E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Boost gauge in ashtray



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-15-2009, 11:50 PM   #1
Rafstar
Captain
 
Drives: e92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MTL

Posts: 676
iTrader: (14)

Boost gauge in ashtray

I'm trying to find a boost gauge similar to the BMS one that would be able fit and close in the ashtray.I would prefer the amber to match. It doesn't matter if its mechanical or digital. Is there anyway to use the bms gauge even if I have a procede?

Looking for something like this...
__________________
2011 335xi Msport Lemans Blue/Black
iforged Essens l Pilot Super Sport l Kw V1 l Arkym lip l Procede v5 l Ar DP l ETS IC l ER CP l BMW Performance Exhaust


Last edited by Rafstar; 09-16-2009 at 12:08 AM.
Rafstar is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 12:00 AM   #2
Gumulri
Captain
 
Gumulri's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335i convertible[sold]
Join Date: May 2008
Location: La Mirada

Posts: 639
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 335i  [0.00]
NICE!
Gumulri is online now   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 12:09 AM   #3
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,318
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafstar View Post
I'm trying to find a boost gauge similar to the BMS one that would be able fit and close in the ashtray.I would prefer the amber to match. It doesn't matter if its mechanical or digital. Is there anyway to use the bms gauge even if I have a procede?

Nope the BMS gauge only work with the JB3.
Did you check this thread here? these are pretty nice: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...=ashtray+gauge
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 12:17 AM   #4
Craig@SupremePower
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Craig@SupremePower's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 Dodge Durango R/T
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 75,000
iTrader: (14)

The BMS unit can be made to fit...
Attached Images
   
__________________
Craig@SupremePower is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 02:23 AM   #5
persian54
Lieutenant General
 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

Posts: 15,722
iTrader: (289)

How much would something like this cost??
persian54 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 04:36 AM   #6
Former_Boosted_IS
Major General
 
Drives: 4 Wheels
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Planet Earth!

Posts: 5,180
iTrader: (15)

Craig, looks like very nice fab work there!
Former_Boosted_IS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 07:36 AM   #7
NRG
Lieutenant Colonel
 
NRG's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 X5 35d
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal QC

Posts: 1,659
iTrader: (5)

Craig, this fg is simply amazing. I'll be ordering one from you soon.
__________________

Retired: 2005 N52 E90 330i Sport 6AT
Retired: 2007 N54 E92 335i Sport 6AT

Current: 2012 M57 E70 X5 xDrive35D
NRG is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 07:44 AM   #8
Mike@N54Tuning.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: 07335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Earth

Posts: 14,287
iTrader: (86)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafstar View Post
I'm trying to find a boost gauge similar to the BMS one that would be able fit and close in the ashtray.I would prefer the amber to match. It doesn't matter if its mechanical or digital. Is there anyway to use the bms gauge even if I have a procede?

Looking for something like this...
Thats my leg LOL

Mike
Mike@N54Tuning.com is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 07:57 AM   #9
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: 917-939-4980
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,255
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Wow Craig that is really nice and clean, but then again, anything you do on your car is perfect...Your car is one of my favorite E92 on this forum after seeing it in person...Love the whole setup...why are you changing the rims, I think it looks perfect on your ride!
__________________

Coding E and F New York 917-939-4980
cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 08:25 AM   #10
jtsherri
Major
 
jtsherri's Avatar
 
Drives: TBD
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Metro Detroit, MI

Posts: 1,262
iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2008 135i  [5.00]
Send a message via ICQ to jtsherri Send a message via AIM to jtsherri Send a message via MSN to jtsherri Send a message via Yahoo to jtsherri
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafstar View Post
I'm trying to find a boost gauge similar to the BMS one that would be able fit and close in the ashtray.I would prefer the amber to match. It doesn't matter if its mechanical or digital. Is there anyway to use the bms gauge even if I have a procede?
A friend of mine has THIS GAUGE and I plan on getting the same thing. Here's what the "Red LED Display" looks like:



It's not quite 'amber,' but does look quite good, in my opinion.
jtsherri is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 09:17 AM   #11
Craig@SupremePower
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Craig@SupremePower's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 Dodge Durango R/T
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 75,000
iTrader: (14)

Thanx guys... my fabricator would charge about $200 for the fabrication, glass work and paint. You would just need to send me your display and ashtray and I could drop them to him as this is something done locally in NJ by a shop not affiliated with SupremePower!

Quote:
Originally Posted by persian54 View Post
How much would something like this cost??
Quote:
Originally Posted by Former_Boosted_IS View Post
Craig, looks like very nice fab work there!
Quote:
Originally Posted by NRG View Post
Craig, this fg is simply amazing. I'll be ordering one from you soon.
Thanx for the kind words brudda... your verts one of my favorites as well!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
Wow Craig that is really nice and clean, but then again, anything you do on your car is perfect...Your car is one of my favorite E92 on this forum after seeing it in person...Love the whole setup...why are you changing the rims, I think it looks perfect on your ride!
__________________
Craig@SupremePower is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 10:20 AM   #12
Nikolas
Colonel
 
Drives: 996 TT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sierra Mountains

Posts: 2,068
iTrader: (0)

It does look nice, but I wonder why everyone wants to place a guage at that location. The times you want to be checking your boost are definitely not the time to be taking your eyes off the road. There has to be a better location. A guage at the location should have a record function or at the very least a peak read. Otherwise it is a cosmetic mod.
Nikolas is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 10:24 AM   #13
Former_Boosted_IS
Major General
 
Drives: 4 Wheels
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Planet Earth!

Posts: 5,180
iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikolas View Post
It does look nice, but I wonder why everyone wants to place a guage at that location. The times you want to be checking your boost are definitely not the time to be taking your eyes off the road. There has to be a better location. A guage at the location should have a record function or at the very least a peak read. Otherwise it is a cosmetic mod.
You are right there. The BMS gauge serves as an IAT display and map switching tool, so it is a bit unique in that regards.
Former_Boosted_IS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 10:33 AM   #14
Sniz
Lieutenant General
 
Sniz's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

Posts: 10,556
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikolas View Post
It does look nice, but I wonder why everyone wants to place a guage at that location. The times you want to be checking your boost are definitely not the time to be taking your eyes off the road. There has to be a better location. A guage at the location should have a record function or at the very least a peak read. Otherwise it is a cosmetic mod.
couldnt agree more

thats almost the worst place you could place a boost gauge, even w/ a peak recall that doesnt tell much of the story of what your engine/turbo are doing.

I have my oil temp, oil pressure, and water temp in that location, but those are not quickly changing gauges so its not a problem.

A boost gauge or wideband afr needs to be in your line of sight or just out of it so you can keep the road in your vision will reading the gauge.

oh well, more people with these cars are more worried about looking cool than having it work well. For them form > function.
__________________
Sniz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 10:36 AM   #15
Former_Boosted_IS
Major General
 
Drives: 4 Wheels
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Planet Earth!

Posts: 5,180
iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniz View Post
couldnt agree more

thats almost the worst place you could place a boost gauge, even w/ a peak recall that doesnt tell much of the story of what your engine/turbo are doing.

I have my oil temp, oil pressure, and water temp in that location, but those are not quickly changing gauges so its not a problem.

A boost gauge or wideband afr needs to be in your line of sight or just out of it so you can keep the road in your vision will reading the gauge.

oh well, more people with these cars are more worried about looking cool than having it work well. For them form > function.
I would not put anything but a slow acting monitor gauge or a control item in that location too Sniz. I am trying to see if I can come up with an option that gives us gauge locations that are useful to the driver.
Former_Boosted_IS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 10:37 AM   #16
SchwarzOpsAZ
Private First Class
 
SchwarzOpsAZ's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA

Posts: 163
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Are you not considering the P3Cars vent gauge? Better location as far as not taking your eyes off the road as much, but if you want to hide it you can't really do that.
http://www.p3cars.com/catalog/p3-335...tal-interface/

I have this gauge and love it, peak recall and map switching in addition to the boost/vacuum readout.

I also read somewhere on here that Vishnu/Procede was considering a mod to the ecu to include the boost display in the gauge cluster readout.
__________________
SchwarzOpsAZ is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 10:42 AM   #17
Craig@SupremePower
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Craig@SupremePower's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 Dodge Durango R/T
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 75,000
iTrader: (14)

well in my case its my secondary gauge as i have a 41mm VEI unit right to the left of my steering wheel...
__________________
Craig@SupremePower is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 10:58 AM   #18
stressdoc
Moderator
 
stressdoc's Avatar
 
Drives: 335 E90 ZSP+
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MO

Posts: 9,786
iTrader: (0)

Annoying that no one has figured out how to tap into the ECU to rig PSI / H2O temp, etc. on to the OEM display.

I wonder why BMW didn't do this? Heard a rumor that a M3 mule has such a display.
__________________
My not-so-recent ED: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=31829
Quaife, BMW Perf & M3 suspension, V5, M-sport, ...
Please join BMWCCA http://bmwcca.org/index.php?pageid=c...&ref_by=300279
stressdoc is offline   Dominica
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 01:23 PM   #19
Alex@AKMotorwerk
 
Alex@AKMotorwerk's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 AW F10 535i
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hillsborough, NJ

Posts: 9,339
iTrader: (7)

Send a message via AIM to Alex@AKMotorwerk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig@SupremePower View Post
Thanx guys... my fabricator would charge about $200 for the fabrication, glass work and paint. You would just need to send me your display and ashtray and I could drop them to him as this is something done locally in NJ by a shop not affiliated with SupremePower!
Gauge looks amazing!!! u know i'm dropping mine off to u really soon!!
Alex@AKMotorwerk is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 01:50 PM   #20
Craig@SupremePower
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Craig@SupremePower's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 Dodge Durango R/T
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 75,000
iTrader: (14)

thank you kind sir....
Quote:
Originally Posted by nj323ci View Post
Gauge looks amazing!!! u know i'm dropping mine off to u really soon!!
__________________
Craig@SupremePower is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 01:53 PM   #21
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,864
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafstar View Post
I'm trying to find a boost gauge similar to the BMS one that would be able fit and close in the ashtray.I would prefer the amber to match. It doesn't matter if its mechanical or digital. Is there anyway to use the bms gauge even if I have a procede?

Looking for something like this...
Go with the Macht Schnell gauge panel and choose your own 52mm gauges:



More info here: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=295605
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2009, 01:54 PM   #22
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,864
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by stressdoc View Post
Annoying that no one has figured out how to tap into the ECU to rig PSI / H2O temp, etc. on to the OEM display.

I wonder why BMW didn't do this? Heard a rumor that a M3 mule has such a display.
We're actually doing this as a one-off in our Project M3.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST