E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > This is why you NEED a baseline - very "low" reading dynojet



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-25-2009, 09:14 PM   #1
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,000
iTrader: (4)

Exclamation This is why you NEED a baseline - very "low" reading dynojet

This is just an example of why you need a baseline on whatever dyno you go to. I recently switched to a dynojet that is much closer to my house and I needed some kind of a baseline... So I got a stock 335xi to come by and do some pulls. These numbers are the same type of thing you'd see at a Dyno Dynamics or Mustang dyno. This is definitely the lowest reading dynojet I've seen.

It was 70 for these stock pulls:

__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing


Last edited by jpsimon; 10-26-2009 at 09:35 AM.
jpsimon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2009, 09:20 PM   #2
Porschefile
Major
 
Porschefile's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tennessee

Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (6)

Yeah I've seen runs a full 40 whp above that stock.
Porschefile is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2009, 09:29 PM   #3
5soko
Brigadier General
 
5soko's Avatar
 
Drives: M5
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Posts: 4,209
iTrader: (4)

WOW! that is lower than most dynojets i have seen!
__________________
Current: ///M5 LCI with Evolve and RPi mods
Previous: E92 335i ||| FBO Heavy modded E90 LCI M-Sport 335i
5soko is offline   Montenegro
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2009, 10:00 PM   #4
Terrance28
Brigadier General
 
Terrance28's Avatar
 
Drives: Crimson Red E92
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Killeen, TX

Posts: 3,336
iTrader: (17)

Send a message via Yahoo to Terrance28
What did you dyno at JP?
__________________
Mods list got too long, lets just say more than enough.
Terrance28 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2009, 10:14 PM   #5
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,000
iTrader: (4)

At this place, 368/381 on a warmer (80) day. Next time I go I'll be on meth
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

jpsimon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2009, 11:02 PM   #6
Terrance28
Brigadier General
 
Terrance28's Avatar
 
Drives: Crimson Red E92
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Killeen, TX

Posts: 3,336
iTrader: (17)

Send a message via Yahoo to Terrance28
Meth is the goodness. If a regular 335i dynos on a dynojet around 270-275, wouldn't that be about right where your friend dynoed for his xi considering the awd loss? What did you dyno base on the other dyno?
__________________
Mods list got too long, lets just say more than enough.
Terrance28 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2009, 11:14 PM   #7
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,000
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrance28 View Post
Meth is the goodness. If a regular 335i dynos on a dynojet around 270-275, wouldn't that be about right where your friend dynoed for his xi considering the awd loss? What did you dyno base on the other dyno?
Na this is way low even for an XI. XI's put down pretty much the same torque (there is an old thread on here somewhere with a couple guys that did a back-to-back comparison xi vs. i) as non XI's and only 5-10whp less. Most dynojets are up around 270-280 for a stock i/xi

In cooler weather I made 398whp at the other shop:
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

jpsimon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2009, 11:30 PM   #8
ar design
 
ar design's Avatar
 
Drives: '86 325ES+S50, '01 TT QC
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denver, CO

Posts: 4,408
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to ar design Send a message via MSN to ar design Send a message via Yahoo to ar design
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsimon View Post
This is why you need a baseline on whatever dyno you go to.
Could not agree more. All the "look how much horsepower I made" threads with no baseline kind of make me chuckle.... Dynos are nothing more than a tool to measure % differences - not total output.
ar design is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2009, 12:18 AM   #9
Jerseystyle1
Boris the Blade
 
Jerseystyle1's Avatar
 
Drives: Montego Blue 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: FT Leonard Wood, MO

Posts: 317
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via Yahoo to Jerseystyle1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ar design View Post
Could not agree more. All the "look how much horsepower I made" threads with no baseline kind of make me chuckle.... Dynos are nothing more than a tool to measure % differences - not total output.
__________________
Allan

Montego Blue 335i Sedan w/Navi/Magnetic Black NISMO 350Z #831/76' Mini 1100 "SPECIAL" Export

Jerseystyle1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2009, 12:20 AM   #10
Terrance28
Brigadier General
 
Terrance28's Avatar
 
Drives: Crimson Red E92
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Killeen, TX

Posts: 3,336
iTrader: (17)

Send a message via Yahoo to Terrance28
What did you dyno stock with your xi on that dyno you did 398 on?

edit: Nevermind I just looked at your dyno sheet, very nice.
__________________
Mods list got too long, lets just say more than enough.
Terrance28 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2009, 05:24 AM   #11
Former_Boosted_IS
Major General
 
Drives: 4 Wheels
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Planet Earth!

Posts: 5,180
iTrader: (15)

JPSimon, finally someone sees the light. The baseline is the only thing that tells you anything about your final numbers. If JP dynos at 395 rwhp on one dyno and 370 on another then is his car magically making less hp? The bottom line is a lot of dynojet's are miscalibrated to show bloated numbers because they don't want their customers to leave unhappy. If you look at delta or gains, then the top number becomes irrelevant.
Former_Boosted_IS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2009, 09:55 AM   #12
Mr. 5
Modder Raider
 
Mr. 5's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Surf City, HB

Posts: 8,624
iTrader: (31)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [4.00]
I definitely agree JP!
I've said it over and over again but people still like to categorize all dynojets being the same.
__________________
e36 M3 Coupe, e36 325i Sedan
e90 335i--SOLD

Best 60-130-------------9.15 Seconds------------------WWW.MR5RACING.COM
Mr. 5 is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2009, 10:01 AM   #13
Sniz
Lieutenant General
 
Sniz's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

Posts: 10,561
iTrader: (1)

good thread

hopefully this will teach some others on how to actually dyno.
__________________
Sniz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2009, 10:59 AM   #14
Mr. 5
Modder Raider
 
Mr. 5's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Surf City, HB

Posts: 8,624
iTrader: (31)

Garage List
2007 e90 335i  [4.00]
I was just thinking about something.
Is it possible that this dynojet could have an option of putting a load on the drum?
__________________
e36 M3 Coupe, e36 325i Sedan
e90 335i--SOLD

Best 60-130-------------9.15 Seconds------------------WWW.MR5RACING.COM
Mr. 5 is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2009, 11:18 AM   #15
ar design
 
ar design's Avatar
 
Drives: '86 325ES+S50, '01 TT QC
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denver, CO

Posts: 4,408
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to ar design Send a message via MSN to ar design Send a message via Yahoo to ar design
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. 5 View Post
I was just thinking about something.
Is it possible that this dynojet could have an option of putting a load on the drum?
I believe some models do.

There is HUGE variance between our local DynoJets. A DynoJet is not always a DynoJet.
ar design is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2009, 01:12 PM   #16
cu_north
Seasoned Lurker
 
Drives: 2007 E90 335i Black/Black
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: AZ

Posts: 160
iTrader: (0)

I suppose in a perfect world you should dyno your car on this new dyno in stock form. That's the only true way to judge how far you've come.

At least you took the closest route you could by getting a stock dyno from the same model car. Good luck with Meth!
cu_north is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2009, 01:15 PM   #17
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,000
iTrader: (4)

in a perfect world I would love to dyno my car on this dyno stock, but at this point that is nearly impossible... especially with one of my stock downpipes cut in half and my stock exhaust gone
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

jpsimon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2009, 06:40 PM   #18
nood1es
Captain
 
Drives: E70
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Madison, WI

Posts: 669
iTrader: (10)

not trying to start anything but...you only dynoed one car. And tru, it would be no point for u trying to get a whole bunch of stock cars. But just dynoing one car and then coming up with.."that dyno is super low reading" if anything I'd say the car was weak.
nood1es is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2009, 06:51 PM   #19
flukey
Go big or go home!
 
Drives: E90 335xi
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Iowa

Posts: 948
iTrader: (9)

Looks like a reasonable dyno. Here is my XI dyno at AMS w/ 80-87 degree temps. Its stock versus CAI+Exhaust...
Attached Images
 
__________________
flukey is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2009, 07:41 PM   #20
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,000
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nood1es View Post
not trying to start anything but...you only dynoed one car. And tru, it would be no point for u trying to get a whole bunch of stock cars. But just dynoing one car and then coming up with.."that dyno is super low reading" if anything I'd say the car was weak.
I didn't just dyno one stock car and decide the dyno was low reading. I compared my own results on this dyno to the other dyno... and also compared stock numbers from each. And although I didn't mention it in this thread, I even did a back-to-back same day comparison: i did some pulls at the new dyno then drove to the old one and did some more pulls. The results? one dyno was much higher reading than the other.

So no, it wasn't just one weak stock car.
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing


Last edited by jpsimon; 10-26-2009 at 08:42 PM.
jpsimon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST