E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > engine light, 2DED....any body have experience with it



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-07-2009, 11:57 PM   #1
gian335
Major
 
gian335's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: uknown

Posts: 1,031
iTrader: (1)

engine light, 2DED....any body have experience with it

Jus got back from a long drive and on my way home, maybe the last 2 min. of my drive the engine light is on in the corner, but does not limp or flash on the main screen, just the engine light comes on. I have procede rev.2 and I did switch a map during the 1hr drive.

I BT scanned the car and the code I got was 2DED. I then cleared it.

2DED Power management, standby current control
Error will not cause a warning light
Error is not currently present
Test conditions have been completed

I have gotten this code month's ago when I had my jb3, I cleared it and it didnt come back. And so it came back again. I have not installed any tune since the switch I made 8 months ago. I also just updated my procede to the newest beta lagfix2 maps and software. What could it be? This is the 4th time it has appeared. Any history with this code shiv?
gian335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2009, 12:04 AM   #2
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
shiv@vishnu's Avatar
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,611
iTrader: (0)

According to the BT code list posted as a sticky on this forum:

2DED:
2DED Power management, standby current control
Error will not cause a warning light
Error is not currently present
Test conditions have been completed
EXPLANATION: The closed circuit current momentarily exceeds its threshold value when the TCU wakes up to perform the "Stolen Vehicle Recovery" function. This should not cause a discharged battery.
FIX: Take to dealer.


My guess is that something is drawing power when it shouldn't and the DME is wondering what is going on. Do you have any aftermarket electronics installed? Stereo amps, lights, etc,. IIRC, we saw similar power consumption codes back, years ago, when we were tapping power from the battery terminal (constant 12v) and not from switched 12v power. Have you installed anything that does that?

Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2009, 12:09 AM   #3
gian335
Major
 
gian335's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: uknown

Posts: 1,031
iTrader: (1)

rixster boost gauge, sirius satelite radio...........no amps or anything like that
gian335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2009, 12:16 AM   #4
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
shiv@vishnu's Avatar
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,611
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gian335 View Post
rixster boost gauge, sirius satelite radio...........no amps or anything like that
Any electronics getting power from constant 12v, even very low current ones, can induce that code. Doesn't have to be a heavy duty amp by any means. I recall even a 150mA draw can induce such power consumption codes. BMW is very finicky about it. Probably because there are so many electronics in the car.

Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2009, 12:27 AM   #5
gian335
Major
 
gian335's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: uknown

Posts: 1,031
iTrader: (1)

hhhm... Ive had the boost gauge in for a while now and the satelite radio aswell. So you think this may be one of the 2? Im not really 2 experienced with electronics at all, but could there be any other reason y keep getting this code?

Is there any longterm effect, could my battery go dead for this reason or maybe a faulty sensor or battery of some sort. I know I should take it in 2 the dealer, but to be honest, with all my mods... Thats the last thing I wanna do..
gian335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2009, 12:31 AM   #6
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,318
iTrader: (0)

Sounds more like the Satellite radio is doing that. Difficult to know.
Maybe your battery is getting weak and its more prone to trick that code now .
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2009, 12:37 AM   #7
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
shiv@vishnu's Avatar
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,611
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gian335 View Post
hhhm... Ive had the boost gauge in for a while now and the satelite radio aswell. So you think this may be one of the 2? Im not really 2 experienced with electronics at all, but could there be any other reason y keep getting this code?

Is there any longterm effect, could my battery go dead for this reason or maybe a faulty sensor or battery of some sort. I know I should take it in 2 the dealer, but to be honest, with all my mods... Thats the last thing I wanna do..
I doubt it could be Rixsters gauge since it gets power from a good switched source. Who installed the satellite radio? The BMW dealership?

There are really no serious side effects from this code. Unless, of course, it is warning you of a serious current draw (which I doubt) in which case your battery will spontaneously die and leave you stranded

shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2009, 01:10 AM   #8
gian335
Major
 
gian335's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: uknown

Posts: 1,031
iTrader: (1)

I dunn think its my battery, cause i do use my car everyday. I got best buy to hardwire the satelite radio for me last summer. Ill try to find someone has experience with installing things like that. But I will run this issue by my mechanic, who is a bmw tech aswell and also my friend ofcourse..

I jus dunn want my battery too die out of no where, cause the last place I ever wanna go 2 is the dealer. Thanks 4 ur help shiv.
gian335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2009, 01:18 AM   #9
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
shiv@vishnu's Avatar
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,611
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gian335 View Post
I dunn think its my battery, cause i do use my car everyday. I got best buy to hardwire the satelite radio for me last summer. Ill try to find someone has experience with installing things like that. But I will run this issue by my mechanic, who is a bmw tech aswell and also my friend ofcourse..

I jus dunn want my battery too die out of no where, cause the last place I ever wanna go 2 is the dealer. Thanks 4 ur help shiv.
Then, by all accounts, it's most likely your radio. Definitely talk to a BMW tech about an appropriate power source and relay that info to the guys at Best Buy

good luck,
shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2009, 02:08 AM   #10
TMR
Colonel
 
TMR's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

Posts: 2,705
iTrader: (11)

If the Sat radio remains on after the car has been shut off 5 min then Best Buy wired your Sat Radio directly to the batt and not a switched source and that can definitely be your problem.
TMR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2009, 02:41 AM   #11
marconi118
Captain
 
Drives: 06/07 e93 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: europe

Posts: 934
iTrader: (0)

I would wire a radio that is drawing about 15A and that I could use without the car key… at the moment I picked up the + directly at the battery terminal. Will this throw a code? Is this dangerous?
marconi118 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2009, 04:34 AM   #12
vladster
Private First Class
 
vladster's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335 ci
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Slovenia

Posts: 190
iTrader: (0)

I had 2 amps directly conected to the battery and I had 0 codes.


So I doubt this is the cause.
__________________
vladster is offline   Slovenia
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2012, 07:01 PM   #13
BES335xi
Colonel
 
BES335xi's Avatar
 
Drives: FBO+ N54xi
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Queens, NYC

Posts: 2,133
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
03/07 E90 335xi  [0.50]
Bumping an' old thread.....I just got this code few days ago a day after i installed Rixters p3 vent v2 boost gauge...Nothing else is new really. So idk?...
__________________
JB4+usb | P3 Vent Boost Gauge v2 | BMS OCC | BMS DCI | AMS FMIC | AR xi CL DP's | BT Tool | Edibias/NCSExpert/INPA BMW Coding | Cyba Quad Exhaust tips | M-Tech Rear & M3 Front Bumper | Red Cyba Air Scoops | Blacklines | Vinyl Overlays | ACS Roof Spoiler | Matte Black Grilles | LED Side Mirrors | Rear Euro Fogs | etc..
.
BES335xi is offline   Albania
0
Reply With Quote
      03-12-2012, 04:32 AM   #14
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,318
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BES335xi View Post
Bumping an' old thread.....I just got this code few days ago a day after i installed Rixters p3 vent v2 boost gauge...Nothing else is new really. So idk?...
did you read the code explanation? Did you connect the gauge to a key powered source?
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      03-12-2012, 04:35 AM   #15
tscdennab
Banned
 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Europe

Posts: 1,811
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW  [3.12]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
My guess is that something is drawing power when it shouldn't and the DME is wondering what is going on. Do you have any aftermarket electronics installed?
Like...a Procede ?
tscdennab is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-12-2012, 08:13 AM   #16
E90SoFlo
Banned
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Naples, FL

Posts: 2,675
iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tscdennab View Post
Like...a Procede ?
A procede won't draw any power when the car is off, but the COBB AP (if plugged into OBD port) will.
E90SoFlo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-12-2012, 10:14 AM   #17
BMWsky
Major
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Webster NY

Posts: 1,244
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E90SoFlo View Post
A procede won't draw any power when the car is off, but the COBB AP (if plugged into OBD port) will.
Yes it does...I know this from experience (threw the same code).
BMWsky is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-12-2012, 10:28 AM   #18
E90SoFlo
Banned
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Naples, FL

Posts: 2,675
iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWsky View Post
Yes it does...I know this from experience (threw the same code).
Strange, I have never heard of it happening.

My apologies.
E90SoFlo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-12-2012, 10:54 AM   #19
BMWsky
Major
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Webster NY

Posts: 1,244
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E90SoFlo View Post
Strange, I have never heard of it happening.

My apologies.

LOL, no...I meant the Cobb AP does.
BMWsky is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-12-2012, 11:23 AM   #20
BES335xi
Colonel
 
BES335xi's Avatar
 
Drives: FBO+ N54xi
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Queens, NYC

Posts: 2,133
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
03/07 E90 335xi  [0.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
did you read the code explanation? Did you connect the gauge to a key powered source?
Yea i did, i mean car runs fine and all...i just idk wtf is that code all about and if i'm hurting anything else with it.
__________________
JB4+usb | P3 Vent Boost Gauge v2 | BMS OCC | BMS DCI | AMS FMIC | AR xi CL DP's | BT Tool | Edibias/NCSExpert/INPA BMW Coding | Cyba Quad Exhaust tips | M-Tech Rear & M3 Front Bumper | Red Cyba Air Scoops | Blacklines | Vinyl Overlays | ACS Roof Spoiler | Matte Black Grilles | LED Side Mirrors | Rear Euro Fogs | etc..
.
BES335xi is offline   Albania
0
Reply With Quote
      03-27-2012, 10:27 PM   #21
nailer335
Captain
 
nailer335's Avatar
 
Drives: alpine '08 e92 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Arizona

Posts: 690
iTrader: (0)

any developments with this code?

I picked up another n54 and scanned it on the BT as soon as I got home today and it had this code on it. Apparently its not a big deal? I might clear it to see if it comes back... I'm assuming that if it doesn't come back it's nothing to worry about?
nailer335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-04-2012, 10:21 PM   #22
Stratman335
Registered
 
Drives: White 335 coupe
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mtl

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

I got this code and it was most probably due to the fact that I kept my iPhone charged for hours
I stopped keeping it always charging and it went away and never came back
Stratman335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST