E90Post
 


N54Tuning.com
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Just ordered a DTUK tuning box



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-03-2009, 04:49 AM   #1
webby318dEMS
Spider powered!
United Kingdom
6

 
webby318dEMS's Avatar
 
Drives: 318d Edition M Sport saloon
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kent


Posts: 132
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to webby318dEMS Send a message via Skype™ to webby318dEMS
Just ordered a DTUK tuning box

As per the title, after a long conversation on the phone to Andrew just ordered a CRD2 BOX.

Very very helpful chap (I was on the phone for 28 minutes!) He explained the differences between the 2 boxes that are available for my car, including the pro's & con's.

The box should arrive tomorrow, so I will fit it tomorrow night, and then let you all know how it goes.

One bonus bit of info Andrew did mention, was that if I ever changed car (quite likely, as I have a bit of a habit of changing my car quite often!) then I could get the software changed (free of charge) for the other car. The best bit though is that it will even work with some petrol turbo engines too!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2009, 04:51 AM   #2
- Paul -
Major General
England
179

 
- Paul -'s Avatar
 
Drives: see above.
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yorkshire, UK


Posts: 7,273
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2005 320D SE  [5.00]
2005 645  [4.50]
Are you going to get it dyno'd after?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2009, 05:39 AM   #3
webby318dEMS
Spider powered!
United Kingdom
6

 
webby318dEMS's Avatar
 
Drives: 318d Edition M Sport saloon
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kent


Posts: 132
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to webby318dEMS Send a message via Skype™ to webby318dEMS
Quote:
Originally Posted by - Paul - View Post
Are you going to get it dyno'd after?
Hi Paul
I hadn't planned to get it dyno'd afterwards, but I've just seen that evolve are doing a dyno day sometime next month, so might get myself down there to see what results i'm getting. Will be quite interesting to see what sort of bhp it puts out.
Having had a tuning box from DTUK before on a Focus I owned 3 years ago, and the difference in performance was very impressive; I'm obviously hoping for good things again with my BMW.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2009, 09:18 AM   #4
Andrew@DTUK
Banned
United Kingdom
25

 
Andrew@DTUK's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Valencia Orange 1M
Join Date: May 2009
Location: County Durham UK


Posts: 592
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via MSN to Andrew@DTUK
Has just gone to the post office Paul, so will be with you 2moro before 1pm

Give me a bell beforehand and ill go through everything with you


Andrew
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2009, 11:01 AM   #5
webby318dEMS
Spider powered!
United Kingdom
6

 
webby318dEMS's Avatar
 
Drives: 318d Edition M Sport saloon
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kent


Posts: 132
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to webby318dEMS Send a message via Skype™ to webby318dEMS
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABYSSDTE View Post
Has just gone to the post office Paul, so will be with you 2moro before 1pm

Give me a bell beforehand and ill go through everything with you


Andrew
Thanks Andrew, will give you a call tomorrow night once I get home from work.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2009, 07:53 AM   #6
mistry
Captain
11

 
mistry's Avatar
 
Drives: F11 530D
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South West


Posts: 820
iTrader: (1)

edit

Last edited by mistry; 06-17-2009 at 01:51 PM.
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2009, 07:59 AM   #7
Carrera RSR
Colonel
England
36

 
Carrera RSR's Avatar
 
Drives: E61 M Sport + 924 Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Location: Location:


Posts: 2,938
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Just fitted a Spider to mine this morning and drove 10 miles as a test drive. The torque in 3rd and 4th on the dual carriageway was spot on. I have a reasonable motorway trip to do tomorrow with four people on board so will be interesting to see how it copes. If this morning is anything to go by..... happy days
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2009, 08:17 AM   #8
mistry
Captain
11

 
mistry's Avatar
 
Drives: F11 530D
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South West


Posts: 820
iTrader: (1)

edit

Last edited by mistry; 06-17-2009 at 01:52 PM.
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2009, 08:32 AM   #9
webby318dEMS
Spider powered!
United Kingdom
6

 
webby318dEMS's Avatar
 
Drives: 318d Edition M Sport saloon
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kent


Posts: 132
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to webby318dEMS Send a message via Skype™ to webby318dEMS
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistry View Post
How you getting on with your box?

I have one of these in my Astra and it works pretty well, great boost to the power, slightly better fuel consumption but nothing to write home about. So I've just ordered a cable to use the same box on my BMW, initial impressions seems good, the car seems to have a lot more urgency about it, the traction control light lights up a lot more, but it's still early days to make a full assessment for me, but so far so good.

Hi Mistry,
Got my box yesterday, and fitted it to my car, but unfortunately there seems to be a problem with either the box or the wiring loom, as I haven't noticed any difference in performance.
I spoke to Andrew from DTUK several times yesterday,and he couldn't understand why there was no change in the performance to my car.To try and resolve the issue, he is sending me his the CRD2 box from his car to me along with a CR box and a new wiring loom to try and resolve my issues.
So once I have sorted out the problems tomorrow I will post on here again with my feedback.
What I can tell you and anybody else interested in this thread, is that Andrew from DTUK is a top bloke and has gone out of his way to help me, and I'm sure that the bits he is posting to me today will sort out the problems.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2009, 09:08 AM   #10
mistry
Captain
11

 
mistry's Avatar
 
Drives: F11 530D
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South West


Posts: 820
iTrader: (1)

I've had dealings with andrew recently and with a previous car, and will concur he's a good bloke and will see you right.

Hope you get it sorted soon.
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2009, 09:18 AM   #11
Andrew@DTUK
Banned
United Kingdom
25

 
Andrew@DTUK's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Valencia Orange 1M
Join Date: May 2009
Location: County Durham UK


Posts: 592
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via MSN to Andrew@DTUK
Quote:
Originally Posted by webby318dEMS View Post
Hi Mistry,
Got my box yesterday, and fitted it to my car, but unfortunately there seems to be a problem with either the box or the wiring loom, as I haven't noticed any difference in performance.
I spoke to Andrew from DTUK several times yesterday,and he couldn't understand why there was no change in the performance to my car.To try and resolve the issue, he is sending me his the CRD2 box from his car to me along with a CR box and a new wiring loom to try and resolve my issues.
So once I have sorted out the problems tomorrow I will post on here again with my feedback.
What I can tell you and anybody else interested in this thread, is that Andrew from DTUK is a top bloke and has gone out of his way to help me, and I'm sure that the bits he is posting to me today will sort out the problems.
Ive sent my own system down (off the 335d), plus a CR system, plus a new loom

Hopefully this will get that mahoosive smile on your face i promised you
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2009, 09:47 AM   #12
webby318dEMS
Spider powered!
United Kingdom
6

 
webby318dEMS's Avatar
 
Drives: 318d Edition M Sport saloon
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kent


Posts: 132
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to webby318dEMS Send a message via Skype™ to webby318dEMS
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABYSSDTE View Post
Ive sent my own system down (off the 335d), plus a CR system, plus a new loom

Hopefully this will get that mahoosive smile on your face i promised you
Thanks Andrew. I'm 100% confident that I'll be enjoying the performance you promised me tomorrow!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2009, 10:00 AM   #13
Carrera RSR
Colonel
England
36

 
Carrera RSR's Avatar
 
Drives: E61 M Sport + 924 Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Location: Location:


Posts: 2,938
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by webby318dEMS View Post
Thanks Andrew. I'm 100% confident that I'll be enjoying the performance you promised me tomorrow!
When I fitted a box to my 163bhp 320d and todays addition I noticed a throttle response difference even pulling off the drive and down my road. It feels like you are using less throttle pedal travel for more accelaration.

I am sure once yours is working it will be noticeable, as long as your not expecting 335d performance
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2009, 01:00 PM   #14
Irnbrukid
Major
Scotland
14

 
Drives: RepMobile
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Scotland


Posts: 1,340
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ABYSSDTE View Post
Ive sent my own system down (off the 335d), plus a CR system, plus a new loom

Hopefully this will get that mahoosive smile on your face i promised you
Why send him the box of your car, is it just a one box fits all since they are different cars.
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2009, 04:28 PM   #15
webby318dEMS
Spider powered!
United Kingdom
6

 
webby318dEMS's Avatar
 
Drives: 318d Edition M Sport saloon
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kent


Posts: 132
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to webby318dEMS Send a message via Skype™ to webby318dEMS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irnbrukid View Post
Why send him the box of your car, is it just a one box fits all since they are different cars.
The boxes can have the software changed to suit different cars. The CRD2 box that I ordered can even be used on some petrol turbo cars aswell.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2009, 04:43 PM   #16
Andrew@DTUK
Banned
United Kingdom
25

 
Andrew@DTUK's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Valencia Orange 1M
Join Date: May 2009
Location: County Durham UK


Posts: 592
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via MSN to Andrew@DTUK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irnbrukid View Post
Why send him the box of your car, is it just a one box fits all since they are different cars.
The system was taken off my car and software for the 163bhp was applied, also this box can be reprogrammed for turbo charged petrol cars too...

Soon to include the N54 335i
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2009, 05:38 PM   #17
jjbirch
Banned
32

 
jjbirch's Avatar
 
Drives: E60 530D M SPORT
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: england


Posts: 2,927
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by carrerarsr View Post
When I fitted a box to my 163bhp 320d and todays addition I noticed a throttle response difference even pulling off the drive and down my road. It feels like you are using less throttle pedal travel for more accelaration.

I am sure once yours is working it will be noticeable, as long as your not expecting 335d performance
you sure its a 163 m8 i thought end of 07 it was 177 and yours is a 08 and it hasnt got a down turned tail pipe unless is has a DFP
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2009, 06:11 PM   #18
Irnbrukid
Major
Scotland
14

 
Drives: RepMobile
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Scotland


Posts: 1,340
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ABYSSDTE View Post
The system was taken off my car and software for the 163bhp was applied, also this box can be reprogrammed for turbo charged petrol cars too...

Soon to include the N54 335i
how much does it cost for a software change.

And i take it the box needs to shipped back to you.
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2009, 06:17 PM   #19
Carrera RSR
Colonel
England
36

 
Carrera RSR's Avatar
 
Drives: E61 M Sport + 924 Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Location: Location:


Posts: 2,938
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjbirch View Post
you sure its a 163 m8 i thought end of 07 it was 177 and yours is a 08 and it hasnt got a down turned tail pipe unless is has a DFP
previous 320d was 163bhp. Current 320d is a 177 bhp, or was until I installed the Spider this morning
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2009, 02:48 AM   #20
foxy-367
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
4

 
foxy-367's Avatar
 
Drives: 320d M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North West


Posts: 448
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ABYSSDTE View Post
The system was taken off my car and software for the 163bhp was applied, also this box can be reprogrammed for turbo charged petrol cars too...

Soon to include the N54 335i
Going off topic slightly, the 177bhp has the DPF does the tuning box cause it any issues? Only reason I ask is that the DPF on the Leon 2 has all sorts of problems when a re-map or tuning box is applied due to the increased soot it has to deal with, I'm really interested in these as it seems easier than a map.

Also when you take it off can it be detected in anyway through the ECU?

Cheers

Foxy
__________________

Now - E90 320d M Sport, Le Mans Blue, sun protection glass, Auto lights and wipers, 193M, a big grin
Previous - Seat Leon FR, Golf Gttdi (x2), Mk3 Fiesta SI, E30 318i Peugeot 205 Roland Garros, Mk2 Fiesta Ghia (it had a rev counter!!!!)
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2009, 02:46 PM   #21
Andrew@DTUK
Banned
United Kingdom
25

 
Andrew@DTUK's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Valencia Orange 1M
Join Date: May 2009
Location: County Durham UK


Posts: 592
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via MSN to Andrew@DTUK
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxy-367 View Post
Going off topic slightly, the 177bhp has the DPF does the tuning box cause it any issues? Only reason I ask is that the DPF on the Leon 2 has all sorts of problems when a re-map or tuning box is applied due to the increased soot it has to deal with, I'm really interested in these as it seems easier than a map.

Also when you take it off can it be detected in anyway through the ECU?

Cheers

Foxy
Weve boxed several 177PS (2.0D's) and weve never come across any problems, the boxes are set up to be used in tandem with the DPF
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2009, 02:47 PM   #22
Andrew@DTUK
Banned
United Kingdom
25

 
Andrew@DTUK's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Valencia Orange 1M
Join Date: May 2009
Location: County Durham UK


Posts: 592
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via MSN to Andrew@DTUK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irnbrukid View Post
how much does it cost for a software change.

And i take it the box needs to shipped back to you.
It depends if the box is original, or 2nd hand....




Edited for commercial content - Mod
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST