E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > delete



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-20-2013, 06:19 AM   #1
MAC335i
First Lieutenant
3
Rep
303
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Jet Black E90 335i
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California

iTrader: (8)

Question delete

dealer ended up replacing DME

Last edited by MAC335i; 10-21-2014 at 12:13 AM.
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2013, 07:33 AM   #2
Fully_Bolted
Banned
6
Rep
443
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

What tune have you been using?
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2013, 09:07 AM   #3
Ovitrix335
Second Lieutenant
Ovitrix335's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
207
Posts

 
Drives: Bmw 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (5)

Did you tell them to recode that injector?
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2013, 01:08 PM   #4
caliguy562
Lieutenant
4
Rep
461
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: garaged somewhere in soCal

iTrader: (3)

Were you able to pull any codes before you took it to the dealer?
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2013, 02:45 PM   #5
joec500
Brigadier General
46
Rep
3,004
Posts

 
Drives: it has 4 wheels
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (10)

I can't think of ANY tune that has the ability to re-write injectors coding. My guess is their dumbasses didn't code the injectors properly when/if you ever had an injector recall on that car.

Also, the car will generally run fine without the injectors coded, but just not at optimal levels.
__________________
2007 E92 6MT SGM: MusicarNW Level 2, Procede Rev 2.5, FFTEC/Vishnu LPFP with Flexfuel Sensor and Flash, M3 Offset V701's, WaveTrac LSD, Michelin PSS, Downpipes, M3 Control Arms, TCKline D/A Suspension, LCI Tail lights, Lux AE's, ER Charge Pipe, DCI's, Mtech Front and Rear, M3 Sideskirts, HPF Stage 1 Clutch
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2013, 03:08 PM   #6
Ænema
Captain
10
Rep
961
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arizona Bay

iTrader: (0)

If you had the injectors relaced and then this happened then the dealership never coded the injectors.
__________________
"I'm not surprised you get along well with all the other neighbours. If you put fifty children with Down's syndrome in a room there is going to be a lot of hugging." David Thorne
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2013, 05:56 PM   #7
nukezero
Major
United_States
65
Rep
1,205
Posts

 
Drives: '09 335I Cpe
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sunny Socal

iTrader: (4)

tell the dealership to blow off. take car home, plug in laptop, load INPA, and code injectors for free, maintain warranty. grab a beer, and relax.

what worry is there?

at this point, who cares who did or didn't code the injectors right. what matters now is dealing with the runaround with the dealership, which you don't have to, if you just follow what i told you
__________________
2009 335i 6MT - M-Sport - All stock
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2013, 08:10 PM   #8
volkswackin
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
19
Rep
1,916
Posts

 
Drives: too broke for a BMW
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: i get around..

iTrader: (1)

The car runs like shit without coded injectors..so the issue existing before now isn't really possible either.
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2013, 12:25 AM   #9
Ovitrix335
Second Lieutenant
Ovitrix335's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
207
Posts

 
Drives: Bmw 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (5)

If the dealership will recalibrate your injectors you should be fine. Too bad you don't have the INPA+cable you could of done it yourself. Hopefully is nothing wrong with your DME.
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2013, 08:25 AM   #10
Ilma
Colonel
29
Rep
2,576
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: hometown

iTrader: (0)

I also have Rev 2.5 and have had my injectors replaced and recoded. The values stored in the DME were exactly as imprinted on the injectors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pankakez & BMWs View Post
I dont have the cable and have never tried to follow the DIY to get the software working. I know a shop where I can get the injectors coded with the Autologic.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pankakez & BMWs View Post
I really want the BMW engineer to come hook up to the DME and not be able to find anything. Then I will be covered 100% and all I have to pay is the $50 deductible for CPO warranty.

Vishnu guys: What could they possibly find on there? Is my DME gonna be clean??
If the BMW engineer hooks up to your DME they will probably discover you are tuned......game over. So don't go that route.

Get your injectors coded through the Autologic shop (I used a private shop to calibrate mine) and also verify if BMW is telling you the truth about no coding. I find that hard to believe that there would be no coding. Even if injectors were replaced and they forgot to code the new ones, the old codes would still be there.

Read your codes and see which cylinders are misfiring then consider changing the injectors on those cylinders yourself or via your Autologic shop which can also code them in for you.

If your car is that old, chances are one or some of the injectors have failed by now and are behind your driveability issues.

I seriously think the dealer is pulling your chain because they suspect you are tuned and want to flush you out.
__________________
Sticky is an idiot
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2013, 09:18 AM   #11
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Sometimes when a shop fubars the injector coding and its not done right it will show up as a exclamation point when the values are read. I would think the dealer that did the original Injectors what ever software they used messed it up bigtime with the coding with the software they used in the dealer. If coding was done properly there is nothing that can just reset the values that were inputed. Those values are hard coded to DME and even if battery was disconnected the values would still stick.
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      01-21-2013, 09:19 PM   #12
themyst
Major General
themyst's Avatar
South Korea
86
Rep
6,602
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i LCI
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC

iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to themyst
I can't understand how you could code injectors improperly. It's freaking idiot proof! Sorry, had to say it.
__________________
E90 LCI N54 6AT
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2013, 10:24 PM   #13
GreekMaverick
El Greco Capitan
GreekMaverick's Avatar
United_States
59
Rep
996
Posts

 
Drives: ///N54
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Wellington, FL

iTrader: (1)

Hi there.

I had the same exact situation happen to me 1.5 year ago, raced a cts v and after taking a brief break cruising he waved to go at it again, I downshifted to 4th and barely got to build any boost before I misfired, took the next exit and stopped at a gas station after 3 failed restart attempts I took it to my mechanic with the scoobie boxer sound and Check engine light. The outcome??? A fried/Blown mere Ignition Coil, replaced and all was good to go.

Who knows, maybe they are screwing with you and it is not your injectors at all....!

Good luck

Last edited by GreekMaverick; 01-21-2013 at 10:34 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2013, 10:28 PM   #14
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by themyst View Post
I can't understand how you could code injectors improperly. It's freaking idiot proof! Sorry, had to say it.
Do u really want an answer to this question with some of these clowns that work at the dealership!
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      01-22-2013, 08:05 AM   #15
Ilma
Colonel
29
Rep
2,576
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: hometown

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pankakez & BMWs View Post
First off:

Hey Ilma thank you very much for your reply.


To recode my injectors, it is ok to un-install them to read the values from the injector? And then reinstall with the same PTFE seal and decoupling element?

And finally, if one or more of the injectors is just completely done, would the car still run? I have gotten a yes to this question from a couple people but I just want to make sure.

Thanks again for the help. Hope to get this resolved soon.
It is not recommended to use the same seal once the injector is removed....although some have done it.

But You don't need to remove the injectors to read the coding numbers. Just take off your engine cover and you can read the calibration numbers stamped on the side of the injectors with them still in place.

If an injector is bad it may still operate but give you poor performance at times such as misfires stumbling rough idle etc.

Sometimes the injector gets stuck wide open and then you cannot drive the car without flooding your cylinder, but you would see a lot of smoke out your tailpipe if that was the case.

If you are going to a mechanic who has an autologic scanner, then he will be able to read your injector codes very quickly and verify what BMW is telling you.

Have you pulled any misfire codes which would indicate which cylinder is misfiring?
__________________
Sticky is an idiot
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST