E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > engine light, 2DED....any body have experience with it



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-08-2009, 12:57 AM   #1
gian335
Major
gian335's Avatar
12
Rep
1,031
Posts

Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: uknown

iTrader: (1)

engine light, 2DED....any body have experience with it

Jus got back from a long drive and on my way home, maybe the last 2 min. of my drive the engine light is on in the corner, but does not limp or flash on the main screen, just the engine light comes on. I have procede rev.2 and I did switch a map during the 1hr drive.

I BT scanned the car and the code I got was 2DED. I then cleared it.

2DED Power management, standby current control
Error will not cause a warning light
Error is not currently present
Test conditions have been completed

I have gotten this code month's ago when I had my jb3, I cleared it and it didnt come back. And so it came back again. I have not installed any tune since the switch I made 8 months ago. I also just updated my procede to the newest beta lagfix2 maps and software. What could it be? This is the 4th time it has appeared. Any history with this code shiv?
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 01:04 AM   #2
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
743
Rep
17,616
Posts

Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

According to the BT code list posted as a sticky on this forum:

2DED:
2DED Power management, standby current control
Error will not cause a warning light
Error is not currently present
Test conditions have been completed
EXPLANATION: The closed circuit current momentarily exceeds its threshold value when the TCU wakes up to perform the "Stolen Vehicle Recovery" function. This should not cause a discharged battery.
FIX: Take to dealer.


My guess is that something is drawing power when it shouldn't and the DME is wondering what is going on. Do you have any aftermarket electronics installed? Stereo amps, lights, etc,. IIRC, we saw similar power consumption codes back, years ago, when we were tapping power from the battery terminal (constant 12v) and not from switched 12v power. Have you installed anything that does that?

Shiv
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 01:09 AM   #3
gian335
Major
gian335's Avatar
12
Rep
1,031
Posts

Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: uknown

iTrader: (1)

rixster boost gauge, sirius satelite radio...........no amps or anything like that
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 01:16 AM   #4
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
743
Rep
17,616
Posts

Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gian335 View Post
rixster boost gauge, sirius satelite radio...........no amps or anything like that
Any electronics getting power from constant 12v, even very low current ones, can induce that code. Doesn't have to be a heavy duty amp by any means. I recall even a 150mA draw can induce such power consumption codes. BMW is very finicky about it. Probably because there are so many electronics in the car.

Shiv
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 01:27 AM   #5
gian335
Major
gian335's Avatar
12
Rep
1,031
Posts

Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: uknown

iTrader: (1)

hhhm... Ive had the boost gauge in for a while now and the satelite radio aswell. So you think this may be one of the 2? Im not really 2 experienced with electronics at all, but could there be any other reason y keep getting this code?

Is there any longterm effect, could my battery go dead for this reason or maybe a faulty sensor or battery of some sort. I know I should take it in 2 the dealer, but to be honest, with all my mods... Thats the last thing I wanna do..
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 01:31 AM   #6
enrita
Major General
enrita's Avatar
Sweden
98
Rep
7,371
Posts

Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Sounds more like the Satellite radio is doing that. Difficult to know.
Maybe your battery is getting weak and its more prone to trick that code now .
__________________
07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by MOTIV) - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 01:37 AM   #7
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
743
Rep
17,616
Posts

Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gian335 View Post
hhhm... Ive had the boost gauge in for a while now and the satelite radio aswell. So you think this may be one of the 2? Im not really 2 experienced with electronics at all, but could there be any other reason y keep getting this code?

Is there any longterm effect, could my battery go dead for this reason or maybe a faulty sensor or battery of some sort. I know I should take it in 2 the dealer, but to be honest, with all my mods... Thats the last thing I wanna do..
I doubt it could be Rixsters gauge since it gets power from a good switched source. Who installed the satellite radio? The BMW dealership?

There are really no serious side effects from this code. Unless, of course, it is warning you of a serious current draw (which I doubt) in which case your battery will spontaneously die and leave you stranded

shiv
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 02:10 AM   #8
gian335
Major
gian335's Avatar
12
Rep
1,031
Posts

Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: uknown

iTrader: (1)

I dunn think its my battery, cause i do use my car everyday. I got best buy to hardwire the satelite radio for me last summer. Ill try to find someone has experience with installing things like that. But I will run this issue by my mechanic, who is a bmw tech aswell and also my friend ofcourse..

I jus dunn want my battery too die out of no where, cause the last place I ever wanna go 2 is the dealer. Thanks 4 ur help shiv.
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 02:18 AM   #9
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
743
Rep
17,616
Posts

Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gian335 View Post
I dunn think its my battery, cause i do use my car everyday. I got best buy to hardwire the satelite radio for me last summer. Ill try to find someone has experience with installing things like that. But I will run this issue by my mechanic, who is a bmw tech aswell and also my friend ofcourse..

I jus dunn want my battery too die out of no where, cause the last place I ever wanna go 2 is the dealer. Thanks 4 ur help shiv.
Then, by all accounts, it's most likely your radio. Definitely talk to a BMW tech about an appropriate power source and relay that info to the guys at Best Buy

good luck,
shiv
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 03:08 AM   #10
TMR
Colonel
TMR's Avatar
United_States
69
Rep
2,966
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

iTrader: (11)

If the Sat radio remains on after the car has been shut off 5 min then Best Buy wired your Sat Radio directly to the batt and not a switched source and that can definitely be your problem.
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 03:41 AM   #11
marconi118
Captain
11
Rep
983
Posts

Drives: 06/07 e93 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: europe

iTrader: (0)

I would wire a radio that is drawing about 15A and that I could use without the car key… at the moment I picked up the + directly at the battery terminal. Will this throw a code? Is this dangerous?
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2009, 05:34 AM   #12
vladster
Private First Class
vladster's Avatar
Slovenia
5
Rep
190
Posts

Drives: BMW 335 ci
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Slovenia

iTrader: (0)

I had 2 amps directly conected to the battery and I had 0 codes.


So I doubt this is the cause.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2012, 08:01 PM   #13
BES335xi
Colonel
BES335xi's Avatar
Albania
33
Rep
2,132
Posts

Drives: FBO+ N54xi
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Queens, NYC

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
03/07 E90 335xi  [0.50]
Bumping an' old thread.....I just got this code few days ago a day after i installed Rixters p3 vent v2 boost gauge...Nothing else is new really. So idk?...
__________________
JB4+usb | P3 Vent Boost Gauge v2 | BMS OCC | BMS DCI | AMS FMIC | AR xi CL DP's | BT Tool | Edibias/NCSExpert/INPA BMW Coding | Cyba Quad Exhaust tips | M-Tech Rear & M3 Front Bumper | Red Cyba Air Scoops | Blacklines | Vinyl Overlays | ACS Roof Spoiler | Matte Black Grilles | LED Side Mirrors | Rear Euro Fogs | etc..
.
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2012, 05:32 AM   #14
enrita
Major General
enrita's Avatar
Sweden
98
Rep
7,371
Posts

Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BES335xi View Post
Bumping an' old thread.....I just got this code few days ago a day after i installed Rixters p3 vent v2 boost gauge...Nothing else is new really. So idk?...
did you read the code explanation? Did you connect the gauge to a key powered source?
__________________
07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by MOTIV) - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2012, 05:35 AM   #15
tscdennab
Banned
67
Rep
1,811
Posts

Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW  [3.12]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
My guess is that something is drawing power when it shouldn't and the DME is wondering what is going on. Do you have any aftermarket electronics installed?
Like...a Procede ?
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2012, 09:13 AM   #16
E90SoFlo
Banned
59
Rep
2,673
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Naples, FL

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tscdennab View Post
Like...a Procede ?
A procede won't draw any power when the car is off, but the COBB AP (if plugged into OBD port) will.
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2012, 11:14 AM   #17
BMWsky
Major
United_States
15
Rep
1,244
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Webster NY

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E90SoFlo View Post
A procede won't draw any power when the car is off, but the COBB AP (if plugged into OBD port) will.
Yes it does...I know this from experience (threw the same code).
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2012, 11:28 AM   #18
E90SoFlo
Banned
59
Rep
2,673
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Naples, FL

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWsky View Post
Yes it does...I know this from experience (threw the same code).
Strange, I have never heard of it happening.

My apologies.
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2012, 11:54 AM   #19
BMWsky
Major
United_States
15
Rep
1,244
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Webster NY

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E90SoFlo View Post
Strange, I have never heard of it happening.

My apologies.

LOL, no...I meant the Cobb AP does.
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2012, 12:23 PM   #20
BES335xi
Colonel
BES335xi's Avatar
Albania
33
Rep
2,132
Posts

Drives: FBO+ N54xi
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Queens, NYC

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
03/07 E90 335xi  [0.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by enrita View Post
did you read the code explanation? Did you connect the gauge to a key powered source?
Yea i did, i mean car runs fine and all...i just idk wtf is that code all about and if i'm hurting anything else with it.
__________________
JB4+usb | P3 Vent Boost Gauge v2 | BMS OCC | BMS DCI | AMS FMIC | AR xi CL DP's | BT Tool | Edibias/NCSExpert/INPA BMW Coding | Cyba Quad Exhaust tips | M-Tech Rear & M3 Front Bumper | Red Cyba Air Scoops | Blacklines | Vinyl Overlays | ACS Roof Spoiler | Matte Black Grilles | LED Side Mirrors | Rear Euro Fogs | etc..
.
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2012, 11:27 PM   #21
nailer335
Captain
nailer335's Avatar
United_States
12
Rep
690
Posts

Drives: alpine '08 e92 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Arizona

iTrader: (0)

any developments with this code?

I picked up another n54 and scanned it on the BT as soon as I got home today and it had this code on it. Apparently its not a big deal? I might clear it to see if it comes back... I'm assuming that if it doesn't come back it's nothing to worry about?
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2012, 11:21 PM   #22
Stratman335
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: White 335 coupe
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mtl

iTrader: (0)

I got this code and it was most probably due to the fact that I kept my iPhone charged for hours
I stopped keeping it always charging and it went away and never came back
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:54 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST