E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / Warranty > What car battery to get for E90?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-07-2010, 03:23 PM   #1
csupernova
Captain
csupernova's Avatar
10
Rep
602
Posts

 
Drives: E90 330i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC

iTrader: (7)

What car battery to get for E90?

I am about to replace the car battery but I'm not sure if I should get the OEM battery from BMW or the one from Autozone will be fine. I read somewhere that the autozone battery is a little bigger than OE and hence will fit very tightly. Any other brands that worth considering? How much does the OE cost?

Thanks for any input.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2010, 03:25 PM   #2
BoostedCosta
SUPERMAN
BoostedCosta's Avatar
44
Rep
3,171
Posts

 
Drives: AW e90 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: nj

iTrader: (6)

Send a message via AIM to BoostedCosta
Braille Battery lol
__________________
MODS: JB3 18ohm | AR Design Catlles Downpipes | CDV Delete | Clutch Masters FX400 | ZEX Nitrous Kit | Devils Own Methonal Kit | VMR V701 (Matte Black) | H&r Race Springs| BMW Perf Grilles|
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2010, 05:49 PM   #3
UncleWede
Long Time Admirer, First Time Owner
UncleWede's Avatar
United_States
52
Rep
2,376
Posts

 
Drives: E90 325i Arctic
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oxnard, CA

iTrader: (0)

OE from dealer installed ran me about 4 bills in November. I had bought the O'Rielly one, but couldn't get the old terminals off and also read about blowing airbags, reprogramming the car to know I put another battery in, . . . so I cowed under and paid the $400.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2010, 07:01 PM   #4
csupernova
Captain
csupernova's Avatar
10
Rep
602
Posts

 
Drives: E90 330i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC

iTrader: (7)

I'm not sure if I should worry about getting the car reprogrammed after installing the new batt. Some members here don't seem to have any prob after puttin In the new batt themselves.
Appreciate 0
      01-09-2010, 09:14 AM   #5
ENINTY
Banned
51
Rep
3,415
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 325i Sport
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by csupernova View Post
I'm not sure if I should worry about getting the car reprogrammed after installing the new batt. Some members here don't seem to have any prob after puttin In the new batt themselves.
You should get the car reprogrammed when you get a new battery. The charging system alters the charging of the battery due to age and condition. the car keeps a history of the battery condition. If you have a new battery in the car and it is charging it as an old battery, it may not keep the new battery properly charged.

Regarding the battery type fitment, just make sure you can hookup the vent hose to the new battery.
Appreciate 0
      01-09-2010, 08:33 PM   #6
scottp999
Brigadier General
scottp999's Avatar
57
Rep
4,666
Posts

 
Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
The car is not reprogrammed, you send one command to the engine module to reset the learned battery adaption. It takes 2 seconds with the Bavarian Technique tool. See if you can find someone in your local forum willing to do it for you. My battery was charging very low until I reset the battery adaption.

In the Bavtec software you go to the Engine Module, Commands, Battery Replacement Adaption, Click Send Button.
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2010, 01:42 PM   #7
Brad from the OC
Private First Class
United_States
1
Rep
134
Posts

 
Drives: 325Ia Alpine White
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

ScottP999,
What information did the Bavarian tool ask for you to input. I heard that you have to enter the amp hour rating of the replacement battery. Is that true? Have you done this job yourself using the Bav tool?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST