E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Does one NEED a gauge?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-19-2009, 01:49 AM   #1
persian54
Lieutenant General
United_States
282

 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal


Posts: 15,807
iTrader: (291)

Does one NEED a gauge?

I'm going to upgrade from a Jb+ to a Jb3 soon

since I don't plan on running more than map 3, MAYBE map 5 if i find 93+ octane, do i need a gauge?

or would it be purely cosmetic?

Also, typically, how much does it cost for a boast gauge install?

Thanks in advance.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 01:51 AM   #2
Prowess Symphony
Major General
United_States
94

 
Prowess Symphony's Avatar
 
Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV


Posts: 5,860
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
Boost gauge is always needed for a boosted car. And installing it yourself is easy. Only a few minute job.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 01:59 AM   #3
persian54
Lieutenant General
United_States
282

 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal


Posts: 15,807
iTrader: (291)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prowess Symphony View Post
Boost gauge is always needed for a boosted car. And installing it yourself is easy. Only a few minute job.
really?

I'm not one to be connecting wires into stuff I don't know about...
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 02:03 AM   #4
Prowess Symphony
Major General
United_States
94

 
Prowess Symphony's Avatar
 
Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV


Posts: 5,860
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
Its so easy its not even funny. I could probably do the whole install in less than 5 minutes. The diy tells you exactly what to do. The cig lighter has all the wires you need. You just tap into those, run a t-line into the engine bay and thats it.

If you do get somebody to install it for you, it shouldnt cost that much.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 02:09 AM   #5
persian54
Lieutenant General
United_States
282

 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal


Posts: 15,807
iTrader: (291)

What about the dealer?

Would you need to remove it each time?

Wouldn't they see the wiring etc??
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 02:21 AM   #6
Prowess Symphony
Major General
United_States
94

 
Prowess Symphony's Avatar
 
Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV


Posts: 5,860
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
I have mine in the ashtray area. With the lid closed its hidden. The only wires visible is the vacuum line in the engine bay, but that can be kept out of sight. They wont notice the gauge.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 02:30 AM   #7
persian54
Lieutenant General
United_States
282

 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal


Posts: 15,807
iTrader: (291)

they won't notice the vacuum line?

really?
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 02:38 AM   #8
Prowess Symphony
Major General
United_States
94

 
Prowess Symphony's Avatar
 
Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV


Posts: 5,860
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
I dont know? Maybe if they are in that area. But no way if they are just changing the oil doing a service. And the vacuum line can be fairly well concealed. Mine is hidden from site. Only on the line where the t is, can you see the line.

It would be too tough to take the vacuum line out for every dealer visit.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 02:57 AM   #9
e.n335
Moderator
Austria
97

 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH


Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by persian54 View Post
I'm going to upgrade from a Jb+ to a Jb3 soon

since I don't plan on running more than map 3, MAYBE map 5 if i find 93+ octane, do i need a gauge?

or would it be purely cosmetic?

Also, typically, how much does it cost for a boast gauge install?

Thanks in advance.
Yes, you need a boost gauge on a tuned 335i. It shows whether your system is wealthy or you have a problem by measuring the vacuum and boost pressure. A datalogger might be a good idea as well, but it shows problems usually after the fact ( at least I am not able to drive progressive and watch a laptop display ) which might be too late.

Cheers,
Eugen
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 07:15 AM   #10
themyst
Major General
South Korea
86

 
themyst's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i LCI
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC


Posts: 6,602
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to themyst
A boost gauge pinpointed a major boost leak for me that I brought to the dealer's attention. Without the boost gauge, I might have "thought" my car was slower but no way to physically tell. Needless to say, when I got my car back, it was boosting 15-16 psi, compared to the 12 psi it was before.
__________________
E90 LCI N54 6AT
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 07:20 AM   #11
SFD507
Private
0

 
SFD507's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 e90 335xi
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY


Posts: 50
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to SFD507
Are you tuned? I thought our cars ran like 11 stock, and around 15 you started running the risk of blowing the stock DVs etc.
__________________


The pedal on the right makes the things in the mirrors smaller.

e90 335xi | iPod + USB | Premium | Cold Weather | AP
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 07:25 AM   #12
scottp999
Brigadier General
56

 
scottp999's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD


Posts: 4,666
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by SFD507 View Post
Are you tuned? I thought our cars ran like 11 stock, and around 15 you started running the risk of blowing the stock DVs etc.
Stock is 8-9 PSI max. The car will not blow the stock DV's at 15-16 PSI. They may wear sooner, but have not even seen that happen.

Answer to the gauge question = YES!

It's very important to know when you are tuned what PSI your car is seeing.

If you have BMS, look into their tuning gauge. If you want something that looks OEM then go with Rick's vent boost gauge, nothing looks better IMHO: http://www.p3cars.com/
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 07:27 AM   #13
RiXst3r
153

 
RiXst3r's Avatar
 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio


Posts: 6,505
iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
It removes the guess work from knowing that your car is boosting properly.... I couldn't live without it!

If you get a kit like mine with a full plug and play kit, the install is super easy, we even give you a video to follow along with.

-Rick
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 08:58 AM   #14
Sniz
Lieutenant General
184

 
Sniz's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD


Posts: 10,569
iTrader: (1)

OP - yes you need a guage
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 09:09 AM   #15
CubanJJ09
Banned
United_States
133

 
Drives: like an asshole
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago Burbs


Posts: 12,692
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [3.09]
Send a message via AIM to CubanJJ09
really tho 400 bucks? someone school me on this cause i can justify that much for a gauge thought it would be like 100 or 200
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 09:13 AM   #16
McMuffin
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
27

 
McMuffin's Avatar
 
Drives: A Widebody 92
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Califas


Posts: 1,550
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by persian54 View Post
I'm going to upgrade from a Jb+ to a Jb3 soon

since I don't plan on running more than map 3, MAYBE map 5 if i find 93+ octane, do i need a gauge?

or would it be purely cosmetic?

Also, typically, how much does it cost for a boast gauge install?

Thanks in advance.
Yes you need one (I need one.) You dont need 93 octane to run map 5. I run map 5 24/7 on 91 octane.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 09:15 AM   #17
McMuffin
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
27

 
McMuffin's Avatar
 
Drives: A Widebody 92
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Califas


Posts: 1,550
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CubanJJ09 View Post
really tho 400 bucks? someone school me on this cause i can justify that much for a gauge thought it would be like 100 or 200
You talking about the digital vent one? I want this one, but the price keeps scaring me away.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 09:23 AM   #18
Sniz
Lieutenant General
184

 
Sniz's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD


Posts: 10,569
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CubanJJ09 View Post
really tho 400 bucks? someone school me on this cause i can justify that much for a gauge thought it would be like 100 or 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by McMuffin View Post
You talking about the digital vent one? I want this one, but the price keeps scaring me away.
well your driving $40-$50k cars and plan on modding them but dont want to spend $400 on a well engineered gauge that will look stock so you can keep an eye on your eye engine?? Doesnt make sense to me.

If you want to go cheap you can pick up a VEI digital boost gauge and mount it yourself somewhere. I used to have mine up on the dashboard by the left A pillar.

regardless, get a gauge before anything else.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 09:23 AM   #19
RiXst3r
153

 
RiXst3r's Avatar
 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio


Posts: 6,505
iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by McMuffin View Post
You talking about the digital vent one? I want this one, but the price keeps scaring me away.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CubanJJ09 View Post
really tho 400 bucks? someone school me on this cause i can justify that much for a gauge thought it would be like 100 or 200
Its the difference between a mass market off the shelf gauge that was made in china, or a custom hand built product made in USA and JUST for the 335.

Its not for everyone... but those who get it never regret it... the quality, OEM look, fit and finish are all unmatched. Don't take my word for it... Just ask anyone who owns this gauge.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 09:33 AM   #20
whn
Captain
Finland
45

 
whn's Avatar
 
Drives: Range Rover Sport
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Finland


Posts: 782
iTrader: (3)

I think digital vent gauge looks too much ricey for bimmer
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 09:33 AM   #21
McMuffin
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
27

 
McMuffin's Avatar
 
Drives: A Widebody 92
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Califas


Posts: 1,550
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniz View Post
well your driving $40-$50k cars and plan on modding them but dont want to spend $400 on a well engineered gauge that will look stock so you can keep an eye on your eye engine?? Doesnt make sense to me.

If you want to go cheap you can pick up a VEI digital boost gauge and mount it yourself somewhere. I used to have mine up on the dashboard by the left A pillar.

regardless, get a gauge before anything else.
No, don't like that one. I've had other priorities so thats why I haven't purchsed it. But I will

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiXst3r View Post
Its the difference between a mass market off the shelf gauge that was made in china, or a custom hand built product made in USA and JUST for the 335.

Its not for everyone... but those who get it never regret it... the quality, OEM look, fit and finish are all unmatched. Don't take my word for it... Just ask anyone who owns this gauge.
You can map switch from the boost gauge instead of doing the whole pedal thing right? Explain to me how its done and does the gauge actually tell you what map your on?
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2009, 09:43 AM   #22
RiXst3r
153

 
RiXst3r's Avatar
 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio


Posts: 6,505
iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by McMuffin View Post
You can map switch from the boost gauge instead of doing the whole pedal thing right? Explain to me how its done and does the gauge actually tell you what map your on?
Yes, BMS has a separate firmware file for the jb3 which enables this feature, and then I include a wire that goes between the gauge and the jb3.

The gauge has four on-screen map selections, bc.1, bc.2, bc.3, and bc.4

That is 4 slots for REALTIME map switching, on the fly, selected on screen.

bc.1 = JB3 map 0
bc.2 = gas pedal selected map (put the gauge in this mode, and it will always remember what you had selected using the gas pedal jb3 method, so you can put whatever map you want into this slot)
bc.3 = JB3 map 3
bc.4 = JB3 map 7

When you hold the button down on the front face for 2 seconds, it will display your currently selected map, just tap to cycle between all 4, and then wait for 3 seconds and it will be selected. Super easy. You can check out some videos on my site under the install guides section.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST