E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Vishnu New Firmware and Maps



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-05-2009, 01:20 PM   #45
Slidewayz
Major
 
Slidewayz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oakland, CA

Posts: 1,175
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fotios335i View Post
Currently I dont think any tune compares as far as safety and performance and Im really glad I kept the procede. Now for the in dash boost gauge. Thats what Im waiting for..
Wouldn't it be cool if the in-dash display could be toggled to show AFR or boost?

I don't know if/when I'll ever be able to see it, though, since I have an airbag code from my seat swap that I can't clear w/o going to the dealer and getting pwn'ed for my mods.
Slidewayz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2009, 02:10 PM   #46
scottp999
Brigadier General
 
scottp999's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 4,628
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slidewayz View Post
Wouldn't it be cool if the in-dash display could be toggled to show AFR or boost?
I think Shiv already mentioned somehting like that. I'm hoping there is an option for IAT's, AFR, Boost, Exhaust temps, water temp, oil pressure.
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.
scottp999 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2009, 03:00 PM   #47
Ville
Private
 
Ville's Avatar
 
Drives: 335iA -07
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Aberdeen / Turku

Posts: 59
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vase330 View Post
Great idea, but seems like his screen is way too small even for highest resolution. By the way I think he wont see anything if he turns it much higher, but it would be worth trying for sure.
I'm running the highest possible resolution which is 1024X600...this is so annoying

my screen looks like this

As you can see I can drag the window over the bottom & side edges of the screen but not the top one...Can this be a question Windows settings??? C'on you guys with better skills, chime in!!!

Sorry for slight off topic...
Attached Images
  
__________________
Vishnu-Quaife-AR-Helix-BMS-Stett-Tial-McKinney
Ville is offline   Finland
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2009, 04:29 PM   #48
scalbert
Major General
 
scalbert's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

Posts: 5,711
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ville View Post
I'm running the highest possible resolution which is 1024X600...this is so annoying

my screen looks like this

As you can see I can drag the window over the bottom & side edges of the screen but not the top one...Can this be a question Windows settings??? C'on you guys with better skills, chime in!!!

Sorry for slight off topic...
Select the Map 2 Ign Cor. field and then hit the tab button. That will then select the OK button and hit enter.
scalbert is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2009, 04:30 PM   #49
scalbert
Major General
 
scalbert's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

Posts: 5,711
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
That is one of the things we are working on.

Shiv
Any any on how the different display options will be selected?
scalbert is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2009, 04:31 PM   #50
lawdude
Colonel
 
lawdude's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i ZPP ZSP TiAg MT
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Georgia

Posts: 2,259
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scalbert View Post
Select the Map 2 Ign Cor. field and then hit the tab button. That will then select the OK button and hit enter.
How do you know these things Steve?
__________________
What do I know? I'm insane.
lawdude is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2009, 04:33 PM   #51
scalbert
Major General
 
scalbert's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

Posts: 5,711
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawdude View Post
How do you know these things Steve?
Opened the software and tested it. It is not the first time I have seen this situation with other software.
scalbert is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2009, 04:38 PM   #52
fotios335i
Major General
 
fotios335i's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 BSM F30 sport/msport 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: cape cod MA

Posts: 6,745
iTrader: (61)

How do changes to ignition correction work. If you go 50% will it work properly or get really confused? when does it do what it does when its set to 50%, does it allow slight proactive changes or does it have to be set to zero to not confuse the computer? I guess what Im trying to say is how does it only do 50% or 80%? When does it decide to make the changes? Is it a 0 or 100% thing. Im going to mess around with it over the next few days out of curiosity but Im confused with how it will work with small changes. If its set to 0 isnt that like a jb3?
I know....lots of questions. Im just curious as hell...lol
__________________

2012 335i sport to full Msport, M adaptive and vss, sport 8 AT, fully loaded, Black saphire, black dakota leather, mperformance carbon interior with shifter, M performance grills, rear spoiler, front splitter, side sill extensions, MPPK, MPE exhaust, morr alloys vs8.2's with michelin pss, p3 gauge, msport wheel, etc, etc
fotios335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2009, 04:40 PM   #53
lawdude
Colonel
 
lawdude's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i ZPP ZSP TiAg MT
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Georgia

Posts: 2,259
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fotios335i View Post
How do changes to ignition correction work. If you go 50% will it work properly or get really confused. when does it do what it does when its set to 50%, does it allow slight proactive changes or does it have to be set to zero to not confuse the computer. I guess what Im trying to say is how does it only do 50% or 80%. When does it decide to make the changes. Is it a 0 or 100% thing. Im going to mess around with it over the next few days out of curiosity but Im confused with how it will work with small changes. If its set to 0 isnt that like a jb3?
According to Shiv, you have to data log to find out which percentage is best, unless you're running race gas at which point you can set it to 0%. At least that's what my non-technical brain tells me that's what he says.
__________________
What do I know? I'm insane.
lawdude is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2009, 04:46 PM   #54
scalbert
Major General
 
scalbert's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

Posts: 5,711
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fotios335i View Post
How do changes to ignition correction work. If you go 50% will it work properly or get really confused? when does it do what it does when its set to 50%, does it allow slight proactive changes or does it have to be set to zero to not confuse the computer? I guess what Im trying to say is how does it only do 50% or 80%? When does it decide to make the changes? Is it a 0 or 100% thing. Im going to mess around with it over the next few days out of curiosity but Im confused with how it will work with small changes. If its set to 0 isnt that like a jb3?
I know....lots of questions. Im just curious as hell...lol
50% will remove 50% of the ignition correct being applied. For instance, if 3 degrees were being remove at 5000 RPM at 100%, at 50% only 1.5 degrees would be removed.

0% would be having no ignition timing correction.
scalbert is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2009, 04:59 PM   #55
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,000
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fotios335i View Post
How do changes to ignition correction work. If you go 50% will it work properly or get really confused? when does it do what it does when its set to 50%, does it allow slight proactive changes or does it have to be set to zero to not confuse the computer? I guess what Im trying to say is how does it only do 50% or 80%? When does it decide to make the changes? Is it a 0 or 100% thing. Im going to mess around with it over the next few days out of curiosity but Im confused with how it will work with small changes. If its set to 0 isnt that like a jb3?
I know....lots of questions. Im just curious as hell...lol
If you wait a few days shiv will be posting up tuning tutorials.. All your questions will be answered
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

jpsimon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2009, 05:02 PM   #56
cstmx_ryder
Colonel
 
cstmx_ryder's Avatar
 
Drives: A metal box with a roundel
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portland, OR

Posts: 2,720
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to cstmx_ryder Send a message via MSN to cstmx_ryder
What does the degrees mean?

less degree=more power? I have no clue as to how to custom tune myself.........

How do we know what degree is the best for our cars? What all do we have to consider when changing the degrees in the iginition?

I don't know if I'm using the right terms or even making sense, please bear with me.

Help a fellow out!!



Quote:
Originally Posted by scalbert View Post
50% will remove 50% of the ignition correct being applied. For instance, if 3 degrees were being remove at 5000 RPM at 100%, at 50% only 1.5 degrees would be removed.

0% would be having no ignition timing correction.
__________________

'08 AW E90 335i
PROcede V5 | BMS DCI | RR DPs | ETS FMIC | FORGE DVs | Stett CP | Vanguard | PSS10
cstmx_ryder is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2009, 05:07 PM   #57
scalbert
Major General
 
scalbert's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

Posts: 5,711
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cstmx_ryder View Post
What does the degrees mean?

less degree=more power? I have no clue as to how to custom tune myself.........

How do we know what degree is the best for our cars? What all do we have to consider when changing the degrees in the iginition?

I don't know if I'm using the right terms or even making sense, please bear with me.

Help a fellow out!!
IMO, just leave it as is. No reason to change it unless you are 100% sure of how to do the appropriate monitoring of other data. In the near future, this should be moot as it should adapt on its own.
scalbert is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2009, 07:47 PM   #58
Slidewayz
Major
 
Slidewayz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oakland, CA

Posts: 1,175
iTrader: (5)

Yeah, this stuff is cool but I'm not gonna touch what I have since my car is running like a scalded cheetah as is.
Slidewayz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2009, 10:34 PM   #59
335Turbo
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 335
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: US

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by daixloxbmw View Post
are we to assume that vishnu is no longer supporting the non-canbus rev1 V3 units anymore? seems like all the new maps/firmware are geared towards the canbus rev2 V3 units.
I'm waiting the doomsday release also, but I'll bet it's the last release for rev1. He is working hard trying to make it worthwhile for everyone to upgrade to rev2. I don't mean to imply the upgrade isn't worthwhile, but it's not a cheap simple upgrade. You got to order the new unit, then sell your old rev1, and hope someone will want to buy it. I'm still considering doing the upgrade, but rev1 is only pulling $250 to $300 in the FS section. It would be really nice if SHIV offered some sort of core exchange upgrade.
335Turbo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2009, 10:41 PM   #60
MFKN3
Lieutenant Colonel
 
MFKN3's Avatar
 
Drives: 4.5L stroker s/c E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia

Posts: 1,981
iTrader: (2)

this is the first firmware/map that my car took some adaption to. Was fine after a couple WOT runs.

Love the procede, thanks Shiv. Really hanging out for autotune and boost display!!!
MFKN3 is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2009, 10:47 PM   #61
cocoturkey
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 08' e92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Taipei

Posts: 441
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
I'll be posting up custom tuning tutorials next week!
i'm looking forward to it!!!!!
cocoturkey is offline   Taiwan
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2009, 11:43 PM   #62
TMR
Colonel
 
TMR's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

Posts: 2,715
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slidewayz View Post
Wouldn't it be cool if the in-dash display could be toggled to show AFR or boost?

I don't know if/when I'll ever be able to see it, though, since I have an airbag code from my seat swap that I can't clear w/o going to the dealer and getting pwn'ed for my mods.

If you ever come down to the SoCal PM me and i will meet up with you and clear it for you. Either that or find anyone local with an Autologic or a GT1.
TMR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2009, 11:43 PM   #63
335lvr
Major
 
335lvr's Avatar
 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: California

Posts: 1,441
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Good because I wasn't going to make it optional

The shut off point isn't 250F. That's just when boost starts to gradually drop off. Reaching stock boost by 268F. The reason I want boost to lower above 250F is because above that point, the increasing oil temps make the engine more knock prone. This is one reason cars without oil coolers don't run as strong as cars with them. And we want to avoid this oil temp induced knock retard by tapering down on the boost when things get hot. If the user wants to add an oil cooler, they will notice that boost will automatically stays nice and high for longer!

With CANbus integration, we are finally at the point were we can essentially create a perfect no-holds-barred tune that does NOT sacrifice safety for max performance. The PROcede stands alone in that respect. And I think it always will.

Shiv

cheers,
shiv
Nominal oil temps hover around 245 and boost taper is going to begin at 250?
Seems a bit close, no? Although I welcome and see the need for this feature, I'm gonna have stock boost levels by the 2nd lap at the track (at 268).
__________________
"I'm not sure what the price difference is, but the BMW feels $15,000 better." -Edmunds, 2007
335lvr is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-06-2009, 01:07 AM   #64
Humtek
Vishnu Powered
 
Humtek's Avatar
 
Drives: 335xi, S1000RR
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Proceding

Posts: 2,205
iTrader: (7)

I think most with an oil cooler don't see above 250, I know I don't, but there are days when I'm exactly at 250. So does this mean I will start dropping boost or is it when I hit 251? I think it should be 5 degrees more 255?
__________________
2008 335xi Sedan | Titanium Silver | Black Dakota
PROcede v5 | Vishnu Exhaust | BMS DCI | AR Catless DPs | Helix FMIC | Stett Charge w/ Tial BOV | MORR VS8s | KWv3
Humtek is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-06-2009, 11:57 AM   #65
Ville
Private
 
Ville's Avatar
 
Drives: 335iA -07
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Aberdeen / Turku

Posts: 59
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scalbert View Post
Select the Map 2 Ign Cor. field and then hit the tab button. That will then select the OK button and hit enter.
Thanks Scalbert!!! Finally got it working!!
__________________
Vishnu-Quaife-AR-Helix-BMS-Stett-Tial-McKinney
Ville is offline   Finland
0
Reply With Quote
      07-06-2009, 02:19 PM   #66
cbad335
Lieutenant Colonel
 
cbad335's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, CA

Posts: 1,733
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lotus99 View Post
So is it now down to 70% for both transmissions?
Yes, for Stage 1.
__________________

| 6MT | ZSP | ZPP |
cbad335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST