E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Dinan Software



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-28-2009, 11:29 PM   #1
mkPOTO
Mr. Nice Says Hello
 
mkPOTO's Avatar
 
Drives: 1999 528I
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA

Posts: 15,334
iTrader: (23)

Garage List
Dinan Software

Long story short, I got all my books and paperwork for my 335i (minus my dam navigation dvd grrr) anyways, I just found a reciept of a install of Dinan Software done by a dealership. So I was wondering how am i able to find out if it is still there? Being that it was traded I was wondering how am I able to find out if its still there? And what kind of differences will i notice?
__________________
Evolve Automotive Representative
EVOLVE BMW E92 M3
mkPOTO is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-28-2009, 11:34 PM   #2
Lotus99
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Lotus99's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada

Posts: 1,555
iTrader: (1)

LOL! You can't tell if you're running around 380 HP vs. 300 HP?
Lotus99 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-28-2009, 11:42 PM   #3
mkPOTO
Mr. Nice Says Hello
 
mkPOTO's Avatar
 
Drives: 1999 528I
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA

Posts: 15,334
iTrader: (23)

Garage List
I've noticed a difference but I haven't ever beaten on a 335i before haha
__________________
Evolve Automotive Representative
EVOLVE BMW E92 M3
mkPOTO is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-28-2009, 11:59 PM   #4
mkPOTO
Mr. Nice Says Hello
 
mkPOTO's Avatar
 
Drives: 1999 528I
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA

Posts: 15,334
iTrader: (23)

Garage List
Also how can I find out what version my dinan is?
__________________
Evolve Automotive Representative
EVOLVE BMW E92 M3
mkPOTO is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2009, 12:02 AM   #5
ak335
Lieutenant Colonel
 
ak335's Avatar
 
Drives: Cayman S
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Northern Va

Posts: 1,566
iTrader: (3)

So you have dinan and a JB3
__________________
ak335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2009, 07:00 AM   #6
mkPOTO
Mr. Nice Says Hello
 
mkPOTO's Avatar
 
Drives: 1999 528I
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA

Posts: 15,334
iTrader: (23)

Garage List
no jb3 has not been installed, i wasnt planning on putting it in until i got my car serviced this friday
__________________
Evolve Automotive Representative
EVOLVE BMW E92 M3
mkPOTO is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2009, 07:04 AM   #7
I335
Brigadier General
 
I335's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335i Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New England

Posts: 4,251
iTrader: (11)

You should really find out if the Dinan software is there because if it is you shouldn't install the JB3 on top of it. If I were you I'd just find another stock 335 to test drive. I would imagine you'd notice the difference... Good luck and hope you have it!
I335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2009, 07:48 AM   #8
CubanJJ09
Banned
 
Drives: like an asshole
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago Burbs

Posts: 12,692
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [3.09]
Send a message via AIM to CubanJJ09
i got dinan, call the dealership give them your vin and they can tell you. or just put it in sport mode take the dtc off and gun it. if you get plenty of wheel spin you got it
CubanJJ09 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2009, 08:26 AM   #9
canesr1
Lieutenant
 
canesr1's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 Metallic Black
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: East Coast

Posts: 592
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CubanJJ09 View Post
i got dinan, call the dealership give them your vin and they can tell you. or just put it in sport mode take the dtc off and gun it. if you get plenty of wheel spin you got it
Call dealership with vin or call dinan directly. Either one will get you your answer
__________________

2007 E92 Metallic Black, Black interior, brushed aluminum, 6MT, Nav, 6FL, 20% ceramic tints, OEM Front Lip, Dinan Stage 2 Rev2, 19''s M6 Reps
canesr1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2009, 10:41 AM   #10
mkPOTO
Mr. Nice Says Hello
 
mkPOTO's Avatar
 
Drives: 1999 528I
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA

Posts: 15,334
iTrader: (23)

Garage List
I just called Dinan and they told me my car is equiped with dinan stage 1 software. Not much of a gain for 1999.99.. haha

anyone know if it is worth it 500 to upgrade to stage 2?
and I was wondering if anyone has went in for the recall from Dinan? I just saw a post about how stage 1 was recalled and people were able to upgrade to stage 2 from the dealership.

Hey Cuban, where in chicago do you go? and are you running stage 2?
__________________
Evolve Automotive Representative
EVOLVE BMW E92 M3
mkPOTO is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2009, 10:44 AM   #11
Mike@N54Tuning.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: 07335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Earth

Posts: 14,311
iTrader: (86)

I think Dinan will only be able to tell you that it was loaded at one time, not if its still there. The dealership may have flashed the ECU back to stock.

Mike
Mike@N54Tuning.com is online now   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2009, 10:48 AM   #12
Zeph
Major
 
Drives: 2008 E92 335i 6MT SGM CR/BD
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southeast USA

Posts: 1,393
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to Zeph Send a message via Yahoo to Zeph
There are requirements for Stage 2 and Stage 3, but I don't remember exactly what and don't care to look it up. Things like Dinan FMIC, Dinan upgraded oil cooler, Dinan axle-back "exhaust" are required at some point.
Zeph is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2009, 10:55 AM   #13
cstavaru
Brigadier General
 
cstavaru's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i M Sport Sedan 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Posts: 3,235
iTrader: (0)

I think you should go to Dinan and ask them to reflash you. Your dealership may have flashed the car back to stock at one point in time...you never know.
cstavaru is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2009, 10:58 AM   #14
Sniz
Lieutenant General
 
Sniz's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

Posts: 10,559
iTrader: (1)

buy a boost gauge, you will need one anyway

get rixstrs vent gauge and you'll be good to go.
__________________
Sniz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2009, 01:13 PM   #15
roozie2001
Just some guy
 
roozie2001's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 White 335i sedan
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 1,529
iTrader: (4)

just go dyno it. if ur anything over 300 whp. then your flashed.
__________________
2008 BMW 335i/Sedan/Alpine White/Terra/Steptronic/Premium Package/Sports package/Comfort Access/USB/Sirius
roozie2001 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2009, 01:28 PM   #16
badass335
Lieutenant Colonel
 
badass335's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i E90 AT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Surrey, BC

Posts: 1,795
iTrader: (10)

I thought Dinan was not transferrable so the OP would be out of luck if the car was flashed back to stock by BMW
badass335 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2009, 01:49 PM   #17
CubanJJ09
Banned
 
Drives: like an asshole
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago Burbs

Posts: 12,692
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [3.09]
Send a message via AIM to CubanJJ09
Warranty doesn't transfer. So I'm not sure if they'd charge for a reflash. Knowning dinan they prob would
CubanJJ09 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2009, 02:05 PM   #18
dlbrooks18
Brigadier General
 
dlbrooks18's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 3,551
iTrader: (2)

I'd bet that the car no longer has the Dinan and was flashed with the latest software. Stage 2 upgrade requires OEM or Dinan upgraded oil cooler.. I have Dinan stage 2 and it's just not powerful enough for me.. I'd go with JB3
dlbrooks18 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2009, 02:35 PM   #19
mkPOTO
Mr. Nice Says Hello
 
mkPOTO's Avatar
 
Drives: 1999 528I
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA

Posts: 15,334
iTrader: (23)

Garage List
I just got off the phone with Dinan, they told me that I am covered and it does pass over to me the new owner of the vehicle. The software stays with the vin of the car and regardless of who owns it will still be covered. They told me to take it in and they will have the dealership send out my ecu to get reflashed, but I think im goign to get it flashed stock so i can run jb3. Thanks for all the help guys
__________________
Evolve Automotive Representative
EVOLVE BMW E92 M3
mkPOTO is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2009, 02:55 PM   #20
Angry3
All your 1 are belong to us!!!
 
Angry3's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 135i 'Vert
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC

Posts: 641
iTrader: (0)

OK, I'll bite:

1. Mk, you don't seem a bit concerned about the fact that the car was sold to you without the Dinan flash being disclosed. The Dinan flash arguably has value, but it's also indicative of the use the car had before you got it, and I would have wanted to know about it before I paid a bunch of $ for this car. FWIW the seller of the car almost certainly knew about it between the paperwork and the sticker that should be on the ECU box.

2. I thought the stage 1 code was less than $1999, did the dealer or Dinan shop rip the previous owner off?

3. Why not take the car to the nearest Dinan shop, have it checked out, and make sure the code is loaded and the car is making the power it should. The Dinan warranty should be transferable on sale, the car thus has coverage from BMW and Dinan so if it's not running properly they have an obligation to fix it.

You just got the car, why not be patient with things and see if you can be happy with a car that should be making 300+ RWHP with a full warranty before you put on the JB3 and toss those warranties away. It's one thing IMHO to choose a JB3 over Dinan on their respective merits, it's quite another to toss away a $2K tune paid for by the previous owner and the warranty that comes with it for the sake of another 30 or 40 HP.

Just my thoughts, feel free to disregard if you don't agree
Angry3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2009, 03:21 PM   #21
Kroy
Brigadier General
 
Kroy's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Posts: 3,035
iTrader: (1)

Have them reflash Dinan stage 1. It's free, can't hurt. If you don't like it, you can always have bmw flash stock for you and tune yourself.

Edit: btw, you technically DID pay for the Dinan since you bought the car. No reason not to take advantage.
Kroy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2009, 05:45 PM   #22
scott@bmwhn
Major
 
Drives: Msport 328i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houston

Posts: 1,175
iTrader: (3)

When the Dinan software was first released, there was only one software version (now called stage 2) and it cost $1999.00 and required atleast a OEM oil cooler to maintain the warranty. Later down the road Dinan released a stage 1 (for custmomers with no oil cooler) which costs $1499.00, the original became Stage 2, and Stage 3 (requires Dinan oil cooler and Dinan intercooler) which costs $2500 + OC & IC. The software is assigned to that vehicles vin number; so who ever owns the vehicle, owns the rights to its software.

-Scott
__________________
13' Msport 328i _Mperformance - Modulare - H&R_

Previous: 09' Msport 335i, 07' Msport 335i
scott@bmwhn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST