that will divide by 2 the number of pulses.

Will the ECU work if it reads half of speed? Or should I reduce the number of pulses only after a certain speed? How is your algorithm working?

I know about analog and digital signals.. as I am Electronician...
marconi118 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST