E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Off-Topic Discussions > anyone use AOL broadband ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-24-2009, 04:15 AM   #1
biscuits
Dimmer than a dim thing
 
Drives: C63 AMG Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: UK

Posts: 1,278
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
anyone use AOL broadband ?

Hi,

Got a mate who has AOL broadband and doesn't want to change to a different provider

Jobs for friends are always the worst, main problem is they live a fair distance away, so I'm trying to pre-configure it for them.

Anyway, they currently use a USB modem on their home PC and has asked me to sort out wireless for them. I've bought an ADSL router, but AOL seem to have some strange settings.

Anyone got AOL broadband and if so (WHY?! lol!) do you have a wireless router setup and working?

Cheers

Paul
biscuits is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-24-2009, 04:25 AM   #2
zltm089
Major General
 
zltm089's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i SE Coupe Space Grey
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: LONDON

Posts: 7,367
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 335i  [5.00]
they should provide you with the netgear wireless router....

call them 0844 449 5555
__________________

Current Car: E92 335i SE Dream Cars: AMG SL65 Black,GallardoSuperleggera, GTR 2012, Agera R, F430 Scuderia, DBS, EVO X FQ400, Lexus LFA, F10 M5, M4, GT3 RS4.0, Ferrari 458, Ferrari F12, R8 V10 plus, Jaguar F Type V8, Lamborghini LP700-4 Aventador, Chevrolet Camaro ZL1, C63 AMG Coupe Black, Vanquish 2012, Laferrari, GT3 991, McLaren 650s.
zltm089 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-24-2009, 04:27 AM   #3
biscuits
Dimmer than a dim thing
 
Drives: C63 AMG Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: UK

Posts: 1,278
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by zltm089 View Post
they should provide you with the netgear wireless router....
call them 0844 449 5555
Mate is out of contract, so doesn't want to sign up for another 18 months... sure they won't give them a free router without signing up again.
biscuits is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-24-2009, 04:37 AM   #4
zltm089
Major General
 
zltm089's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i SE Coupe Space Grey
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: LONDON

Posts: 7,367
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 335i  [5.00]
oh...hmmmm...not sure then...sorry.
__________________

Current Car: E92 335i SE Dream Cars: AMG SL65 Black,GallardoSuperleggera, GTR 2012, Agera R, F430 Scuderia, DBS, EVO X FQ400, Lexus LFA, F10 M5, M4, GT3 RS4.0, Ferrari 458, Ferrari F12, R8 V10 plus, Jaguar F Type V8, Lamborghini LP700-4 Aventador, Chevrolet Camaro ZL1, C63 AMG Coupe Black, Vanquish 2012, Laferrari, GT3 991, McLaren 650s.
zltm089 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-24-2009, 04:45 AM   #5
biscuits
Dimmer than a dim thing
 
Drives: C63 AMG Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: UK

Posts: 1,278
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by zltm089 View Post
oh...hmmmm...not sure then...sorry.
No probs. Do you have AOL BB then ?
biscuits is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-24-2009, 05:36 AM   #6
Richardlkay
Private First Class
 
Richardlkay's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 320d M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chorley, Lancashire

Posts: 115
iTrader: (0)

I use AOL broadband with a wireless netgear router. Not at home at the moment but I can find out the settings when I get home.

In the meantime, does this help?
__________________
Rick - E90 320d M Sport|Sparkling Graphite|Grey Dakota Leather|Bluetooth|iPod/USB Connectivity|18" M Sport Alloys|Sun Protection glass

Richardlkay is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-24-2009, 06:04 AM   #7
biscuits
Dimmer than a dim thing
 
Drives: C63 AMG Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: UK

Posts: 1,278
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richardlkay View Post
I use AOL broadband with a wireless netgear router. Not at home at the moment but I can find out the settings when I get home.

In the meantime, does this help?
Thanks Richard,

There just seem to be differing options for the ADSL settings.

Problem is, some FAQ pages say

LOGIN: use the SCREENNAME@aol.com and some say use TELEPHONENOUMBER@aol.com.

ADSL LINE: PPPoA or PPPoE depending if its an AOL LLU or not.

biscuits is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-24-2009, 03:11 PM   #8
zltm089
Major General
 
zltm089's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i SE Coupe Space Grey
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: LONDON

Posts: 7,367
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by biscuits View Post
No probs. Do you have AOL BB then ?
yes i do have aol broadband...
__________________

Current Car: E92 335i SE Dream Cars: AMG SL65 Black,GallardoSuperleggera, GTR 2012, Agera R, F430 Scuderia, DBS, EVO X FQ400, Lexus LFA, F10 M5, M4, GT3 RS4.0, Ferrari 458, Ferrari F12, R8 V10 plus, Jaguar F Type V8, Lamborghini LP700-4 Aventador, Chevrolet Camaro ZL1, C63 AMG Coupe Black, Vanquish 2012, Laferrari, GT3 991, McLaren 650s.
zltm089 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-24-2009, 03:23 PM   #9
pjs
Colonel
 
pjs's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335d
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NORTH

Posts: 2,551
iTrader: (1)

me too for aol broadband, works fine for me, wireless netgear again, get home from work with laptop, just logs onto home network automatically. Had the same email address for so long I wouldnt want to change it.
pjs is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-24-2009, 05:01 PM   #10
Porscha!
Should be on www.retrorides.com
 
Drives: Porsche 944
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Derbyshire

Posts: 3,573
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I have AOL broadband, you need to set one of the numbers to a slightly different one, I've forgot which it is but a search on google should come up with it, I use a cheap router from Tesco and it works fine

Good luck
__________________
"FIRE UP THA PORRSCHAAH" - The 80's are back!

Front Engined Porsche
Porscha! is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-25-2009, 06:34 AM   #11
Richardlkay
Private First Class
 
Richardlkay's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 320d M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chorley, Lancashire

Posts: 115
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by biscuits View Post
Thanks Richard,

There just seem to be differing options for the ADSL settings.

Problem is, some FAQ pages say

LOGIN: use the SCREENNAME@aol.com and some say use TELEPHONENOUMBER@aol.com.

ADSL LINE: PPPoA or PPPoE depending if its an AOL LLU or not.

FWIW - I use my screenmame@aol.com. Forgot to look last night. Will look later if you still need me to.
__________________
Rick - E90 320d M Sport|Sparkling Graphite|Grey Dakota Leather|Bluetooth|iPod/USB Connectivity|18" M Sport Alloys|Sun Protection glass

Richardlkay is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST