E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Volume Level Display .... we friggin' have it !!!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-21-2009, 08:45 AM   #1
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
65
Rep
3,090
Posts

 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (5)

Volume Level Display .... we friggin' have it !!!

So I am pretty pi$$ed right now because I just stumbled across this:

http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showp...82&postcount=9

I had asked this question at least twice and basically given up on the idea of installing an aftermarket processor due to the fact that I could not set a constant volume level which would be required for the aftermarket processor to work effectively. I was told that a volume level display is not possible in our cars.

Hell it isn't!

Quote from the 1-series thread:

1. turn on the radio
2. press button "m" or "tp" for at least 8 sec.
3. "+" and "-" to navigate through the menu (there must be a submenu "volume" or something like that, then use the volume-knob to see how high the level goes)
4. turn off radio and on again

I immediately went out to the car and sure enough, it works! The only downside is that you have to be in this secret menu in order to see the volume level and you cannot use any other functions of the radio besides the volume. However, if you set the radio to the required volume, then turn it off and back on again, the setting remains the same. Then every click of the rotary volume button is changes the setting by "1". Again, this is displayed only while in the secret menu but you can remember the setting and just add or subtract the amount of clicks in your head if you had to without having to access the secret menu again while you were driving.

Now the only question I have is: At what volume level does the radio/amp start to distort? This would be good to know in order to be able to set the output to the max level before clipping, if you want to use any aftermarket processors and/or amps.

I have no way to measure this. Anyone care to volunteer?
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2009, 11:01 AM   #2
tintivilus
Lieutenant Colonel
tintivilus's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,826
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lake County, IL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 E92 335i  [0.00]
2003 325i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to tintivilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaigoss69 View Post
Now the only question I have is: At what volume level does the radio/amp start to distort? This would be good to know in order to be able to set the output to the max level before clipping, if you want to use any aftermarket processors and/or amps.

I have no way to measure this. Anyone care to volunteer?
If you have a laptop with a line-in, you can do a basic test for distortion. Burn a CD with sine-wave sweeps and run your line-level (via LOC) outputs into the PC. Start a recording and watch for when your nice pretty sine wave starts to deform.

You could also use an oscilloscope, but I like using a laptop so I can scroll back through the whole test, and save the results for further analysis.
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2009, 11:46 AM   #3
MrDummy
→сяuisiиg iи му вмш←
MrDummy's Avatar
United_States
27
Rep
1,643
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Space Gray 328i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The Unemployment Capitol of America

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2010 BMW 328i  [0.00]
I use the 2 person with good hearing test.

2 peeps crank it up and when they both agree it sounds bad I know
__________________
SuPerMoD @ MassMonsterz.com
A "Happy" Owner of a Metallic Space Gray 2010 BMW 328i
ProGaMeR on the XboX 360
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2009, 02:34 PM   #4
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
VP Electricity's Avatar
United_States
70
Rep
3,181
Posts

 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaigoss69 View Post

I have no way to measure this. Anyone care to volunteer?
Great... if you find some secret menu to change preout voltage later, you gonna be mad again?

I stand by my earlier position that we don't have a USABLE volume indication, but you have found an interesting and potentially useful tip - thamks!

I have done this sort of test with a 0dB 1kHz sine wave and an oscilloscope, but I've not done it on the E9x. I guess I have to do it now when I get to the next stage.
__________________
Musicar Northwest - TOP 12 Retailer 2014
OE-Look Enclosures for F30/F80, F32/F82, and more!
Ask about our bolt-in audio upgrades for BMW.
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2009, 06:56 AM   #5
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
65
Rep
3,090
Posts

 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (5)

I am interested solely in the L7 amp outputs, of course, not the head unit outputs of the non-L7 radios.
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2009, 09:18 AM   #6
MrDummy
→сяuisiиg iи му вмш←
MrDummy's Avatar
United_States
27
Rep
1,643
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Space Gray 328i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The Unemployment Capitol of America

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2010 BMW 328i  [0.00]
Will this work on an 06 standard non L7 radio?

what is the "tp" button, I tried the "m" button but nothing happened?
Do you need it on a certain function, like radio or cd?

thanks
__________________
SuPerMoD @ MassMonsterz.com
A "Happy" Owner of a Metallic Space Gray 2010 BMW 328i
ProGaMeR on the XboX 360
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2009, 10:01 AM   #7
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
65
Rep
3,090
Posts

 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDummy View Post
Will this work on an 06 standard non L7 radio?

what is the "tp" button, I tried the "m" button but nothing happened?
Do you need it on a certain function, like radio or cd?

thanks
You have to push the "m" button and hold it for about 8 seconds immediately after you have powered-up the radio.
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2009, 10:02 AM   #8
Prowess Symphony
Major General
Prowess Symphony's Avatar
United_States
96
Rep
5,860
Posts

 
Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
What do you need the volume display for? The car lowers the volume automatically when you turn it on, so it doesnt blast your ears. Then you just turn it up.
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2009, 11:52 AM   #9
MrDummy
→сяuisiиg iи му вмш←
MrDummy's Avatar
United_States
27
Rep
1,643
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Space Gray 328i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The Unemployment Capitol of America

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2010 BMW 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaigoss69 View Post
You have to push the "m" button and hold it for about 8 seconds immediately after you have powered-up the radio.
Thank you
__________________
SuPerMoD @ MassMonsterz.com
A "Happy" Owner of a Metallic Space Gray 2010 BMW 328i
ProGaMeR on the XboX 360
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2009, 01:36 PM   #10
I335
Brigadier General
I335's Avatar
59
Rep
4,251
Posts

 
Drives: '08 335i Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New England

iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prowess Symphony View Post
What do you need the volume display for? The car lowers the volume automatically when you turn it on, so it doesnt blast your ears. Then you just turn it up.
It does? I never new this! I'll have to give it a try...
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2009, 01:38 PM   #11
Prowess Symphony
Major General
Prowess Symphony's Avatar
United_States
96
Rep
5,860
Posts

 
Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by I335 View Post
It does? I never new this! I'll have to give it a try...
Yes, not sure if its a setting you have to turn on. But I turn the car off with the music blasting, but it turns on at a low volume. It even states this in the manual I believe. So no need for a volume bar.
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2009, 07:25 PM   #12
ianbiz
4th E90
ianbiz's Avatar
United_States
67
Rep
5,136
Posts

 
Drives: German
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne/Orlando, Florida

iTrader: (7)

Send a message via AIM to ianbiz
I have a 06 with Idrive what button do i push since I dont have the M
__________________
Ian
06 325 06 330 06 330 07 335 11 335 Msport
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2009, 08:01 PM   #13
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
65
Rep
3,090
Posts

 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (5)

Do you have "TP" ?
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2009, 08:02 PM   #14
Prowess Symphony
Major General
Prowess Symphony's Avatar
United_States
96
Rep
5,860
Posts

 
Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
I dont have m or tp, lol.
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2009, 08:20 PM   #15
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
VP Electricity's Avatar
United_States
70
Rep
3,181
Posts

 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prowess Symphony View Post
I dont have m or tp, lol.
You also don't read any of the threads or references about why someone might want a volume bar, apparently. It is for use with various OE integration preamp devices when upgrading the audio system.
__________________
Musicar Northwest - TOP 12 Retailer 2014
OE-Look Enclosures for F30/F80, F32/F82, and more!
Ask about our bolt-in audio upgrades for BMW.
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2009, 08:21 PM   #16
Prowess Symphony
Major General
Prowess Symphony's Avatar
United_States
96
Rep
5,860
Posts

 
Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by VP Electricity View Post
You also don't read any of the threads or references about why someone might want a volume bar, apparently. It is for use with various OE integration preamp devices when upgrading the audio system.
Nope, I certainly dont!
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2009, 08:58 PM   #17
andrew 330i
it can never be too clean...
andrew 330i's Avatar
39
Rep
1,034
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 F31 M Sport Wagon
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: columbus, ohio

iTrader: (1)

~ this worked great ...

i always hated the limitations on the volume... now i have it up to the max of 55... i may not take it that high for distortion purposes but love the ability to do so!

thanks again!!!

ps - the radio must be in "am/fm" mode to navigate through/to this secret menu.
__________________
'14 328xi wagon / m sport / white / red leather

kw v1 coilover kit / 13mm spacers (f & r) / upper strut bar / sport line grille & exhaust tips / 50% tint / painted reflectors / debadged / complete clear bra
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2009, 01:17 PM   #18
MrDummy
→сяuisiиg iи му вмш←
MrDummy's Avatar
United_States
27
Rep
1,643
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Space Gray 328i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The Unemployment Capitol of America

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2010 BMW 328i  [0.00]
^^ On my 2006 pro bmw radio I can change the display as well and it STAYS that way, I was playing with the volume when I got my car back from dealers last night and have a dot matrix style of display. It doesnt match but hey it looks cool to me.

Now I set it last night and it was still that way this morning, so I will see what it looks like when I leave work.

But it is the radio without the chrome accents on it. also what is RDS and do I want that ON all the time?
__________________
SuPerMoD @ MassMonsterz.com
A "Happy" Owner of a Metallic Space Gray 2010 BMW 328i
ProGaMeR on the XboX 360
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2009, 05:59 PM   #19
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
65
Rep
3,090
Posts

 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDummy View Post
also what is RDS and do I want that ON all the time?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radio_Data_System

Try it! (I am not sure if it works over here or not)
Appreciate 0
      10-28-2009, 05:46 AM   #20
MrDummy
→сяuisiиg iи му вмш←
MrDummy's Avatar
United_States
27
Rep
1,643
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Space Gray 328i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The Unemployment Capitol of America

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2010 BMW 328i  [0.00]
thank you I will check it out
__________________
SuPerMoD @ MassMonsterz.com
A "Happy" Owner of a Metallic Space Gray 2010 BMW 328i
ProGaMeR on the XboX 360
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2010, 11:41 AM   #21
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
VP Electricity's Avatar
United_States
70
Rep
3,181
Posts

 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

iTrader: (3)

Tested Professional HU in base Audiosystem mode yesterday. These results apply to base audio systems without amps only:

52 volume clicks. 1kHz, 0dB test track.

Clipping begins at 45, with 4.5VAC

At 48, 5.5VAC.

At 52, 9VAC!

So there is a hockey-stick to the volume, and I would tune the system for 45 clicks
__________________
Musicar Northwest - TOP 12 Retailer 2014
OE-Look Enclosures for F30/F80, F32/F82, and more!
Ask about our bolt-in audio upgrades for BMW.
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2010, 12:06 PM   #22
kmarei
Major General
kmarei's Avatar
Egypt
130
Rep
6,481
Posts

 
Drives: 1988 E30 M3 Evo II
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by VP Electricity View Post
Tested Professional HU in base Audiosystem mode yesterday. These results apply to base audio systems without amps only:

52 volume clicks. 1kHz, 0dB test track.

Clipping begins at 45, with 4.5VAC

At 48, 5.5VAC.

At 52, 9VAC!

So there is a hockey-stick to the volume, and I would tune the system for 45 clicks
i have base system with amp
and i set my amps at 45 also
anything more and you can start to hear distortion
i'm impressed with myself
i did it purely by using my ears
do i get a gold star or something?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST