E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > JB+ Installation Help



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-08-2009, 04:54 PM   #1
Sal Collaziano
Lieutenant
United_States
14
Rep
401
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via ICQ to Sal Collaziano Send a message via AIM to Sal Collaziano Send a message via MSN to Sal Collaziano Send a message via Yahoo to Sal Collaziano Send a message via Skype™ to Sal Collaziano
JB+ Installation Help

Okay. Take a look at the picture.. Is THAT the clip I'm supposed to use the USB cable to lift?

Thanks in advance...
__________________
Sal Collaziano - Certified Cadillac Nut

2000 Audi S4, APR Stage 3+
Sal's Blog of Nothing (something to offend everyone)
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 04:58 PM   #2
Jason4486
First Lieutenant
Jason4486's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
376
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Miami, Fl

iTrader: (1)

Yes, that is the clip you lift up to slide the plug out. I personally recommend using a dime to lift it up. Ive heard of many clips breaking in the past.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 05:05 PM   #3
Sal Collaziano
Lieutenant
United_States
14
Rep
401
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via ICQ to Sal Collaziano Send a message via AIM to Sal Collaziano Send a message via MSN to Sal Collaziano Send a message via Yahoo to Sal Collaziano Send a message via Skype™ to Sal Collaziano
Thank you. I can't believe I actually found it. It took me awhile. I have a USB cable and I'm going to give that a shot first. I think that should be safe.. I hope so.. In any event, I'm doing it in about 15 minutes...
__________________
Sal Collaziano - Certified Cadillac Nut

2000 Audi S4, APR Stage 3+
Sal's Blog of Nothing (something to offend everyone)
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 05:06 PM   #4
Sal Collaziano
Lieutenant
United_States
14
Rep
401
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via ICQ to Sal Collaziano Send a message via AIM to Sal Collaziano Send a message via MSN to Sal Collaziano Send a message via Yahoo to Sal Collaziano Send a message via Skype™ to Sal Collaziano
Oh and lifting this thin little clip without breaking it and pulling the plug out with one hand sounds very difficult...
__________________
Sal Collaziano - Certified Cadillac Nut

2000 Audi S4, APR Stage 3+
Sal's Blog of Nothing (something to offend everyone)
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 05:07 PM   #5
Prowess Symphony
Major General
Prowess Symphony's Avatar
United_States
96
Rep
5,860
Posts

 
Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
Dont lift up. Just push the usb straight in.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 05:17 PM   #6
JayKay335i
Banned
Egypt
77
Rep
5,047
Posts

 
Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

iTrader: (1)

Slide usb into clip to lift and just pull the clip off. Its easy. You'll get the hang of it. I'd recommend disconnecting your battery as well.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 05:18 PM   #7
marcel b
Lieutenant Colonel
marcel b's Avatar
46
Rep
1,864
Posts

 
Drives: 1M Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

so you push the usb cable over the clip and then pull the cable out? trying to understand...
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 05:21 PM   #8
Prowess Symphony
Major General
Prowess Symphony's Avatar
United_States
96
Rep
5,860
Posts

 
Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcel b View Post
so you push the usb cable over the clip and then pull the cable out? trying to understand...
Your trying to lift the clip up, so the sensor slides out. usb, dime, screwdriver, etc are all just lifting up the clip to unlock the sensor.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 05:33 PM   #9
Sal Collaziano
Lieutenant
United_States
14
Rep
401
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via ICQ to Sal Collaziano Send a message via AIM to Sal Collaziano Send a message via MSN to Sal Collaziano Send a message via Yahoo to Sal Collaziano Send a message via Skype™ to Sal Collaziano
I couldn't get the USB cable or a dime to work - so I used my fingernails - and the clip broke. But I STILL cannot unplug it......
__________________
Sal Collaziano - Certified Cadillac Nut

2000 Audi S4, APR Stage 3+
Sal's Blog of Nothing (something to offend everyone)
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 05:33 PM   #10
Raydogg920
Private
0
Rep
61
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CT

iTrader: (4)

Try to remain patient your first time.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 05:37 PM   #11
Sal Collaziano
Lieutenant
United_States
14
Rep
401
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via ICQ to Sal Collaziano Send a message via AIM to Sal Collaziano Send a message via MSN to Sal Collaziano Send a message via Yahoo to Sal Collaziano Send a message via Skype™ to Sal Collaziano
Okay. I got it. Let me go get my key to see if my car still works.
__________________
Sal Collaziano - Certified Cadillac Nut

2000 Audi S4, APR Stage 3+
Sal's Blog of Nothing (something to offend everyone)
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 05:39 PM   #12
E92murdered
Lieutenant Colonel
E92murdered's Avatar
23
Rep
1,516
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: san diego

iTrader: (5)

nice pic!! use a dime insert it without moving the dime(doing so will break the clip) then use another hand to pull the wire out while with other hand holding dime in.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 05:39 PM   #13
R1000K3
Major
R1000K3's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
1,313
Posts

 
Drives: 335i MT
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

The connector is a bit tight since it is provided with an O-ring inside. It is just to pull the cables when the clip is released, it will take some force the first time.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 05:40 PM   #14
Htown09
Captain
Htown09's Avatar
14
Rep
780
Posts

 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Earth

iTrader: (3)

Penny ftw honest abe will never break the clip
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 05:50 PM   #15
quattr0
Second Lieutenant
14
Rep
251
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

I've found that if you use the hammer to flatten the penny a bit further, it goes in smoother Oh well, it's too late for the OP but hopefully someone else will need it.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 05:52 PM   #16
JeffL
Major
JeffL's Avatar
18
Rep
1,203
Posts

 
Drives: C63
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (1)

Once you get the USB cable to work you will get it every time. It works awesome. Who ever came up with this is a genius. Just be patient with the USB cable you will know when you get it.
__________________
no sig.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 06:27 PM   #17
Sal Collaziano
Lieutenant
United_States
14
Rep
401
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via ICQ to Sal Collaziano Send a message via AIM to Sal Collaziano Send a message via MSN to Sal Collaziano Send a message via Yahoo to Sal Collaziano Send a message via Skype™ to Sal Collaziano
Well, it's drives fine - so I guess I was successful. I took a 20 minute drive - didn't really push it or anything. It already feels a little "peppier", though. I understand it takes 2-3 days of driving for the ECU to learn whatever it has to learn - and then it'll be as it should be. I have it turned up to 100%..

Does anyone have any idea how many miles of driving is needed or is it actually 2-3 full days of time for everything to work itself out?

Also.. Now that the clip is broken - what do I have to worry about? Will the old plug stay in okay when I have to remove the JB+ for the dealership? If so, than what exactly are people worried about in regards to the clip?

Thanks in advance...
__________________
Sal Collaziano - Certified Cadillac Nut

2000 Audi S4, APR Stage 3+
Sal's Blog of Nothing (something to offend everyone)
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 06:38 PM   #18
Prowess Symphony
Major General
Prowess Symphony's Avatar
United_States
96
Rep
5,860
Posts

 
Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
There is a pn somewhere on the forums for that clip. I wouldnt go to the dealership with it broken, because then they will know you messed with it. The plug will stay in though.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 06:44 PM   #19
Sal Collaziano
Lieutenant
United_States
14
Rep
401
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via ICQ to Sal Collaziano Send a message via AIM to Sal Collaziano Send a message via MSN to Sal Collaziano Send a message via Yahoo to Sal Collaziano Send a message via Skype™ to Sal Collaziano
What's a PN? And can't I just say I never touched it and leave them to assume the first owner did? I'm the third owner, actually.
__________________
Sal Collaziano - Certified Cadillac Nut

2000 Audi S4, APR Stage 3+
Sal's Blog of Nothing (something to offend everyone)
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 07:46 PM   #20
E92murdered
Lieutenant Colonel
E92murdered's Avatar
23
Rep
1,516
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: san diego

iTrader: (5)

they will blame you. you have to buy a new tmap sensor at ticher. getbmwparts.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sal Collaziano View Post
What's a PN? And can't I just say I never touched it and leave them to assume the first owner did? I'm the third owner, actually.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 08:41 PM   #21
Prowess Symphony
Major General
Prowess Symphony's Avatar
United_States
96
Rep
5,860
Posts

 
Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sal Collaziano View Post
What's a PN? And can't I just say I never touched it and leave them to assume the first owner did? I'm the third owner, actually.
pn is product number. You definitely need to buy a new one from tischer. Its cheap if I remember correctly.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2009, 08:45 PM   #22
Rylen
Colonel
Rylen's Avatar
59
Rep
2,775
Posts

 
Drives: White 335i Sedan
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Orange County CA

iTrader: (2)

A plastic card works beat for me (CC, ID, gift card). Just make sure u don't need that card lol
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
jb+

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST