E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > New beta maps



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-26-2009, 09:20 PM   #67
Gen_E92
Brigadier General
No_Country
51
Rep
3,390
Posts

 
Drives: slow
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.90]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grendalf View Post
I know it may not obvious for everyone but you could install VMware and install a XP OS in an image. Well that's what I would do...
I thought about that...but its probably easier for Shiv to release the 64 bit version? Less hassel for us customers too
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2009, 10:04 PM   #68
yankis
Freelance Photographer
yankis's Avatar
17
Rep
298
Posts

 
Drives: MW E93 M3
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Miami

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to yankis
+1 on the 64-bit version!!!!!!

Much less hassle!!!

When will the be out Shiv??
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2009, 10:22 PM   #69
fotios335i
Major General
fotios335i's Avatar
United_States
121
Rep
6,769
Posts

 
Drives: 12 BSM F30 sport/msport 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: cape cod MA

iTrader: (61)

Shiv, any maps you can email me. Im desperate to try a new one and see if the occasional surging goes away. Im on stage 2 and its running the most powerful it ever has and the surging is much less with stage 2 but its still there.
__________________

2012 335i sport to full Msport, M adaptive and vss, sport 8 AT, fully loaded, Black saphire, black dakota leather, mperformance carbon interior with shifter, M performance grills, rear spoiler, front splitter, side sill extensions, MPPK, MPE exhaust, morr alloys vs8.2's with michelin pss, p3 gauge, msport wheel, etc, etc
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2009, 11:50 PM   #70
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fotios335i View Post
Shiv, any maps you can email me. Im desperate to try a new one and see if the occasional surging goes away. Im on stage 2 and its running the most powerful it ever has and the surging is much less with stage 2 but its still there.
Just email me like I asked in the first post
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2009, 12:25 AM   #71
Slidewayz
Major
Slidewayz's Avatar
15
Rep
1,176
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oakland, CA

iTrader: (5)

Hi Shiv,

Any fearless predictions when the new maps will be out of Beta?
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2009, 08:44 AM   #72
BlueLion
she likes the flavor......
United_States
19
Rep
1,622
Posts

 
Drives: A51-E92
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bradenton - FL

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [0.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slidewayz View Post
Hi Shiv,

Any fearless predictions when the new maps will be out of Beta?
and code reading/clearing
__________________

E92 Montego Blue silfa718 ..::STETT CAI|ADVAN RS|WAGNER FMIC|MS DP|VANGUARD|PROCEDE|FORGE DV|BMS OCC|KWV2|MICHELIN PSS|OOS::..

Appreciate 0
      05-27-2009, 10:45 AM   #73
inthemiddle
Lieutenant
8
Rep
467
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcracer_tx View Post
Consistent backfiring on the N54 engine is not a thing to brag about... It means your running too rich which allows a lot of hydrocarbon to build in the exhaust to the point it combust. Unlike the rotary engine, the direct injected piston engine should rarely backfire...
i was getting it during adaption of the new beta maps (and only during shifting).. but went away the next morning.....

btw.. wasn't bragging about it... but it just sounds more exciting... i still miss it.... . either way.. rotary or n54.. or anything else... generally would happen from running too rich... .. with the rotary back then... it was intentional... would rather run those rich than lean...
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2009, 11:19 AM   #74
Humtek
Vishnu Powered
Humtek's Avatar
United_States
28
Rep
2,205
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi, S1000RR
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Proceding

iTrader: (7)

Car pulls hard and keeps pulling. I like how the boost targets hit a lot faster then before, lot less lag if you can call it that before. I started off with my UT at 80%.
__________________
2008 335xi Sedan | Titanium Silver | Black Dakota
PROcede v5 | Vishnu Exhaust | BMS DCI | AR Catless DPs | Helix FMIC | Stett Charge w/ Tial BOV | MORR VS8s | KWv3
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2009, 12:06 PM   #75
J86
Power without LSD = FAIL
J86's Avatar
Japan
56
Rep
2,146
Posts

 
Drives: E36 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: vancouver

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Humtek View Post
Car pulls hard and keeps pulling. I like how the boost targets hit a lot faster then before, lot less lag if you can call it that before. I started off with my UT at 80%.
Felt the exact same too...

I noticed you dont have FMIC but is fully catless also, just like me...
Have you tried running it at the default 85%??
I've tried it @ 85% and the car seems to pull much much stronger at 85% compared to 80%, as if the 5% felt like more than 5% difference

Currently, I lowered it back to 80% because WOT @ 85% does not seem to street-safe
**on 94 pump gas btw...
__________________
E36 M3 - BBS RC302 / CCW Classics / SSR Comp
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2009, 12:27 PM   #76
Humtek
Vishnu Powered
Humtek's Avatar
United_States
28
Rep
2,205
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi, S1000RR
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Proceding

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by J86 View Post
Felt the exact same too...

I noticed you dont have FMIC but is fully catless also, just like me...
Have you tried running it at the default 85%??
I've tried it @ 85% and the car seems to pull much much stronger at 85% compared to 80%, as if the 5% felt like more than 5% difference

Currently, I lowered it back to 80% because WOT @ 85% does not seem to street-safe
**on 94 pump gas btw...
I haven't tried it at 85% yet. I'm on piss 91oct here so I'm skeptical. I used to have the 2-19 maps on my Rev I procede, but recently had to lower the default from 90% down to 85% because the gas around here recently has seemed to not be as good as quality as it was once before, hence why I started out at 80% with the beta maps. In other words I've been getting cylinder glows (knock). Funny thing is I only would get knock in 4th gear at around 4,000rpm's. Sometimes it would be cylinder 5 sometimes cylinder 4, but an easy erase with the BT tool and I'm good to go. The only thing I can think of is the gas quality is becoming poor in my area. Most stations have dropped 91oct and have moved down to 90oct. I have 17k miles on her, so I may be due for some new plugs, but I rather not have to replace them if it is just my shitty gas.
__________________
2008 335xi Sedan | Titanium Silver | Black Dakota
PROcede v5 | Vishnu Exhaust | BMS DCI | AR Catless DPs | Helix FMIC | Stett Charge w/ Tial BOV | MORR VS8s | KWv3
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2009, 12:57 PM   #77
vase330
Colonel
vase330's Avatar
United_States
37
Rep
2,676
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i ; 14 RangeRover SSC
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Arlington, Va

iTrader: (1)

Where do you live ham? Thats interesting. I thought the knock detection was built in, and the Proceed compensates for it?
__________________
E92 335 | Space Gray | Saddle Brown Dakota | Dark Burl Trim | ZPP | ZSP | AT | Idrive | 6FL | FBO | Dinan CAI | Quaife LSD | STG3 PROCede.
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2009, 01:12 PM   #78
Humtek
Vishnu Powered
Humtek's Avatar
United_States
28
Rep
2,205
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi, S1000RR
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Proceding

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vase330 View Post
Where do you live ham? Thats interesting. I thought the knock detection was built in, and the Proceed compensates for it?
I live in the Southwest.
__________________
2008 335xi Sedan | Titanium Silver | Black Dakota
PROcede v5 | Vishnu Exhaust | BMS DCI | AR Catless DPs | Helix FMIC | Stett Charge w/ Tial BOV | MORR VS8s | KWv3
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2009, 01:15 PM   #79
scalbert
Major General
scalbert's Avatar
78
Rep
5,714
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Humtek View Post
I live in the Southwest.
Street address please.
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2009, 01:29 PM   #80
vase330
Colonel
vase330's Avatar
United_States
37
Rep
2,676
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i ; 14 RangeRover SSC
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Arlington, Va

iTrader: (1)

Nah, just wondering where they have gas so bad they went down to 90 from 91, thats all. Interesting with all the oild down at the gulf coast region gas seems worst closest to the source. California has bad gas and oil off the coast too. Whats up with that?
__________________
E92 335 | Space Gray | Saddle Brown Dakota | Dark Burl Trim | ZPP | ZSP | AT | Idrive | 6FL | FBO | Dinan CAI | Quaife LSD | STG3 PROCede.
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2009, 01:38 PM   #81
RambleJ
Colonel
RambleJ's Avatar
No_Country
27
Rep
2,013
Posts

 
Drives: F10 535i M-sport
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Back in teh so cal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scalbert View Post
Street address please.


Please place your key in the ignition, we are now downloading your coordinates through your Idrive.
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2009, 03:54 PM   #82
Humtek
Vishnu Powered
Humtek's Avatar
United_States
28
Rep
2,205
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi, S1000RR
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Proceding

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vase330 View Post
Nah, just wondering where they have gas so bad they went down to 90 from 91, thats all. Interesting with all the oild down at the gulf coast region gas seems worst closest to the source. California has bad gas and oil off the coast too. Whats up with that?
I'm also above 7,000ft. The only 3 stations that serve 91oct in my area are Conoco Phillip stations. Shell has 91oct too, but they charge .50 more then all the other stations!

If I want other gas I have to drive at least 30min.
__________________
2008 335xi Sedan | Titanium Silver | Black Dakota
PROcede v5 | Vishnu Exhaust | BMS DCI | AR Catless DPs | Helix FMIC | Stett Charge w/ Tial BOV | MORR VS8s | KWv3
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2009, 11:10 PM   #83
lawdude
Colonel
lawdude's Avatar
United_States
34
Rep
2,259
Posts

 
Drives: 335i ZPP ZSP TiAg MT
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (1)

There seems to be less excitement than usual over a new release.
__________________
What do I know? I'm insane.
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2009, 11:29 PM   #84
Ilma
Colonel
29
Rep
2,576
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: hometown

iTrader: (0)

I'm excited!





No wait....that doesn't sound right.
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2009, 12:01 AM   #85
usc335
First Lieutenant
United_States
13
Rep
318
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E92 335
Join Date: May 2008
Location: so cal

iTrader: (1)

If only there were Stage 1 maps!
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2009, 12:06 AM   #86
cincy335i
Lieutenant
cincy335i's Avatar
9
Rep
418
Posts

 
Drives: '08 Black Saph 335i coupe 6mt
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by usc335 View Post
If only there were Stage 1 maps!
Fingers crossed...they are coming...pray...hope...pray!!! + 1000
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2009, 02:58 AM   #87
TheTwinz
Second Lieutenant
4
Rep
273
Posts

 
Drives: 300Z
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 911

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by usc335 View Post
If only there were Stage 1 maps!
what happens when you load up a stage 2 map on a stage 1 car? will it automatically go into limp mode? or will it still run? I noticed that JB3 can choose different maps with "recommended" mods, so does the same apply to procede? Can you run stage 2 with a stock car?
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2009, 03:45 AM   #88
TMR
Colonel
TMR's Avatar
United_States
49
Rep
2,894
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTwinz View Post
what happens when you load up a stage 2 map on a stage 1 car? will it automatically go into limp mode? or will it still run? I noticed that JB3 can choose different maps with "recommended" mods, so does the same apply to procede? Can you run stage 2 with a stock car?
It is not recomended to run stage 2 on a stock car. But try it, worst case you get a limp. At least you can clear it with the RevII.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST