E90Post
 


PYSPEED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Relocating the OEM radio to the trunk to retain CHIMES w/ an aftermarket headunit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-29-2010, 11:12 AM   #23
srcstc
Major
 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,321
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VP Electricity View Post
There is a MOST cable extension?
Not exactly but you can order a MOST optical cable (61120142318). It's about $30 and 20' long. It has male connectors on both ends but you can order a female connector (61136901846) to replace one of the male connectors.

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...78&hg=61&fg=15
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
srcstc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-27-2010, 02:37 AM   #24
BRGmatthew
Bausman
 
BRGmatthew's Avatar
 
Drives: around the block
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SoCal 626/NorCal 650

Posts: 1,767
iTrader: (18)

Send a message via AIM to BRGmatthew
what happens if i dont relocate the stock unit? i lose assist? i dont mind losing the chime i mean it gets pretty annoying sometimes lol
BRGmatthew is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-13-2010, 01:38 AM   #25
DJ.E92
IG: Sin1134
 
DJ.E92's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW NA E92
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida

Posts: 246
iTrader: (0)

What if my chimes don't come from the car speakers but from the dash it self? would removing the factory HU disable anything?
DJ.E92 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2010, 11:00 PM   #26
charliemack
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas

Posts: 25
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Would I still be able to get sound of out the Aux connector with this?
charliemack is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2010, 10:11 AM   #27
piggelin
First Lieutenant
 
piggelin's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 320i E90 2005
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: -.-

Posts: 355
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by grimplinyi View Post



The pdc volume okay.
The gong volume very quiet.

I pedaled up in settings the gong volume.

From what maybe, that the gong volume small? Tipp?
what HU is that?
piggelin is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-31-2010, 03:35 PM   #28
apkraven
Ukrainian tuner
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ukraine

Posts: 126
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via ICQ to apkraven Send a message via Skype™ to apkraven
please let me know if anyone has the knowledge:
1)am i right that to relocate the logic 7 system i'll have to use metra extension kit + some generic wiring + fiberoptic cable + female connector?
2) if i want to lose chimes+assist (it's useless in ukraine, so why not) i would just replace the headunit and buy the factory bmw adapter? will all the speakers work via the stock amplifier?will i have lots of DTC indications stored?
apkraven is offline   Ukraine
0
Reply With Quote
      05-27-2010, 07:14 AM   #29
srcstc
Major
 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,321
iTrader: (8)

Those of you that also want to make the SOS error go away...

You need to relocate the headunit to the trunk following my instructions (you can skip the part about connecting the speaker if you don't care about the gong) and... you need to extend the 2 optical wires. That will make the sos error go away.

Here's what you need:
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...78&hg=61&fg=15

You need two of #01 (Optical fiber cable 61120142318)
You need two of #03 (Optical fiber cable, socket contact 61136901846)




Rich
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
srcstc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-27-2010, 09:45 PM   #30
StrifeM3
Colonel
 
StrifeM3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 MCB E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Walnut/Placentia

Posts: 2,802
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2013 BMW  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to StrifeM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by pimpax56 View Post
what happens if i dont relocate the stock unit? i lose assist? i dont mind losing the chime i mean it gets pretty annoying sometimes lol
You will lose SOS system and the chime. If you have a fuel pump issue you will have to put the radio back in for bmw to fix the pump issue. I have been through 3 times...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ.E92 View Post
What if my chimes don't come from the car speakers but from the dash it self? would removing the factory HU disable anything?
It would disable the volume control in your steering wheel.
__________________
| 2013 M3 Coupe | Individual Monte Carlo Blue | Black Novilla Extended with Tobago Blue Stitching | 6MT | Carbon Fiber Leather Trim |
| BPM Sport Tune | OSS Headlights | HRE590RS | Brembo | Dinan Intake | Dinan Pulley | Dinan Strut Tower | Dinan Midpipe | Akra Slip-on | Valentine 1 Built-in Radar Detector

Quote:
Originally Posted by e1000 View Post
After buying the M, I now consider oil companies drug dealers.
StrifeM3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-29-2010, 04:59 PM   #31
rolo2285
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 07' e92 335i coupe
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Southern Cal

Posts: 44
iTrader: (0)

Thank you for posting that srcstc. I was just about to create a new post for the SOS error. I didn't know you needed 2 MOST extensions.
ARghh! One more cable to order

Almost Done though!
rolo2285 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2010, 12:22 AM   #32
costaslalas
Registered
 
Drives: e90
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: greece

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

hi, i'n new in this forum and i have a problem. i bought a pioneer avh 3200bt and the connects ctsmb005 bmw can bus , but after an hour my unit resets (can't hold the memories). can anyone help me , where can i find constant 12v?
thank you
costaslalas is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2010, 07:46 AM   #33
srcstc
Major
 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,321
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by costaslalas View Post
hi, i'n new in this forum and i have a problem. i bought a pioneer avh 3200bt and the connects ctsmb005 bmw can bus , but after an hour my unit resets (can't hold the memories). can anyone help me , where can i find constant 12v?
thank you
You have to get constant 12v from the battery.
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
srcstc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2010, 02:09 PM   #34
costaslalas
Registered
 
Drives: e90
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: greece

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

thank you
costaslalas is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2010, 02:32 PM   #35
srcstc
Major
 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,321
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by costaslalas View Post
thank you
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
srcstc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-29-2010, 09:55 AM   #36
crazed792
Captain
 
crazed792's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SL,UT

Posts: 618
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by srcstc View Post
There is a 41 Pin connector in the driver's side footwell (pass side if your car is RHD). Tap into Pin # 3 for Ignition. Use a relay.
I checked my footwell and I don't seem to have any pin in hole #3 existing to tap. Would this method still work, and is that what's meant anyway? If that is what I'm to do, do I need something that ends in a pin to stick in the existing harness, and where would I get it? Otherwise I'm not sure how to tap into this...
__________________
crazed792 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-29-2010, 10:49 AM   #37
srcstc
Major
 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,321
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazed792 View Post
I checked my footwell and I don't seem to have any pin in hole #3 existing to tap. Would this method still work, and is that what's meant anyway? If that is what I'm to do, do I need something that ends in a pin to stick in the existing harness, and where would I get it? Otherwise I'm not sure how to tap into this...
Are you sure you have the right harness and pin#? Can you email me a pic?
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
srcstc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-29-2010, 11:21 AM   #38
crazed792
Captain
 
crazed792's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SL,UT

Posts: 618
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by srcstc View Post
Are you sure you have the right harness and pin#? Can you email me a pic?
I can get you a pic, sure. Perhaps I'm not explaining it right. The harness I'm pretty much positive on, same with the pin number. Where the harness plugs in to the socket there may very well be a metal contact that would connect with a cable if anything were in there. It just appears that pin 3 is empty in the harness. Anyway, I'll post up a picture this evening sometime, as I doubt I'll be able to get to that during my lunch break.

Thanks for your help.
__________________
crazed792 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-02-2010, 08:27 PM   #39
crazed792
Captain
 
crazed792's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SL,UT

Posts: 618
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by srcstc View Post
Are you sure you have the right harness and pin#? Can you email me a pic?
This is a 41 pin harness, and I tried to keep it somewhat obvious which is pin 3. Pin 2 is a white/purple, and I read somewhere about someone tapping a white/purple wire, I just don't have a multimeter to check on it, and don't want to mess something up.
Attached Images
  
__________________
crazed792 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-02-2010, 08:44 PM   #40
srcstc
Major
 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,321
iTrader: (8)

Can you post a pic of where you pulled that harness from so I can make sure you have the right one? I can send you a pin that should fit there but then you'll need a multimeter to test it.
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
srcstc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-02-2010, 09:08 PM   #41
crazed792
Captain
 
crazed792's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SL,UT

Posts: 618
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by srcstc View Post
Can you post a pic of where you pulled that harness from so I can make sure you have the right one? I can send you a pin that should fit there but then you'll need a multimeter to test it.
Well, I tried to take a picture, but I can't really get it to work out. I'm using my iphone and I can't light the area.

It's about 2 inches or so to the right of the trunk button, and maybe 4 inches deeper. It would normally of course be covered by a panel, but I've removed it. I only see one 41 pin connector. Does that sound right to you?

If you can send me a pin that I could hook up to there, I can find a way to test it. From there I could just plug in my accy cable and be all set, assuming it's active. Just PM price details, and assuming it's reasonable I'll go that route. Thanks for your help.

EDIT: You know, looking at the diagram again, I don't think the 41 pin connector I found quite matches the location (the second picture, in the first one it looks fine, but with a different panel open). It's a bit of an odd view though, because I was opening up via the panel over the brake pedal, and this looks to be a view from the panel under the steering wheel... If there's a second connector where this is though, I thought I would have seen it. I can try looking again at some point if you think it might be a different connector, but I have everything back together now.
__________________

Last edited by crazed792; 07-02-2010 at 11:14 PM.
crazed792 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-03-2010, 06:43 AM   #42
srcstc
Major
 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,321
iTrader: (8)

Here's a better picture: X13376 connected to A149a
Attached Images
 
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
srcstc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-03-2010, 09:58 PM   #43
charliemack
New Member
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas

Posts: 25
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Could I use this to relocate the radio to the glove box, and if i connected all of the wires(not just the 5 to retain chimes) would it retain full functionality?

Thanks
charliemack is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-04-2010, 04:33 PM   #44
crazed792
Captain
 
crazed792's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SL,UT

Posts: 618
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by srcstc View Post
Here's a better picture: X13376 connected to A149a
From this picture, I'd say this sure looks to be it. On the original pictures one of them made it look like it was all the way on the other side of the steering column, so that had me confused. Anyway, yeah... Nothing in pin 3, although from what I can see of the A149a, there is a metal connector for everything, whether there is a pin in the X13376 or not.
__________________
crazed792 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST