E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > NA Engine (non-turbo) / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > Some Manifold Pics



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-22-2006, 09:47 PM   #1
RichP
Major
 
RichP's Avatar
 
Drives: V-Power
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Michigan

Posts: 1,049
iTrader: (4)

Some Manifold Pics

I took out my 330 manifold and put back in the stock 325 manifold, I dont have time or wish to spend the resources on making this work.

Here are a few pics...

325 Manifold:




330 Manifold:




Our Engine, full size:




Theres no manifold like no manifold:

__________________
RichP is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-22-2006, 10:07 PM   #2
oneshare325
Brigadier General
 
oneshare325's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325i, E82 135i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Arlington, VA

Posts: 4,174
iTrader: (11)

Garage List
2011 135i  [0.00]
2006 325i  [0.00]
Did you try and swap! I didn't know anyone had tried it! What happened? do you have a post about it! I really want to know I am really interested!
oneshare325 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-22-2006, 10:47 PM   #3
ksfrogman
Major General
 
ksfrogman's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330i 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Torrance, CA

Posts: 6,751
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to ksfrogman
More info, more info!
__________________
ksfrogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-22-2006, 11:00 PM   #4
RichP
Major
 
RichP's Avatar
 
Drives: V-Power
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Michigan

Posts: 1,049
iTrader: (4)

What kind of info? I have posted here and there about it. The flaps move, but you need a 330 ECU to have the correct maps. You cannot program the 325 ECU to use the correct maps.

I have had it in the car for about 9 months. I never had the time to finish it out i.e. get the 330 ECU.
__________________
RichP is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-22-2006, 11:15 PM   #5
ksfrogman
Major General
 
ksfrogman's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330i 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Torrance, CA

Posts: 6,751
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to ksfrogman
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichP
What kind of info? I have posted here and there about it. The flaps move, but you need a 330 ECU to have the correct maps. You cannot program the 325 ECU to use the correct maps.

I have had it in the car for about 9 months. I never had the time to finish it out i.e. get the 330 ECU.
I just read your other thread. I didn't realize that the 330 and 325 had different ECU's. Comparing the two intakes, what are some of the obvious mechanical differences you can see?
__________________
ksfrogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-23-2006, 01:50 AM   #6
jpass12
Second Lieutenant
 
jpass12's Avatar
 
Drives: Z4
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Texas

Posts: 227
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2004 Z4 2.5  [0.00]
So all I need is the 330 ECU and the intake manifold to make it work. Right? How much?
__________________
jpass12 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-23-2006, 01:34 PM   #7
RichP
Major
 
RichP's Avatar
 
Drives: V-Power
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Michigan

Posts: 1,049
iTrader: (4)

Its posted in the for sale forum, Im asking 600.

The intakes themselves are identical, except the 330 one has two openings, one for each diverter flap/actuator thing. No other differences whatsoever.
__________________
RichP is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-09-2007, 09:50 PM   #8
D-Rock
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 325i
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: miami

Posts: 1,845
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to D-Rock
so that will make it a 330 ?
__________________
D-Rock is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-25-2011, 04:50 PM   #9
DFonseca
Registered
 
Drives: 2006 E90 BMW 325i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mexico

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

http://mosselmanturbo.com/bmw-remapp...25i-e90-218hp/

There you find the same proyect... and it assures +54hp... 2,155 dlls... Dou you think it really does what it tells?? with no risk??
DFonseca is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-25-2011, 05:22 PM   #10
N0OS3
Colonel
 
N0OS3's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oak Harbor, WA

Posts: 2,219
iTrader: (5)

Just buy a 330i ECU from here:

Bavarian Auto Recycling

Would an ECU swap cause issues though? I'm sure it's not a plug-n-play setup... likely have to re-code the whole car to do anything at all (worst case scenario)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpass12 View Post
So all I need is the 330 ECU and the intake manifold to make it work. Right? How much?
__________________
WTB: 3 Stage Intake Manifold and components - PM me your asking price.

Last edited by N0OS3; 09-25-2011 at 07:41 PM.
N0OS3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2011, 08:40 AM   #11
oab e90 330i se
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2005 E90 330i se Manual 52k
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Rich P,

Any ideas about Intake manifold temperatures on a 330i?
Using handheld infrared thermometer I can just about measure the 1st one and compare with the others after getting the engine nice and hot. (when stationary of course!)
Would you expect a difference? The sixth cylinder is right next to the oil filter and is quite a lot hotter than the others. Any ideas if they Should they all be the same temp within reason?
oab e90 330i se is offline   Wales
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2011, 03:10 PM   #12
Gavin@MMW
Brigadier General
 
Gavin@MMW's Avatar
 
Drives: MMW Supercharged E90 328i
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: 818/805

Posts: 3,880
iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lync9763 View Post
Just buy a 330i ECU from here:

Bavarian Auto Recycling

Would an ECU swap cause issues though? I'm sure it's not a plug-n-play setup... likely have to re-code the whole car to do anything at all (worst case scenario)



An ECU Swap will still pose a problem, since the ECU is VIN coded, it knows which car it is in. So you will need to rewrite the tranny software with a new vin to match, or vice versa.
Gavin@MMW is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST