E90Post
 


PYSPEED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Calling out ALL forum members who's running COMPLETELY catless....



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-11-2009, 11:24 AM   #1
cstmx_ryder
Colonel
 
cstmx_ryder's Avatar
 
Drives: A metal box with a roundel
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portland, OR

Posts: 2,747
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to cstmx_ryder Send a message via MSN to cstmx_ryder
Exclamation Calling out ALL forum members who's running COMPLETELY catless....

I just want to try and isolate the issues/codes I'm seeing.

P0300 Random/Multiple Cylinder Misfire Detected
P0302 Cylinder 2 Misfire Detected
P0303 Cylinder 3 Misfire Detected
P2096 Post Catalyst Fuel Trim Bank 1 System Too Lean

Has anyone thrown those codes once going completely catless??

If was suggested by another member that running catless DPs was my problem. But I'm not completely catless, still have the OEM exhaust. I just want to see if other members can verify that as well............

TIA
__________________

'08 AW E90 335i
PROcede V5 | BMS DCI | RR DPs | ETS FMIC | FORGE DVs | Stett CP | Vanguard | PSS10
cstmx_ryder is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2009, 11:28 AM   #2
Humtek
Vishnu Powered
 
Humtek's Avatar
 
Drives: 335xi, S1000RR
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Proceding

Posts: 2,205
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cstmx_ryder View Post
I just want to try and isolate the issues/codes I'm seeing.

P0300 Random/Multiple Cylinder Misfire Detected
P0302 Cylinder 2 Misfire Detected
P0303 Cylinder 3 Misfire Detected
P2096 Post Catalyst Fuel Trim Bank 1 System Too Lean

Has anyone thrown those codes once going completely catless??

If was suggested by another member that running catless DPs was my problem. But I'm not completely catless, still have the OEM exhaust. I just want to see if other members can verify that as well............

TIA
It doesn't seem that going catless is causing the problem. Your running lean and having misfires. Possibly bad gas? Try lowering your UT and see what happens.
__________________
2008 335xi Sedan | Titanium Silver | Black Dakota
PROcede v5 | Vishnu Exhaust | BMS DCI | AR Catless DPs | Helix FMIC | Stett Charge w/ Tial BOV | MORR VS8s | KWv3
Humtek is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2009, 11:58 AM   #3
Xander
I'm new
 
Xander's Avatar
 
Drives: 997 carrera, Golf R
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY

Posts: 248
iTrader: (4)

Did you hook up your O2 sims (the wrong way maybe)?
Xander is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2009, 12:34 PM   #4
JayKay335i
Banned
 
Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

Posts: 5,047
iTrader: (1)

You shouldn't be misfiring from going catless.
JayKay335i is offline   Egypt
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2009, 12:41 PM   #5
riceygts
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 09 N54 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Irvine, CA

Posts: 264
iTrader: (1)

I didn't have those codes when going completely catless.
riceygts is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2009, 01:19 PM   #6
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,007
iTrader: (4)

I'm completely catless and haven't seen those codes
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

jpsimon is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2009, 01:32 PM   #7
thread killer
Banned
 
Drives: faster then your car
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: pulling away

Posts: 472
iTrader: (3)

your running lean on bank1. whats odd is its saying POST cat o2 is too lean. fuel trim is calculated off of PRE cat o2 sensors. POST cats are just for efficiancy monitoring of the cats.


bad injector. this could be an injector spraying too much or too little. too much, and it sees the BANK running rich, and will trim all 3 down to figgure out WTF is going on.
too little, and it will try to increase all 3 trying to figgure out WTF is going on, but will notice that fueling more causes more fuel, thus trims back down again. make sense?
bad gas.
bad tune.
thread killer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2009, 01:35 PM   #8
ar design
 
ar design's Avatar
 
Drives: '86 325ES+S50, '01 TT QC
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denver, CO

Posts: 4,408
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to ar design Send a message via MSN to ar design Send a message via Yahoo to ar design
That has nothing to do with running catless. Tune/gas issue probably.
ar design is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2009, 02:29 PM   #9
A418t81
Major
 
Drives: F80 M3/997TT
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Birmingham Al

Posts: 1,306
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ar design View Post
That has nothing to do with running catless. Tune/gas issue probably.
Likely neither. It's related to a single bank so likely there's a bank 1 primary 02 sensor issue, a much less likely culprit is an injector problem.
__________________
'15 AW/SO F80 M3 6MT: IND cosmetic package, Gloss black grill surrounds, Macht schnell 15mm spacers all around, 3M crystalline
07 997 TT 6MT, Arctic Silver/Sea Blue: AWE exhaust, GIAC flash, H&R, 19" BBS CH-R in widebody fitment
A418t81 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2009, 03:11 PM   #10
Rylen
Colonel
 
Rylen's Avatar
 
Drives: White 335i Sedan
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Orange County CA

Posts: 2,810
iTrader: (2)

I thought this was gonna be a Pro Green Earth thread
Rylen is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2009, 07:13 PM   #11
thread killer
Banned
 
Drives: faster then your car
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: pulling away

Posts: 472
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by A418t81 View Post
Likely neither. It's related to a single bank so likely there's a bank 1 primary 02 sensor issue, a much less likely culprit is an injector problem.


exactly. did you not read my post? what do you think 90% of all trim issues are? either too much fuel (injector) or too much air (air leak, or once again: injector)


if you want to eliminate the 02, just swap them bank to bank and see if the trim issue goes with it. if not, then its NOT the o2 sensor.
thread killer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2009, 07:17 PM   #12
MrChessy
Magical Pill...
 
MrChessy's Avatar
 
Drives: wreckless
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Smallville

Posts: 12,775
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ar design View Post
That has nothing to do with running catless. Tune/gas issue probably.
+1
__________________
MrChessy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2009, 07:17 PM   #13
MrChessy
Magical Pill...
 
MrChessy's Avatar
 
Drives: wreckless
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Smallville

Posts: 12,775
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 09AlpineTTSedan View Post
I thought this was gonna be a Pro Green Earth thread
__________________
MrChessy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-12-2009, 02:27 PM   #14
cstmx_ryder
Colonel
 
cstmx_ryder's Avatar
 
Drives: A metal box with a roundel
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portland, OR

Posts: 2,747
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to cstmx_ryder Send a message via MSN to cstmx_ryder
Quote:
Originally Posted by Humtek View Post
It doesn't seem that going catless is causing the problem. Your running lean and having misfires. Possibly bad gas? Try lowering your UT and see what happens.
Bad gas? Maybe once in a while, but not 4 times in 2 weeks? My tq value is at default on stg 3, which is 85%, should I lower it to 80%?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xander View Post
Did you hook up your O2 sims (the wrong way maybe)?
I'm sure I hooked it up right, I double checked all the wiring and connections...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKay335i View Post
You shouldn't be misfiring from going catless.
That's what I thought!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by riceygts View Post
I didn't have those codes when going completely catless.
Never heard of that either until one member brought it up as that being the issue.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsimon View Post
I'm completely catless and haven't seen those codes


Quote:
Originally Posted by thread killer View Post
your running lean on bank1. whats odd is its saying POST cat o2 is too lean. fuel trim is calculated off of PRE cat o2 sensors. POST cats are just for efficiancy monitoring of the cats.


bad injector. this could be an injector spraying too much or too little. too much, and it sees the BANK running rich, and will trim all 3 down to figgure out WTF is going on.
too little, and it will try to increase all 3 trying to figgure out WTF is going on, but will notice that fueling more causes more fuel, thus trims back down again. make sense?
bad gas.
bad tune.
I thought it might be the injectors......This morning it gave me those codes again, so I switched coil 2 with 1, and 3 with 4, and problem persisted. So that led me to think that it's faulty injectors in cylinder 2 & 3?

Bad tune? I've had the PROcede for about a year now and just two weeks ago it started giving me this problem. Wouldn't it show much earlier if it were the tune? Just curious.........

TIA
__________________

'08 AW E90 335i
PROcede V5 | BMS DCI | RR DPs | ETS FMIC | FORGE DVs | Stett CP | Vanguard | PSS10
cstmx_ryder is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-12-2009, 04:19 PM   #15
TMR
Colonel
 
TMR's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

Posts: 2,766
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by riceygts View Post
I didn't have those codes when going completely catless.
+1
TMR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-12-2009, 04:35 PM   #16
hun77777
Brigadier General
 
hun77777's Avatar
 
Drives: SG E92
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Seattle WA

Posts: 4,624
iTrader: (58)

i would go dig up on bad gas -> spark plugs -> injectors and coils, rather than cat... i had some code on o2 sensors and misfires but it stopped when i put new spark plugs...
__________________
SGE92TT......................... 12.331 Sec @ 117.89 Mph............................POWERED BY
l BMS DCI l HELIX IC l FORGE DVs l RR OCC & CP & SCOOPS l AR 3" DPs l AE QUADs l BLISTEIN PSS10 l P3 VENT GUAGE l VISHNU PROCEDE V4 AUTOTUNE l Lots of Window Stickers

hun77777 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-12-2009, 04:36 PM   #17
lpphreakx06
Professional Moose Racer
 
lpphreakx06's Avatar
 
Drives: SG 335i E92
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bellevue, Wa

Posts: 7,226
iTrader: (25)

hmm He recently changed them out iirc
__________________

BMW Dream Team PNW Chapter, member #1
|HP Autowerks | AR DESIGN | BMW PERFORMANCE | STOP TECH | Volk Racing| AMS | ARKYM
lpphreakx06 is offline   Vietnam
0
Reply With Quote
      07-12-2009, 04:51 PM   #18
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Sounds like one of the o2 sensors was damaged during the dp install.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-12-2009, 04:56 PM   #19
cstmx_ryder
Colonel
 
cstmx_ryder's Avatar
 
Drives: A metal box with a roundel
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portland, OR

Posts: 2,747
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to cstmx_ryder Send a message via MSN to cstmx_ryder
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpphreakx06 View Post
hmm He recently changed them out iirc
^^yes, about 4-5 months ago, all six of them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Sounds like one of the o2 sensors was damaged during the dp install.
But wouldn't that show up much sooner? I've had the CL DPs and tune for about a year or so.......Nothing until now..........

Thinking about reverting back to the 5-29 maps.....

Shiv, is it okay to run the 5-29 maps on the newest firmware? Or do I have to reload the previous firmware?

TIA
__________________

'08 AW E90 335i
PROcede V5 | BMS DCI | RR DPs | ETS FMIC | FORGE DVs | Stett CP | Vanguard | PSS10
cstmx_ryder is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-12-2009, 05:04 PM   #20
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cstmx_ryder View Post
^^yes, about 4-5 months ago, all six of them.



But wouldn't that show up much sooner? I've had the CL DPs and tune for about a year or so.......Nothing until now..........

Thinking about reverting back to the 5-29 maps.....

Shiv, is it okay to run the 5-29 maps on the newest firmware? Or do I have to reload the previous firmware?

TIA
These codes should have nothing to do with the maps. But the rule of thumb is to use the newest maps (7-03) with the newest firmware. I don't recommend updating one without the other. But I don't think that would fix the problem which is likely to be hardware related.

Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-12-2009, 05:16 PM   #21
cstmx_ryder
Colonel
 
cstmx_ryder's Avatar
 
Drives: A metal box with a roundel
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portland, OR

Posts: 2,747
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to cstmx_ryder Send a message via MSN to cstmx_ryder
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
These codes should have nothing to do with the maps. But the rule of thumb is to use the newest maps (7-03) with the newest firmware. I don't recommend updating one without the other. But I don't think that would fix the problem which is likely to be hardware related.

Shiv
I didn't think so either, but I thought I'd try all options to eliminate what's NOT causing the problem/issue.......

So your saying that it might be the O2 sensors? Or the RR O2 SIMS?
__________________

'08 AW E90 335i
PROcede V5 | BMS DCI | RR DPs | ETS FMIC | FORGE DVs | Stett CP | Vanguard | PSS10
cstmx_ryder is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-12-2009, 05:19 PM   #22
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cstmx_ryder View Post
I didn't think so either, but I thought I'd try all options to eliminate what's NOT causing the problem/issue.......

So your saying that it might be the O2 sensors? Or the RR O2 SIMS?
Best thing to do would be eliminate variables. First thing would be to remove the RR o2 sims and see what happens.

Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST