E90Post
 


E92-lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Windows 64bit testers needed for PROcede software



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-02-2009, 03:48 PM   #1
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
shiv@vishnu's Avatar
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,611
iTrader: (0)

Exclamation Windows 64bit testers needed for PROcede software

Hi guys,
I think we may have a solution for you Windows 64bit users. If you want to give it a try, email me at shiv@vishnutuning.com. Please put "Windows 64bit tester" in the subject line.
Cheers,
shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2009, 04:07 PM   #2
Slidewayz
Major
 
Slidewayz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oakland, CA

Posts: 1,175
iTrader: (5)

Are there any new features or is this a straight port?
Slidewayz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2009, 04:11 PM   #3
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
shiv@vishnu's Avatar
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,611
iTrader: (0)

Same exact software but just a different way to install it.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2009, 04:23 PM   #4
getInline
Lieutenant
 
getInline's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335 Coupe, c32 AMG
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Parts Unknown

Posts: 413
iTrader: (1)

Sure would be nice to use my 64-bit Vista Tablet instead of my 17-inch, 42lb blast furnace of a laptop.

I suppose I could install XP on the tablet but that just smacks of effort.
getInline is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2009, 04:34 PM   #5
Gen_E92
Brigadier General
 
Drives: slow
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 3,386
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.90]
email sent
Gen_E92 is offline   Japan
0
Reply With Quote
      06-02-2009, 05:17 PM   #6
yankis
Freelance Photographer
 
yankis's Avatar
 
Drives: MW E93 M3
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Miami

Posts: 288
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to yankis
email sent! I hope this works!!!
yankis is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2009, 04:54 PM   #7
Ramos
Colonel
 
Ramos's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 M235
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: So-Cal

Posts: 2,076
iTrader: (6)

Updates??
Ramos is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2009, 05:22 PM   #8
yankis
Freelance Photographer
 
yankis's Avatar
 
Drives: MW E93 M3
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Miami

Posts: 288
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to yankis
Good news! I have a 64-bit Vista Laptop and I followed Shivs instructions! I was able to hook up my car to the PROCEDE!!!

Thanks Shiv! Good work!
yankis is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2009, 05:31 PM   #9
Ramos
Colonel
 
Ramos's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 M235
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: So-Cal

Posts: 2,076
iTrader: (6)

That is good news... Anyone else try it? So how does it work if the software is the same according to Shiv?
Ramos is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2009, 08:17 PM   #10
jonm42
Captain
 
Drives: too fast for conditions.
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Portland, OR

Posts: 615
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by got psi View Post
Shiv, sorry for the offtopic post here...

Would you be interested in a software port to Mac OSX ?

I believe this is something i might be able to tackle. If interested, shoot me a PM and we'll discuss it.
+1
jonm42 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2009, 08:25 PM   #11
godot
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida, USA

Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramos View Post
That is good news... Anyone else try it? So how does it work if the software is the same according to Shiv?
It also worked for me with Vista 64.

I think the problems are with the installer rather than the software itself. We just ran the software without doing an actual install.

Not sure what the plan is going forward.
__________________
E92 335i, 6MT, Sparkling Graphite/Black. Mods: Grocery Grabber
godot is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2009, 08:56 PM   #12
Longbow64
_______
 
Longbow64's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 E90 M3, 13 X3 35i MSport
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: El Paso

Posts: 722
iTrader: (4)

Awesome news!
Longbow64 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2009, 11:09 PM   #13
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
shiv@vishnu's Avatar
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,611
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by godot View Post
It also worked for me with Vista 64.

I think the problems are with the installer rather than the software itself. We just ran the software without doing an actual install.

Not sure what the plan is going forward.
Simple... I'm just going to make the software downloadable from our site. All you will need to do is save it to your HD and run the program. No installation shield. Very simple.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2009, 02:21 AM   #14
Gen_E92
Brigadier General
 
Drives: slow
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 3,386
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.90]
Oh well the software does work...but there's no 64bit driver for my USB cable , did you guys have to install a 64bit driver for the cable to work?
Gen_E92 is offline   Japan
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2009, 08:41 AM   #15
mwahlert
Lieutenant Colonel
 
mwahlert's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Durham, NC

Posts: 1,547
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by getInline View Post
Sure would be nice to use my 64-bit Vista Tablet instead of my 17-inch, 42lb blast furnace of a laptop.

I suppose I could install XP on the tablet but that just smacks of effort.
lmao
mwahlert is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2009, 11:06 AM   #16
Slidewayz
Major
 
Slidewayz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oakland, CA

Posts: 1,175
iTrader: (5)

There's a chance your 32 bit driver will work in Vista compatibility mode. Have you tried it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gen_E92 View Post
Oh well the software does work...but there's no 64bit driver for my USB cable , did you guys have to install a 64bit driver for the cable to work?
Slidewayz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2009, 11:19 AM   #17
Ramos
Colonel
 
Ramos's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 M235
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: So-Cal

Posts: 2,076
iTrader: (6)

We need our testers to test connecting to the Procede not just running the software.
Ramos is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2009, 01:17 PM   #18
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
shiv@vishnu's Avatar
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,611
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gen_E92 View Post
Oh well the software does work...but there's no 64bit driver for my USB cable , did you guys have to install a 64bit driver for the cable to work?
We used the radio shack cable with it's own drivers and it worked just fine.

Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2009, 01:21 PM   #19
Soni
Major General
 
Soni's Avatar
 
Drives: Just a car
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CANADA eh!

Posts: 8,378
iTrader: (35)

Garage List
2007 335i Coupe  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
We used the radio shack cable with it's own drivers and it worked just fine.

Shiv
My Radio Shack drivers doesn't work on my VISTA laptop I remember reading a threads few months ago that you need to run another drivers in order to get the USB work on VISTA...now I couldn't found the thread
Soni is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2009, 01:33 PM   #20
Slidewayz
Major
 
Slidewayz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oakland, CA

Posts: 1,175
iTrader: (5)

I use this serial to USB connector: http://www.centralcomputers.com/comm...=1244225782343

$15.95, works perfect, and is Vista-compatible.
Slidewayz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2009, 02:57 PM   #21
Gen_E92
Brigadier General
 
Drives: slow
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 3,386
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.90]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slidewayz View Post
There's a chance your 32 bit driver will work in Vista compatibility mode. Have you tried it?
that sounds like a good idea...will let you guys know after I try it!
Gen_E92 is offline   Japan
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2009, 06:44 PM   #22
godot
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida, USA

Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramos View Post
We need our testers to test connecting to the Procede not just running the software.
It has been stated that people have connected to the Procede.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soni View Post
My Radio Shack drivers doesn't work on my VISTA laptop I remember reading a threads few months ago that you need to run another drivers in order to get the USB work on VISTA...now I couldn't found the thread
I found the thread, but it involved going to a web site that no longer exists.

However, I just found ANOTHER web page that says the Radio Shack 26-183 cable uses the Prolific PL2303 chipset. If that's true, you should be able to download and use the latest driver directly from Prolific, here: http://www.prolific.com.tw/eng/downloads.asp?ID=31

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slidewayz View Post
I use this serial to USB connector: http://www.centralcomputers.com/comm...=1244225782343

$15.95, works perfect, and is Vista-compatible.
I use an $18 TrendNet cable from Amazon that is Vista64 compatible. I downloaded the latest driver from TrendNet's web site, after which it worked like a champ.
__________________
E92 335i, 6MT, Sparkling Graphite/Black. Mods: Grocery Grabber
godot is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST