E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Vishnu Updates



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-01-2009, 02:23 PM   #155
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
850
Rep
17,616
Posts

Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwahlert View Post
i uploaded the new firmware/map (stage 1 at - on a 100% stock vehicle) the other night...and idk but the car just doesn't feel as powerful any more..... especially at tip in...but wot still leaves me wondering where the power went..
The only real word difference between these new maps and the previous ones is the throttle response rate. It has been increased to allow for measurably faster spool-up time as others have verified. There is no conceivable way that, if uploaded/updated properly, that you will loose power or tip in response. Quite the opposite. Maybe try reducing the throttle response user adjustable and see if that is more to your liking. I recall u liking it set to 3 a while back. The default value in the new maps have it set to 5.

Shiv
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2009, 02:43 PM   #156
mwahlert
Lieutenant Colonel
mwahlert's Avatar
43
Rep
1,636
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
The only real word difference between these new maps and the previous ones is the throttle response rate. It has been increased to allow for measurably faster spool-up time as others have verified. There is no conceivable way that, if uploaded/updated properly, that you will loose power or tip in response. Quite the opposite. Maybe try reducing the throttle response user adjustable and see if that is more to your liking. I recall u liking it set to 3 a while back. The default value in the new maps have it set to 5.

Shiv
i had grown accustomed to the default settings of the newer maps and developed an appreciation for the throttle response/lag fix. i will try to re-load the map tonight. the car just doesn't feel as strong all of a sudden.
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2009, 02:45 PM   #157
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
850
Rep
17,616
Posts

Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwahlert View Post
i had grown accustomed to the default settings of the newer maps and developed an appreciation for the throttle response/lag fix. i will try to re-load the map tonight. the car just doesn't feel as strong all of a sudden.
There is less lag which can make the car "feel" slower and less turbo-like I suppose. Why don't you datalog a few 40-100mph runs with both maps? I think you'll find the new ones to be quicker.

Shiv
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2009, 02:46 PM   #158
FotiosF80M3
Major General
FotiosF80M3's Avatar
United_States
144
Rep
6,800
Posts

Drives: 2015 F80 M3 aw/so
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: cape cod MA

iTrader: (61)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
fotios- It should be easy to track down what is going on with your car. I think that it starting to happen with the new maps either suggest that you have had a leak (since boost rise is quicker now) or that something else just suddenly cropped up coincidentally. What are the exact codes you are throwing?

Shiv
The codes I usually get are 10887, 10955, 10927, 11379, 11380, 12543, 12544. these are the codes I have seen. The one that I see right after it goes into limp is 10927, and obviously 12543/4
__________________

2015 M3 Alpine white, shakir orange
carbon roof, black 19's, lighting, executive, HK
side&top view, adaptive susp, mods to come......
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2009, 02:53 PM   #159
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
850
Rep
17,616
Posts

Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fotios335i View Post
The codes I usually get are 10887, 10955, 10927, 11379, 11380, 12543, 12544. these are the codes I have seen. The one that I see right after it goes into limp is 10927, and obviously 12543/4
As per the code list posted, the 10887 is a VANOS code. The dealer will have to fix that. To 10955 suggests that this service bulletin may apply to you:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...7&postcount=25

And the limp sounds like it's being caused by the boost target not being reached (boost leak). The other ones are just fuel pump plausibility (pretty typical for a tuned n54) and lambda sensors which is normal after a firmware update (just clear it).

Shiv
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2009, 02:59 PM   #160
Soni
Major General
Soni's Avatar
Canada
122
Rep
8,376
Posts

Drives: Just a car
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CANADA eh!

iTrader: (35)

Garage List
2007 335i Coupe  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
The 10887 (2A87 in hex) is a Vanos control problem. The other one is just boost deactivation caused by the Vanos problem. Simple fix. Take it to the dealership and they will fix it. It's a recall/service bulletin. Unrelated to the tune. But easy to diagnose with the new CANbus goodies

I just updated the code list to include that one. It can be downloaded from this post.

Shiv
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2009, 03:00 PM   #161
FotiosF80M3
Major General
FotiosF80M3's Avatar
United_States
144
Rep
6,800
Posts

Drives: 2015 F80 M3 aw/so
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: cape cod MA

iTrader: (61)

thanks shiv, what should I tell the dealer if these codes arent present? Also, how should I say there is a boost leak somewhere? thanks again.
__________________

2015 M3 Alpine white, shakir orange
carbon roof, black 19's, lighting, executive, HK
side&top view, adaptive susp, mods to come......
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2009, 03:07 PM   #162
Soni
Major General
Soni's Avatar
Canada
122
Rep
8,376
Posts

Drives: Just a car
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CANADA eh!

iTrader: (35)

Garage List
2007 335i Coupe  [4.50]
what does code 10755, 10705, and 12542 stands for?
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2009, 03:39 PM   #163
usc335
First Lieutenant
United_States
19
Rep
324
Posts

Drives: '08 E92 335
Join Date: May 2008
Location: so cal

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
The 10887 (2A87 in hex) is a Vanos control problem. The other one is just boost deactivation caused by the Vanos problem. Simple fix. Take it to the dealership and they will fix it. It's a recall/service bulletin. Unrelated to the tune. But easy to diagnose with the new CANbus goodies

I just updated the code list to include that one. It can be downloaded from this post.

Shiv
I've gotten fault code 3100 (aka 12544) a couple times. Once I did have a limp mode several months ago (my only one to date) and just recently I thought when updating my firmware. Are you saying that one is a Vanos problem that the dealership needs to fix? Thanks.
__________________
6MT | MHD Flash Stage 1+ | HKS Exhaust | AFE DCI | AMS Intercooler | ER Charge Pipe w/HKS BOV | 91 Octane | KW V2 Coilovers | 19" Enkreuz H8R on 235/35 & 275/30 | BMS OCC
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2009, 05:21 PM   #164
FotiosF80M3
Major General
FotiosF80M3's Avatar
United_States
144
Rep
6,800
Posts

Drives: 2015 F80 M3 aw/so
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: cape cod MA

iTrader: (61)

Shiv, I got an odd but good update. I forgot about this but I installed the dci the same time I upgraded to canbus. I put it on right as obviously its pretty straight forward. I guess I must have done something wrong. I took it out today because Im bringing it to the dealer soon. I took it out for a drive and its absolutely flawless. I tried everything possible to make it go into limp or even show anything other than perfect power and no issues at all. Now I know what everyone was raving about. Now I dont know what could have possibly been wrong but its perfect. the best the car has ever driven. no joking.now Im afraid to put it back on. Any idea what might have went wrong. I am SOOO happy with the way the car is driving now. thanks. If anyone has any opinions please share and sorry about all the negative things Ive said. Great job Shiv. Im pumped.
__________________

2015 M3 Alpine white, shakir orange
carbon roof, black 19's, lighting, executive, HK
side&top view, adaptive susp, mods to come......
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2009, 05:27 PM   #165
FotiosF80M3
Major General
FotiosF80M3's Avatar
United_States
144
Rep
6,800
Posts

Drives: 2015 F80 M3 aw/so
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: cape cod MA

iTrader: (61)

there cant be anything wrong with the car if its driving this perfect. I drove it for a while under all sorts of driving style. These maps are awesome. so punchy and smooth.
__________________

2015 M3 Alpine white, shakir orange
carbon roof, black 19's, lighting, executive, HK
side&top view, adaptive susp, mods to come......
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2009, 05:37 PM   #166
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
850
Rep
17,616
Posts

Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by usc335 View Post
I've gotten fault code 3100 (aka 12544) a couple times. Once I did have a limp mode several months ago (my only one to date) and just recently I thought when updating my firmware. Are you saying that one is a Vanos problem that the dealership needs to fix? Thanks.
Unless you throw a VANOS related code, nothing is wrong with the VANOS. The 3100 code is just signifies that the code triggered a no boost limp condition. Usually it is associated with other codes (boost target not reached, VANOS, etc,.).

Shiv
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2009, 07:19 PM   #167
sflgator
Major General
sflgator's Avatar
94
Rep
5,389
Posts

Drives: '09 MB C63 AMG & '08 MB GL450
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: U.S.

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fotios335i View Post
Shiv, I got an odd but good update. I forgot about this but I installed the dci the same time I upgraded to canbus. I put it on right as obviously its pretty straight forward. I guess I must have done something wrong. I took it out today because Im bringing it to the dealer soon. I took it out for a drive and its absolutely flawless. I tried everything possible to make it go into limp or even show anything other than perfect power and no issues at all. Now I know what everyone was raving about. Now I dont know what could have possibly been wrong but its perfect. the best the car has ever driven. no joking.now Im afraid to put it back on. Any idea what might have went wrong. I am SOOO happy with the way the car is driving now. thanks. If anyone has any opinions please share and sorry about all the negative things Ive said. Great job Shiv. Im pumped.
Maybe you didn't have the intake tubes clamped down (or just not on all the way) and there was an air and/or vacuum leak, which caused your car to go into limp mode with hard acceleration?
__________________

|2009 RENNtech MB C63 AMG | Black/Black Leather/Black Maple | Premium II | MultiMedia | iPod |
| TeleAid | Charcoal Filter Delete | BMC High-Flow Air Filters | High-Flow Secondary Cats | Clear Side Markers |
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2009, 07:41 PM   #168
maui86
Captain
United_States
13
Rep
739
Posts

Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: paradise

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to maui86 Send a message via Skype™ to maui86
Quote:
Originally Posted by fotios335i View Post
Shiv, I got an odd but good update. I forgot about this but I installed the dci the same time I upgraded to canbus. I put it on right as obviously its pretty straight forward. I guess I must have done something wrong. I took it out today because Im bringing it to the dealer soon. I took it out for a drive and its absolutely flawless. I tried everything possible to make it go into limp or even show anything other than perfect power and no issues at all. Now I know what everyone was raving about. Now I dont know what could have possibly been wrong but its perfect. the best the car has ever driven. no joking.now Im afraid to put it back on. Any idea what might have went wrong. I am SOOO happy with the way the car is driving now. thanks. If anyone has any opinions please share and sorry about all the negative things Ive said. Great job Shiv. Im pumped.
i know this may sound stupid, but maybe the hose that goes infront of the stock intake with the clip and o-ring wasn't properly secured when you put the DCI on and when you put the stocker back on you so happen to put it on right :-) possible?

teri
__________________
http://videos.streetfire.net/video/s...rays_37268.htm

gotta do what i gotta do to get them donuts
04 spec-v: rip dec07
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2009, 08:07 PM   #169
FotiosF80M3
Major General
FotiosF80M3's Avatar
United_States
144
Rep
6,800
Posts

Drives: 2015 F80 M3 aw/so
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: cape cod MA

iTrader: (61)

I dont know. I checked it often to make sure it was on good. I cant figure out what might have went wrong. Kinda sux...i liked having the intake one. not sure if I will put it back on or not. I hated having all those problems. The filters were clean too so it wasnt that.
__________________

2015 M3 Alpine white, shakir orange
carbon roof, black 19's, lighting, executive, HK
side&top view, adaptive susp, mods to come......
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2009, 10:31 PM   #170
maui86
Captain
United_States
13
Rep
739
Posts

Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: paradise

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to maui86 Send a message via Skype™ to maui86
i would try putting them on again...something you had to take off and put back on fixed it..i wouldn't be surprised if it was that hose. because i thought it was completely on once, but realized it wasn't when i pulled up on it and it came off without pressing the tabs. when you have DCI with catless DP's, sound is heavenly....to me at least.

teri
__________________
http://videos.streetfire.net/video/s...rays_37268.htm

gotta do what i gotta do to get them donuts
04 spec-v: rip dec07
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2009, 11:40 PM   #171
Sniz
Lieutenant General
Sniz's Avatar
285
Rep
10,595
Posts

Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

iTrader: (1)

I cant really see how DCI would cause any problems, but who knows....interesting.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2009, 02:45 AM   #172
brusso
Second Lieutenant
brusso's Avatar
4
Rep
270
Posts

Drives: 08 E92
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: So.Cal

iTrader: (3)

Shiv..... I tried out the new stage 2 maps and love them . Def. improvement in boost targeting after a shift.

nice job !
__________________
AA boosted 500+ hp
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2009, 12:02 PM   #173
FotiosF80M3
Major General
FotiosF80M3's Avatar
United_States
144
Rep
6,800
Posts

Drives: 2015 F80 M3 aw/so
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: cape cod MA

iTrader: (61)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniz View Post
I cant really see how DCI would cause any problems, but who knows....interesting.
Thats what I figured too. Drove not so well...took off dci and went back to helene drop in...flawless performance. dont know what might have happened but it did. like I said now Im afraid to put it back on because I had it installed right I thought, cant seem to figure out what I could have done wrong.
__________________

2015 M3 Alpine white, shakir orange
carbon roof, black 19's, lighting, executive, HK
side&top view, adaptive susp, mods to come......
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2009, 12:15 PM   #174
Sniz
Lieutenant General
Sniz's Avatar
285
Rep
10,595
Posts

Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fotios335i View Post
Thats what I figured too. Drove not so well...took off dci and went back to helene drop in...flawless performance. dont know what might have happened but it did. like I said now Im afraid to put it back on because I had it installed right I thought, cant seem to figure out what I could have done wrong.
it will be a PITA, but try reinstalling them and disconnecting the battery...or reset adaptation w a BT.

thats weird though.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2009, 12:18 PM   #175
cocoturkey
Lieutenant
Taiwan
8
Rep
441
Posts

Drives: 08' e92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Taipei

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
There is no difference in wastegate control/lagfix with the new maps. In fact, that hasn't changed since last year. Maybe try disabling lagfix as it will put the wastegate flappers into a different static position. If that doesn't work, take it to the dealership and get the recall/fix done.

Shiv
are you sure if i take the car to the dealer with this problem they will get the recall done? what would they do? update my software or replace my wastegate?
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2009, 01:49 PM   #176
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
850
Rep
17,616
Posts

Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cocoturkey View Post
are you sure if i take the car to the dealer with this problem they will get the recall done? what would they do? update my software or replace my wastegate?
Hard to say for sure. But I'm sure they will take care of you if you are adamant enough about your issues. Might be new wastegates. But first they might try updating your software.

Shiv
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:45 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST