E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Off-Topic Discussions > BT/NETFLIX.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-23-2016, 10:48 AM   #1
John320d
Lieutenant
John320d's Avatar
7
Rep
498
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d E93
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester UK

iTrader: (0)

BT/NETFLIX.

Upto 3 months ago I had no problems getting netflix on my tele. using the bt youview settop box. then the buffering problem started and steadily got worse.
I have tried all the so called cures on the netflix forums. With no luck. I have now got involved with bt. I told them that I was hard of hearing and gave them lots of detail about what had gone before and could we converse via e-mail. I then got a phonecall from an asian, he knew nothing about the e-mail, so my mrs became the translator. After a 20min chat he said that he could not help us because it was not a bt television but he would transfer us to another person. He left us hanging for 5 mins then came back believing that he was now talking to his contact. During the following smalltalk he said that he was in Calcutta and his contact was in Mombai. Finally we spoke to Mombai and still got no sense. By this time me and the mrs. were getting a bit shirty with each and called it quits. The following day Mombai rang and asked if he could close the file. We gladly agreed. Has any body had a bt/ netflix problem and cured it. Bt and Netflix were seperate contracts. I am now thinking of getting netflix direct from Bt. All under one roof so to speak. Anybody been down this route and did it help?
Appreciate 0
      07-23-2016, 01:24 PM   #2
mob17
Major General
mob17's Avatar
United Kingdom
242
Rep
5,476
Posts

Drives: E92 335D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Midlands, UK

iTrader: (5)

BT customer service is fucking useless. Dont bother.
__________________
E92 335D
Turbo Dynamics Hybrid Turbos, Wagner Intercooler, DPF Delete Pipe with Sports Cat, Ecotune custom map ~ 422bhp & 618ft.lbs
Ohlins R&T with custom Swift rears
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2016, 10:46 AM   #3
Calluhan
Lieutenant
Calluhan's Avatar
United Kingdom
30
Rep
416
Posts

Drives: 2007 E92 335D
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Cleveleys Lancashire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mob17 View Post
BT customer service is fucking useless. Dont bother.
Word. I tried to transfer my line and BB to them. They were fucking useless.
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2016, 05:01 PM   #4
mob17
Major General
mob17's Avatar
United Kingdom
242
Rep
5,476
Posts

Drives: E92 335D
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East Midlands, UK

iTrader: (5)

I've had a btinternet email address for years. They decided to charge 1.60/month last year. Was pissed off but thought its not too bad as i wanted to keep my email. Now just realised they increased it to 5/month.

BT are cunts, they know it will be inconvienient for people to change their main email address, one we've had for 10+ years, so they charge us. I am really considering telling them to fuck off and just get free email. Its 2016!
__________________
E92 335D
Turbo Dynamics Hybrid Turbos, Wagner Intercooler, DPF Delete Pipe with Sports Cat, Ecotune custom map ~ 422bhp & 618ft.lbs
Ohlins R&T with custom Swift rears
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2016, 10:25 AM   #5
R99
Captain
73
Rep
856
Posts

Drives: 2010 325d E91 Touring
Join Date: May 2013
Location: England, United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

BT are utter morons, they helped themselves to 140+ of my money a few months ago, without permission, and I had to get their CEO involved in order to get the situation resolved!

Shocking service, probably the worst I have ever encountered, closely followed by N Power who are also an utter disgrace!

Move to Virgin Media, you wont have any buffering issues on a 100mb/sec line!

I have the CEO's e-mail if you require it?
__________________
2010 E91 325d M Sport Touring
Sapphire Black | Oyster / Black Leather | Panoramic Roof | Xenons | BMWP Kidneys | M3 Mirrors | Individual Piano Black | F3x 4 Pot Brembo's & 370mm discs | Bilstein B8's & H&R 35/20 Sport Springs | BMW Individual Hi-End Audio | 19" Genuine BBS CX-R's | Continental SportContact 6's
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2016, 11:21 AM   #6
MEGA
Dieseasal
MEGA's Avatar
United Kingdom
131
Rep
6,872
Posts

Drives: LCI E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrow, London

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to MEGA
Step 1: Move to Virgin, or if not in a cabled area, Sky at a push
Step 2: Profit!
__________________
Previously: 2003 Peugeot 206 1.6 8v | 2006 E90 320d M-Sport, 19" BBS CH, Full Ice-cold JL audio install, August 2010 Total BMW 6 page feature car. | 2003 Nissan 350Z GT Coupe 286BHP
Now:2010 E92 LCI 335d M-Sport
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2016, 12:23 PM   #7
MB London
Come as you are
MB London's Avatar
United Kingdom
72
Rep
1,408
Posts

Drives: M4 SSll
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

yep, I have been with Virgin for nearly 6 years and it has never ever missed a beat. their customer service is also half decent
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2016, 01:56 PM   #8
MEGA
Dieseasal
MEGA's Avatar
United Kingdom
131
Rep
6,872
Posts

Drives: LCI E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrow, London

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to MEGA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MB London View Post
yep, I have been with Virgin for nearly 6 years and it has never ever missed a beat. their customer service is also half decent
About 4 years ago I moved from an ADSL2+ BT product offering "up to 24mb" (actually 3mb) to Virgin because BT weren't giving me a date on Fibre in my area

I am on 200mb broadband with Virgin. Was 100 when I took it out, gone up by 50mb about every 2 years

BT eventually (2 years ago) offered Infinity, but only 30mb or so to my house apparently. They offered Infinity 2 for a while (Up to 78) but for more than double the Virgin cost, and I can't now even find it on the website.

For consumer broadband, BT are a joke ...

At least if you must go non-Virgin, go to a decent wholesale provider. Sky are lowest common denominator but in my opinion a LOT better than BT. Talktalk or plus net offer the same service for less money. Plusnet even have UK callcenters I believe


To the OP, Your Netflix is crap because BT is crap. Just change provider. Locking into MORE services from them would be incredibly foolish given the lack of support you're already getting.
__________________
Previously: 2003 Peugeot 206 1.6 8v | 2006 E90 320d M-Sport, 19" BBS CH, Full Ice-cold JL audio install, August 2010 Total BMW 6 page feature car. | 2003 Nissan 350Z GT Coupe 286BHP
Now:2010 E92 LCI 335d M-Sport
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2016, 02:14 PM   #9
John320d
Lieutenant
John320d's Avatar
7
Rep
498
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d E93
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester UK

iTrader: (0)

This is still ongoing. neither bt or netflix seem to know what they are doing. I feel like a ping-pong ball trying different cures from both sides. netflix repeatedly say " dont worry we will soon have you up and running again to watch your favourite films. I am getting suicidal.
Appreciate 0
      07-26-2016, 02:50 PM   #10
R99
Captain
73
Rep
856
Posts

Drives: 2010 325d E91 Touring
Join Date: May 2013
Location: England, United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

OP - are you trying to watch 4K? Or just regular 1080p?

Have you done a speed test on your line?
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2016, 03:06 AM   #11
John320d
Lieutenant
John320d's Avatar
7
Rep
498
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d E93
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester UK

iTrader: (0)

Regular 1080 through the BT youview set top box. Speed test is about 50ish, upload 10ish
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2016, 06:24 AM   #12
misterS3
Lieutenant Colonel
39
Rep
1,722
Posts

Drives: X70 on the way
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Glasgow

iTrader: (0)

what do you get running speedtest.net?

I'm 150mbps Virgin at home (could get 200mbps but don't see the need yet) and get on wifi 60ish down and 20 up.

Have BT Business at work which is now fibre and yeah the customer service is rubbish. Been over a year trying to sort out a billing issue which is relatively straight forward. Just run speedtest.net at work (considering all the other traffic) and getting 22 down 9 up.

My mate has Sky broadband and for various reasons struggles to get 3meg no matter what they try and he's an IT Director with Sky as a customer/client.
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2016, 10:48 AM   #13
John320d
Lieutenant
John320d's Avatar
7
Rep
498
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d E93
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester UK

iTrader: (0)

That is speedtest net.
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2016, 06:01 AM   #14
misterS3
Lieutenant Colonel
39
Rep
1,722
Posts

Drives: X70 on the way
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Glasgow

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by John320d View Post
That is speedtest net.
Sorry! Need to learn to read properly...i went back to your OP to see if you'd mentioned it and missed your post previous to mine.

Have you got access to a Fire Stick or another device that can stream Netflix?

I'm thinking that the Netflix app on the youview box MAY BE the cause.Hence try another netflix app. i.e on your Smart TV, Fire Stick etc.
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2016, 06:16 AM   #15
Ao1
Lieutenant
Ao1's Avatar
United Kingdom
72
Rep
588
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: England

iTrader: (3)

To try and trouble shoot I would do the following:

Device: Use another device to play a movie. If you still have problems that can be ruled out.

Router: If using wireless try a hard wire connection to the device. If that does not work change the router.

If the above does not work you know for sure there is something wrong with your broadband service.

Most routers only last 12 to 24 months before they start playing up.
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2016, 09:28 AM   #16
John320d
Lieutenant
John320d's Avatar
7
Rep
498
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d E93
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester UK

iTrader: (0)

Tried 2 Rokus, no good same result.
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2016, 09:45 AM   #17
Ao1
Lieutenant
Ao1's Avatar
United Kingdom
72
Rep
588
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: England

iTrader: (3)

Roku? That could be your problem right there. Have you tried Netflix on a laptop or PC?
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2016, 05:40 PM   #18
John320d
Lieutenant
John320d's Avatar
7
Rep
498
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d E93
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester UK

iTrader: (0)

All sorted. Today I received a new set top box and home hub 5. yippee.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:04 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST