E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Where to get my brake sensor reset?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-21-2009, 11:43 PM   #1
muvaside
Second Lieutenant
 
muvaside's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SoCal

Posts: 268
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to muvaside
Where to get my brake sensor reset?

I just got done replacing my rotors , brake pads and sensor for the rear(59kmiles no warranty).Question is "WHERE DO i GET MY BRAKE LIGHT SENSOR RESET WITHOUT GETTING RAPED !" I'm in SoCal in Valencia also close to northridge and LA.
muvaside is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2009, 11:54 PM   #2
jli801
Nice and Slow...
 
jli801's Avatar
 
Drives: 07335
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: DC, CA

Posts: 212
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
dont they sell those BMW code resetters/ code readers online somewhere? dont quote me on that.

maybe bmw would be nice and do it for free? NAH!
jli801 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2009, 12:09 AM   #3
muvaside
Second Lieutenant
 
muvaside's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SoCal

Posts: 268
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to muvaside
Quote:
Originally Posted by jli801 View Post
dont they sell those BMW code resetters/ code readers online somewhere? dont quote me on that.

maybe bmw would be nice and do it for free? NAH!
I tried , they blew me off
muvaside is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2009, 12:32 AM   #4
jli801
Nice and Slow...
 
jli801's Avatar
 
Drives: 07335
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: DC, CA

Posts: 212
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by muvaside View Post
I tried , they blew me off
maybe you can talk to a bmw tech in person maybe slip him some cash and have him do it for you when he's off work? (assuming its just a little hand-held machine)

-Jeff
jli801 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2009, 12:35 AM   #5
wj4
Major General
 
Drives: E90 manual 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burbank, CA

Posts: 7,723
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to wj4
My friend has a shop in Chatsworth, I will ask him if his tech can do it.

BTW have you replaced your belt, spark plugs or anything else yet? One of the few 335's on here over the 50k threshold!
wj4 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2009, 12:56 AM   #6
Orient330iNYC
Major
 
Drives: 2013 335i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wall St

Posts: 1,337
iTrader: (2)

try this:
turn the car on to radio readiness mode (two pushes of the start button without the clutch or brake pressed in) so the warning lights come up but the engine doesnt start.

let the car sit in this state for a minute or two. the light should go out.

this is how you would reset the warning light on older bmws after replacing the sensor. do not know if it applies to the E9x
__________________
Past: 2001 Orientblue E46 330i
Past: 2004 S60R 6MT
Past: 2007 E90 335i 6MT
Past: 2010 335xi ZMP, BMW Performance Kit, BMW Performance Exhaust
Present: 2013 335i 6MT ZMM/ZDH/ZTP/3AG/494/508
Orient330iNYC is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2009, 01:04 AM   #7
muvaside
Second Lieutenant
 
muvaside's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SoCal

Posts: 268
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to muvaside
Quote:
Originally Posted by wj4 View Post
My friend has a shop in Chatsworth, I will ask him if his tech can do it.

BTW have you replaced your belt, spark plugs or anything else yet? One of the few 335's on here over the 50k threshold!
jst spark plugs
muvaside is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2009, 01:48 AM   #8
SoCalTech
Captain
 
Drives: Not a BMW yet...
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Redondo Beach, Ca

Posts: 649
iTrader: (0)

You can do the reset yourself with no tools. Search for the service light reset DIY on this site. If you cannot get it, PM me and I'll either try to walk you through it, or you can come see me in person and I'll do it for you.
SoCalTech is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2009, 01:54 AM   #9
snohman
Volk Whore
 
snohman's Avatar
 
Drives: nothing
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Home

Posts: 18,832
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to snohman
+1

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51049
snohman is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2009, 02:49 AM   #10
bimmerlex
Captain
 
bimmerlex's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 LCI / E70 X5 xDr35d
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SoCal.

Posts: 841
iTrader: (24)

Garage List
I can do it
bimmerlex is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2009, 10:31 PM   #11
muvaside
Second Lieutenant
 
muvaside's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SoCal

Posts: 268
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to muvaside
So there is two ways of resetting the sensor , DIY or mechanical tool ?
muvaside is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2009, 10:49 PM   #12
SoCalTech
Captain
 
Drives: Not a BMW yet...
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Redondo Beach, Ca

Posts: 649
iTrader: (0)

The only tool is the diagnostic computer. If you do not have that, then you can do it through the cluster. The special reset tool was only used on cars with a round diagnostic connector under the hood.
SoCalTech is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2009, 12:17 AM   #13
Brianbmwboy
Private
 
Drives: 2007 335I E90/Step/Paddle/Sprt
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Spokane Washington

Posts: 74
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by snohman View Post
Dude, You are the man, thanks for this post, totally saved me 3 hrs at the dealership!! Way cool service menu info!!


Thanks so much !
Brianbmwboy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-30-2009, 10:59 PM   #14
muvaside
Second Lieutenant
 
muvaside's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SoCal

Posts: 268
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to muvaside
Quote:
Originally Posted by snohman View Post
Thx Snohman! This link solved my problem,don't have to deal with finding a place to pay and reset it !
muvaside is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST