E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > BMS downpipe fix



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-30-2009, 12:45 AM   #1
MACH V
MEFAKED
MACH V's Avatar
1
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: FT. Lauderdale, FL

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to MACH V
BMS downpipe fix

I installed my BMS downpipe fix today and i drove for 75 miles and i still have a SES light. I had my catless downpipes installed a week ago. Will the o2 sim not work if the SES light is already on?






TIA
Appreciate 0
      06-30-2009, 01:58 AM   #2
AwBoostedCR
Private First Class
United_States
4
Rep
136
Posts

Drives: 2008 Alpine White 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (0)

you have to clear the codes. I had the same problem.
Appreciate 0
      06-30-2009, 02:32 AM   #3
MACH V
MEFAKED
MACH V's Avatar
1
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: FT. Lauderdale, FL

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to MACH V
f**k! now i have to find a BT?
Appreciate 0
      06-30-2009, 01:05 PM   #4
GeorgeSmooth
Lieutenant
GeorgeSmooth's Avatar
15
Rep
568
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90 335i AT
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Africa

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MACH V View Post
f**k! now i have to find a BT?
Its just a click away. Best thing I did was buy one.
Thanks for the thread though I just got worried as I ordered the fix. Let us know if clearing the codes does the trick.
__________________
08 E90 335i AT RB Turbos -NX Wet Kit - Chiplogic Flash or Procede V5- M3 Diff - AE Exhaust- Forge Dv's - Helix Intercooler - AR DP's - P3 Boost Gauge - Vishnu Meth- Stett Chargepipe and CAI
09 C63
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2009, 04:55 AM   #5
MACH V
MEFAKED
MACH V's Avatar
1
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: FT. Lauderdale, FL

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to MACH V
can someone else chime in please?
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2009, 05:28 AM   #6
Former_Boosted_IS
Major General
150
Rep
5,179
Posts

Drives: 4 Wheels
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Planet Earth!

iTrader: (15)

Email Terry. Explain what happened and I am sure he will get your squared away.
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2009, 05:57 AM   #7
gt3fever
Major
No_Country
17
Rep
1,227
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Socal

iTrader: (15)

yea email Terry first, but BT is always a nice investment.

i recall read somewhere that some car needs stronger o2 sim as well.

hope that helps
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2009, 08:32 AM   #8
cstmx_ryder
Colonel
cstmx_ryder's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
2,765
Posts

Drives: A metal box with a roundel
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to cstmx_ryder Send a message via MSN to cstmx_ryder
^^ Yes, I'm running the extra resistors(?) in my O2 SIM right now from RR......At first, after the install of my catless DPs and O2 SIM, the SES light was on and stayed on for a few days, and then it all of a sudden went away..........Came back once or twice a few weeks later, then went away again.

So the first time that happened, I double checked the O2 SIM wiring to see if anything's loose or connected incorrectly. As long as it's installed correctly, you might just need to clear the code or let it run a few more days and once the car goes through a few cycles, the SES light should turn off..........Or ask the vendor you bought from for extra resistors to add to the O2 SIM (probably the last option).

GL, hope this helps.
__________________

'08 AW E90 335i
PROcede V5 | BMS DCI | RR DPs | ETS FMIC | FORGE DVs | Stett CP | Vanguard | PSS10
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2009, 10:25 AM   #9
GeorgeSmooth
Lieutenant
GeorgeSmooth's Avatar
15
Rep
568
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90 335i AT
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Africa

iTrader: (0)

Excuse my ignorance but does the o2 sim from BMS have different settings or is it only a plug in device with nothing else to change?
I have seen my tuner turn of the second lambda via flash tuning on other cars and is basically a few bites in the software which is the simplest route but I also like having a back up in case he can't get it right for whatever reason.
__________________
08 E90 335i AT RB Turbos -NX Wet Kit - Chiplogic Flash or Procede V5- M3 Diff - AE Exhaust- Forge Dv's - Helix Intercooler - AR DP's - P3 Boost Gauge - Vishnu Meth- Stett Chargepipe and CAI
09 C63
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2009, 10:50 AM   #10
danniexi
Colonel
danniexi's Avatar
No_Country
50
Rep
2,138
Posts

Drives: 2008 AW E92 335xi
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NJ/NY

iTrader: (14)

happened to me as well.

1. get the codes cleared. im going to be investing in a BT scanner myself.
2. recheck the wires and make sure it's installed correctly. apparently i installed it in the wrong row of the black connector (it was my first time with pin out).

I haven't gotten the SES light since. I've driven it decently hard as well as set it to cruise control. No light so far. After a clearing/installing properly you shouldn't have an issue. The adding of resistors would probably the final solution, but I haven't seen THAT many cases of people doing it in the first place.

good luck!
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2009, 11:52 AM   #11
Terrance28
Brigadier General
Terrance28's Avatar
United_States
44
Rep
3,336
Posts

Drives: Crimson Red E92
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Killeen, TX

iTrader: (17)

Send a message via Yahoo to Terrance28
You can go to autozone and have them erase it too.
__________________
Mods list got too long, lets just say more than enough.
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2009, 01:43 PM   #12
MACH V
MEFAKED
MACH V's Avatar
1
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: FT. Lauderdale, FL

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to MACH V
I emailed Terry about it and I even emailed him a picture of the install to make sure I did it right. He also recommended a BT but there are a few other important things I need money for before the BT so idk when I'll have the money for it.. Thanks again guys!
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2009, 01:47 PM   #13
Panoz
Lieutenant Colonel
Panoz's Avatar
27
Rep
1,575
Posts

Drives: E92 Space Grey 335i ,Aero Kit
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

I think that you got to use a different pin if you dont use a JB tune.
Which pins are you using?
__________________

Procede V4 , Catless DPs, Forge FMIC, Injen Intake, VK Oilcooler, Hartge Quads Exhaust, Modded CDV, Synapse BOV Kit, BMW Performance 335i SSK Kit, P3 vent boost gauge

Space Grey 335i -> See more pics HERE
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2009, 04:54 PM   #14
cstmx_ryder
Colonel
cstmx_ryder's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
2,765
Posts

Drives: A metal box with a roundel
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to cstmx_ryder Send a message via MSN to cstmx_ryder
Or you can just get a PROcede Rev.II which COMES with the DP fix......
__________________

'08 AW E90 335i
PROcede V5 | BMS DCI | RR DPs | ETS FMIC | FORGE DVs | Stett CP | Vanguard | PSS10
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2009, 05:07 PM   #15
Zeph
Major
United_States
16
Rep
1,410
Posts

Drives: 2008 E92 335i 6MT SGM CR/BD
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southeast USA

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to Zeph Send a message via Yahoo to Zeph
^ loz tru dat
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2009, 05:18 PM   #16
MACH V
MEFAKED
MACH V's Avatar
1
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: FT. Lauderdale, FL

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to MACH V
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panoz View Post
I think that you got to use a different pin if you dont use a JB tune.
Which pins are you using?

I have a JB3 so it should work... It's been almost 200 miles and still got a SES!!!
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2009, 05:52 PM   #17
cstmx_ryder
Colonel
cstmx_ryder's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
2,765
Posts

Drives: A metal box with a roundel
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to cstmx_ryder Send a message via MSN to cstmx_ryder
^^ Seriously, just double check your connections, re-do the wiring and start from square 1 if you have to......That's what I did to eliminate the possible causes........IMO
__________________

'08 AW E90 335i
PROcede V5 | BMS DCI | RR DPs | ETS FMIC | FORGE DVs | Stett CP | Vanguard | PSS10
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2009, 06:31 PM   #18
MACH V
MEFAKED
MACH V's Avatar
1
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: FT. Lauderdale, FL

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to MACH V
already did that but ok thanks
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2009, 06:57 PM   #19
cstmx_ryder
Colonel
cstmx_ryder's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
2,765
Posts

Drives: A metal box with a roundel
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to cstmx_ryder Send a message via MSN to cstmx_ryder
And the SES light is still on? I finally did get an el cheapo C-reader that clear codes.

Worked like a charm. If you don't want to buy that, then like others have mentioned, go to Autozone and have them clear it.
__________________

'08 AW E90 335i
PROcede V5 | BMS DCI | RR DPs | ETS FMIC | FORGE DVs | Stett CP | Vanguard | PSS10
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2009, 08:14 PM   #20
Mike@N54Tuning.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Canada
620
Rep
16,126
Posts


Drives: 2007 335i, 2015 M3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N54tuning.com

iTrader: (88)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MACH V View Post
I have a JB3 so it should work... It's been almost 200 miles and still got a SES!!!
Did you read the downpipe fix install guide? You will need to clear the SES light using a OBDII reader from autozone or a BT cable. In the future install downpipes AND the downpipe fix at the same time to avoid the headache.

The downpipe fix or o2 sim does not clear the codes, it only prevents them. Once stored in the cars system they need o be cleared!

Mike
__________________
LOWEST PRICE GURANTEE ON ALL PRODUCTS - www.n54tuning.com - Email; Mike@n54tuning.com
NEW PERFORMANCE LINE N54 DOWNPIPES & M3/M4 & F30 ER DOWNPIPES NOW IN STOCK - ER N54 CHARPE PIPE SPECIALS - NEW JB4 G5 ISO for N54 and F30 N55 ON SALE - NEW S55 M3/M4 JB4 NOW SHIPPING
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2009, 10:45 PM   #21
MACH V
MEFAKED
MACH V's Avatar
1
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: FT. Lauderdale, FL

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to MACH V
Ya I read the guide but I must of missed that part... Thanks for clearing things up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@N54Tuning.com View Post
Did you read the downpipe fix install guide? You will need to clear the SES light using a OBDII reader from autozone or a BT cable. In the future install downpipes AND the downpipe fix at the same time to avoid the headache.

The downpipe fix or o2 sim does not clear the codes, it only prevents them. Once stored in the cars system they need o be cleared!

Mike
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2009, 11:40 AM   #22
Drakos
Lieutenant
Drakos's Avatar
17
Rep
513
Posts

Drives: 09 335xi E90/13 X5 35i M Sport
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada

iTrader: (1)

I installed the o2 sim prior to the Dp install and I never got a SES. I like to be proactive instead of reactive.
__________________
Cobb S2+ | AR DP | Helix FMIC | BMS DCI | Forge DV | ER UCP | KW V1 | BMW Performance Exhaust | P3 DBG |
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:00 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST