E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Where go usb cable from MULF2HIGH ???



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-26-2014, 06:45 AM   #1
stephane76700
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: E92 325D Sport Design
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Where go usb cable from MULF2HIGH ???

Hello from France dear Bimmer'driver !

I'm New on this forum with à great community, and professionnal in coding, retrofit

My first post it about m'y armrest usb port :
From factory, i've 6NF and 6FL with Mulf2 high in association with CIC iDrive.

I've retrofited a combox bn2000 telematic (i don't care of telematic fonction, it's Just because télématic was less expansive than média)

I wired the combox correctly and update my iDrive to C1A. All work fine, ad2p, phone, contacts, bmw live, internet... Excepted USB in armrest !

Since 2 month i search why... But nothing !

At first, i think it's was the usb hub, but under thé driver seat... nothing !
So, i've decided to follow the câble of the phone cradle.

He is composed of two cable, one antenna and an another for phone connection with only 3 wires pluged on little adaptator and go to the front of center console.

With WDS i've finally determinate my cradle was directly wired on the mulf2...

So the usb hub is not required and it's for this it's absent.

But when the usb cable on combox is plugged, nothing append ! No power, no data on phone, usb Light !

I try to follow the cable from trunk but i can't continue after rear of seat.
The connector is black With angle on combox, and my usb in armrest is White So i think is not the same cable... But where is the end ?

I tried to code usb hub M in combox, nothing.
I've seen in CIC trc file the line CCDM USB : nicht activ

What is it ?

Usb armrest is good, because at first i've plugged an bn2010 and usb work properly, but the rest not...

Thanks in advance dear friend !
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2014, 04:13 PM   #2
stephane76700
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: E92 325D Sport Design
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

I've try to code some line in cic/media trc, nothing, but when i code combox, just after seen coding ended, my phone charge during 1/2 seconds and after nothing.

I Try to code CIC : CDMM_USB on aktiv > no change
I try on COMBOX :USB1_IPOD_AUDIO : analog > no change
i try MED_SVS_EIN_AUS to aktiv > no change (i try this because the mulf2 have SVS in the complete name)

I try remove 6FL to VO and add after coding, the same result, doesn't work !
I remove 6NF but i always see in External source the icon of cradle with Not connected

Maybe I've HUB ... but where it is ???
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2014, 05:21 PM   #3
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
397
Rep
9,019
Posts

Drives: F10 Sold
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (55)

Hub is usually hidden under the passenger footwell foam which is under the carpet.
Speaking for UK RHD cars.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-31-2014, 02:25 AM   #4
stephane76700
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: E92 325D Sport Design
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

I'm in France, my steering is on the left, i will see tonight under passenger carpet.

I'll go back for post the result
Appreciate 0
      11-01-2014, 12:22 PM   #5
stephane76700
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: E92 325D Sport Design
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

No HUB under passenger seat :/

Today i cut the usb cable from combox and from usb armrest to join together directly...

Same result ! Power just 1/2 seconds and off, it's sound like a coding problem...

I don't understand, really, if somebody can tell what needed for coding usb...
Appreciate 0
      11-01-2014, 01:35 PM   #6
taibanl
Brigadier General
taibanl's Avatar
145
Rep
4,076
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stephane76700
No HUB under passenger seat :/

Today i cut the usb cable from combox and from usb armrest to join together directly...

Same result ! Power just 1/2 seconds and off, it's sound like a coding problem...

I don't understand, really, if somebody can tell what needed for coding usb...
Probably under driver seat then!

What powers on then off?
__________________
eBay FS: My warranty replacement BMW professional radio for HiFi or Stereo (non-MOST) (I upgraded to one with BT & USB). $210 OBO
Appreciate 0
      11-01-2014, 06:16 PM   #7
stephane76700
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: E92 325D Sport Design
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Nothing under driver seat, it's here I look first.

My phone charge 1/2 seconds and then off
Appreciate 0
      11-01-2014, 10:55 PM   #8
taibanl
Brigadier General
taibanl's Avatar
145
Rep
4,076
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stephane76700
Nothing under driver seat, it's here I look first.

My phone charge 1/2 seconds and then off
What cable are you using? & what phone
__________________
eBay FS: My warranty replacement BMW professional radio for HiFi or Stereo (non-MOST) (I upgraded to one with BT & USB). $210 OBO
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2014, 05:17 AM   #9
stephane76700
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: E92 325D Sport Design
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

simple usb cable from armrest to HTC One, all work great before retrofit with mulf2

The cable is good, I charge my phone on 12v>5v converter

On USB port it's little cable with white connector then plug on another cable, for eliminate the HUB question, i've raccorded directly at the connector back of combox. He is angular connector. But in directly, no work ! So it's not an HUB question...

VO don't write correctly can cause this malfunction ?
I use the revtor profil for coding, Expertmode say coding ended but nothing change and if I read my TRC after coding, he is like factory...

My CIC have USB logo in External source, and i've USB since car build, but COMBOX no.

Today I try SG_CODIEREN with expertprofil mode, maybe VO is not coded in combox and 6FL not actived ... but when the first time I code the combox, she have assimilate my VIN, all make me believe it's not that, but i've try everything.
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2014, 12:49 PM   #10
stephane76700
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: E92 325D Sport Design
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

No result ! With or without 6nr, 6nf in VO...

I've seen in TRC combox some line talking about USB IPOD API SINGLE WIRED, DOUBLE WIRED.

Somebody know what is it ?
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2014, 01:20 PM   #11
stephane76700
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: E92 325D Sport Design
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

This is my fa.trc

E92_#0311&LCSW%0300*WD31$1CA$1CB$1CD$205$216$230$2 MP$2PA$313$337$428$431$441$459$481$4MG$502$508$521 $522$534$544$548$563$609$614$615$620$644$694$698$6 AA$6AB$6AL$6FL$6NR$6VC$704$715$760$775$7SP$7XA$854 $863$881$8S3-A090+NSBK

Something are wrong ?
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2014, 03:29 PM   #12
stephane76700
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: E92 325D Sport Design
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Nobody have an idea ?

I've seen in another post add +IPOD and +KMP3.
What think about this ?

Maybe $644 must be remplaced by $633 ?
Appreciate 0
      11-11-2014, 11:18 PM   #13
PichaDis11
Lieutenant Colonel
PichaDis11's Avatar
United_States
62
Rep
1,614
Posts

Drives: E90 N52
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

Are you Encoding the CIC and combox module after you add the options to VO? If so post your trc file of both modules for us to look at...

For USB connection on combox. are you using the black port or the blue one?
__________________
...
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2014, 04:34 PM   #14
stephane76700
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: E92 325D Sport Design
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Hi, yes I encode CIC and Combox after VO adding.
Trying many time, with different profil in NCS.

USB is connected on black connector, i try on the blue just for test, but it's the same issue

My CIC and COMBOX trc files :

CIC:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bz9...ew?usp=sharing

COMBOX:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bz9...ew?usp=sharing
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2014, 05:10 PM   #15
terminator2k2
First Lieutenant
5
Rep
311
Posts

Drives: 2006 e90
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: uk

iTrader: (1)

im sure you have a usb hub some where, seen as you have 6nf and 6fl.

may be this was the same problem we had with snapin cradle and power after combox retrofit....

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=749253
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2014, 01:39 PM   #16
stephane76700
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: E92 325D Sport Design
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Hello,

I'm sure too for Hub but i check every place say on tis, diy and other, i found nothing

You think it's the snapin cradle ? Tommorow i will try to unplug any wires from cradle...

Thank You for your help !
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2014, 02:28 PM   #17
terminator2k2
First Lieutenant
5
Rep
311
Posts

Drives: 2006 e90
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: uk

iTrader: (1)

usualy if you just have 6fl the usb is wired directly to the mulf.

if you have 6fl and 6nf (before combox) then a usb hub is usualy incorporated in the system.

This is because the mulf only has 1 usb input , 6FL + 6NF requires 2 usb ports.

on cars with combox the usb for 6NR + 6FL are wired directly to the combox.

check your phone baseplate and see what cables you have.

you should have: aerial + power + usb cable

and also 1 usb cable from centre console usb.

Also check in your boot and see how many usb cables are present.

Regarding the cradle, you will possibly have to put pin 14 to ground to get the snapin to switch on.

try taking a couple of photos of connections etc to give us a clue what your looking at

your FA looks fine as is but try adding $6VA

Last edited by terminator2k2; 11-14-2014 at 02:39 PM.
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2014, 02:53 PM   #18
stephane76700
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: E92 325D Sport Design
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

I try tommorow to add 6va.

Under the cradle, i've câble for antenna and 3 others but no usb, It's curious !

But in the boot, only one usb cable and i've directly connected usb port to combox, i cut cable in boot, so if have a hub, he is not connected with my temporary installation
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2014, 03:49 PM   #19
ptpending
Captain
40
Rep
823
Posts

Drives: e91
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: vilnius

iTrader: (0)

you should try to connect your usb cable to another combox connector
__________________
E91 2006. Retrofits:High beam assistant,Individual Audio,Autodim mirrors,CIC,Combox(USB and Bluetooth),Electric Sport Seats,Light package,Front PDC, Heated Steering Wheel,Happy Robot,Climate Comfort Windscreen,Black Line rear lights.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2014, 08:30 AM   #20
stephane76700
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: E92 325D Sport Design
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

I try on the blue, on the black, no different

Terminator, when You say put pin 14 to gnd, it's pin 14 from cradle or from combox
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2014, 01:29 PM   #21
stephane76700
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: E92 325D Sport Design
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Hello ! Sorry for this long absent time, many problem with my internet connection !

Since all rework perfectly, i've download and install rheingold, great soft !!!

I've read combox fault memory, and 2 errors was stored :

USB Connection deactivated due to overloading
Snap In deactivated due to overloading

I think it's the reason my USB power on during 1/2 second at the first plug, and power off just after.

Tomorow, i will try unplug snap in cradle and see effect.
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2014, 04:21 PM   #22
stephane76700
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: E92 325D Sport Design
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

First, i'm in wrong since the begin... I've check the VO in BMW site with my VIN and 6NF is not installed factory...

I just try the test plan in rheingold,

rheingold say usb cut off when the power exceed 700mA
Since beginning, i try with my phone, my phone, like many other, use 1A or 1000mA, so when i've seen information in rheingold, i've tried with usb key.

I continue the test plan and i've seen the same error... test plan say disconnect usb device, when nothing is plugged, error is not present.

Test plan determinate the problem is a shortcut, and now i think the same.
But, where is the problem... i don't believe it's the usb connector, he work perfectly before, and just after combox installation the problem begin.

No HUB problem because i've directly wired usb connector to black connector on combox.

Cradle are disconnected

Combox is the last thing, it's telematic model, the pin 1 and 2 are wired, maybe the pin 1 overload the module ?

In combox, no trace of any burned composant or shortcut...

I'm lost !!!!!

Last edited by stephane76700; 12-04-2014 at 05:19 PM.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:46 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST