E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > RETROFIT cruise control ON E90



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-10-2013, 07:14 AM   #67
steinram
New Member
Norway
0
Rep
7
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 F31 320dat xDrive
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
There is now a small description in RealOEM.com about retrofitting dynamic cruise control with braking function.

It describes the parts needed and has a reference to the needed coding.


http://realoem.com/bmw/showparts.do?...69&hg=66&fg=95
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2013, 05:47 PM   #68
Vagsfjord
New Member
0
Rep
26
Posts

 
Drives: 325i E91 2005
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Oslo, Norway

iTrader: (0)

Early Pre LCI cars built before 09/06 (with 544) can retrofit ACC because they have LDM control unit installed.

Info from WDS, "With optional extra 544 (up to 09/06) and optional extra 541 in the E90/E91/E92, the scope of functions of the software for cruise control is implemented in a separate control unit: the LDM control unit."

Last edited by Vagsfjord; 12-13-2013 at 05:34 AM.
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2013, 01:18 PM   #69
Miloš
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

 
Drives: E92 330i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Slovakia

iTrader: (0)

Hello everybody. I´m new here and i can´t find complete manual for Retrofit crusice control. DIY

I have BMW E92 year of made is 2007/7. It´s 330i - six cylinder. Cluster is ok, cruise control is on the way. Plug and play process i hope

But where is commands for coding please? Thank´s lot for every advice.
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2013, 01:28 PM   #70
335DEE
Captain
335DEE's Avatar
England
7
Rep
734
Posts

 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

iTrader: (1)

Std cluster is no good. Need a different cluster for ACC
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2013, 01:36 PM   #71
Miloš
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

 
Drives: E92 330i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Slovakia

iTrader: (0)

I have cluster like this with red rings / circles around tacho.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...1&d=1201298709
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2013, 01:38 PM   #72
335DEE
Captain
335DEE's Avatar
England
7
Rep
734
Posts

 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

iTrader: (1)

It's the display in the middle that shows the distance to the object in front.. Yellow marker lights
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2013, 01:41 PM   #73
335DEE
Captain
335DEE's Avatar
England
7
Rep
734
Posts

 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

iTrader: (1)

Appreciate 0
      12-20-2013, 01:42 PM   #74
Miloš
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

 
Drives: E92 330i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Slovakia

iTrader: (0)

Yes it´s true but only if i want adaptive cruise control but i want only classic cc
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2013, 01:44 PM   #75
335DEE
Captain
335DEE's Avatar
England
7
Rep
734
Posts

 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

iTrader: (1)

ahh , sorry , my bad
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2013, 03:09 AM   #76
Vagsfjord
New Member
0
Rep
26
Posts

 
Drives: 325i E91 2005
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Oslo, Norway

iTrader: (0)

I already have Cruise DCC option 544 + LDM. After reading a lot about ACC option 541 upgrade I believe the cluster should be the same. Can anybody confirm this?

I want to buy ACC sensor wiring kit but can't find any. Anybody else done some research into this subject?
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2013, 04:42 AM   #77
335DEE
Captain
335DEE's Avatar
England
7
Rep
734
Posts

 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England

iTrader: (1)

I suppose the way to find out is to change vo. Then code the kombi module to say acc is installed, then see if the segments light up on turning on the ignition.?

You will need the complete switch cluster with the extra functionality on the cruise stalk which will be a rare find!

Last edited by 335DEE; 12-21-2013 at 04:52 AM.
Appreciate 0
      12-22-2013, 06:05 AM   #78
Vagsfjord
New Member
0
Rep
26
Posts

 
Drives: 325i E91 2005
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Oslo, Norway

iTrader: (0)

I think it's possible to find the ACC stalk with some patience, I'm not in a rush I might also buy newer cluster with led retrofit (they will also code it to my car).
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2014, 12:05 PM   #79
wanamees
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330xd
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Estonia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mallard View Post
hello mate

Yeah this is old news now
I / we´ve fitted a good few recently (10+) in the past 2 months and theres been no issues

As i can see , on the 4 cyls, 540 regular cc is the only option
If you want the same function on the 6 cyl, this is also possible without any hardware upgrades

its only when you start looking into dynamic cc, that it gets difficult

But coding a used is poss
You´ll need an autologic, as its the easiest imo

program the DSC
Program the SZL contact (cruise control arm part) to the car under retrofit / CIP
Reallign the steering angle sensor , and job done
Hi,

Sorry for diggin out old topic.

I'm having problems with my 330xd cruise retrofit (02/2006 model).
I have the correct slip ring installed (working, tested through INPA).
As you know, e9x 6 cylinder models came with only 544 or 541 (Dynamic or Active cruise).

----

Post above claims that it is possible to program regular 540 cruise for 6 cylinder - is it true? The parts for 544 are not expensive but i really don't care about the braking function.

We coded DSC and everything else for 544 but we didnt try 540 later on - would this make it happen?
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2014, 02:51 PM   #80
ptpending
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
233
Posts

 
Drives: e91
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: vilnius

iTrader: (0)

up to 09/2006 - LDM required for CC on 6-cyl
after - it's functions built-in in DSC
braking function is DSC function, so braking DSC is installed on all 6-cyl cars
xi/xd cars also have specific(more functional) DSC module(DXC), built by Bosch and not Continental Teves
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2014, 03:43 AM   #81
wanamees
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330xd
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Estonia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptpending View Post
up to 09/2006 - LDM required for CC on 6-cyl
after - it's functions built-in in DSC
braking function is DSC function, so braking DSC is installed on all 6-cyl cars
xi/xd cars also have specific(more functional) DSC module(DXC), built by Bosch and not Continental Teves
Information is a bit controversial...

Mallard above says that regular 540 CC would work on 6 cylinder and i've also found few post from German forums claiming that it is possible.

---

We looked into my 330xd engine soft and compared it to 530xd (2006) engine soft, that was retrofitted with 540. Looks like some important values are different and thus the 540 won't work on my e91.

Theres a slight change that the CC would work by changing these values... Because regular 540 CC don't aquire LDM module.
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2014, 04:49 AM   #82
ptpending
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
233
Posts

 
Drives: e91
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: vilnius

iTrader: (0)

it is easy to check
add SA540 to FA and code DSC,DDE,KOMBI
what KOMBI do you have, with CC or not ?
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2014, 06:55 AM   #83
wanamees
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330xd
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Estonia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptpending View Post
it is easy to check
add SA540 to FA and code DSC,DDE,KOMBI
what KOMBI do you have, with CC or not ?
Sorry, what exactly is KOMBI? Not familiar with everything
I don't do programming myself - I'm just learning by being inside the process.

Last friday we looked into car software with BMW's diagnostics software (can't remember the programs name) and saw that DCC 544 is written into software but inactive (due to missing LDM module).
But there was nothing about regular CC - so adding options for 540 might work (similar to bmw e60 soft)... I guess we will give it a try.
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2014, 08:02 AM   #84
ptpending
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
233
Posts

 
Drives: e91
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: vilnius

iTrader: (0)

kombi is instrument panel
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2014, 10:00 AM   #85
wanamees
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330xd
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Estonia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptpending View Post
kombi is instrument panel

No, regular instrument panel (speedometer), without cruise control arrows/dials.

Point is that 4 cylinder 540 CC works with this kombi - it just doesn't show the fixed speed anywhere. I wouldn't mind that.

Don't know why bmw made this kind on BS.

----

Worst case scenario is: Find LDM and instrument panel - install and program and hopefully be done.

I have'nt found correct part code for KOMBI yet. Maybe anyone knows? They are different for petrol/diesel I know, but for 2/4 wheel drive probably same? On ebay there are few panels from 2007 330d for about 140€.
There is also a lot of info about KMOBI programming - that it might just not work and it would be safer to buy new one from bmw (don't know the price yet).

LDM can be bought from 60-120€ used and 300€ new.
http://realoem.com/bmw/showparts.do?mod ... g=20&hl=19
06 Longitudinal dynamic module 1 09/2006 66316775949 $339.45
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2014, 01:29 PM   #86
ptpending
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
233
Posts

 
Drives: e91
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: vilnius

iTrader: (0)

yes, you need try to code 540 option
if it do not help install LDM and replace KOMBI
correct number for KOMBI can be take from realoem or other ETK site, but this not critical
look for those with CC dials and arrows and Diesel word
estonian or latvian private bmw shops adopt any used KOMBI for your car
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2014, 10:56 AM   #87
Puistis
New Member
0
Rep
10
Posts

 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Finland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wanamees View Post

I have'nt found correct part code for KOMBI yet. Maybe anyone knows?
Part code: 62109283837

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...86&hg=62&fg=05
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2014, 03:15 PM   #88
amaksoud
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 320i
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Cairo

iTrader: (0)

Hi,

I recently bought a 2009 320i, where I live, 320i is the highest trim level available unless you are going to place a special order for a higher trim level.

This model was assembled locally and had CC as a standard, while the car I bought is an imported one and doesn't has CC.

My question is that will it be equipped with the required wiring or will I need hand made wiring ? Also will it need recoding/programming ?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST